Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantik Hotel Schloss Rheinfels This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schlossberg 47, 56329 Sankt Goar, Germany

#6 of 19 hotels in Sankt Goar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 487 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.9
    Potentially a good hotel but staff to guest ratio needs attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening service was very poor, far too few staff (5) for the high number of guests saw me (literally) ignored for c45 minutes until I asked a waiter to help. He was both helpful and considerate and saved the day for the hotel.

    Breakfasts (and breakfast staff) were good. Check-in & check-out were high quality.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Very quaint location on the Rhein.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked to get a cab to the airport. The driver was rude and would only take us to the train station. Not the hotel’s fault, but they should probably find a less condescending service provider.

    Very quaint location on the Rhein. We renewed our vows overlooking Sankt Goar and the river. We were not disappointed. The hotel restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    very good hotel, nice rooms and fantastic views down the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good hotel, nice rooms and fantastic views down the Rhine. Food in the restaurant was very good and of a high quality. Room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    The wonderful view, the swimming pool, the location full of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At such a quality level and at such price, rooms should be air conditioned and balconies on the Rhine river should be regularly cleaned (we killed quite an amount of spiders!!!!)

    The wonderful view, the swimming pool, the location full of charm, the excellent dinner and breakfast and the kindness of the staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Incredible aerial Rhine views from atmospheric hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room slightly dated and a little small. Terrace bar not open in evening.

    Spa facilities were great! Wonderful breakfast choice, including made-to-order omelettes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Incredible location and very romantic setting in old castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no air conditioning. It’s a very old building, and it was not a problem, but you need to be aware of that going in.

    Incredible location and very romantic setting in old castle. Helpful staff and fabulous service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, would certainly visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to wait for initial connection (by shuttle) from ferry jetty to hotel. Should have taken a taxi.

    Incredible view at breakfast, looking down the River Rhine. I wish we'd had our lunch there too. Nice room, no aircon, but clean and adequately appointed. Quite easy to get to the town - about a 20 minute walk downhill. Easy to get taxis to and from town at about 6 Euros each.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    three days of comfort and relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Taxis .... never once came tp pre-arranged pick-up after booking on phone. Could be a problem for some folk as the walk back to the hotel is up a severe hill.

    A wonderful location; staff who are helpful and attentive with our being intrusive; breakfast is one of the best on offer in any German hotel I've stayed in; views and location exceptional; wellness centre and outdoor sun lounger balcony a delight; reasonably priced for the experience. I / we will be back in October and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in the location. Only downside -- local taxis are beyond hopeless, and you can find yourself having to walk up a very demanding hill to get back to the hotel if you visit the town. . .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Hope to have the opportunity to visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could use a little updating.

    We had booked a standard room and quickly realized that we preferred a room with a view. The staff made it happen, and we had a lovely room with a million dollar view of the river. Included in our room rate was a full breakfast which offered made to order omelettes and that amazing view of the Rhine; no words. Amazing location, great food (both breakfast and dinner), friendly staff; let's just say we were sad to check out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Was a nice stay but not quite as inviting as the other hotels and castle we stayed in on the Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning. It was in the mid 80's when we were there and it would have been nice if the newer part of the property we were in had A/C. Not many English speakers on the staff. Seems like this place prefers to cater to locals or other fluent German speaking folks which I can understand. Couldn't get a dinner reservation by the window even when I tried booking a day in advance. Castle ruins were an additional cost but wasn't too much. Restaurant is way over priced.

    Very nice accommodations, great view of the Rhine. Within walking distance of St Goar. Free parking. Connected to the castle ruins. Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. They hosted a wedding that was loud until 2 AM. Staff screwed up our dinner reservations. Looong walk is you arriving by train ad planning to walk to hotel.

    Clean. Quiet when they don’t have an event booked. Great location to visit the castle but it’s a hike to anything else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Lovely views, peaceful location, lots of nature, great history, hotel is managed with loving eye to
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. :)

    Great Service, rooms, Spa area, location & view! Very helpful and friendly staff and management. Fantastic food & homemade cakes! (Cheesecake!) Option for nature hiking! Recommend to join the castle guided tour! Lots of captivating history there. Hope to be back :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Good splurge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given one of the villa balcony rooms, rather than one of the castle balcony rooms. The villa is their convention center, across the street from the castle, with a more modern decorative scheme. Many facilities at the villa are for convention use only, such as the cappuccino machine, the fire pit, the snacks on the lobby tables, etc. It made us feel like second-class citizens being assigned to the convention center rather than the castle rooms, and then not being allowed to use some of the facilities. The room has no coffee maker, and the cappuccino maker was off-limits, so you had to cross the road/bridge to get a coffee at the castle. For these prices, that seems unnecessarily unacceptable.

    The balcony views are fantastic, although the villa balconies are small. The room was very comfortable. The restaurant was excellent (arguably our best gourmet meal in our month-long vacation). Our day at the spa was tremendously relaxing. The self-guided walking castle ruins were good, and the castle guided tour (different parts of the castle) was informative and fun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice castle hotel situated at the wonderful view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying at old castle room would get better remarkable memories than the newer villa room.

    Very nice castle hotel situated at the wonderful view of Rhine river. It has excellent breakfast and most table got panoramic view of the River. It has awarded spa facilities with good relaxation massage service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, well it could be free.

    Location! Location! Location! The staff was friendly and helpful. I thought the bed was great, best I have had in Europe. The pillows were big and really comfy. The view from the restaurant of the Rhine is spectacular!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In generally all, it is not a 4 star hotel is a 3 star. Wifi do not work correctly ( very bad), rooms so so, quiete old with problems as the doors do not close correctly and so on. Also it look like it is very important for them restaurant but at the level to be use most of the entrance for this matter. Anyway a good hotel but not a 4 star hotel.

    The place astonishing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Quality of food in restaurant and at breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arranged via Booking.com on 28 Nov 2017 Hotel had no reservation for us on arrival. They did find a spare room. Bathroom too small for comfort. Flat Screen TV / 36 channels - BUT - we are English and 35 German / Foreign speaking channels with only CNN News being understood; this does not encourage English tourists; is significant; and should be stated on booking.com particulars

    Quality of food in restaurant and at breakfast; attitude of staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Special menu was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I only wish that the castle was open to walk through while we were here. It was closed for the season, not even self-tours were allowed.

    Special menu was fantastic. Really enjoyed our meal overlooking the Rhine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    Historic building, great breakfast, scenic view, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located at the top of a hill from train station, noisy room (beside stairwell), the castle is closed in the winter season

    Historic building, great breakfast, scenic view, comfortable beds, spacious room, very clean, extremely accommodating staff (thanks Etta!)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Wonderful view to Rhein river from delux room with balkon;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered double room with 1 big bed, but got 2 joint single beds; Bathroom is rather small and simple - as in 3* hotel; No bath in the bathroom, only shower cabin; No elevator to reception, just stairs; No desktop for business needs, such as for printing boarding passes.

    Wonderful view to Rhein river from delux room with balkon; Free parking; Good breakfast with nice view from restaurant;

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior was just ok, did not quite match the splendid exterior of the hotel.

    Excellent breakfast with large selection of local food. Great location. Recommend to book a table for dinner in advance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel next to the old castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel next to the old castle. Spacy room with a separate alcove. The restaurant has a marvelous view over Rhen. The food was good, a little expensive measured with German standards. Parking was easy outside the door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is truly a Romantic hotel in the true magical sense. The facilities are great, the service excellent and the view over the Rhine is amazing. We enjoyed the restaurant and the wellness facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Castle dreams with a lovely view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no elevator to the reception area. You have to haul all your luggage up a flight of stairs.

    The windows opened in the rooms, which was a bonus as we were on the top floor and it was warm. There is a lovely bar about 25 meters away from the hotel, which was a lot of fun to frequent after dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.8
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One has to climb to get the hotel while the hotel doesn't provide free shuttle. One has to use a taxi (8 euros). They have only 1 restaurant for dinner, which was fully booked when we arrived at the hotel. We have to go down to the town (with taxi) to get some food. The location is not at all convenient and stuff was not friendly.

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We expected to stay in the castle but it was in an annex, a bit disappointing.

    We had a lovely big and pretty deluxe room with a balcony. The views from the terrace, dining room and bedroom was unbelievable. The breakfast was very good and included eggs and omelettes made to your liking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the location was fantastic. The staff were very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very hot when I arrived, and it would have been useful for a fan in the room to reduce the heat, or of course air conditioning. But a fan would have done the job

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.4
    Just go for a day visit, but don't stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very busy hotel grounds due to people also visiting the castle grounds (bus tours); room situated over the entrance to building; cars were parked right in front of entrance, very noisy throughout day and night. No air/con - but impossible to keep windows open due to noise. Staff friendliness at the reception desk below standard. Service in the restaurants very efficient and friendly. No answer to inquiry about transport from train station to hotel. Overall, customer service below par.

    Spa area, views from the restaurant over the Rhine are spectacular. Situated next to the Rheinfels castle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Romantic Rhine Resort - really !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not all stories are reachable by elevator.

    We had booked a standard room but got the junior suite for the same price :) Restaurant also has a terrific view - a delicious breakfast ist served there too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful views from restaurant and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are many stairs to climb to go up and down to get around from the room to the other facilities, have to be reasonably fit

    Beautiful view from balcony room in a historic castle Nice indoor swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    Worth a stay for the views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not especially friendly. Restaurant food is not terribly good value. Minibar drinks were not cold.

    Very good breakfast included with room, beautiful and expansive views from restaurant and bar, vomfortable rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    The view was amazing, sunrise over the Rhine while eating a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn't have enough time to use the heated pool and sauna

    The view was amazing, sunrise over the Rhine while eating a great breakfast eggs cooked to our request all with a happy smile from the cook , the delightful staff member at the reception was always happy to assist.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That there is smoking permitted in the bar-would enjoy a non-smoking area to enjoy a beverage.

    When we arrived to check in we were pleasantly surprised to get upgraded to the Lord's Suite. The room was large, sitting room with two full bathrooms. The beds were very comfy but furnishings could use an update. The entire grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    5.8
    Little value for (a lot of) money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only German spoken. By email, we specifically asked for a room in the main building, but never got any reply. Now, we would have to travel up and down from the wellness to an other building, which is what we did not want because it was very cold. In the wellness it turned out that you need to book for treatments way in advance, at least a week. Nobody told us. Castle was closed for visitors. No bath tub in the room.

    We liked the location, the view. We enjoyed the food at the restaurant. Some staff members were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    5.0
    Loud band played until 2am
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a Saturday night a terrible band played in the lobby/restaurant area until 2:00 am! So loud it sounded as if they were in the hallway outside our room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    The view , staff were excellent and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style

    The view , staff were excellent and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Great lovers get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    absolutista NOTHING

    E X C E L L E N T

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food overpriced.

    Amazing views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Gorgeous views of the Rhine River.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous views of the Rhine River. We enjoyed the Wellness Center amenities. The breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Super hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fabulous location. The evening meal was superb and nothing was too much trouble. Everyone was so helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet exhaust does not work well

    location is perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transportation from train station to hotel No taxis availble when we arrived

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Will go back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off season so some of restaurants/ beer Stube were closed

    Access to spa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has a great ambience and view!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Relaxation at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff spoke no English but that did not cause too much of a problem

    Excellent restaurant. Beautiful view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Memorable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious room with a view. Great breakfast. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit dated

    Awesome views from the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hours of operation of dining facilities could be longer

    Fantastic view and great food plus helpful staff made the Romantik a special place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    The friendliness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The friendliness of the staff The view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Want to sleep well? Stay at a hotel that offers air conditioned rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking, no air conditioning.

    Location close to the Rheinfels castle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely old hotel. Beautifully furnished, comfortable bathroom. Nice restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, staff, good and secure parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    Will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked it all!

    View from the room great! Breakfast so delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location and wonderful service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location and wonderful service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    Location and facilities are excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't stay in the main castle but in the villa across the bridge... it works fine

    Location and facilities are excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.6
    The view from the restaurant down to the Rhine was a dream.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about

    The view from the restaurant down to the Rhine was a dream. Very friendly staff. Exploring the Burg Rheinfels museum on site (not hotel property)

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    8.3
    Very nice spa and the swimming pool as well as the meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is not the hotel matter but Booking.com required 180 Euro per night for a cancellation for a 135 Euro stay per night. The policy of the Booking.com should be revised to avoid the the ridiculous situation for both the hotel and the guest.

    Very nice spa and the swimming pool as well as the meals.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    4.2
    The view of the restaurant is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Compare to my previous castle experience in UK and France, this is the worst one. Room setting and interior decoration offers no "castle" feeling at all. The historic ruins besides closed in winter. There is no lift to the reception area, we have to climb up a long stairs with our heavy luggage.

    The view of the restaurant is good. Rive Rhine is very beautiful. I lived in the main building, and the bathroom seems newly renovate, no smell from the drainage.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    9.2
    Great room overlooking the Rhine in the main building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room and the TV was very small Wine list prices are a fantasy

    Great room overlooking the Rhine in the main building.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    9.6
    When you pay for this hotel you expect thing to be perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    bit expensive, but totally worth it.

    When you pay for this hotel you expect thing to be perfect.. And they were! Amazing views of Rhine, cozy castle themed hotel, spacious and warm rooms, great breakfast. Overall a nice experience

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    8.8
    Nice room facing the river.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Furniture in restaurant (we only had breakfast) a bit worn and dirty.

    Nice room facing the river. Attention to detail and we felt very comfortable in room. Very clean. We travelled with dog and had water bowl and blanket already in room when we arrived. Attentive and friendly staff. Fantastic location!

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    6.7
    Hotel room location over looking the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a couple going away for a romantic weekend bed should be one piece and NOT two single beds put together. Pillows were flat, towels were thin, they need to be replaced. Not very luxury at all as they advertise.

    Hotel room location over looking the river. Breakfast was phenomenal. Staff were friendly and smiling.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    10
    Lovely views from our room in the main castle part of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Steep 17% gradient road for 1.5 km up to hotel from town (I ended up pushing my bike!). Some train noise at night from valley below.

    Lovely views from our room in the main castle part of the hotel as well as from the dining room. Very pleasant spa. Interesting visit around Rheinfels castle ruins next door.Secure storage for our bicycles. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    5.8
    Beautiful views, staff courteous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No English brochures, they list satellite TV but no English TV channels. I booked a outdoor balcony room and did not receive it.

    Beautiful views, staff courteous

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    After we made a dinner reservation upon our arrival, they did not have our name on their list and offered us a table in a dark corner that was set with a baby's high chair. When we asked to be seated in a more acceptable location they offered us another table in another dark corner. Then two men in shorts looking like construction workers were seated at a prominent location. They explained they were fully booked, though the place was empty. Not sure if they were simply incompetent or have a problem with Americans. We ended up dining off the property. Having lived in Germany before for 4 years, we were displeased to say the least.

    Great location.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.2
    Location and views across the Rhine Valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Long trek from Car Park and up several steps to Reception. Inadequate sign posting from Car Park although probably didn't help that there was a local festive occasion in progress. Few shady areas outside in hot weather. Night noise from railway lines below. No aircon in rooms .

    Location and views across the Rhine Valley. Restaurant meals excellent quality.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    9.6
    The beautiful view, the breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The beautiful view, the breakfast was great. The pool and spa areas were so relaxing. The room was beautiful and very clean. The service was great.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    9.2
    Spacious, comfortable, well appointed room with fabulous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor quibble but the wifi was a bit of a drag to access and only available near reception.

    Spacious, comfortable, well appointed room with fabulous views matched only by those from the restaurant. Charming, friendly staff who even managed to find a charger for my phone. Excellent breakfast and dinner, a really special experience.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    8.3
    its clean and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in the villa, it does not really feel like staying in a castle hotel..I would say we feel more like staying in a hotel next to castle ruins.

    its clean and nice. I love their breakfast. very friendly staffs

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    Sankt Goar is definitely worth a visit, and this hotel at a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sankt Goar is definitely worth a visit, and this hotel at a castle is well worth a stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were indifferent

    Great location.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    8.3
    Right next to the ruined castle, 15 minutes walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Right next to the ruined castle, 15 minutes walk from the train station

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    7.5
    The fabulous location overlooking the Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service was indifferent, bordering on poor

    The fabulous location overlooking the Rhine.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    10
    Stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cigarette machine in hall.

    Stunning location. Wonderful river views. Nice pool. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    7.1
    view from restaurant + breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room not very confortable. poor value for money

    view from restaurant + breakfast

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: