Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Roemerstein This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Draiser Str. 136 f, 55128 Mainz, Germany

#28 of 35 hotels in Mainz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 260 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    The room was correct, a bit bigger than expected, and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Standard
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location is far away from the city and also from the university campus. The fastest connection with the city center is by a bus that only passes every 30 min. The room was a bit noisy because was located next to the entrance.

    The room was correct, a bit bigger than expected, and everything was working fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    We had a lovely, relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for dinner the whole time we were there, since I believe it's only open Monday-Thursday and we were there Fri night - Mon morning. I would have liked to eaten there once at least, since breakfast was so good :)

    The breakfast is amazing! The hotel is across the road from a park with the Roman Aquaduct ruins so we happened across them by a very happy accident. It's about a 30 min walk from downtown, nice and quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Still good hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room does not have A/C, but it has a fan. So, it is not comfortable to stay long (or sleep) with fan.

    It is very quiet hotel and the location is close to the university and few bus stops from Mainz center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    happy to stay there 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed not really wide enough for a hotel of that standard.(very good in all other aspects, mattress also very good) Given that there is no staff in the evening, after a certain time, you could feel lonely there is you were to travel on your own. Difficult to find and not marked clearly enough for us.

    location, close to my family, although we arrived after staff left, clear instructions how to get in

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    magical last night in Germany!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    all very good

    this is a gem, beautifully restored hotel in the centre of this historic village, the staff were all exceptionally friendly, possibly a family business, at that price you could not ask for more

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    A good choice for our stay in Mainz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was rather small and ceiling sloped making it very easy to bump your head when standing up in part of the room.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location in a residential area near the university was perfect for us. We ate our evening meal in the restaurant on the day of our arrival, a very convenient feature for tired travelers. The restaurant prices were reasonable, service prompt and pleasant. Good breakfast as well. The entire hotel is well maintained and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced for what you get.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basement room. Inconsistent internet, lost connection many times. Poor restaurant on site. Sauna/fitness facilities were rudimentary at best.

    There was parking available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    3.3
    Misleading and False Advertising.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does NOT have onsite parking. We had to park down the street and if that was full we were told to go around the corner. When we questioned the receptionist saying "ONSITE" parking was advertised she became a little nasty and snappy about it. The room was in the rafters and had limited space to walk around. My husband had to sleep at the end of the bed as he couldn't raise his head without fear of hitting the slanted roof. We both had a dreadful nights sleep. None of the advertised pictures show an attic room...the room was not like the photos at all. The room we booked said more room than normal which was lie. The noise from other rooms was disturbing and consistent through out the night. The hotel is not a hotel...just a residential apartment block in the middle of suburbia. Getting there was ridiculous...the GPS took us around the block 3 times before we realized it was behind other buildings on a lane way near a park and not at all on the road advertised. There was no kettle as advertised and when I asked about it and some tea and cups the receptionist told me tea was 1.90euros and the kettle was just for hot water. We didn't pay for tea. There was no iron in the room and my husbands robe had no belt. The view from being stuck in the roof was non existent. We paid 134 euros for the room and facilities that were advertised in the photos. We were very, very disappointed and would not recommend this place or ever stay there again and we have traveled through 28 countries and stayed at hundreds of hotels.

    The room was clean. Breakfast and coffee was average...only hot dish was a boiled egg.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Friendly hotel in pleasant district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pleasant, quiet location in a leafy residential suburb near the university. Five minutes walk to a bus into central Mainz, or an attractive 30min walk. A few restaurants and supermarket within walking dstance. The atmosphere was good and staff very friendly and helpful. Good, fresh breakfast. A clean, spacious room. The bathroom was feeling its age a little but perfectly ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Great value and good food close to where I needed to be. Recommended by University staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi internet access was very weak, but they said they were upgrading within two or three weeks. At least one room was in the basement looking at a stone wall; not a problem for this trip since we were always out traveling and the price was good. Upper floor rooms would seem to have great views of trees and the quiet neighborhood. Know the bus and tram schedule (weekday, weekend, and special days) for the 57 bus and 52 tram line into the main Mainz train station; the trip is quick, but sometimes may be only 2x or 3x a hour. You don't want to "just miss" either coming or going.

    Food: Excellent presentation, quality, and selection for self-serve breakfast; there seems to be something for every taste. Coffee was good. Evening diner offered was also of good, fresh quality. Great location to the University and this part of Mainz. Also, short bus/tram ride into the city with stops either three (#57) or eight (#52) minute walks away from Hotel. Basic, clean accommodation with convenient breakfast & dinner available on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Quiet location but needs a satnav to find it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom had a sloping ceiling over the bed; both of us banged our heads several times. Ended sleeping with the heads at the "bottom" of the bed. Limited parking adjacent to hotel.

    Quiet location but needs a satnav to find it. The chef's "special Schnitzel" was lovely and a reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    3.3
    If you want a B&B a long way from anything go for it but you will regret it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Premium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the above also the price for the B&B was far too expensive,considering the lack of facilities also no balcony ,as booked. 5 parking spaces in front of house does not constitute a car park. When I booked out I complained but nobody was interested.

    Breakfast was good. That's all that I would call good about the place. It's a large B&B no bar at weekend ,no lounge,no facilities to make tea or coffee .Bar was padlocked and dining room from 6 o'clock every evening .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.0
    Hotel Roemerstein is fairly close to Mainz Hbf, only 3 stops...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel Roemerstein is fairly close to Mainz Hbf, only 3 stops by bus 57, the hotel is just 2 minutes walk from the stop, the staff are friendly, breakfast is good, You wake up with bird sounds

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.3
    Useless wifi, dated facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was unusable. I was only able to connect to it a few times and when I did it was too slow to be useful. Accommodations are dated and basement room was a bit musty smelling.

    Close proximity to University of Mainz.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    Cozy and Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no elevator to take luggage upstairs, but I'm sure we would have gotten help if we had needed it.

    Very cozy and friendly. Hotel and room very clean and everything in working order. Restaurant had delicious food as well. Staff was exceptionally helpful and genuinely friendly. Location was close to city and convenient, but away from hustle and bustle of city streets. Nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff was very nice and helpful and the breakfast was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Standard
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the bed was tiny and not so comfortable, there was no air conditioning in the room

    The staff was very nice and helpful and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice and quiet location, nice room, satisfying breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Standard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so near from the city center

    Nice and quiet location, nice room, satisfying breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.5
    Perfect hotel for University visitors
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect hotel for University visitors

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.1
    Helpful staff, good sized room with a comfortable bed &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Standard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Longish walk to the centre

    Helpful staff, good sized room with a comfortable bed & very good breakfast. Good wifi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Thank you!!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.5
    The bed was very small for 2 persons
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very small for 2 persons

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    9.2
    I liked the location of the hotel, the fact that it was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hot water in the shower took too long to heat up in the mornings and at nights.

    I liked the location of the hotel, the fact that it was quiet, the provision of evening meals well cooked and well presented, the range of food available for breakfast, and the helpfulness of the staff

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    10
    The staff were amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were amazing. I had a bit of an unfortuante stay in Mainz, lost my possessions and passport. If it hadn't been for the staff at the hotel I don't know what I would have done. I don't speak a word of German but despite this they made every effort to help me, letting me use the phone and internet to make contact with my family, and making sure a room was available for me on short notice so I had somewhere to stay in the interim. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.2
    Nice and quiet located in a quiet area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice and quiet located in a quiet area. Good wifi allowed me to stream Netflix. Breakfast area was very nice and the breakfast had many things to choose from. Got a room on the top floor with a balkony which was a nice surprise. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly staff and good food (breakfast and dinner).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is hard to find. Shower took a long time to get warm. No food on Sundays.

    Very friendly staff and good food (breakfast and dinner). Bus near by to go to the city.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast, cleanliness and staff were all good
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Triple room was a double bed with air bed, small and very warm under the roof, not what I expected for 130 euros a night.

    Breakfast, cleanliness and staff were all good

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    9.2
    Very quiet hotel in a charming residential aera, walking...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very quiet hotel in a charming residential aera, walking distance to the university campus and to the bus stops, free wi-fi working very well, amazing german breakfast buffet, smiling staff

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    5.4
    The stay was quiet, probably because the hotel was nearly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Difficult to find, even with GPS, hotel is off of a side street from the named street. Look for a small brown sign on the street sign post that show in only one direction. Enter the address as 136F in your GPS. The letter may get you to the back street. It is on a residential street at the back side of the university on an icy street in winter. Restaurant and bar were closed for the holidays.

    The stay was quiet, probably because the hotel was nearly empty in the week after Christmas. Nice Greek restaurant about 3 blocks from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    7.9
    The hotel is small and cosy, friendly and helpful stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In my opinion, for that size of the room and location 80€ per night without breakfast is too much.

    The hotel is small and cosy, friendly and helpful stuff

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.9
    It's close to Uni.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's close to Uni. They were helpful to get info before arriving by phone. Breakfast is excellent and the lady super nice

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.2
    Very clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit far from the town centre.

    Very clean and modern. Fabulous breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    10
    Friendly staff;
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff; Big room and bath; location

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: