Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sächsischer Hof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Brühl 26, 09111 Chemnitz, Germany

#24 of 35 hotels in Chemnitz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 579 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    It was fine. If you need to be central boom it. Of you want quiet during the day could be a problem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels need to be binned and new bought I scratched my am in off they were so rough. Small expense but big difference. The walls are very thin so I heard every word from the tv next door. This can't be helps but if you are planning on sleeping during the day then.this is not good.

    Staff friendly. Parking great. Nice that they have a lift. Breakfast was good but I felt that 10 euro for breakfast for a 40 euro room was too much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi was not particularly good. I could not even get connected on Saturday evening until very late. You also find that it is necessary to log-on to the hotel network on a regular basis. It does not take long, but it was frustrating to find a page would not load yet again.

    Centrally located. About 10 minutes' walk to the Rathaus. Railway station is about the same distance and the coach station is even closer. Good sized room with a shower. We were on the top floor and our room had a sloping ceiling at one end of the room which my mother did not like. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    4.2
    On arrival, the receptionist did not tell me where to go.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival, the receptionist did not tell me where to go. He just handed me the key and told me how to use it. Spiderweb (with spider) greeted me at the staircase ...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Good value and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was included and free, but hard to locate and full when I got there so needed to park on the street.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room with full Minibar and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the wrriten size of the room in the website is 20 m2. but my room was tiny - not more than 12 m2 (evrything altogether including the bath), single bed. after 20:00 there is no staf or anybody in the hotel to get info, service or help. I had no wifi !!! and couldn't get any help, assitance or information

    nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.4
    Everything was great - friendly staff, superb quiet location...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi signal was really weak in my room. Whan I wanted to write some business e-mails, I had to go to the hall...

    Everything was great - friendly staff, superb quiet location just a few steps from the city ceter etc. One small bottle of wine for free in the room :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    6.3
    Mediocre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi. It does not work. The rooms are small, with very simplistic furniture. Wires leading to tv openly visible. small bathroom. Staff not smiling.

    The hotel has a good restaurant, offering classical German dishes.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    6.3
    Avoid this one if you can
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty much from A to Z.

    When it comes to hotels like this one my advice is just to stick with corporate owned, if possible. Places like this one are giving the hotel industry a bad name, really! Too much to get into right now so I will just leave my comment at this.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    9.6
    Good location and comfortable price
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alle ist gute!

    The location near to bus an train station is the better. In the other hand, after looking for a good relation price-benefit it was the best hotel near to stations.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    7.5
    Sächsischer Hof
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some reason my wifi code stopped working at night. Bathroom light didn't work.

    Very near the bus station and railway station. I had a clean little room and the service was friendly although staff didn't speak much English :-) Nice breakfast. In my opinion good & modern hostel beats an ordinary hotel anyday (especially if you think about value for money) but Sächsischer Hof is a good option if you are staying one night in Chemnitz to see a concert etc. There's a grocery store and an Asian street food stall nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Excellent in meeting my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sweet cosy single room with wide opening windows . I was going to a festival and the hotel was right there . Absolutely lovely staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Very close to town, very good breakfast, helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to town, very good breakfast, helpful staff, comfortable bed in a medium size room, onsite parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Very Good price/value stay.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains need a cleaning or even replacement.

    Very pleasant place, and very friendly stuff. The rooms include all you need.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice welcoming staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough pillows

    Nice welcoming staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit cold in room.

    Close to city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    4.6
    Below average.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stuff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    Very nice and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and friendly staff!! Simple but very clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Clean and the location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    friendly personal ,clean,good price and good service
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    friendly personal ,clean,good price and good service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff and ray location, though the facilities could use an upgrade (price is right, though)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities in general need an upgrade.

    Very friendly and helpful. Great location close to center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Near Railway Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near Railway Station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    Very peaceful location at a short distance from the train station!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet connection was not very good.

    Very peaceful location and very convenient access from the train station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.9
    Good price-quality relation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good price-quality relation. Friendly staff. Simple room, but everything available: small tv, small bathroom, simple interior.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    personal touch
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bill was higher than ordered via booking.com. I refused to accept that.

    personal touch

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.1
    good restaurant downstairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room very small

    good restaurant downstairs

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.1
    Near bus and train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, small TV,

    Near bus and train station

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.8
    It is close to the railway and bus stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is close to the railway and bus stations. The restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.9
    Easy to walk to from the train station, super nice staff,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Older hotel & rooms, very soft mattresses, no air-con (so if it's hot, a no-go).

    Easy to walk to from the train station, super nice staff, elevator.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.1
    Only five minutes walk from Chemnitz Hautbahnhof, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi arrangements were tiresome - though manageable in the end. Breakfast was not generous.

    Only five minutes walk from Chemnitz Hautbahnhof, and the same from the Chemnitz operahouse. Breakfast was OK.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    8.8
    Excellent hearty breakfast ready early in the morning.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I would like to work in more stable Wi-Fi.

    Excellent hearty breakfast ready early in the morning. The spacious bathroom, in which there is even a chair for easy dressing and a skylight facing east with views of the clock tower and to the roofs of houses with windows. Silence and cleanliness of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.2
    Very nice and helpfull Staff, comfortable beds, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had some problems with the WiFi, but the Staff probably already fixed that.

    Very nice and helpfull Staff, comfortable beds, good breakfasts and restaurant. The hotel is 10-15 minutes walk from the market square.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    7.1
    Next to Omnibusbahnhof
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WLAN sucks big time

    Next to Omnibusbahnhof

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.2
    I love the brekkie and cuppa.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I love the brekkie and cuppa.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    10
    The hotel is not far from hauptbanhof ,it's very cosy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is not far from hauptbanhof ,it's very cosy and clean ,the staff are kind and helpful.Breakfast is nice.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    2.5
    Don't trust guest, ask 50 euro guarerte for minibar,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Don't trust guest, ask 50 euro guarerte for minibar, first time in Europe, first time in Germany !

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    7.9
    Quiet place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quiet place to stay

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.9
    Location, kindness of staff.
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is bad, or there were no wifi during evenings (Third floor). Staff speak poor english. Noise from other rooms.

    Location, kindness of staff.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse Hotel Sächsischer Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: