Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rothenburger Hof

Bahnhofstrasse 11-13, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

#27 of 29 hotels in Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1642 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.3
    Good location and easy access to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an elevator but some rooms require to use steps. I had to carry my luggage through steps and narrow aisles.

    Good location and easy access to the station. Good breakfast. Clean room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.1
    A good deal for the price. For a single night stay it was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit dated. Bathroom fan was very noisy.

    Convenient for town and cheap for the area. Staff were helpful and breakfast was good. Secure parking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    Staff gave us a map and pointed out where to explore, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can fault is that when using the shower it flooded the bathroom floor as the screen that is there did little to stop the spray unless you squeezed right up into the corner.

    Staff gave us a map and pointed out where to explore, great and easy location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    Very close to train station and close to markets and stores
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found that staff was not hospitable or friendly during our 2 day stay, which has not been the case with our 7 other locations here in germany

    Very close to train station and close to markets and stores

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay here - great location to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really enjoyed our stay here - great location to the train station and a very short walk into the walled city. Rooms were nice and big, and the staff was very friendly. Would stay here again. One thing to note - when they say check-in is at 3pm, they mean it, and will not let you check-in early.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No 24/7 reception, room was a bit cold because of the old windows, no power outlets next to bed

    Great location next to the railway station, within walking distance from the old town, great info package in the room, comfortable bed, own entrance for the guests behind the restaurant, altogether nice and quiet room with a bathtub 👌🏻shopping center right across the street with atm and grocery store, 24/7 gas station close by

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was just right;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we could offer here since we stayed here just one night and spent most of our time there away from the hotel.

    Breakfast was just right; timing, items offered and the quality. Car parking was included in their price - less to plan. Location is right across the street from train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very clean. only 10- 15 min walk to centre.loads to see and do in centre . free parking limited spaces but just arrive early. good spread for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much.. nothing to keep us from staying again!

    Little details like the shower gel and hand soap attached to the wall in those nifty dispensers and plenty of towels, a floor length mirror, fan, couch, a lolly on the end of the bed for guests......all in the economy room! It's literally opposite the train station and all the sights and shops are an easy walk. Staff were very thorough and hospitable, thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Very cleaned and the breakfast was very delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window was old and sometimes it takes time to close tight.

    Very cleaned and the breakfast was very delicious. In particular we liked that they have warm scrambled eggs. Staff was friendly and it was right in front of the train station, although we drove a car. Parking was free in the hotel, and they even let us park there after we checked out. 5mins walking distance to the oldtown gate.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.8
    The hotel has good location, there is shopping center 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was old, very small bathroom, old furniture, uncomfortable beds.

    The hotel has good location, there is shopping center 2 minutes away. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Quaint and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in another building on the first floor, right next to the entrance door, the door to our room rattled loudly, everytime someone entered or exited. The breakfast offered wasn't worth the 8 euros, you are better off walking to the local bakery in town.

    Perfect location, we are right across the street from the bus and train station, and a 5 minute walk to Rothenburg.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    A great town to visit and this hotel facilitated my daughter and me to enjoy the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar was closed for August. Basic and a little old and tired. It delivered on what I needed a place to stay but it was certainly no frills.

    Good location easy to get to centre of town. Breakfast was good and well presented.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Only stayed one night, and needed to be close to the train station. This worked very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small shower; strange tasting coffee.

    Very close to train station and within walking distance to everything. Room was clean. Price was very reasonable. Breakfast okay. Coffee tasted a bit strange. Couldn't figure it out. Perhaps the water? Shower pretty small, but if you're not staying too long it works. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    2.9
    Toilet flush was broken and we had to fix it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet flush was broken and we had to fix it. No heating even though it was available in the facilities when we booked. It was cold that day so instead of just saying sorry but heating is not availabe i would prefer an extra cover offer or something. Price really high for what it actually offers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Good hotel in a very historic town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bedside power outlets and behead lamps don't work. Very noisy and had to shut the double glased windows to shut traffic noise out.

    Very convenient location approx 800m from old town gate, across the road from the train station and acroos the adjacent road from a shopping centre. Off street parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Great value for a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtain didn’t do the best job of keeping the water in the tub, but that seems to be common in Germany. The street noise was a little loud in the morning, but we were so tired it didn’t bother us much.

    Perfect location. Great breakfast. Helpful staff. The room was comfortable and clean. They stored our bags when we checked out so we could explore more of Rothenburg before our train left.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning, no suitcases stand in the room. Room in the annex, across the parking lot.

    Very good location, right in front of the train station and a few minutes walk from downtown. Good breakfast. A reasonable value for the money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door swung clear of the bath so that water went on the floor. Clearly this has happened a lot, flooding the floor, evidenced by the water damage on the back of the door

    Handy location. Oldy wordly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Perfect! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind staff, wonderful breakfast, nice and very clean room with bathroom and all comodities (there is an hairdryer too!), close to the center! Rothenburg is a fairytale!♡

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    For short stay ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were first greeted quiet unfriendly, the guy on the reception changed then and other guests where offered parking space, a map etc. which we did not receive by the first guy. Second guy and ladies where very friendly. Room had black mold in the shower ( bad for your health!) as no exhaust in shower.

    Room size and location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.2
    AVOID AT ALL COSTS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff at check in and check out - same unpleasant overweight male who was so rude Room so hot and road noise made it impossible to sleep

    Location only

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Deacent hotel with Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has past it’s best days, it was worn out and not quite Clean.

    Good parking place for our motorbike. Location Within walkingdistance to old town. The Room had own small terasse. Good Café (Brot und Zeit) next door in a shopping mall.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    2.9
    Awful don't recommend staying there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not in the hotel itself but in an old building beside it. Everything was old and not very clean. The bathroom was extremely tiny that the sink was in the room. The room was on the ground floor with one window out looking on the busy street and that meant not being able to open the window for security reasons of course. The room was so hot and the fan made noise. The bed was old and so were the mattresses. The room had a strange smell and the water of shower when I opened it smelled like sewage. The room was beside the stairs and that meant hearing the front door of the building slammed Everytime one entered or went out and the room was across the stairs and that meant also hearing the squeak of the old stairs when people went up or down. The last thing were the steps to get to the reception and to the building were I was staying meant carrying my baby, the luggage and the stroller up and down and no one helped. It was an absolute disaster and I wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone especially not at this price with which I then stayed another night in an absolute gorgeous hotel IN THE CENTER

    The location: just across the train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we reached a bit late because of the traffic and the woman at the reception was not very happy about it and kept telling us that. Of course it could have been because Germany had been knocked out of the world cup that day.

    Great breakfast. Good location. No frills but for a large family and friends it was a great place to be in. We were 4 people and the family of our friend were with three children and we all managed to live there nicely. The hotel was not in a crowded area and very close to the city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Great value and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All in all everything was nice.

    Hotel was clean and comfortable in a great location easily within walking distance to the Old Town. The hotel desk clerk was very willing to make suggestions for good restaurants close by to the hotel. The value for the price was excellent. I definitely would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.0
    Reasonable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable hotel. Extreme heat in bed room on top floor. No air con. Very noisy traffic. Good location for walking to town. Garage parking for 5 motorcycles. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    It was a comfortable stay in such an affordable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The walls are thin, I think. The sound insulation was not good. The hotel was crowded and the outside noise was inside when noisemaker clients are around. 2) It’s not in the inner circle of the town, but still only like 1 km. and 5 mins. walking distance to the center, so that’s NOT actually a negative condition.

    The room was clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was useful, large, and clean. It was the cheapest one that I found in town, but still it was a really good hotel. I booked it due to its free parking facility.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    The receptionists don't say hello to us when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionists don't say hello to us when we arrived. Our room is in an other adiacent palace. They located a family in the middle of a group of school guys, bad decision. I ragazzi della reception non ci hanno salutano quando siamo arrivati. La nostra stanza era in un altro palazzo adiacente. Hanno sistemato una famiglia nel bel mezzo di un gruppo di ragazzi della scuola, cattiva decisione.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable room in a hotel just outside town walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only suggestions could be either a fan or someway of keeping the windows open as it got quite warm at night. Also a kettle in the room would be nice for tea and coffee.

    The room was clean and spacious. It was easy to walk into town. There aren’t many places reasonably priced to stay within the walls of the city so this was a good alternative.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    nice location and free parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i wanted to try their restaurant (the smell of food was like ugh.... I wanted to try) but they ran reservations and couldnt try them

    nice location and free parking!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    The room was great for the price and the location (right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The schedule for check-in was a bit tight. I arrive at 12pm, and had to come back in the afternoon. Hopefully, the city is small enough to overcome this difficulty. But beware if planning a late check-in.

    The room was great for the price and the location (right close to the Hbf), close enough to the historical city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient to train, good area, a budget hotel for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot room, no AC. No top sheet on bed, just a Donna which wasn't needed - typical of Germany.

    Breakfast was €7, cheaper than most. Across road from train station. A good walk into the centre of Rothenburg. Plenty of restaurants close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Location was great, close to the beautiful historic centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was great, close to the beautiful historic centre. The room had older furniture, but it was good and practical. Breakfast was excellent with good choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Very cozy, great value for money and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was noisy, and I move a lot when I sleep. Everytime I moved during my sleep, the noise would wake up my partner.

    Not only was the location great, but also the price was amazing and there was a free parking spot. The staff was friendly and we loved our room. It was very pretty, clean and cozy. Given the price of the accommodation, our stay exceed a lot the expectations!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    It was ok as a last minute choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and it was quite warm....however, when asked they provided us with a very nice, functional fan. The breakfast was a bit over priced we felt.

    The last minute choice was ok. Right across from the train station...that being said it was a bit noisy but very easy to access the historical center of town in a very easy walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Location was perfect in front of the train station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our rooms was located at the foot of the wooden stairs. So everytime someone used the stairs, you could hear the footsteps coming up and down.There was no air conditioning and it was a somewhat warm evening. If the windows were open you can hear the cars passing by.

    Location was perfect in front of the train station and beside a mall which had a supermarket, bakery, and Asian restaurant. The old medieval town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber was walking distance too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle provided.

    The location is just opposite the train station and supermarket is on the left side of the hotel. Only 5mins walk to the old city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    A great place for a stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t really find fault. I was pleased with everything. Only stayed one night and the price was right!

    Free parking, good location. Perfect for exploring the beautiful city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Ok hotel but needs redecorating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very dated. Our room had a tiny bathroom and generally needed a makeover as it looked like a 70s style. Also there was no air con and as the weather was extremely hot it was difficult to sleep.

    Location was decent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location friendly staff. Great value for money. Room was spotlessly clean with great WiFi, TV, powerful shower all you need for a hreat stay in this beautiful town. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean & friendly, good quality food, great parking for bicycles and motorbikes plus half a dozen car
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although our rooms were quite large (we were couples) the shower room/toilets were very small and the handbasin was actually within the bedroom area. This may not suit everybody. Also the soap dispenser for the shower was on the outside of the shower, which made things rather difficult. If your bedroom window overlooks the road, be prepared for quite a bit of traffic noise during early morning. The main bar only serves bottled beer, no beer on draught.

    This is a great place to stay if you are a motorcyclist or cyclist as there is a very large lockable garage for storing bikes, etc. At a pinch you could possibly park 20 motorcycles. Breakfast is of good quality and at 8 Euros per person you cannot get better value by trying a local cafe. The hotel is split into 2 buildings but they are only 20 feet apart so no problem. In the basement is an Irish bar called Liquid Corner which is very friendly and cosy, but only open 2 nights per week. 5 minutes walk from what must be one of the most beautiful towns in the world.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.6
    The location was across the street from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the staff to be rude and abrasive. My wife ask if we can go a particular direction for supper. The guy did not say anything. He just pointed his finger. Breakfast was mediocre at best.

    The location was across the street from the train station. We had a larger room with a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay. They were very nice. I loved my large room.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some construction noise during the day.

    I loved the large room i had. It was very comfortable. Thehotel was directly across from the train station and near shopping center with grocery store, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath and toilet area is small. And there are stairs from the elevator to the room which cause the difficulties to travelers who carry heavy luggage.

    The location is perfect, just opposite to the train station and it takes only few minutes to the city center. The room is cute, unfortunately that we did not have time for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    The hotel has a nice price and its walkable to the wall city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a disaster when we arrived there because we choose for a double bed room and when we get in it has one bed in each side of the room. We ask for change but they said it was full. Also the toilet was so tine that we hardly go in. If the person it is a bit bigger or taller than us would not fit in. You can have an idea thought the picture. We dont mind of being in a room like this once we know that would be like this. The worst part is to pay for one thing and get other totally different. Where is the picture of the room in the booking file? Why is not there? Thats not fair. You are playing with people feelings. Doing something that could damage a trip which was planned after years and years. I know it seems so dramatic but thats whats really happened. Truth its always the best way! Very dissapointed!!! Could not be worst! Fortunately it was for one night only!

    The hotel has a nice price and its walkable to the wall city. We choose this one because of the parking but when we get there it was full and we have to leave our car opposite of the road. Fortunately had one spot free which was of the agency that luckly it was closed and thats why we could park there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No luggage storage space. Only in the dining room, don’t leave valuable stuff.

    Location is good, near central train station, Big supermarket just across the road. 10 minute walking to old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Large modern room with nice outlook in a very handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not tune TV to English audio - only English shows were a few NEWS type channels.

    Large modern comfortable clean room with good outlook. Helpful staff. Good WiFi. Good breakfast. Across the road from (quiet ) rail station. 10 minutes walk to old city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Nice hotel, you should stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    They have a shower bath. It's very good. Train station just opposite the hotel. Supermarket is nearly hotel. Not far from town, you can walk within 15 min.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Good choice for people travel by trains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A good location always come along with lots of traffic, it's a bit noisy in the night. One of the reception staff has a poker face which I dont like. The TV is hanging by a metal arm in the middle air, bumped to my head several times.

    Location is super good, right in front of the train station, also next to a big supermarket, icecream shop, and several restaurants. It's the best choice for travellers with big luggage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    3.8
    Overall I will not be going back to this hotel for another stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door jam was hardly existent. It was Jerry rigged to hold the door shut and the lock didn't work. I was actually quite nervous about the security of my room

    I didn't like much about the experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking on site. Directly across street from train station and grocery store. I liked the full size tub\shower (instead of the typical shower stall). Easy walk to historic area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Happy with it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too soft for my preference.

    It certainly helps being right across the train station, especially when I was lugging two heavy bags! Walking to the old town takes less than 10 minutes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    3.8
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was curt and didn’t seem to want to be helpful. The rooms were very big but dirty, there were cobwebs everywhere. The shower in our room was very difficult to maneuver in due to the slope of the roof. The water in the shower kept going from freezing cold to burning hot.

    The location was excellent. Very close to the old town and great restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.8
    OK breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived late in the evening which was not appreciated. Difficult to get in since everything was closed and locked. One of our two rooms was very cold and not possible to heat up. In general very simple rooms. Corridor smelled really bad from food and cigarets. Value for money ??

    OK breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.4
    Staff was cold and unfriendly. Did not feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast. not much on first day and then much improved on second day when huge tour group was in the hotel

    room was in separate building, Did not feel secure. But clean and well located.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant cost-benefit relation in the best possible location for travelers with heavy luggage
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little fresh paint on the lift, but that's all.

    Very helpful staff, very good location (opposite station, so no carting around heavy luggage across Rothenburg which does not have public transport!) and amazing cost-price ratio, and all that in a very clean establishment! There is no minibar, but a real bar with good Franconian wines in the restaurant on the ground floor!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    A simple walk into the medieval town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar guy was a little unfriendly- more parking although was easy to park for free across road at train station.

    A simple walk into the medieval town. Very clean and comfortable. Loved this town!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room with two twin beds had a more musty smell to it and seemed less kept up. It definitely function for a night. The staff seems to be very dry and not so welcoming but from what I'm told that's more of a German thing. It's an easy walk to get to the historic town area but do realize this is about the farthest hotel from that area while closest to the train station.

    This is a very small hotel and family or locally run. It is a bit outdated with some of the rooms While others have been brought up to be more modern. We had to book two rooms in order to accommodate three of us. The double room was fine and more modern. The best was okay as well. The location is right across from the train station so that helps. We were able to leave our luggage there before exploring since it was too early to check in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Overall, it is quiet and comfortable, easy to find the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is not open during the evening time. Guests have to walk out to find other restaurants at night time for food.

    Overall, it is quiet and comfortable, easy to find the location and check in. It takes only 3-5mintues to walk to the old Town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Great value for the price
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint is that we could hear everything in the hallway, guests entering and leaving their rooms, walking up and down stairs and conversations in the middle of the night.

    We requested a double bed but when we checked in to our room we had two singles. We kindly asked for a room change and the receptionist changed our room quickly without problem. The property was within 10 minute walking distance to Old Town, was near a grocery store, drug store and gas station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was impossible to have a shower without it flooding the whole bathroom. They didnt seem to care when we told them. When we called reception for more towels she said she couldnt help us.

    The parking is free and its a 10min walk to the old town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    This is a nice, family run hotel near the walled city of Rothenberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our group had seven people in it and we wanted to gather down in the lobby area around 8:30 - 9:00 to visit versus all being in one room and bothering our neighbors and we were told that the lobby was closed and we could not sit down there.

    The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. Everything we wanted was within walking distance but we were there in December and many shops and businesses close earlier or where not open at all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast did not have much food to eat even though there had one more hour left before it closed

    Very close to the statio and only 10 mins walk to city center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Absolutely great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely, family-run hotel in an amazing location in Rothenburg (literally 10 seconds from the bus and the train station). Excellent bed, excellent bathroom, excellent heating in winter, extremely kind attention at reception desk, just 5 minutes away from the town centre. Absolutely great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, friendly staff, good location. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, not far from the city centre. Nice an friendly staff. Spacious and clean rooms, nice and big bathroom. Good breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    Good location and decent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chap at reception was rather brusque with our questions on check out. Perhaps a bad day for him. Checking in was much more pleasant. Overall tho, hotel was a good choice.

    Value for money. V clean and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was offered in onsite and wasn't bad, cost was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Breakfast was offered in onsite and wasn't bad, cost was a little high. Liked that we could walk to the old part of Rothenburg. Didn't have to drive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Pleasantly surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room would have made us 100% happy

    Compared with other places we have stayed in Austria and Germany for the price we weren't expecting much but this was lovely. Nice warm comfortable room with a good bathroom and just round the corner from the old town. Staff were very helpful especially the guy we checked out with who directed us to a Ford Garage nearby when our car brakes failed. Got us back on the road in less than an hour so thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    2.5
    The most horrible hotel in town! Don't stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are expecting respect as a guest, don't ever stay in this hotel! When we arrived at the hotel, the son of the owner was at the reception and he started constantly yelling at us! His voice had a very snobby, xenophobic tone. He was extremely rude and when we told her that we will have a complain to booking.com, he said 'go ahead'! He had already paid. We asked for refund to leave the hotel but they rejected. Otherwise, I would never ever spent a night at this hotel! The rooms are old and stinky. The bed is uncomfortable and the bathroom is dirty. We hope one day they will better from being so exclusive.

    This is the worst Hotel we have ever been. I cannot say anything good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    2.5
    Staff was really rude, they didn't give me the room that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was really rude, they didn't give me the room that I have booked, they changed my room with their wishes. They are not respectful and I am not satisfied with their hospitality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.3
    hope they can change some service indeed poor room design.
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the indoor room design little poor, too small with the bathroom, that's i didn't like very much, even shower room bit samll, and fell not comfotable.

    i like Rothenburg such a nice castle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    2.5
    The worst hotel I have been stay in Germany. I wish I could rate this hotel at 0 score!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I check in at 4 pm, the room did not ready yet and when we(I travel with my 70 yr old mum and sis ) told them, just got the impolited answer(sound and body language ) "we will make it later, u go to the city and come back!!). We found many ticks!!! on my sis s bed and she had to slept on my sofa bed all night!!! In the morning we told the hotel and they just said that"I'm sorry" not even show their care. So we went to the tourist central and told them about this. After that we came back to the hotel , the owner and his wife tried to find more ticks! and guessed that it might come from the airport!! ( how it possible coz we had been in Bavaria 6 days before to their hotel!!)

    None

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    A good nights rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple, no-frills hotel, but the bed was comfortable after a long day of driving. I have a bad back and had no issues here. The night was cold and there was a fluffy comforter as well as spare bedding in the closet. We didn't have much interaction with staff and didn't eat breakfast so I can't speak to that, but the man at the check-in was friendly with us. Wifi works well enough for basic tasks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.2
    Restaurant advertised, however when arrived informed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant advertised, however when arrived informed it's not open at the moment and had to walk to other hotels to use their restaurants. So few parking spaces, that I had to repeatedly park in a public car park.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: