Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Römerhof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Am Rupertsberg 10, 55411 Bingen am Rhein, Germany

#3 of 6 hotels in Bingen am Rhein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 405 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is closed during the night (but we knew that!). No mini-bar.

    Clean, spacious and cosy room. Parking available just in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are clean but could do with a little updating

    Very friendly and helpful greeting. Good breakfast with freshly cooked eggs. Good location for central Bingen

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The couple owner are very friendly and responsive ! Especially Mr. Kail Heinz (the host) is so humarous and very nice feeling like at home ! Their breakfast restaurant is very beautiful with a big nice painting made from a small photo of Rhein valley and the castles ! The honey at the breakfast is so great and I love it so much ! Walking to the Bingen (Rhein) Bahn Hof, Bingen town and the Rhein river side is very close ! It is also easy to take 2 Euro ferry to cross the Rhein to a very nice wine town, Rudesheim !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We especially appreciated the lovely breakfast, with tables set with china and decorated with flowers. We also appreciated being able to store our bikes in a locked garage, protected from the weather.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a wonderful hotel. The hosts are very friendly and ready to help. Breakfast is fabulous - plenty to choose from. The rooms are very clean, with good quality sheets and bath products.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room got very hot/stuffy no air con. windows left open to get fresh air but heard church clock chiming through the night

    Hosts were extremely helpful. After a mishap with one of our motorcycles we were lent tools / drill & various other items to affect a temporary repair. The proprietor even went on line & found a dealer on our route the next day who had a secondhand part available. Allowed to park bikes in secure locked garage. beds comfortable, room basic but clean. Plentiful breakfast, eggs cooked to order

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a problem with no elevator for our luggage because of back problems, but we took what we needed to our room and left the suitcases in the car.

    The breakfast was excellent. The food was among the best we experienced during a three week trip, and the presentation was beautiful! The parking was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, our room face the street making it difficult to achieve a full nights sleep. A warm evening, no air conditioning, presented a dilemma, to open or close the windows

    The owner and his wife were true champs. They were warm, hospitable and helpful. One could tell that they had a love for what they were doing. Always with a friendly smile, they were there to serve guests true hosts. The owners wife took pride in the elegant breakfast buffet, preparing most of the items herself. It was a pleasure staying at this establishment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Area around the hotel is a little run down, but only a 10 minute walk takes you to the lovely town centre and the banks of the Rhine with a good selection of restaurants.

    We booked this hotel again as we stayed here for 2 nights last year when travelling. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast good. Staff friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Owners were very gracious and efficient. They bend over backwards to please us in every way. The breakfast was outstanding and prepared fresh. Various home made items were offered that one does not find in any hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a nice hotel well located for the main Bingen station. (Beware - there are two Stations and while the Stadt Bahnhof is in the old town, where most of the hotels are, not all trains stop there). If you are going to the main Bingen Bahnhof, this hotel is 10 minutes walk. You can easily walk to the old town from here as well, or there is a bus stop 50 metres away. The hotel is run by a really lovely couple, and nothing was too much trouble. Be aware that their reception is closed between 12 and 3pm, which I didn't know and arrived in the middle of a thunderstorm, but they let me in anyway. Some might find it a little quirky, and it doesn't intend to be upmarket, but it was excellent value for money and the breakfast (included) was excellent with fresh fruit salad and scrambled eggs made to order.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wireless was awful---pretty much useless. They should not tell people they have wireless. The location was further from the city of Bingen than we thought.

    The staff were very friendly and the room, though small, was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception not open all the time. Make sure you let the hotel know what time you're arriving. Back door key provided once you've checked in.

    Location convenient for Bingen Hbf, but quite a way from the town centre. Good selection in breakfast buffet included in the overnight price. Eggs cooked to order if required.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner couple are kind nice and lovely. Comfortable living, convenient transportation, parking free. The breakfast was great. In Bingen choose this hotel you will never regret.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really ...... excellent value for money and a pleasant stay

    Friendly host, location close to the station (about 8 minutes walk), comfortable beds, clean room and facilities and excellent breakfast. Overall extremely good value for the price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No elevator!

    Karl and Renate were the best, making sure everyone was well taken care of. Karl has a sunny personality and Renate looks at the world through rose-colored glasses. (Literally, she has rose colored glasses!) The hotel was easy walking distance from the Rhine, the train station, the Netto, and the downtown area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No facilities for tea/coffee in room

    Host & hostess outstanding, with fluent English. Bed extra comfortable. Breakfast copious & very high quality. Small free car park directly opposite hotel. Free WiFi easy to use. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor doesn't look modern, if you care about that, but everything is clean and works well. We loved the place.

    The owner was extremely friendly and helpful - he opened breakfast early for us on Saturday so we could eat before catching our flight. Beds were great. Great price and easy walking access to grocery, restaurants and ferries to Rudesheim. Would happily stay again without even checking anywhere else.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location a little "out of the way" from the centre of Bingen where most activities occurred.

    Welcoming hosts, nice clean room with a very good breakfast. Outside patio area which had good views and was cool, temperature wise.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 2 misleading claims about this property on here 1 they have on site parking (false- you are directed to a small public parking lot across the road from the hotel which filled quickly on the day we were there) and 2 they have wi-fi everywhere (false- it did not register in our room on any devices, we had to open the door and walk down the corridor for it to show up. Do not expect it in your room).

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Walking distance to the river cruises, nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very tired. breakfast was ok but not much alternative to bread with small selection of meat.

    Bedroom was large and comfortable and hotel was quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C

    Very good spot for us. We enjoy walking and it seemed to be 10 mins from everything you need. Bank. Grocery store. Food. Owners very super nice and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You should note that this hotel , though convenient for the town is right next to the railway line and quite a busy road. Also there are 2 lots of church bells to contend with!

    Was convenient for walking down into Bingen. Comfortable beds. Parking opposite hotel was an advantage.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom wasn't very clean.

    Very nice host, responsive to all your requests, very good mattress, breakfast. Walking distance to train, river cruise stations and historical part of the city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner was very friendly.we needed some washing done and as there were no laundrettes close by ,he arranged for his wife to do it for at a very price. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisy from street traffic as our room was at front of hotel.

    Room was freshly decorated and very clean and comfortable with plenty of space. Breakfast was continental with good variety. Central location - only 1 km from town and banks of Rhine. Would recommend for short stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift or offer of help to carry bags up. Bit of a walk to the riverfront

    Friendly staff, free parking just across the road, breakfast very nice with a good choice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in/out process wasn't overly friendly compared to many other places we stayed on our trip through Germany.

    Great breakfast. The rooms were decent - our colleagues stayed on the front side of the hotel and had trouble sleeping because of the noise. We had a room near the back and it was fine.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room faced the road and unfortunately the road noise was very loud so I had some trouble sleeping. That's not really the property's fault though.

    Great location and the owners are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are well lit, pretty, and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast the meatballs were to die for

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillow too soft.

    Great views, staff and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The over all aesthetics is a bit all over the place

    The view from their patio is legit!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super friendly owners, fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    location is at the topof a hill but there is a bus dervice to and from the station

    genearally very nicer

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    Clean. New beds. Good wi fi. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bed and plentiful breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was great

    Delicious breakfasts. Hosts very helpful. Very quiet and Bingen is a delightful town. It was easy to get to Mainz.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift to III floor :), little noisly (streat near), but blind in the windows helping to reduce.

    Very good service, very nice stuff/owners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakbeats was super!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Top floor.

    Manager accomodated an early check in and the breakfast wad excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Aged 83 rather a lot of stairs! Kept me fit thank you!!!

    Bed and breakfast OK

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing!

    Lovely rooms, easy parking, wonderful hosts. Superb breakfast with freshly baked breads and freshly cut fruit salad.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a walk up the hill from the boat or train

    Staff were super-friendly. Good breakfast. Owner offered to cook me some eggs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The innkeepers were very accommodating. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Close to bahnof. The propietors were extremely welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was excellent. Easy access to rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast looked ordinary but the fresh cooked eggs were amazing! A tasty start to our day!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very convenient for the train station (particularly if taking the 12 minute journey into Ingelheim). Rooms were extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, silent and clean room and good breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited check in hours.

    Very good breakfast. Good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were nice. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfectly fine.

    Everything was wonderful. Location, customer service and cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfasts with plenty of choice; free parking, Wi-Fi, spacious room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bed and bathroom arrangements

    Friendly welcome

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakast room had huge tables.I was there by myself and it felt strange sitting at a table that could easy hold 6 diners. No dedicated Hotel parking but the free carpark across the street always had spaces.

    Friendly place to stay. The scrambled eggs were fantastic .. much better than some of the nearby bigger hotels. Wifi was good. Room was great.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel could use a little updating but it was clean and comfortable.

    The people running the hotel were great. They gave wonderful suggestions for dinner and he made great eggs.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The folks running the hotel were super helpful. When we arrived after 14:00 (restaurants were closed), the person behind the desk shared his food with my cousin. He also drove us to an exit when we couldn't find it....very helpful!

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was not a lift. But they carried our biggest suitcase upstairs for us.

    The hosts were great with info and always had good suggestions. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Group

    Very hot at the third floor, when you open the window for fresh air you hear the clock in the town is so loud every quarter !No sleeping possible when the window is open. Closing the window helps against the noise but then its too hot. Airco would be a solution. We wanted to have a drink in the evening, but no bar. A fridge with cold beer and win and softdrinks would be very nice.

    Good breakfast Very friendly people

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    A wonderful hotel in the country. Family run and friendly. Great for adults, families and children. High attention to detail in everything. A large vegetable garden for the excellent food of the restaurant. A petting "zoo" for the kids

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was outdated, and due for an upgrade (rooms etc). They gave us two single beds, which isn't ideal for a couple. I'm not sure if all rooms are like that.

    Great breakfast Friendly staff Easy to get into main centre

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Doors to bedrooms not very secure and no safety deposit box.

    Good location for sightseeing,clean and owners very friendly and helpful. Good continental breakfast in pretty dining room, tables were always beautifully set up.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not have a bad experience all the time we were staying at the hotel.

    The friendliest and help given by the owners, who made you feel at home as soon as you arrived. The condition of the rooms and central position of the Hotel Römerhof added up to an enjoyable holiday break.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was great, within walking distance of the train station, and passenger ferry to Rudesheim. Very clean. Owners were very friendly. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel price was totally over the odds for what we received. Although the room was clean and staff pleasant, the decor was very outdated.We paid €88, whereas it should only have been in the region of €60 max

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Karl and Renata (The owners) are extremely nice persons. On my birthday 21.06.2015 at breakfast, Karl opened a bottle of champagne to celebrate my Birthday. Himself, Renata, Patricia (My Partner) and I enjoyed a drink and chat. We will be returning to stay with Karl and Renata again.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our hosts, the Kaisers, were very pleasant and helpful. He helped us plan a trip to a nearby castle, phoning to check the hours and logistics (we don't speak German). The room was spacious and comfortable and breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only negative was no elevator

    nice people, nice accomodations, great breakfast with fresh eggs every morning, good bed and close to train and kd cruise pick up.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike will definitely return.

    Excellent hotel very friendly and helpful staff. Large well appointed room spotlessly clean. Great breakfast. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not like the smoking that was allowed on property. There is no air conditioning which means windows need to be opened. Unfortunately, can't open windows because people are outside smoking. Smoking was allowed on the patio. Because of the smoking, I can not recommend this property and would not stay here again. Rooms are very small. Shower is about 2 1/2 feet by 2 1/2 feet which is quit small. Bed not very comfortable.

    The room was pretty clean. Location OK, at least it was away from the busiest street in small town Bingen.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful, small, friendly hotel in a great location. Easy walk to the main sites of Bingen. The bed was uncomfortable but otherwise the room was clean, the bathroom was excellent, great Internet reception, and superb breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    From the welcome to the goodbye was my stay wonderful. The owner was so friendly and helpful. The hotel is not in the town but near the bingen Hbf the main station .. this was great for me and it was a beautiful 5 -10minute walk into the town. An excellent breakfast and just great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The immediate neighborhood struck me as a bit run down, but that isn't something that the hotel can really influence.

    Close the conference center. Great views.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was on the second floor and there is no elevator. I can imagine that for some people with bags it is not so easy. The Wifi in my room was very poor, but I have to say that I way really in the most far corner of the hotel.

    The owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is good! The rooms are quite good and bathroom was excellent.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: