Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schwarzwaldhotel Stollen This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Elzacherstraße 2, 79261 Gutach im Breisgau, Germany

#1 of 3 hotels in Gutach im Breisgau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 223 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was fantastic and the service faultless. We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 dogs; they were equally welcome and at no extra charge. We had big problems with the brakes on our vehicle but there was a small garage next door and they went out of their way, together with the hotel staff, to get thing fixed. We have no hesitation in recommending and look forward to going back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillow is a little bit too soft. Everything else is perfect.

    The owner was very nice. We arrived a little bit late, but she still guide us to check in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were missing fresh croissants and bakery for the breakfast.

    Very nice location, comfortable room, our friends were a bit late, so the hotel left the keys for them, that was very kind. We were also advised to go to a very good German restaurant near to the hotel. The area where the hotel is located is great for traveling.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was an incredibly disappointing hotel, we have stayed at many hotels throughout Germany and have had very good experiences but this one was very poor in many respects. Firstly, we had booked a family room as we have two children so were expecting the usual sofa bed etc that are placed in the room, what we ended up with was a small sofa bed that was rock solid and a squeaky camp bed that had a thin foam mattress thrown on top. Our children are used to sleeping on camp beds etc so are generally easy going, but neither of these ‘children’s beds’ were suitable for sleeping on. In the end all four of us had to use the double bed, so a sleepless night for us all after a long journey… The next day after explaining this we were offered an extra room, unfortunately by this time it had ruined what was due to be a relaxing break. Secondly, when we opened the wardrobe it still had someone else’s used trousers and underwear in there!! Thirdly, the neighbouring room had a heavy smoker so we had to close all our windows due to the cigarette smoke coming in throughout the night. The next morning the whole corridor stank of cigarette smoke. When I complained the staff member didn’t seem to bothered and tried to justify why it had happened, so don’t expect this to be a non-smoking hotel?? Finally, although this is located in the Black Forest it is situated on a relatively busy road, we could hear heavy traffic particularly in the morning and the view from our window was taken up by the local petrol station, so don’t expect a beautiful panorama.. All in all very disappointing, for a similar price you can find much better options in the local area, and definitely do not book if you have children.

    The staff at the hotel were very accommodating and friendly, which was fortunate as there was very little else that left us with a positive impression from our family stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was a bit far from most places we visited

    The room was quite big with good heating. the hotel was clean with a nice breakfast. the staff was very helpful which helped to improve our trip experience.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy hotel has a bed and breakfast feel to it. It is very clean, we felt safe, had exceptional staff, great food and good WiFi. Great for our family with two young children.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in a very tiny town not within walking distance to anything. But centrally located for car trips to surrounding villages.

    The hotel staff were wonderful. The evening meal in the restaurant was very good. The morning breakfasts were excellent. Rooms very spacious and comfortable. The internet reception was the best we had at any hotel and it's free. Great stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bridge in front of hotel was out of service, therefore I had to walk 6 km extra

    Old stylish building for real Blackforest experience. Good food in restaurant and not expensive!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was facing the street, it was noisy.

    Dinner was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal muy amable,hotel recomendable al 💯 %

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice restaurant staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely spacious room with balcony. Two bathrooms. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was excellent. Surround area is stunning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its really very good

    Its good place Good hotel Good environment

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cosy stay and super friendly staff. Great steak and amazing selection for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pillows were too soft and the towels although they served its purpose could be a bit softer.

    A wonderful hotel that has a lovely rustic feel to it from the 70s but that's the charm! The rooms are large with en suite bathroom. We took two double rooms one for us and one for our two boys. It's exceptionally clean and we loved the fact that you were not overpaying for such a charming place. We took our pet dog and there is a lovely field a minute away for him to run and play. We took the kids skiing which was an hour away and then went into town with all the lovely restaurants 20 minutes away. Overall a wonderful holiday and we will be back again and again.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very Small minibar No kettle No elevator Wifi is very weak in the upper floor

    The staff was more than great The breakfast The room is large Free parking

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were a team of 11 people with little kids and a senior. The hotel team is amazing, very request was immediately fulfilled with a smile. Breakfast table was after the first day already ready with our special wishes. Highly recommended!!!

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really a four stars hotel.

    - Cleanness - Good location - Good meals

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice place. Nice hotel in old style

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We loved everything! The staff, rooms, breakfast, location in the Black Forest, etc. We stayed in a lot of hotels in this trip and this was the best.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That I had to leave.

    Wonderful setting and service.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi was very slow and weak at the higher floor

    The staff and location

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No bar within walking distance or even short driving distance

    Staff gave great infos on things to do and where to go. Great restaurant

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too dimly lit.

    Wonderful Restaurant. Surprisingly good food & fair prices.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: