Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Altes Gymnasium This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Süderstraße 2-10, 25813 Husum, Germany

#18 of 37 hotels in Husum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 417 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.8
    nice rooms, customer unfriendly and unprofessional reception personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    warm water was broken so we had to take an ice-cold shower. Receptionist was not understanding, rude and only offered a 10% price reduction. Customer satisfaction is not priority.

    cosy, beautiful room, super comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful atmosphere - very good and dedicated staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We liked the whole atmosphere. Friendly and most dedicated staff and we had the feeling og being at home which is the best recommendation you can ever get. The reception and the breakfast room was fantastic and honestly we did not want to leave. No doubt we will be coming back and recommend this extraordinary hotel to all our family and friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    Very cozy but a little expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money

    Perfect location, good service overall, cozy atmosphere, but the rooms would need some remodeling. Local competition offers more for less money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Excellent in all aspects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was spot on.

    Excellent in all aspects. Beautifully decorated, great staff, great breakfast, quiet surroundings, close to the center, big parking, nice pool/spa area... One of the best hotels we have stayed at. Would love to come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    The location is great right in the citycenter but still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We would have liked the hotel to have a bar and to be able to make tea or coffee in the room.

    The location is great right in the citycenter but still quiet. The pool is very nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was excellent !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    great location, good size rooms, superb breakfast and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great location, good size rooms, superb breakfast and a lovely swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    They truly take care of your needs and it is old school charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and on point staff. They take care of you and nothing is too much trouble. Thank you for a marvelous stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice comfort room and balkony with a fine view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice comfort room and balkony with a fine view. Very fine pool area and sauna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel, amazing breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel, amazing breakfast! Shame I arrived very late and left early in the morning. Anyhow - well recommended place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, beautiful room, pet friendly and great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Glose to everything
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner Room could be more modern

    Spa area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.6
    a great stay at christmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hope the swimming pool waterfall is repaired in time for our next visit

    Great hotel, lovely spa and close to town and markets

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    5.4
    Wellness area very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was not possible to have dinner in the restaurant - reason unknow - and the reception did not try to help with another place to have dinner. In a five star hotel we expect that the restaurant is available - it is part of the facilities expected of a 5-star hotel.

    Wellness area very good.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    5.8
    The Location of the Hotel , the fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We couldnt eat at the Restaurant , it was closed to guests, and they were even not helpful with roomservice although we had 2 Kids with us.We were almost left alone to find something to eat, although we Chose the Hotel because it has a Restaurant and with 2 small Kids we could stay in the Hotel.My husband had to go out and buy Food and bring to the Hotel.This is unacceptable but it happened and their Explanation was that their Restaurant is full as they had an external Group!!!! They could tell you that when reserving and we could pick another Hotel.Just some responsibility would help.

    The Location of the Hotel , the fantastic "schloss" , the rooms are very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    10
    Perfect hotel with kind and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The extra features in the swimming pool (ex. waterfall) was not working. It was not possible to get massage.

    Perfect hotel with kind and helpful staff. Nice and clean rooms. Wonderful breakfast and good restaurant. We will come back!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.5
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar permanently closed. Booking problem in gourmet restaurant. Very long waiting time for light meal in the Bistro. Problem with air condition.

    Excellent location. Easy parking. Spacy, comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    9.6
    Very large rooms with a nice balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very large rooms with a nice balcony. Positioned in the center of the city near harbour, shops and many restaurants

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    10
    Very good pool and Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good pool and Spa

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    10
    The service crew during breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The service crew during breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.8
    Great location in very interesting town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked more vegetarian cooked items at breakfast

    Great location in very interesting town. Two comfortable chairs in room!

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: