Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantik Hotel Markusturm 3 stars

Rödergasse 1, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

#3 of 26 hotels in Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 813 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Golden Ring 2 - Goldene Ringgasse 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast buffet disappointing, distance to parking off-site from the hotel.

    convenient location (but then all the hotels are within the city wall are). I stayed at the Brauhause last month--rooms were much better (decorations/price) and so was breakfast buffet. Had to sort through plates/silverware to find a clean place setting at the breakfast buffet at Romantik (food selection not as good as other hotels) but a quaint place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough wait staff on the first day, staff was stressed. Like most old European buildings, no AC.

    The food was very good. The hotel matron was genuinely friendly. Rooms were beautiful and comfortable. 4 person room had 3 beds, instead of 2 like most other places we stayed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does not have air conditioning but they did provide a fan. Unfortunately the day we arrived was unusually warm and it was a little uncomfortable during the day.

    The hotel was close to the main square of Rothenberg. Both the room and bathroom were very big and clean which accommodated the 5 of us very well. There were a lot of choices at breakfast including eggs made to order.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location. Very central to be able to walk everywhere. Very welcoming staff. Great selection at breakfast. Staff parked car in a location close by. Can get warm inside as no air conditioning... it is a historic building. But fans are provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Linleyhenry cation is perfect. The staff at the hotel were attentive, efficient and extremely friendly. The restaurant for both breakfast and dinner was excellent. The overall theme of the property in keeping with tradition and the Rothenburg style. Perfect! We loved it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a kettle in the room but just a choice of herbal tea - no coffee sachets etc! The room was unbearably hot the second night, there was a pedestal fan, but it was ineffective! BUT it's an historic hotel - you can't expect AC - but please bear in mind if booking for summer and can't bear to sleep in a hot room. The dinner menu was quite limited but there are plenty of restaurants close by to choose from.

    We loved the location - right in the centre, and its the hotel on all the postcards!! The room and bathroom were huge and we had a four poster bed. The hotel is furnished with antiques. There is no minibar but ice is available on request and one complimentary bottle of water each day. The breakfasts were very good with English tea in a pot but be warned - don't leave it brewing too long! We loved the fact we could park outside when we arrived but then the staff would take and park the car off site and bring it back whenever we needed it. We loved the 8pm Night Watchman tour - a must at €8.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great historic property in the heart of the old town. Real bonus - they park your car for you - all you have to do is carefully follow the directions they provide to get there. Fun place to stay, with a nice restaurant and really great, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, they shouldn’t make jokes on Asian customer luggage, when they carried our luggage to the room, they made jokes front of other guest if our luggage was filled with foods because it was a little bit heavy for them to carry. Not professional in terms of service.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could have stayed longer.

    I couldn’t improve one thing at this hotel if I tried. The room and bathroom were perfect (We had a tub for me a fan for sleeping/white noise for him). Breakfast and restaurant was divine. Location superb. Helpfulness of staff amazing. This was literally the most romantic hotel in Rothenburg. Each time we approached to enter the building we would hear passers-by being remorseful that they were not staying at this location. We got really lucky. This was without a doubt one of the highlights of all my European travels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Golden Ring 1 - Goldene Ringgasse 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi

    As family of five, we were located at the hotel apartment 100meters from the hotel, this was an excellent apartment with kitchen facilities etc. There was no wifi available at the apartment, other than the citywide network, which was a bit on and off. Excellent staff at the hotel, valet style parking, and excellent food as well as breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the boiled egg at breakfast. The yolk was still raw when I cracked it open. I wiped away the raw yolk with my napkin and ate only the egg white. There was not any cheese to go with the cold cuts at breakfast.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was the noise from the street at night. (Till about 11pm, but sat night was till after midnight) We had a front room so maybe a side or back room might be better, but the front room does give you a beautiful outlook.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning, room sweltering, not amazing as we thought from other reviews.

    The hotel has a great location, but that is all we can say about it. No air conditioning in rooms so miserably hot. Bathroom was large, but gross. There was a feeling of shabbiness. Not a wonderful property we expected. We checked out early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in a very nice old building but really everything in the building/rooms/bathroom/restaurant is old. the seating in the restaurant needs to be taken care of, and everything is in need of a paint job. The interior is really worn out. The windows are old and noisy and there are a lot of visitors with trolley on the street so you dont need a alarm clock.

    Friendly staff at check in and check out, very good location, parking. nice old building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom wasn't what we would consider "romantic". Tired bathroom. Car parking via valet to unknown location so couldn't easily get forgotten stuff.

    Exterior and location were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning so a bit noisy on the street at night.

    Location was blocks from everything. Property had its own parking lot just a few blocks from the hotel. Very charming with an old world feeling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant might be one of the best in town. The room is cosy, clean and comfortable. The bellman is very helpful; not only help carry luggages, and also take car your car to/from the parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were a bit uncomfortable.

    Our room was big for 5 people. Very clean and beautifully decorated rooms. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. This is our second time staying in this hotel and are always satisfied with our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much.

    The traditional style of the hotel.The collection of historic domestic implements and furnishings for example door locks. Thee general helpfulness,conviviality and patience of staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Great location, within a few minutes walking distance to the center of town - Room was very comfortable and clean - Staff are friendly - They have their own garage if you arrive by car (eur 6) - Breakfast was very awesome - We recommend that you dine at the hotel, the food was really delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I really disliked. Maybe breakfast could have had more choices but it was good enough for me.

    When we arrived we were shown 2 different rooms and got to pick the one we preferred. One was very old fashioned with big bathroom and the other one very modern. We went with the old fashioned one as it represented better the town. I was very very impressed with it and the staff was absolutely wonderful! Would defo choose the same place again. If you come by car, leave it in front of the building and they will park it for you 3 streets away in a private parking :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Golden Ring 1 - Goldene Ringgasse 6
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared to drive into the oldest part of town if you have to drop off your luggage. The roads are a bit narrow but there is a hotel parking lot convieniently located close to the Röderturm, just a short walk away (~5 min). I would park there first next time.

    We had a wonderful weekend in Rothenburg at the Berger Family’s historic hotel. The location couldn’t be better for exploring the city. The staff was very friendly and made us feel like we were at home. The food was incredible; highly recommend eating at least one dinner at the hotel. The night watchman tour is a must if you have a kid with you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location fantastic - owners & staff really friendly & welcoming - wide selection for breakfast - arrived quite late but staff really accommodating when we asked for a cheeseboard & wine - rooms roomy & comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Golden Ring 1 - Goldene Ringgasse 6
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff who were helpful from arrival through mealtimes and answered all of our tourist questions. Excellent location. Fabulous apartment for our family of 5 located down the road. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Golden Ring 1 - Goldene Ringgasse 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a quite a disappointment I suppose it is a quiet time and there was only one other room occupied. We stayed at the top floor and we had very large suitcases which was an effort to bring them up as there were no elevators. In the morning we had help to bring the suitcases down but the hotel staff was quite rude as we did not tip him enough and he said that we should load the suitcases ourselves into the car and I was quite shock with his attitude and comment.

    Convenient location in the old town. Small intimate charming boutique hotel. The rooms are well decorated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. The hotel was beautiful and set a great tone of visiting the medieval ciyy. Loved all of the historical touches. Beautiful and spacious room with great bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a really nice hotel in Rudesheim good food you pull up at the door they look after your car without any of the add on costs for such great service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Golden Ring 2 - Goldene Ringgasse 6
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment we had was AMAZING. Perfect for a family of four traveling with two teenagers. The kitchen was great and fully equipped. Bathroom is gorgeous! They helped us with our bags and then parked our rental car. You can walk everywhere in this little town so it was a nice break from having to worry about driving places. Every single staff member made us feel like we were at home. This hotel is like a fairy tale. We loved Rothenberg so much, it exceeded our expectations and we cannot wait to return! Stay here!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Golden Ring 1 - Goldene Ringgasse 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None to think of. If staying in Fussen, would stay here again.

    Cozy room/apartment. Everything you need for a family to DIY. We were in room #2. Nice garden area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2-night stay with parents, husband, and siblings. Location is superb right in the middle of the old town. Building is gorgeous, old world feel. The staff and owners of the hotel were so kind and very helpful. Valet parking was super easy. Had dinner at the hotel restaurant one night and the food was very good (highly recommend). We would come back to this place in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The motion light in the dressing room was bothersome... rhe light continuously went off and on within just a few moments time... a clear off/on button would suffice.

    A beautiful, historic hotel close to the city center. Great service, great staff, and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, but this iconic property is probably as old as the town, so it’s to be expected.

    Location was wonderfully close to the market square The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable as were the synthetic pillows and horrible duvets. Nowhere in bathroom to put anything. No shelf at all beside wash basin. Everything had to go on the floor.

    Location & what remained of the pre updated Hotel. I have stayed there before & it was charming albeit a little qwerky. The new small rooms have destroyed the atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very low and relatively hard. ........not of quality in keeping with rest of hotel ambience.

    Staff were very helpful, knowledgeable, and fluent in English. Breakfast was outstanding as was locally made beer. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed during our visit. Location is superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very high tub with shower difficult for older person and not safe.

    Unique, historical, warm and welcoming hotel. Food (breakfast and dinner) was excellent as was the service and staff. Parking close by at minimal cost. In city center/ historical old town, close to shopping, restaurants and tourist sites. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an old hotel full of character and as such lacks a lift. Whilst, for us, it was a slow climb for the less mobile it could be a challenge. The same problem could exist with the four-poster beds which are quite high with a wooden side to the bed. Whilst there was a kettle and sugar the hotel did not supply coffee.

    The hotel is in a great location in the centre of the old town. The staff was very welcoming and provided excellent service throughout the stay. The room was very well equipped and clean. The restaurant was very good with a good selection of well-cooked German dishes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was incredibly charming. It was bright, spacious and clean. Nice bathroom. Everything is well maintained. The staff was courteous and considerate. The breakfast buffet was great with many choices. We also had dinner at the hotel and it was delicious. This place gets a high-five from us. We will stay there again when we visit Rothenburg next time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like anything. Was very pleased. These people are on top of their game

    This is a very pretty, charming hotel with a cheerful and helpful staff. It is well located. My room and bath was one of the nicest I have ever had in my 40+ years of traveling. Just a gem and I would recommend to anyone. Nice breakfast a real bonus!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    I loved all the antiques decorating the property, baby carriage, the display case with all of the locks, and the wooden beams. They parked our car for us and brought it back around when we left. It was perfect. We were very happy with all the facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no elevator. Although, the staff carried the bags upstairs!

    A wonderful location.; friendly staff; great breakfast with lots of choices and a very good restaurant. English speaking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you drive here, it's a little tricky to get there because of the narrow and one way streets. The staff has to valet park your car so make sure you get everything you need out of your car. Lots of stairs to get to the room and I was traveling with my Mom who has a hard time with stairs. And the bathtub was difficult for her to get in and out of. So if you're mobility impaired this may not be a great option for you.

    Amazing location! The hotel was so cute - so much charm! Staff was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Absolutely beautiful, historic hotel in a fairy-tale town. Totally cute, romantic, cozy, lovely and comfortable in every way. Authentic historical building dating from the 1200's upgraded with modern amenities without spoiling its historical character. Staff was wonderful, friendly and very accommodating. This hotel fits the character of Rothenburg perfectly, and is located very near the Market square, surrounded by picturesque shops, restaurants and other historic buildings. Hotel exterior and surroundings are so photogenic we probably took 20 pics of it from the outside. Standard double room was very large and bathroom was large also---with tub, shower, separate toilet room, long granite counter with two sinks and plenty of room to mover around in. Very clean overall. Beds quite comfortable. Wifi in the room was a little weak occasionally but still fine for basic needs. We ate dinner in the hotel's lovely restaurant. Food was delicious, very nicely served, and not expensive. In summary, this was the perfect place to stay in Rothenburg and we would absolutely choose this hotel again for a return trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like most buildings in the middle of Rothenburg, the hotel building is old. Expect creaky floors and an older style of decor, but to us it added to the "charm".

    Great staff and location. Unique rooms. Good food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing stay at this hotel! Perfect location, the staff was wonderful and the room very clean. Love the character! Will be staying here for again on my next trip to Rothenberg!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    na

    sweet little hotel. love it, not many rooms, when we arrived, they even let us check out 3 rooms n pucked the one we like for next 2 nights, what a sweet surprise! n the breakfast is just excellent, love it...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Golden Ring 1 - Goldene Ringgasse 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming hotel in a medieval town. It was like staying in a fairytale book! The entrance and foyer were amazing. Our room was modern and comfortable and fit 5 easily. Breakfast was very generous with decent hot and cold buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Golden Ring 1 - Goldene Ringgasse 6
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You wight need a little patience with the kitchen sometimes, as it may take some time for you to get your order.

    It is our second time in this Hotel, and the main things we love about it are: 1) The Team could not be more friendly and welcoming 2) Location - you stay in one of the city's postcards, near to eveything 3) Family Environment 4) Charm in and out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    English TV channels. Although not be possible to get in Fussen

    5th generation family ownership shows in the service and quality. Loved this place. Fabulous location. 2 blocks from old town and right next to one of the original old town walls. Service in breakfast area and the BEST. Fabulous women who takes care of breakfast is worth going to this hotel. Very nice offering for breakfast. Hotel has character plus comfort. I would definitely go again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need electronic security lock boxes to secure valuables and the issue of an elevator that this extremely old structure does not have. I would stay again at this hotel.

    Hotel staff, breakfast, and location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant downstairs was absolutely amazing. They even brought out gluten free bread for me which is not common. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and modern but the whole place felt authentic. It was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift, though staff willingly took luggage upstairs. The beds were comfy, but the decor, especially in the very top bedroom, could have done with a facelift!

    The food was very good, and eggs were cooked freshly for you at breakfast We ate in on one evening and the food was very good traditional Bavarian cuisine. You must try the apple strudel! The staff were particularly helpful, and the location is wonderful. Everything was spotless

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came by car, so parking could have been explained a little better, as the town is not that easy to navigate by car. But the public lot ended up being pretty close and inexpensive.

    Wow, what a bedroom and bath!! We stayed in the room in the first 2 pictures, nicest hotel bathroom I've ever stayed at. Our family was very disappointed we did not stay a little longer. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner there were also very good. Great location, very close to the center but also quiet at night. We would definitely recommend the Marksuturm to anyone! Thank!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Golden Ring 2 - Goldene Ringgasse 6
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would suggest that hotel add English CNN to television options.

    Wonderful hotel near main square. Very helpful front desk staff. Had dinner at the restaurant and it was one of the best dinners of our trip to Germany Front desk parked the car for us which was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    plates at breakfast were dirty, had to take 5 off the pile to find one clean one; creepy doll in a stroller in one of the corridors - horrible decoration contrasting the tasteful interior of our room

    Nice room (furniture/decoration/lighting) facing a quiet backyard with storks on a chimney - fairytailish, staff was friendly, very central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen staff began power-washing the bins before 08.00, which woke us up!!! (However, I mentioned this when checking out and the staff member said she would take care that this did not happen in future....)

    The staff at this family run hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is in the heart of the old town. Bedroom comfortable and well furnished. Breakfast was very good and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    From the moment we arrived we could tell the hotel is truly delightful. All the staff were outstanding and very efficient to respond to any queries and to make our stay perfect. The location could not have been better. The ambience, well you have to see it to believe it. I travel a lot and stay in some lovely hotels but this one is an unforgettable experience and I am sure I will return. My teenage children loved making their own waffles for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incredibly friendly staff, always helpful. Charming, spacious room with a very large bathroom. Great breakfast at a very reasonable price. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trade off for staying in historic hotel is no air conditioning

    Antiques we're cool, staff very helpful. Central location to everything, we walked all over this beautiful city!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I did not like was the beds were extremely hard but I think this is a German trend.

    This was a fantastic hotel in a beautiful town. It is a very touristy town but it is an interesting place to go to visit. The hotel was full of old relics. The evening menu was delicious and the breakfast selection was good too. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our bedroom was a really good size and very comfortable with lots of space for the 4 of us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly hard to locate-even with satnav.-

    Always stay here with our two pets. Well run, nice restaurant,excellent breakfast choice, and very good staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    The room was beautifully decorated. The bathroom was amazing. We had stayed at many different hotels and this is by far our favorite. Staff were very friendly. Helped us with our luggage and parked our car. Location was perfect. Close to the town center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved this hotel! The staff was wonderful. They went above and beyond to make sure we had a pleasant stay. Our room was big and beautifully furnished. And, breakfast was so delicious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot making it difficult to sleep. It's a very old hotel and not air conditioned.

    Our room was large! The bathroom was huge, and the furniture was old style & lovely. It was inside the town walls and in the center of city activity.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire experience could not have been better. The location and outside charm were perfect, then walking in we were greeted warmly and pampered. The room was spacious for our family of 5 with full-grown teenagers, and breakfast was delicious--something for everyone. The hotel and the staff made us feel like we were a part of this special place. Absolutely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't good at all. Selection wasn't great, and items were not very fresh. This was the only downside to this otherwise great hotel.

    The deluxe family room we had was very spacious, and very clean. The location cannot be beat, and is right in the centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not accuarate photos for room size. Room decor was photoed accurately but room size looked bigger in photo but small in reality.

    PERFECT LOCATION! Great stay. But I paid for luxury room and it really wasn't worth it. High price for not much more. pictures made it look a lot bigger. Not very accurate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was rather slow. No elevator that I could find.

    The location and ambiance of this hotel was great. We really enjoyed our dinner here as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine and our overall stay was very good. The only comment I would make is that the beds were not too comfortable.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. The staff was very polite and friendly. Our room was very clean. There was a welcome tray with strawberries and a small bottle of fizzy wine. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment Golden Ring 2 - Goldene Ringgasse 6
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator in the apartment, just meant a little extra exercise. :-)

    Our whole stay was fantastic. This was part of a longer trip and I would honestly skip some more well known places just so I could stay in Rothenburg longer! The apartment was way better than expected, the staff was friendly and attentive and the town, well you've got to see it for yourself! Go! I promise you won't regret it. I will definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I honestly can't complain about a single thing, but remember when you book it that this is a historic hotel/B&B and everything is not perfect. It has all the character of a midievel hotel.

    The owner is also the chef, and he and his wife run this beautiful hotel. They were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed getting to know them a little more than the usual check-in banter. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful, with a selection of local breads, cheeses, meats, jams, fruits, yogurt, cereal, etc. The chef prepared fresh eggs to order. I had a single room (#114) that was small but ample, with a nicely renovated, small bathroom. My father stayed in #111, a suite with a large bedroom with 2 twins pushed together, a beautiful antique headboard and furnishings, and a sitting room with a couch and desk. Everything was, overall, first rate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Golden Ring 2 - Goldene Ringgasse 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were put in different apartment to the one I booked both are nice I just thought that was wronh\g

    Stayed in Apartment.Needs more pots and a toaster. Booked for family of 5 only 4 cups and plates quite dissapointing as we were keen to cook our own meal

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything!

    Perfectly situated in the heart of Rothenberg ob der Tauber. Charming property with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Modern amenities and excellent food. Will stay here again on our next trip.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hard bed. The hotel is very old and atmospheric, but our room was completely modern. Not what we expected. It just didn't seem to fit the rest of the hotel spaces.

    Wonderful location and absolutely fabulous service. Loved everyone who helped make our stay great. Great food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Checking out - because it meant we had to leave. The hotel was awesome.

    This was an awesome hotel. One of our two favorites that we've stayed in across Europe. Upon checking in, because we were staying for a couple of nights, we were given our choice of three rooms (and each would have been a great option). The decor of the hotel was amazing and very atmospheric and the staff was wonderful. They even helped us with our (admittedly poor) German pronunciation. Generally I don't like giving all "perfect" scores because it seems unbelievable, but in truth I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs are a bit uncomfortable if you're carrying heavy luggage however is not extremely bad, they help you out

    Really nice hotel, extremely close to the town center and a 10 minute walk from the train station, good breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: