Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Royal This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lönsweg 5, 25335 Elmshorn, Germany

#5 of 5 hotels in Elmshorn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 280 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    Lovely quiet stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was terrible, although we got signal it didn't work at all. The lock on the door seemed a bit iffy, it could be pushed in and out making it difficult to get the door locked or unlocked. The lighting was also a bit dim in the room, they had some bedside lights so it was ok, but no overhead lights so it was a little difficult to see clearly away from the bed.

    Although the staff were not there to check us in, they still made it an easy process. The room was large and clean, and the shower had lovely pressure and a great temperature. It was well signposted and very quiet. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.7
    Close to where I needed to be
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeted nicely but was never said a word to after even at breakfast, breakfast was ok but more choice of breakfast meat wouldn’t go a miss, the hotel needs a general makeover reception looks nice but when you walk up the stairs it almost turns back in time

    Close to where I needed to be

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Good night sleep after WOA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good night rest after the Wacken Festival before we continued our journey back to the Uk. Close to town centre, plenty of parking, friendly staff and owner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    2.9
    The worst hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay away! This is the worst hotel - old and worned out - like in a horror movie. We booked 2 nights and wanted to check out after the first night because of the poor standard - and no hot water in the morning. Also the hotel was being renovated during our stay making everything look messy and unfinished. This was not annonced anywhere during the booking. The hotel owners told us that they would charge us 70% if we cancelled the last night here. So we were kind of trapped!!! So don’t go here - the staff is rude, the hotel is being renovated, no housekeeping making up our beds... totally not worthy of its three stars!

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    4.6
    AVOID THIS PLACE
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No WIFI Shower which spreads water everywhere (carpet wet and not removed by the cleaning service) Breakfast VERY limited Tiny blankets on the bed VERY OLD and not charming at all

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.0
    Charmless and basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a sauna when I arrived, with massive windows closed and sun blazing in. Very charmless decor. Curtain broken so let light in. Very noisy party in street till after midnight (not hotel's fault).

    Room was big. Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    Room is fine, nice bed and not to warm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is fine, nice bed and not to warm. Wifi somethins will disconnect. When the connection is there is works oke.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.6
    In the process of being renovated, partly unfinished but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the process of being renovated, partly unfinished but still charging full price, staff not knowledgeable, room full of flies

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Staff is friendly and ready to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is friendly and ready to help

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    For the price, was more than expected. Friendly staff, clean, really comfy beds. 95% satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap in shower. Attention to detail.

    Beds super comfy, cheap, clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    Workers hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Workers hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    תשתמשו ב-ROYAL HOTEL IN ELMSHORN
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    הכל היה מצוין

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    I hope I have a trip to the Hamburg in the future and also I can stay in this cozy accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the hotel does not have free Wi-Fi as I read in the comments, but fortunately, we can use the free Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Royal
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like evely thing

    Comfortable and nice place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.2
    Place for motorbike was found under the roof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nearby hotel it a little bit difficult to find restaurants. Small city

    Place for motorbike was found under the roof. At this time the hotel was really quiet. Room was really clean too.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.1
    Everything was fine actually, its not a 5 star brand name...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was fine actually, its not a 5 star brand name hotel, but pretty good in all aspects. Stayed there only because of its location (close to our friends home).

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    6.3
    Free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No Wi-fi in the room Too expensive for what is offered It's in the 3rd zone of Hamburg's public transport Most of the trains from Elmshorn terminate at Hamburg Altona station (not Hamburg Hbf.)

    Free parking 15mins walk to the train station Frequent reqional train services to Hamburg

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    8.3
    Good Breakfast - Normal Rooms - Pet Friendly - Good place...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Good Breakfast - Normal Rooms - Pet Friendly - Good place for 1 night

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: