Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sächsischer Hof Hotel Garni

Gartenstr. 21, 01796 Pirna, Germany

#4 of 7 hotels in Pirna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 497 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    HOT. The room was so hot I coundn't sleep. No air conditioning and no fan and when I opened the window, the noise of the trains and main road passing by the hotel was too loud. (couldn't hear them with the windows closed) I am not sure if this weather was typical for Pirna in April, however it was a very hot night. The room was so hot our chocolate melted. Unfortunately we had a sleepless night.

    One the edge of the old town, 10 minute walk into the heart of the town with lots of restaurants. The hotel is opposite the railway station and car parking on site. The rooms were large and very clean. The bed was comfortable. The lady at reception spoke German and was very helpful trying to accommodate our English questions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was calling 45min before the breakfast time ended, to ask if I will come down for breakfast. It shouldn't be concerned if I am going to eat breakfast or not and they should not call for it

    Really good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were satisfied with everything except it looks like we may have been charged extra for breakfast when we were sure that our room included breakfast. We couldn't read the bill though as everything was in German. So really we can't say. Oh well, it was still a good stay. Oh, wifi was one of the worst I've ever had in a hotel. But at the same time it's been that way in many places I've stayed at in Germany

    Location location location. Other than that it was just a standard hotel. Nothing more, nothing less. Exactly what we wanted. Looks like they charged us extra for the breakfast though. Be careful and read through your bill

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old facilities, we got the room in the attic - lots of wood so it was very dusty and smelly, tiniest bathroom I've seen

    nice breakfast, good choice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was on the third floor, with no lift. The floorboards in our room creaked at lot.

    Decent sized, comfortable and clean room. Good buffet breakfast (although the coffee was not good, at least to my taste). Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed here twice. The first time I had a third floor room, which was cramped due to the dormer windows. The second floor room felt comparatively spacious.

    Nice breakfast, and the staff was pleasant. They tolerated my limited German speaking ability. Location is very convenient to train & bus station (but note that this increases the noise level).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite slow wifi internet connection which cut a couple of times during the day

    One of the best hotel breakfast which I ever had, very clean and nice room, very nice man in the reception

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited during a 30degree plus heatwave and needed the windows wide open.The front of the hotel does overlook a busy road junction.If you are a light sleeper you may need the windows closed.Hotel does provide oscillating fan

    Spotlessly clean and a very large bedroom with a comfortable sitting area.A magnificent array of plugs to charge electronic equipment!Excellent breakfast.Only a ten minute walk to the town square and only two minute walk to the station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite warm, although a fan was provided. Our room was on the top (third) floor and there was no lift.

    There was parking for our car and the room was quite large. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be careful - reception works till 20:00

    Decorations and breakfast room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Longer curtains and thicker to keep out afternoon sun

    Big room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location (right next to the Railway and Bus Stations), very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and not the best beds

    Cozy and conviniently located

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of traffic noise but nothing serious.

    Handy for rail and bus. Near old town centre. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was close to main road

    Nice rooms and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I've been there in winter and I enjoyed my stay. If it was summer I would have probably been disturbed by the noise outside coming from a busy road nearby.

    The location of this hotel is its strong advantage. It takes just few minutes to reach the railway station where you can catch a train to Dresden. Alternatively, if you want to see the Pirna the market square is in walking distance along small and quiet streets.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    It was very hot in the room, but the hotel clearly wasn't built with the current extreme weather conditions in mind and the staff did their utmost to minimise the impact of the heat.

    Convenient location right next to the train station and close to the centre of town. Very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff, high-quality breakfast menu.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It is surprising that the staff does not speak English at all. No word. I had questions about the internet connection and I could not explain the staff what was wrong as I do not speak Gernam. I suggested that they use google translator so that I can write the text in English and they read it in German, but they did not get it, and as I had problems with internet connections I could not do it by myself. Another difficult thing was that in the room there was no conditioner, but we stayed in the hotel during the heat wave.

    The hotel is situated very closely to the train ans bus station, it is a nice place to explore the old town of Pirna. The breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We only stayed for one night of the three we had booked as we were on Floor 5 and there was no fire escape. In the event of a fire in the only stair well, which had no fire doors, the Hotel Instructions were to 'wave out of the window to attract attention and wait for the Fire Brigade'. We considered that to be totally unacceptable and left after the first night.

    Whilst it was a nice hotel in most respects, the fire safety arrangements made it totally unacceptable

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and welcoming staff, pleasant room and private parking.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean and friendly. Breakfast was excellent and included in the price.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very cosy little hotel. Enjoyed everything.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: