Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chillten Bottrop This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Gungstr. 3, 46240 Bottrop, Germany

#4 of 10 hotels in Bottrop

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 515 hostel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was ok and reasonably price. Just not that good tasting.

    Very friendly staff. English speakers. Accomodatuons fit our needs. Good location with a great attraction 5 mins away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place to stay. Had my children with me and we were all comfortable. Aldi is right next to the hotel and they offer a buffet breakfast in the morning for a cost if you would like. Overall our stay was pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise insulation is poor, so we heard all the noise from a bedroom-party next door. The hotel is hostel-style but the price was three star hotel. There was no proper double bed but two beds next to another with a gap between the matrasses.

    It was clean and staff was friendly. Breakfast looked good, but we didn´t use it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked, I entered that we were FIVE people and the ages of our three children. Yet, booking.com only came up with rooms for four people. Which was not a problem for us, since our 8.year-old autistic son does not dare to sleep in a bed by himself and sleeps between us parents. But arriving at this hotel, our fourth one, on our trip, they suddenly started to object to the number of people and started talking about charging us more for the room. This really made me angry, since they could cleary see on the booking, that we were five for a four persons' room! They backed off, but had me in an uproar first where I had to proove the bookings at all four places to them and telling them, that we stayed at Chillten on our way to England, and noone saying anything that time! The room is VERY small to suit a family of any size. Four grown ups would be too much for the room to handle. Personally I do not like a soft mattress. But the worse part is that the rooms are hot and you can not open the windows since people stand at all hours smoking outside your window on the Alcatraz walkway outside all the rooms. It took 30 seconds for the smell and smoke to reach the bathroom, meaning it was ALL OVER and for me who gets a migraine as soon as someone lights a cigarette... We had to shut the windows and keep them shut since the neighbours were chain smokers. They need a new policy of forcing the smokers go where the staff smokes, around the corner of the hotel. Or outside the restaurant. You can not have people pay for a non-smoking room and then have to lay there sweating to death, staying awake all night, because the place is like a sauna with the windows closed, in summer. Why should we have to suffer because of their filthy habits?

    The hotel is situated in a very calm part of Bottrop, in the middle of the Ruhr industrial area. We were not disturbed by traffic at all during the night and instead of buying expensive breakfast at the hotel, we just walked over to Aldi, at the other end of the parking lot. One could not hear the neighbours or people walking outside the loft walk, but then we had to sleep with our windows closed (see negative comments). The receptionist was friendly and knew English which is not too common in Germany. The rooms were clean as was the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room for 6 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C. It was so hot and the door to the patio would not open to let air in the room. And the television would not get any channels.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell (bathroom?) in the room, awkward control of hot/cold water, wifi password given at reception not working, noise from the bar until midnight, on a hot day it was super hot in the room (2nd floor) so had to keep windows open at night

    Easy and free to park at nearby Aldi's, receptionist helpful, decent room size, modern design, good value for money, beds ok, close to autobahn, hot water (actually struggled to get cold water)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is spacious and in a good location, close to CentrO and Movie Park. It's not fancy but definitely met all of our needs and was very clean. The beds were comfortable and two of the beds were in a separate room. The staff was very helpful! There is an Aldi right next to the hotel and a few restaurants in the area. The hotel also has a restaurant and a nice outside area to eat or have drinks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Room for 6 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one lamp (floor) in our room worked but was extremely wobbly. It had to be propped up behind the radiator control knob. And the TV had only one channel which only got reception when the cord from the the mini-rabbit-ear antenna was placed directly in front of the TV screen (with the antenna sitting on top of the TV.) Thin walls, thin towels, shabby furniture, but clean beds and bath. The woman at the front desk was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the winter only 1 thin sheet and nothing extra in the room. The pillows felt like they were at least 10 years old, my neck hurted after a bad sleep, and the bed was just not comfortable.

    The rooms are cool with an outside door, high walls from the inside.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pellows

    Evrything was fab People were very friendly in this hotel. Receptionist was very good friendly. And the restaurant worker they we very nice. So very satisfied. Just one thing minsion the pellow of the beds not good. Appreciate to deal with. ☺

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect type of room for 4person. Very nice hotel. Near to Movie park. Good for family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though I checked-in after 1 at night, the staff was very helpful and kind. Everything at the hotel was great. I had a lovely stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find the entrance, the children’s room didn’t have a darkening blind

    Simple but practical, staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing bad. I like Chillten Hotel.

    Property had everything that I needed, people were very friendly and it was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big rooms

    It was very clean and cheap

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problem found

    Family friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not very comfortable

    Nice breakfast. Quirky decor. Cheap and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good proportion price and quality. Nice staff. Everything was OK.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weather wss cold. :)

    Great breakfast service. Clean rooms and bedding.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unpleasant odor in the room. Staircases light wouldn't go on.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi wouldn't work on my phone

    Easy parking in the Aldi car park & proximity of Aldi for a bit of shopping

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant breakdfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room bigger than expected, nice restaurant next to the hotel, friendly staff, easy to find

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cosy rooms, great service, polite staff and great location for motorway stop over.

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: