Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Römischer Kaiser This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Markt 2, Bernkastel, 54470 Bernkastel-Kues, Germany

#12 of 29 hotels in Bernkastel-Kues

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 474 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Weinfest again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked almost everything. Especially our corner room with an excellent view of the festivities plus all the efforts our host Reiner made to get us a parking spot for our car (seemed completely impossible - and was without his help). Thank you again, Reiner!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    We would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was great. Location was wonderful with parking across the street. We enjoyed the easy access to other things in the area but also just enjoyed Bernkastel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    A/C needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms desperately need air conditioning! there was a small fan but it could not cope with the heat of the summer.

    extra Kudos to the Receptionist gentleman. he was running the place by himself, he made sure my bike was locked safely, he was helpful, efficient and available. The beds were comfy, the wifi was good, the bathroom looked gorgious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was super location. Close to everything you need and want to do. The hotel owners were fantastic and very helpful. I would stay there again. Thanks for your hospitality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, overlooking the Mosel river, close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were not very comfortable. Need to arrive and check in before 6pm.

    Excellent location, overlooking the Mosel river, close to very picturesque old streets and buildings with many restaurants and bars nearby. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Would return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is public and can be quite a walk to the hotel. Getting the luggage to the hotel does present a problem.

    Central location with Moselle River view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our 2nd stay here and it has been taken over by new owners who have improved it. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the Mosel River which was great for reading. The breakfast is superb. Will definitely stay again, Petra and her husband were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel and staff in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no negatives, everything as expected.

    The room had an excellent view of the river. The room was large, clean and comfortable with a very modern shower room. Breakfast was excellent. No hotel parking but a permit was organised on arrival so we could park in the public carpark which was yards from the hotel, this was no problem.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Enjoyable holiday, in comfortable surroundings with lovely views over the Mosel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was traditional outside; the rooms modern, comfortable with a good sized bathroom. The Manager was extremely friendly and obliging, nothing was too much bother. Breakfast was of a high standard and the staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely comfy beds, rooms with view of the Mosel excellent, right in the centre of town with car park just on the opposite side of the road. Couldn't have been better for us! (Have been before so knew what to expect)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location to the historic Old Town in Bernkastel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needed air conditioning or fans in the room. It was unbearably hot during our stay. The room was lovely, but we were disappointed with the breakfast area being at one end of a Cafe on the ground floor of the hotel. It seemed cramped and the startling decor was not in tune with the modern and fresh decor of the Hotel rooms. The car was left in Public parking near to the river and we had to feed a machine in order to cover an overnight stay. (7.50 Euros)

    Under normal circumstances the view of the Moselle from our room, but because of the heatwave we had to keep the curtains closed whenever we were in the room. The large bathroom and shower were excellent and very clean. It was wonderful that there were lifts in view of our ages and 2 cases !!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to complain, it would be about some road noise and the bar crowd that got out at 0200. But then again, it was right on the waterfront and I like people out and about and having a good time.

    Clean room and the river view was amazing! The fruhstuk in the morning was delicious! I would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had windows with a really nice view, but the street outside was noicy (trucks and cars having to start in traffic lights). The windows was also in the sunny direction and there was no AC. Besides this, a good hotel.

    The location was excellent. Breakfast OK.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    I had a wonderful view of the river Mosel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a wonderful view of the river Mosel.Usually the best rooms with views are double rooms so it was nice, for a change, to have a spacious single room with a stunning view.The buffet breakfast was excellent also.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    Great location, great breakfast, need work to make to rooms great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The matrasses are extremely soft (they went for the cheap stuff) but we did not mention this and slept quietly. From our room the view was not good (stone walls) although we requested a nice view. Unfortunately we found out only when we were showed to the room, no correspondence from the hotel prior to arrival they would not be able to fulfill our request. The receptionist was not available at 8 o'clock as advertised (he had gone outside for a sandwich or so prior to opening the desk). The hotel is a little dated which is covered up by adding a Budda statue near the reception and lots of plastic flowers in the hallway and rooms. There is no desk in the room, we only found one free electrical socket to charge our stuff. When you arrive you'll have to walk (and take your suitcases) up the stairs (reception is not at street level) and you'll get an elevator key after having checked in.

    The location of the hotel is just perfect, inside the historical center and along the Mosel river. The rooms are big and well furnished. The breakfast is very good with lots of choices and good quality ( served buffet style: coffee (including cappuccino and macchiato)/ thee, fresh bread rolls, German pastries, croissants, large cereals and nuts section, yoghurt, fruits (cut), cold cuts, cheeses, cream cheese, fish, seasonal touches (asparagus with ham in our case), butter, margarine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was perfect. The bed was very comfortable and the room large.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location and comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed was comfy. We got a room with a balcony so great views. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean spacious room with large bathroom and a great view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Clean spacious room with large bathroom and a great view overlooking the river.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was great. Bathroom great. Great view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Great rooms and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great rooms and good food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Bathroom was newly renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was newly renovated. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast, big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church's bell nearby

    Excellent breakfast, big room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff, including owners, Location, safe overnight parking for motorcycles and room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    At a great place in town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy street in front on one side, noisy.

    Great spot in town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Ideal situation for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elderly building, creaky floors etc, but OK

    Great location. Reasonable bike storage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    alles was in orde
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    alles was in orde

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Tea and coffee facilities would have been nice to have in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities would have been nice to have in the room or available within the hotel itself.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great! Breakfast really good. Very happy with this place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    8.3
    Great location overlooking the Moselle river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle in the room

    Great location overlooking the Moselle river

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.8
    The location was perfect and the breakfast delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect and the breakfast delicious. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.8
    Very large and nice corner room at the second floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very large and nice corner room at the second floor. Very quiet. The hotel is very well positioned for a weekend in the Mosel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.9
    The location is central in old town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The street noise is a problem but really can't be helped. The breakfast was disappointing in that they served day old croissants in the patisserie downstairs and the food was covered in flies!

    The location is central in old town! Our bedroom, #24, had a spectacular view!

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.2
    1. The lady staff was very helpful and kind, also the guy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Breakfast was simple

    1. The lady staff was very helpful and kind, also the guy staff too. 2. Only 5 minutes walk from bus station. 3. Good view and in the center og old town

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.3
    The view of the Mosel river!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The English speaking of staff could be better.. there were some missunderstanding.. I think of such a hotel with that price you can expect that they could speak English.... and also the WiFi has more to wish for

    The view of the Mosel river!!! And the central location in Bernkastel-Kues...

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.7
    The room was comfortable and in good condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Disturbance from church bells ringing at 7 am every morning. Disturbance from traffic and night life. Odors of cigarette smoke from night club i basement.

    The room was comfortable and in good condition. The bathroom in excellent condition. The location central with parking nearby.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    10
    It was clean,in town,easy to reach,beautiful view,lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked it all

    It was clean,in town,easy to reach,beautiful view,lovely breakfast,big room.Traffic was no problem at night.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    Great location in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location in the old town comfortable beds friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.5
    Location, rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food smell in the breakfast area

    Location, rooms

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.1
    very well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    flies aroend the breakfast cold meats-- not good hygiene

    very well located

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Nice clean hotel with welcoming helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice clean hotel with welcoming helpful staff. Excellent location for all purposes.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    7.5
    Right in the middle of the town, payable secure parking not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Right in the middle of the town, payable secure parking not far (owned by hotel). Didn't have to use car whilst there.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: