Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Gasthof Rose

Herztal 88, 77704 Oberkirch, Germany

#3 of 16 hotels in Oberkirch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 505 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and helpful staff, spacious clean room and comfortable bed with nice view balcony, surprisingly they have a lift was a bonus, good breakfast, we enjoyed the dinner on-site both nights and the food were delicious with reasonable prices, we plan to come back next year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is hard to find fault, but if I have to mention something, I will say that the bathroom towels could be softer.

    Returning to Hotel-Gasthof Rose feels like going home. The gasthof is cosy and welcoming, and the staff are consistently gracious. The food is always excellent and the restaurant is very popular with the area residents. The countryside is beautiful in early Spring but you should see it in the Summer months. Glorious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no any English speaking television channel.

    It is truly a home away from home. Very comfortable and the owners are very warm and helpful. Meals are nice, no fuss. Wish could have stayed longer. Although the wifi is very sporadic, it did not bother me that much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. A car is needed to reach the hotel. Make sure to drive to Nussbach which is a small village belonging to Obekirch. A bit difficult to find.

    Spacious well appointed rooms. Spotless clean. Welcoming staff. WiFi was working well, sufficient for work and phone. Popular restaurant serving excellent traditional food at fair prices. Breakfast was very good. By end of November it was cold, the room was preheated prior to our arrival.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels in the bathroom were older and worn out.

    The hotel is located in a neighborhood and was very quiet with a beautiful garden in the back and a spacious parking lot. The breakfast buffet was excellent and everybody was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean with a modern bathroom. Free wifi was offered in the rooms as well as in the rest of the building. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is difficult to find something negative to write but I suppose I would have liked to have had tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    The scenery was exquisite. We enjoyed relaxing on the balcony after our days of exploring the countryside. The garden was lovely and the surrounding area is very peaceful. The breakfast really set us up for our daily adventures with a great selection of good quality foods.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything just perfect. If you plan to do a Black Forest holiday make Gasthof Rose your base. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spotless, the location is great, and the breakfast is perfection. I

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A light on the balcony would be a nice addition. Allthough there's electrical socket outside where you can place a lamp from the room.

    We stayed here for one night. Just a bed, a shower and breakfast. It was all good and found out it's a very nice located place. Relaxed and green, even though you're sort of in the suburbs of a small village. Nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price-quality ratio at the low end (quality OK but relatively high price). Personnel seems little bit tired from tourists, especially in the restaurant.

    Spacious, comfortable rooms with seats, nice view from balcony. Good WiFi. Good breakfast. Quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel did not address our request for non-allergenic bedding, which became a health issue for my traveling companion.

    A quiet hotel in an idyllic and pastoral setting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could find nothing negative.

    Staff went beyond expectations to make us welcome. Upgraded our room for English TV. Initial stay 1 night extended to 5 nights. Assisted with laundry. Great food. Can't say enough good things. Worth every Euro spent. Recommended and would return. Staff made every effort to understand English. We speak little to no Germany. Area is fabulous and near the Black Forest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent family hotel, very kind staff, cosy rooms, good restaurant, beautiful nature, opportunities for many different activities. Verry happy with my choice!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are very friendly but only one speaks any English and she was nopt there. Anyway, we managed to get-by with a phrase book and hand gestures.

    At the end of a small village on a road that goes nowhere. Extremely calm and quiet. No public transport, you can only get here by car ! The bedroom had recently been fully refurbished, everything was spotless and perfect; very comfortable bed. Excellent restaurant for evening dinner. Fantastic breakfast including sliced fresh pineapple, melon and orange segments and eggs cooked to your preference, as well as all the normal stuff and wonderful bread rolls. The staff are very friendly but only one speaks any English, when she was not there we managed to get-by with a phrase book and hand gestures. We now stay here regularly on our way through the area. This time we had a room at the back with a balcony and a beautiful view across the valley.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are very friendly but only one speaks any English, when she was not there we managed to get-by with a phrase book and hand gestures.

    At the end of a small village on a road that goes nowhere. Extremely calm and quiet. No public transport, you can only get here by car ! The bedroom had recently been fully refurbished, everything was spotless and perfect; very comfortable bed. Excellent restaurant for evening dinner. Fantastic breakfast including sliced fresh pineapple, melon and orange segments and eggs cooked to your preference, as well as all the normal stuff and wonderful bread rolls. The staff are very friendly but only one speaks any English, when she was not there we managed to get-by with a phrase book and hand gestures. We now stay here regularly on our way through the area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location to visit Strasbourg and the surroundings, cozy and comfortable rooms, nice restaurant, lavish breakfast. Very nice and helpful guests, 15 minutes away from Strasbourg by car, placed in a very quiet and beautiful location, definitely one of the best places to stay in the area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent restaurant and very large and comfortable room with balcony overlooking the beautiful countryside.The owner and staff made us very welcome.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With no air condition and the summer heat, the room was a little hot but did not detract from what was otherwise very comfortable accommodation.

    The hotel was spotless throughout and the staff incredibly accommodating. Our room had a delightful balcony overlooking the valley. We took advantage of the garden restaurant during the evening and ate a pleasant meal with a small number of other guests and locals. With no time for breakfast our kind hosts let us take some fresh croissants and fruit for our onward journey.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was an excellent hotel for a relaxing break

    The hotel was located in a small hamlet with lovel tranquil views. The rooms were really good, especially the bathrooms. There was a superb terrace for drinks and food. The choice and quality of the food was excellent, especially the local dishes.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was the third time we stayed at this Hotel. The food and hotel were very good.We always have an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels could have been better they seemed a bit old.

    The traditional style and very clean. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant family run hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The hotel was a warm, welcoming, comfortable place to stay in picturesque surroundings. Standard of the food was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent room. Very friendly and helpful owner. Nice restaurant. Very good buffet breakfast. The surroundings

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fabulous. Great room. Friendly staff. Food and drink choices to purchase on site was really good. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The surroundings and view- spectacular!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Views from the rooms. Quiet location. Restaurant on site. Mix of modern rooms and traditional parts of the building

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good

    The hotel was conveniently located, Breakfast and Dinner were very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    all in the surrounding

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. Comfortable room. Excellent restaurant on site with great food and great beer!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi wasn't very good in the room can't rely on satnav to get here

    wifi was great in the bar

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wounderful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hosts were amazing, and the food was excellet! great blacony view to the gardens and a relaxed atmoshpere

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The owner/hostess was amazing. She was quite gracious and made sure that all of our needs were met. Out of our 14 days nights in Germany, this was by far our favorite stay. It was just lovely there.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was extremely hot during our stay and there isn't any air conditioning; no elevator so the treck to the 3rd floor can be difficult with luggage or for older people; also Wifi only available in one very small section of the dining room.

    Breakfast was very good, nice Biergarten, friendly staff, clean rooms, attractive property, plenty of free parking.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No internet connection or barely any (you do get a cable, if you have an appliance to stick it into, but it is rather slow). Pretty slim breakfast given the price and the country.

    Nice to explore around if you have the time, pleasant and accommodating owners, decent restaurant close by (when theirs is closed).

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    I could not drive out of hotel because of sudden snow. My car had normal tire. The owner family tried to find chaine for the tire for several hours. Finally we came to know it was not allowed to put chaine on normal tire and I rented s car. The owner drove me to the Hertz in next town. They were very kind and friendly. I would like to thank them again.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bad wifi, no mobile phone connection

    nice breakfast, large room, good restaurant, very clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The environment is perfect for a relaxing trip. The staff is pleasant and caring

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent staff and manager.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing at all

    Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Beautiful little place in a very pretty hamlet. Evening meal was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No elevator. No wifi in the rooms.

    The rooms are big and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic food, welcoming owner and staff

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit out of the way. Restaurant closed.

    Breakfast was great. Large room.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breadth of breakfast could be a little better.

    Room was excellent. Decor of hotel throughout was exemplory.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Hotel-Gasthof Rose traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: