Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Gabriele This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Zellerhornstr. 16, 83026 Rosenheim, Germany

#2 of 16 hotels in Rosenheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1251 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    The unique set up of the rooms and a very special atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When it’s really busy a little bit limited parking place. Location is in the middle of a group of houses.

    The unique set up of the rooms and a very special atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful discovery
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice if there was an hall

    The hotel gives a unique old monastery experience, the interiors were great and the food of the Italian restaurant was excellent. Staff were very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.0
    Much better wifi throughput and coverage this time (1st...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room felt overheated even though it was cool outside and I kept the windows open as long as possible.

    Much better wifi throughput and coverage this time (1st floor, room #113, south-west) than last time (2nd floor, room#214, north-west)! Also a fresh and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    I will come again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was terrible: coverage could be better, but throughput was really bad most of the day.

    extravagant architecture that did not feel 'fake'; one really gets the impression to be in a medieval monastry. Still the place was clean, comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Hotel and rooms interior quite different to standard hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too soft. Room doors are not quite sound proof and when you have bed near the door, late arrivals of your neighbors are quite disturbing.

    Hotel and rooms interior quite different to standard hotel rooms (custom furniture), but with all conveniences as in big hotel chains (TV, fridge, kettle, etc). Nice restaurant with good selection of meal, wine and beer. Good breakfast selection. Internet worked without troubles, free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    It is a must experience this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived rather late and had difficulties to park the car. Creating this special candle light in the evening in the corridors, was very nice, cosy and romantic, but towards safety, it might raise some questions.

    The style of the hotel was unique and the theme pleased us a lot, especially the evening ilumination. To make it even more special I would have add as decoration some gargouilles. The restaurant had it's own charme, like the waiters dressed up as monks. For this reason I would create a bit more this medieval theme by using special drinkingglasses to create more this special atmosphere. The quick service in the restaurant was outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location but room was loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the main floor and a bit loud. We were also woken up with a call from the reception at 7am asking us if the porche parked outside was ours... We told them no but if they had an extra we would take it :) by then we were awake, which after driving for 15 hours did not make it a great experience.

    Location is really great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Simply incredible
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incredible hotel with terrific interior. I had a feeling I traveled back in 16th century with time machine. Awesome experience! Authentic monastery interior with cozy corridors and small doors, hand made room decoration, I had a real feeling of being a monk in ancient monastery. At the same time everything is very clean and all facilities available, including elevator and modern lockers in the doors. Incredible combination of history and comfort. A separate word should be said for the restaurant. Very romantic historic interior, fire place and small corners for real introverts and very good Italian cuisine. Pasta with sea food and home made tiramisu were absolutely delicious. Overall this is the place I really want to come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.4
    Not for business staying
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room are very tiny, cell monk like size. There is not enough space in case you have to work emails or run business

    Very specific hotel, built in an old convent, with a unique atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.9
    Very Clean, Comfortable Bed, Decent Shower
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Expensive & Disappointing (shortage of good fresh German bread rolls). Personally would like to have seen more German / Bayerische Personnel to complement this characteristic hotel.

    Very Clean, Comfortable Bed, Decent Shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Stop through on the way home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi in the rooms doesn't work well and the TV is old and rubbish.

    We were there just for one night as a stop through on the way home from the Christmas holidays. It is a very charming hotel with a decent restaurant. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Great and relaxing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful boutique hotel! The food in the restaurant was delicious and the hotel itself very well designed, it is very cozy. The attention of the staff also great. It is also very close to the mountains and Ali resorts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Old fashioned medieval stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good price quality ratio. Quite even when close to a major street. The old fashioned style was perfectly recreate IN all the small details...

    Nice and unexpected place. Room was clean and amazing how all the furniture matched the style of the Hotel. Dinner was Italian and the quality good...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Thank you :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    The Staff at the reception were super helpful :) We left the car at the hotel while we roamed around during the day and they were fine with that. Tram is only few mins from hotel which takes u into the heart of venice in about 20 mins.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    Great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room got very hot at night. On check out they increased the bill even though I then showed them the amount through booking.com

    Great restaurant. Very clean rooms and great atmosphere/lighting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.0
    The building itself is interesting.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a completely overrated, freakish hotel. It is OK to have a strange style (in this case, this should give a feeling of a medieval monastery), but still here everything is overdone and uncomfortable. The worst issue was the bed - much too narrow for two. The bathroom is OK, but also too narrow and water from the tap splattering in all directions. There is a step in the middle of the room which is rather dangerous if you want to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night and an iron night lamp which you can easily hit. We were arriving late and there was no way to get something too eat despite a restaurant in the hotel from which we could hear loud music, which we found somewhat unfriendly. Together with the high prices of the room and of the extras (a small white whine from the minibar costs 14 Eur) we will hardly use this hotel again.

    The building itself is interesting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Unique and fab hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic decor. We were made to feel very welcome by the manager and staff. Had a latte in reception when restaurant closed. Restaurant is really special with amazing food sevens by staff dressed as monks - nice touch 😀 Thanks guys

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    3.8
    We did not sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Boiling hot room. Windows overlooked the rear of a large supermarket with accompanying early morning noises. We were told the air conditioning was to open a window. Great, then we get all the noise from the traffic and supermarket not to mention insects. Miles from anywhere in a semi industrial estate. Why build a new, fake, monastery there it does not make sense.

    The architecture was interesting if fake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.2
    Ratings do not match up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here because of apparent good reviews. But we experienced the exact opposite. The staff was unaware of us arring with a 3 month old baby and a small dog even though we clearly stated this. We had to wait in our room while the staff had to do what we asked for. We where 'up graded' to a bigger room with no aircon, the sun was shining directly into this room, hot and uncomfortable. We got a free bottle of water but tasted like the tap water. Then when we tried to sleep we found out loadly that our room was situated above the bar. We travelled more that 700km to get to this hotel. The worst part of this negative experience was that after they made a mistake not knowing about our baby and dog joining us they made me pay additional for our baby and dog to stay the night. Total waste of money I will not recommended this hotel, believe their rating are fake/fixed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.8
    Fab restaurant, poorly soundproofed rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not soundproof. Heard corridor noise beofre 7am on a Sunday morning = not what you want when staying at an hotel for this price.

    The restaurant has excellent fresh pasta for a decent price. Honestly, you cannot miss it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    The hotel design is extraordinary
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In case of Rosenheim city center visit, is the car absolutely recommended.

    The hotel design is extraordinary, very special and very nice. Staff is very friendly. Hotel has very good Italian restaurant. Room was really clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Worth a detour to see this fascinating property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    The property is quite unique with interesting and varying features throughout in the theme of a monastery. Quite fascinating and worth a detour

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    8.3
    Overnight stop over on the way to Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not finding heating controls for the room, which was a little too toasty for us. We should have asked, when we checked out we were told that the controls were under the table in the room. This was to keep the "modern day " things at a minimum to keep the overall decor of the hotel in keeping with the monastery/fort style. So only a minor thing, we just opened a window to cool down a little.

    This hotel had lots of character, which was originally a fort. The decor is in keeping with this, and is quite original. Although the original occupants probably did not have brass bathroom fittings and red glass sinks. The bathroom was very nice and cosy as was the hotel during our winter stay. Being severed dinner by "monks" next to the log fire was a different dining experience. The food was very flavoursome. Breakfast was good. Tea and coffee facilities in the room is always appreciated. Easy free parking on site.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.6
    Awesome hotel in close proximity to Rosenheim!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the four poster bed a little small and uncomfortable, but this is a tiny issue on an otherwise perfect room!

    The whole hotel and room was amazing as it's a converted monastic building. Candlelit corridors and rooms for great ambience. Easily walkable to the centre of town (30mins).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    9.6
    Nice stay, nice rooms, great feeling
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was full so difficult to park the car on Friday but there is a Supermarket nearby so could park the car there

    Nice organization, very good atmosphere everything is the same as on photos

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.2
    charming hotel in rosenheim
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautifully designed with attention to every detail.it has a romatic atmosphere and we felt very relaxed and comfortable. It is a charming hotel for singles or couples looking for a quiet place to escape to!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    They style of the hotel is really unique.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They style of the hotel is really unique. It resamples monks accommodation in a medieval monastery. The stuff is very friendly. Don't miss dinner in their restaurant. Very good and authentic Italian cuisine and a good selection of Italian wines.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.9
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I took the single room at 30sq mt. It has a very comfortable waterbed. The theme of the property is different, but nice... The restaurant serves excellent food in a nice romantic setting. Staff were very happy to assist with any enquiry.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    This is a beautiful hotel. We stayed only one night pasdinf through. Check in was easy. The room was beautiful. Bed very comfortable. I was able to take a long soak in the jet tub. The breakfast was fabulous. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    10
    Love this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't have wash cloths, but most Eurpoean hotels don't.

    The room decor and style. The staff was very nice as well. We got in very late and they were there waiting and spoke English.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    Great theme, comfortable rooms, recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door locks can be a bit tricky until you suss them out

    Great room (deluxe double), very comfortable and great decor in the theme of the hotel (monastery). Similar-themed Italian restaurant with great food!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    nice themed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing really, maybe parking a bit cramped.

    i really liked the unique style of this accomodation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    There isn't anything interesting near the hotel, but the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything interesting near the hotel, but the room and the Italian restaurant (in the hotel) were really fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    Terrible cheted by Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lousy room 16 very noisy below living standard I think Booking. Com should review room16/16

    Very noise room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Fascinating realy quirky seeing is believing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative.

    Fascinating realy quirky seeing is believing . Friedly helpfull staff. Great restaurant. Definately worth a stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel for a stopover, great location ok service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in restaurant was ok, food was excellent

    Great breakfast and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    3.8
    You will be amazed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Amazing place to stay. Every corner has a surprise .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    very nice and particular hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit too warm. WiFi reception week in the room.

    very nice and particular hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    great setting and calm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Interesting theme hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything small scale. Felt a bit claustrophobic.

    Good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Nice indeed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Replace the old TV set with LCD TV

    The Design of the Hotel was quite nice and original, the Italian restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    Something completely different than a main stream standard...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Something completely different than a main stream standard hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    A lovely place. Very comphy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it might be quite warm in the rooms in summer.

    It was my second time at this hotel. I just love the design and attention to detail.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Woodwork and style of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress too soft (waterbed type freeflow)

    Woodwork and style of the room. Parking place. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent design of the hotel interior
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi transfer speed was extremely low

    Excellent design of the hotel interior Superb breakfast Quiet area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Water matress was a 1st time, and i did not like it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water matress was a 1st time, and i did not like it. All the rest quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Unusual property
    • Group
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , really

    It is beautifully and tastefully made. Very convenient location and personell at reception very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Overnight stay 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind of an odd location in a residential area, but it was easy access to the auotbahn.

    Very eclectic interior, nice restaurant, friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Tolles Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    War alles top

    Tolles Ambiente

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.8
    Quaint ambience and design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with French Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible pillows, small beds and stuffy rooms

    Quaint ambience and design

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Awesome time at an awesome place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The base room which is supposedly okay for two is too small

    Service and atmosphere were excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Staff is very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very welcome. The hotel is totally different from other hotels. The Egyptian man in the front office is 👍 👍👍👍

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Always very to stay there. The staf is very friendly. We come back every year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    IT was very nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stop on the way to Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cd be better organized.

    Very warm welcome in perfect French ! Very comfortable room and spotless bathroom. Perfect breakfast .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    Very comfortable!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    S-o-o-o cozy ...felt like an authentic historic monastery. Huge buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    4.6
    Nice clean hotel, but if you like a drink at the hotel bar don't bother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to relax and have a drink.

    Clean and tidy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.5
    It was unusual
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unusual

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.8
    The hotel is great - not cheesy as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is great - not cheesy as expected

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    above all, the people was really nice to me and the facility...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    above all, the people was really nice to me and the facility has its own charme

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.6
    I would gladly make a return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet very good, friendly service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    8.8
    the medieval theme is superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the price could get much lower considering there is not many sightseeing in rosenheim, i was there on transit to salzburg. and everything was closed on sunday in rosenheim.

    the medieval theme is superb! like all the ambience and interior designs

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly accomodating staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is convenient but not very picturesque (if you are looking for a view).

    Very friendly accomodating staff. Beautiful concept -- a new building designed as an old monastery. Executed perfectly. Breakfast: good variety (might have benefited from a few more items such as smoked fish) and excellent quality.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    Really nice Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In an out of the way location.

    Really nice Hotel. Very charming rooms, with a "monastic" feel. Breakfast was very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    6.7
    The rooms had lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi wasn't working for our entire stay. The rooms were a little overpriced.

    The rooms had lots of character. The breakfast was excellent value.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.3
    Hotel San Gabriele was a lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast area I felt was the biggest flaw with the hotel. It is quite small and felt very cramped when it was busy with everyone getting breakfast. I can't help but feel the breakfast area is too small considering the size of the hotel, the addition of some hot food would have been nice too but then again not essential. The one other minor negative was that it was very warm. I suppose you can't expect air conditioning in a converted monastery, but it was very hot even with the windows open and a fan on.

    Hotel San Gabriele was a lovely place to stay. It appears from some of the photographs to almost be in the middle of nowhere but it is in fact within a quiet residential area. While this is no issue at all, I thought it might be worth highlighting. Upon arrival there was ample parking directly out front of the hotel and also additional spaces round the back. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. They all were fluent in English - which is helpful when our German is so poor! The hotel room itself was amazing, very unique and quite large. It had a 4 poster bed and stairs up to a private cosy alcove style seating area which is ideal for some late night drinks. The room also had a decent size mini bar with a few nice beers ;) It's worth noting that the restaurant is excellent! Had easily one of the nicest meals of our whole trip here. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    10
    The hotel itself is extremely pleasantly designed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints at all!

    The hotel itself is extremely pleasantly designed, convenient location close to the highway and 5 minutes to downtown. Excellent restaurant and breakfast. WiFi worked really well and the staff was very pleasant, especially at the restaurant for dinner. Parking area is plentiful and convenient.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.5
    As always friendly, looking nice and something special
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room and especially the bed was way to small for an adult.

    As always friendly, looking nice and something special

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Very Nice Location, astonishing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fine

    Very Nice Location, astonishing atmosphere. Beautiful rooms

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Very nice people, charming atmosphere, very good conditions
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice people, charming atmosphere, very good conditions

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.5
    Floor of the Room are not appropriate for Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Floor of the Room are not appropriate for Hotel. By my opinion must be slippers in Room in that case.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.8
    - medieval look;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - small rooms;

    - medieval look; - good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.3
    A hotel is very charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A hotel is very charming. Nice and friendly stuff. Restaurant is mostly with Italian food and very good selection of wine.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful bathroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful bathroom! Great adjoining restaurant. Fun monastery theme! Nice stop outside if Munich on way to Austria.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.5
    Receptionist were very kind and helpful!
    • Group

    The hotel was in the center of the small street and nothing to see except supermarket.

    Receptionist were very kind and helpful!

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel San Gabriele traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: