Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santo This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Karlstr. 67-69, 76137 Karlsruhe, Germany

#26 of 45 hotels in Karlsruhe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2336 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    .Very nice place. I recommend it
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    .The only issue I had was with the wifi and the fridge in my room

    Almost everything was very good. Especially the welcoming attitude, in particular of Mr Alexander M. and .the blonde guy which works on evening shifts and changed my room even late at night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable hotel within easy reach of the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of lift between the car park on the top floor and the hotel was a problem with heavy luggage.

    The breakfast was excellent and the room comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    We will definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find anything to write!

    The staff were so helpful and we felt nothing was too much trouble for them. They all spoke English which was a real bonus as we don’t speak much German! The outside cocktail bar was perfect on a warm June night and again the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, coffee table in the lobby full of crumbs.Staff arrogant. Windows thin -- not acceptable for a 4-star hotel

    Good location.Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed could be better, was a bit too ''soft''.

    Very good location close to the park and center, nice staff, clean rooms, nice bar and discount for first drink for hotel guests. Free parking on the roof.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    Dusty room, calcified faucets, even tho it was a non smoking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty room, calcified faucets, even tho it was a non smoking room there was always a faint note of cigarette smoke lingering in the air, shower installations were loose, bad smell coming from the ac, loud vent in the bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Quite surprised at the size of Karlsruhe, and worth a visit. Hotel conveniently located.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged for coffee pods in room, but free in reception!

    Nice city to visit, and hotel convenient for walking to some of the attractions. Also on the tram route.excellent ice cream parlor across the road, not to be missed! First drink in the bar of the hotel half price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful Location, Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location and the walk from Train Station to the hotel (passing by the side of Zoo). Quality of food and drinks provided in the Breakfast and Bar is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Great location, AMAZING breakfast, friendly staff, parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer kept overheating so if you plan on washing your hair, prepare to be patient

    Great location, AMAZING breakfast, friendly staff, parking worked well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.3
    Very rude staff! No way this is a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very rude, specially the ones handling the breakfast. Dont expect to get a 4 star service there, its more of a 2 star hotel. The breakfast has lot of options, but very little healthy ones. If you are not a smoker, dont stay there! At night people smoke in the lobby. On top of everything, the staff was completely rude and unfriendly. You really need to improve your service, your staff need to smile more, be more understanding and remember the first rule about service, the customer is always right.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Clean, good as in-between destinations overnight. The cocltail bar is cool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facilityes, especially plumbing. I had to report 2x that someone left bottles on a roof ledge and no action was taken. Someone could have been injured. The guy at the reception in the evening just ignored my warning.

    Clean. Cocktail bar is very good woth friendly staff. Worth the tip!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    One night stay during a long journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not seem working properly, it was very noisy.

    The breakfast is superb. Comfortable bed and clean room. Free packing on the roof. The bar at the property looks cool and very popular among guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.2
    We really couldn't tell why this hotel was rated four stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We hated the bed, the room was hot and noisy. The bedsheets were torn.

    I liked the bar and entourage outside of the room but the noise it produced wasn't good enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.3
    The location is good and the breakfast as well.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-Fi was really bad and when your room is on the street side you will here the trams the whole day,

    The location is good and the breakfast as well. Good cocktails in the bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.0
    Strong tobacco smell ALL over the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    smell

    Strong tobacco smell ALL over the hotel. Obviously the manager/owners are big cigar and smoking addicted because all the rooms have had smokers in them (we all asked to change rooms but all the same..)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.3
    Would certainly use this hotel again.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels too small. Coffee machine did not work.

    Breakfast very good and very helpful staff. Excellent cocktails. Location very good for accessing good quality restaurants. Good supply of water and beverages throughout the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice location and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the night before by mistake and then tried to cancel it and book for the next night. I know it was my fault, but they could have been a bit more considerate because they can see my next night booking.

    Very nice location particularly if you are driving by car. Also, it was value for money. The hotel was quite clean. If you are a cocktail person, then there is a bar located just below the hotel which is opened until late.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    for late night owls and party people, a really fun destination with confort and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is always a bit surprising to have a really big party at the hotel loby all the time, with DJ. The bad part of it is the noise, especially if the room is just above. but the good part of it, join the party and enjoy the excellent cocktail in the middle of the party folk.

    excellent cocktail bar with vouchers for guests. The Rooftop Parking is convenient even if another door in the higher levels could really help. The room was small but nice. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent room, parking, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service slow but more than understandable as that was the night before NYE.

    The breakfast is awesome. Room is excellent and room support is very good. Bathroom clean. Parking super convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Very good value for a cheap price. Nice room. Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night while driving through Germany. We booked last minute, got a very good price (59 euro) on a room for two people, and got a free upgrade. Room was really nice. Breakfast was good quality with great choice of both savory and sweet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    I definitely recommend this hotel!
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear noises from the tram that drives in front of the hotel, but this is not the isue of the hotel, it's the tram company that need to do some tram line repairing.

    The room was very clean, the breakfast had a large variety of food, it was the best breakfast I have ever eaten in a hotel. The staff is also A+. Great money value for what it offers!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    Very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor attitude from staff when we informed them of late check-in. I was told that my room might be sold on and that we might have to be moved to another hotel. Considering there was no such information on the information on the Internet and I let them know beforehand, I believe this to be really poor customer service. When we arrived at about 10pm I was told we were lucky a room was still available.I had booked a room after all.

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.9
    I liked the location of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a corner room, with a lot of windows. Unfortunately these windows are old, therefore I could hear all the sounds from the street. And the street has a lot of traffic, so I could barely sleep for 4 hours during the night. The hotel should renovate the windows in the this room. It was room number 300.

    I liked the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit used out but seems like they're trying to modernise it.

    Very good breakfast, friendly staff, nice cocktails in the bar with very friendly service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.0
    It's like it's made from cardboard - not quiet at all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I stayed at the upper floor (the most expensive rooms) and I didn't like that at a 4-star hotel they don't meet any standards: the bathroom wasn't clean, the shower was old, didn't work properly and it looked pretty old. The cleaning ladies didn't clean the bathroom properly, only very superficial, also the room in general (I'm a very tidy person so it wasn't even messy). Also, they said there are free hot drinks on the 4th floor - there weren't and they said only they are sorry they don't have. Also, the rooms are not quiet at all, it's like they're made from cardboard, I can even hear sometimes when people talked on their phones what the other person said (on hallway, or in other rooms)...Also, the cleaning ladies are VERY loud, they laugh and scream at each other every day, you cannot sleep after 08:00 AM in weekends/any day, even with the "do not disturb" sign they still tried to enter the room. Too expensive and doesn't respect his clients. I will book other hotels when in Karlsruhe.

    I liked how they had events in the weekend at their cocktail bar (happy hour,piano concert etc). I also liked the rooms, they are fairly large and the amenities are nice. Too bad that it has a 2 star hotel (at most) comfort..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    4.6
    The breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in front of the main road. Incredibly noisy....not only for the traffic but mostly considering the tram passing by from 06.00am to 12.00pm. Room really small. Wi-fi not working at all...despite the code and the possibilty to connect no.5 devices. There was a covered parking but was full. There is another parking on the roof of the building, free of charge, but there is no elevator and you have to walk on the ramp and the enviroment around is also really dirty.

    The breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    great breakfast and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby is a lively bar, where it is allowed to smoke, so the smell is awful. Other than that it is a good choice.

    Great and abundant buffet breakfast. 6 types of juices, variety of cheeses, meats, eggs, muesli, bread etc. And everything is very tasty. Just the breakfast makes this hotel a great value. The rooms are clean and very convenient (though smallish, but it was not a problem cause you have everything you need). We had the one overlooking the parking, so it was quite calm. Ask for top floors. if available - dowstairs it can get noisy, I guess. Parking is ample and is located on the roof - be careful, we parked first in the basement, but it is extra charge of 10 euros.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    I recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed three nights here and the last one was terrible during the night. We had trouble to fall asleep because of the noise from the street. So my tip ist to avoid the rooms next to the street!

    The breakfast is amazing, we loved it. The accommodations are also good and people can enjoy the night at the bar. For the price, a very good option!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.0
    The room was totaly overheated and I was obligded to sleep...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was totaly overheated and I was obligded to sleep with the air conditionner running the whole night or with the Windows open (in november!). So it was extremely noisy because of the air conditionner and the traffic outside (tramline below). Impossbile to get a good nights sleep!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    4.2
    For a spontanious businesstrip ok, but a very aged, loud and dirty hotel destroys a longer stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is loud... I mean very load, the tram starts from 5am and shakes you out of your bed. In front of our room there have been constructions on the hotel, the workers started to drill in the walls at seven. So take ear protection with you. The breakfast "room", more a bar, was really untidy and we had to circle a lot to find clean seats. The staff is quite nice, but also not very helpful... They know where they work and also know that you will leave in a few days... So just got the answer: "We don't have vacant rooms, sorry for your inconvinience"--- All in all, it was very stressful to stay there. Won't get in this hotel for another time.

    Breakfast was normal to good. Very nice that it was possible to have coffee all the day for free in the lobby, unluckily there have been no clean cups during my stay...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel for one night in transit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy from the street, OK if you are in the third floor. Similar: the cocktail bar in the hotel. Nothing interesting around the hotel in terms of restaurants etc.

    Professional, nice personal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    Great value for money, nice cocktail bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast service was really slow. Clean tables were hard to find, and there was only a single staff member cleaning the tables, replacing the napkins and cutlery, etc. It should not happen in this price category.

    Great value for money, nice cocktail bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    We were passing through and really enjoyed the varied and tasty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were in a non smoking room but you could still smell smoke and it was uncomfortable for the throat, as smoking is allowed in other public areas and it had got into the bedroom.

    Excellent breakfast, comfy bed, safe parking. Good coffee, and you could request a kettle instead for tea if you wanted to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    4.2
    Good localization
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Intolerable tram noise during whole night. Rooms extremely dark - very limited lighting. Breakfast - nothing special. Price - disproportionately high. I would not recommend that hotel to anyone.

    Good localization

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    good location/breakfast, free bottled water and tea/coffee at reception (and in the room?)
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken lamp and clogged bathroom sink in my room. Very strict breakfast rules - exactly at 10:00 you are asked to leave your table even if you're still eating :) No sings where is free and where is paid parking - easy to miss free parking (and personnel does not inform you, that you left your car in paid parking, you realize this only when paying for your stay). No elevator from paid underground parking.

    Very good location - city landmarks are easy reachable by foot (or public transport, or car). If you drive with a car, you must remember, that hotel is in environment protection zone (you'll need "Umweltplakette"). Room size is good, but it's a bit dark in the evening, even with all lights on. Room has small fridge, double bathroom sink. Good bed, a little bit of noise from the tram in nearby street, but it's not disturbing. Cleanness was ok, but room needs a little bit of renovation. There is a free bottled water, tea/coffee at reception with great choice and quality teas. There was also a tea/coffee machine and bottled water in my room, but I'm not sure if they were for free. Breakfast is good with good choice of cold/hot meals. But you must finish your breakfast exactly at 10:00, otherwise you'll be asked to leave. Hotel has bar/lounge - I saw there were people in the evening talking/taking cocktails. There are two car parkings in this hotel - one is paid (underground) and other is free (on roof). It's a bit confusing to choose free one because of lack of signs (inside building you must make a turn to the left to get to the free one). At the reception I was informed that my car is in paid parking only when I was paying for my stay. Also it's a bit confusing/uncomfortable to get in and out from underground parking (to get out: there is a little rope hanging from ceiling with no information, that it must be pulled down to open gates, to get in: you must every time ask at the reception to open gates). Hotel has an elevator but it does not go down to the underground parking. Overall: good hotel for the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall very happy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Variable in the quality of servicing the room a previous guest had smoked in the room and an ashtray (cleaned) was left in the room... It was a non smoking room/floor

    It had a lot going for it I loved the Cocktail bar with its amazing book of choices available My room had a balcony and was a good size Desk staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable rooms in very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe just one little thing, that outside was tram line and was a little bit loud, but still, it was not too much disturbing :)

    Hotel is in the old part of city, between nice old houses, so view from window was very nice. Personel is very helpful. Rooms are very comfortable and clean, with really comfortable beds. Breakfast was good and in very nice place. There was also free parking for guests on the roof of the building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was fine, staff very helpful and the room was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was a bit dark, noisy on a Friday night and no English TV (BBC news / CNN)

    Breakfast was fine, staff very helpful and the room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very okayish. The breakfast starts at 7:30, we were there at 7:15 and were told to simply go and come back later (we had to check-out at 7:30 and had a 2.5 year old kid). As we were leaving, a really big guy (another guest at the hotel) appeared at for the breakfast and was told that the breakfast is nearly ready and he could start with cornflakes while they prepare the remaining stuff. I realised that I should have demanded the breakfast and not asked for it.

    Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Great staff and excellent communication both before and during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I actually expected that the Hotel would be closer to the train station. It was a vigorous 15 minute walk without luggage.

    The staff at Hotel Santo were extremely pleasant and helpful, and the underground car park, at €10/day, was extremely good value for a locked and monitored car park. We actually left our car here while we took the train into Switzerland for a few days. I'm not sure if this service is normally available or if there just happened to be parks available, but it was a great kindness and sure made our lives easier and more relaxed!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable room and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only real issue we had was at breakfast on the Sunday. The poor guy in the breakfast area was run off his feet and wasn't able to keep up with everybody arriving at the busiest time. Just one more person helping him would have resolved this.

    A comfortable room and a good location for the city centre; just 10 minutes walk away. A very friendly greeting upon arrival and all the staff we met were very pleasant. There was a good breakfast with plenty of choices; hot and cold. Parking is safe on the roof.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    We would not book it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the noise, strong smell of cigarette in the room, shortage of bath towels and the assumption that a 6 years old could sleep with us in a double bed when we booked for 3 people; also on the website it states that it has free carpark; but actually if you want to park in the hotel car park it costs 10EUR or you can use a near rundown supermarket car park that did not feel safe; this should be better specified on the website. Bed are confortable and breakfast are good; but the noise of the tram and people outside on the street talking is disruptive and the room that they given us '105' smelled strong cigarette and as the lobby was just below out room there was loud music playing and we could not sleep until 2pm! We went for a walk on the city center for dinner; about 15min walk to shops and restaurants; it was a Saturday evening very quiet and not much open; the city seems very run down. Overall we would not go back to this hotel or city on the next trip to Italy!

    The breakfast is good and has a variety of choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted a fried egg on one occasion but it never arrived. No restaurant on Sundays Trams very early and supermarket deliveries wake you up , front of hotel.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Staying at the Santo Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and friendly,the hotel is very clean and well presented.Breakfast is excellant.Location very good, I would recommend anyone staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.3
    The bar, and the Barman in particular despite being quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room and bathroom, did not feel particularly clean BBC channel not working

    The bar, and the Barman in particular despite being quite busy was very positive and took good care of costumers. Bed was quite good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast at Hotel Santo is the best I have experience...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast at Hotel Santo is the best I have experience in a while. So many choices... Also, I complained about the AC and I was moved to another excellent room without any hassle or argument. Great customer service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.4
    Alright for the money, but needs renovation for more cleaniness and comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old outdated hotel, need some upgrade to feel more comfortable and clean. The carpets are not clean and the space of the room is oddly designed.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Very good and valued choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was hot... the truth is we found an unexpectedly warm weather (for Germany) so that was probably the reason, but still it was even difficult to sleep as there was no aircondintioning (unless we missed it).

    The room was quite comfortable and clean and the bed was also fine. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was very very good with a lot of variety. Also the parking was very easy as there is a free parking right above the hotel (on the tarace) which actually belongs to the near by super market by is used by the hotel residents (in case you use the hotel's own parking there is an extra charge). Additionally the location was good as it is walking distance from the city center. Also the price was very very reasonable considering it included the breakfast (and the possibility of free parking). Definitely a good choice for Carlsruhe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Not up to same standard as hotel santo in koln
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpark bike rack had all broken glass around , check in staff didnt tell us once wed parked our bikes how to get out of garage. Effectively locked in garage for 10mins, rang bell none answered

    Great location good view from 4th floor airconditioning fantastic breakfast , helpful staff on checkout but not check in

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.2
    The bed was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was broken,unusable and because we were too tired to report it to front desk we chose not to shower. The air conditioning which is very important to us was blowing hot air to heat the room.We opened the balcony door and the noise outside was considerable due to the central location. After an overnight flight and a day driving from Paris we left totally unrested for another long drive to Italy.Really dissapointed in this hotel.If air conditioning is advertised it is unaccpetable not to provide it.

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.1
    Good museum exhibits!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in the restaurant could be more attentive to guests. The quality of the food there could also be improved with better presentation. Each time we have eaten there, we feel as if minimal effort is given by the staff.

    Breakfast was plentiful. Room was okay....Hallway seemed a little dark.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    clean and professional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is with too normal quality but it has really a lot of choices already!

    good shower, free parking for bikes and quick check out, supermarkets and restaurants are nearby!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was good - the dining hall is small and was...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was interesting.. heating was turned on full pelt in the hotel and was a struggle with two pets.. dining halls was small..

    Breakfast was good - the dining hall is small and was crowded. Ordered it in, very very healthy portions. we got upgraded - so good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast is definitely worth it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tram line next to the hotel (noisy), bad wi-fi connection and no network cables available, room did not have enough light

    Fantastic breakfast, excellent location and comfortable bed / pillows, cocktail bar

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.3
    Rude staff and management. Don't have manners, don't say sorry for knowingly stealing money of you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff!! Bar staff were rude, the guy on the bar threw drink on our hair and cloths while serving with excitement and showing off. Bar overcharged us by over 60% nearly every evening assuming we were drunk. We complained to reception, assistant manager was extremely rude asking us to pay even more until we explained that we were there to claim the money we were over charged and we marked it on the receipt. The manager then said ok but did not apologise at all only agreeing with us that it's not fair. He has a very bad attitude.

    Rooms were good, complementary beverages were great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms on road side rather noisy bit smokey in room despite asking for non smoking

    breakfast excellent Very good cocktails Staff very pleasant and helpful Very Clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Definetely a good place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really cant think of anything I didnt like!

    Very kind stuff, super service. Incredible well done breakfest. All comfortable and cosy. And the location was very convenient for me because close to the trainstation. The restaurant was a good choice as well. Very attentive stuff. And the bar looked cool as well. Unfortunately couldnt test it because I had a big cold.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    Best Cocktail Bar ever in a Really Welcoming Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in Restaurant was slow on Saturday Night. Our waitress did an outstanding job of helping us out but we were travel-weary. A bit more help out-front or in the kitchen could have helped

    Great welcome. Room was ready early and we had a fantastic if slightly faded room. Receptionist helped us use the nearby tram system to explore the city Food in Restaurant was delicious Cocktail Bar is world-class with over 80 pages of delightful drinks. We left planning how we could get back there soon.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    7.5
    it s OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast should be improved. very thin walls. you hear everything nearby :)

    the staff was ok , but room cleaning started very early and a few times they ve got in by keys for minibar without knocking the door and waiting for an answer. fair enough for the value money . rooms are small but tidy and clean .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    7.5
    very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friday night playing loud music till 0100 am on cocktail evening, Saturday night a piano evening could hear music till 0100 am in room

    very good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.5
    A short sejour including the Silvester party
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have two double rooms and the hotel manager asked for ours credit cards twice, at our arrival for guarantee and at the check-out, for payment. We didn't like that they blocked a higher amount of money than the normal rooms price for two weeks after our stay. Related to the Silvester party, we didn't like that they clear away the table arrangement at 12 pm (sharp), transforming the restaurant into a bar with very noisy music. The TV only has a few channels.

    The hotel is well situated between the central station and the city center. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. The room temperature was agreeable and the water pressure very good. The breakfast is rich and good quality. We had also a partially pleasant, (but expansive) Silvester party, with nice piano music.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    5.0
    Close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dance music from cocktailbar in the lobby could be heard till 2:30 am. Wifi so bad it is useless. Reserved a Superior Room but could hardly move around in the room. One faucet was broken.

    Close to the center. Parking in the basement (€10 per night).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    4.2
    Will rather go with a different hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Very dirty rooms for a 4* hotel. - Smell of cigarette smoke in the room was annoying. - for some reason items from "mini-bar menu" were on the table along with free still water...while fridge was also full of snacks.

    Breakfast and stuff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel near the city centre but a bit noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street where the hotel is is very, very noisy: despite we had a 3rd floor room the tram passing by and conversation of nightgoers kept us awake all night

    Good position,close to city centre we got a very nice room, all staff always has neen remarkably kind and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.8
    The hotel lived up to all our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We opted for the underground parking and the parking spaces were very tight.

    The beds were comfy and we enjoyed three excellent nights sleep. The breakfasts were also very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    5.4
    - Nice staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Extremely dirty curtains, dirty window frame; - Spiderweb on the walls; - Floor lamp damaged (but still usable); - Hotel restaurant closed on Sundays.

    - Nice staff; - Good location; - Clean bed sheets, comfortable bed; - Free WiFi that actually works (not so common for Germany).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.9
    Staff at the hotel very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the lighting in our room too dark.

    Staff at the hotel very helpful. Room was clean, bathroom well equipped, bed comfortable, plus there was a coffee machine. Breakfast was like a banquet. Immense variety and quantities. Free parking is on the rooftop. Look for the lift in the corner, which can be overlooked as it is not marked. Brings you and your luggage down to Penny supermarket, next to the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    We got incredible value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very nice indeed, but not huge...

    I very rarely write reviews or make recommendations, but I am making an exception because this was the best breakfast that I have ever had or seen. It was awesome! Thank you Hotel Santo and staff for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    3.3
    Better pay more and stay in normal Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -dirty and worn out -single room set up and asked reception , nothing done therefor = 1 towel and 1duvet for both -extra duvet in cupboard , with no cover and stained, no blanket or anything -AC working and showing lets say 30 degress C however cold almost as outside.Needed to leave bathroom door opened as the bathroom was heated . - toiletries half empty (better dont put anything) -light off in bathroom however didn't even bothered to complain about it , still one spotlight left so , yuhuuu, could still see smthg in bathroom -asked about parking and receptionist mumbled something , ended up parking on the street, 1 street away. -advertising about coffee in the room however not replenished. -when checked out, night receptionist didn't even bother to ask how was our stay. Amateurism. -lift taking you just till 3rd floor and then you walk in darkness on the emergency stairs till 4th floor. -I can definitely tell you the Tram schedules in Karlsruhe as the hotel's phonic isolation not existing , therefor all tram's noises could be listened till almost 1 AM. -Please see few photos.

    The Christmas tree by the entrance and the near Chinese restaurant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    The place is located relatively close to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is located relatively close to city center. It offers private parking, but you can also park for free in a open parking next door. The room was big enough and clean. Bathroom was big, mini-bar was full with and wasn't expensive. We did not have breakfast included and we found it too expensive. You can get a great brunch in the city for the same money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    really impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money. Nice helpful staff, cozy room, great location, impressive breakfast. A detailed and crisp description of hotel facilities was available in the room. Made my visit to Kalsruhe, a memorable one

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.6
    excellent value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    DJ party in the bar on Friday nights, rooms on the street side of the hotel do get some noise from that -- not a lot, but it is something to consider, and maybe book the back rooms.

    Superb breakfast, very very comfy and firm bed, everything great, especially for 62 Euros.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.7
    Good car parking facilities, exellent breakfast, nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not a 4 star hotel, rooms were small and very outdated, there was unpleasant smell in the bathroom. We were shocked upon arrival at late night hour when we found that the lobby and the reception were converted to a night club playing very loud music and full of people drinking alkohol in the dark. We were very happy when the receptionist changed our room into a silent one. I think the owners should make up their mind whether it was a night club or a hotel. I think that a hotel and a night club are not compatible.

    Good car parking facilities, exellent breakfast, nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    5.0
    Poor response to broken facilities... Noisy rooms on the road side
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy rooms on the road side. TV was not working from the first day. Complained 4 times to the reception and to the Assitant manager at the morning desk but no solution provided. Very dissapointing

    Good location in terms of public transportation etc., Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    3.8
    A grotesque "4-star" disaster of dirty carpets, towels, and everything else!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This must have been the dirtiest hotel I've ever stayed in, especially in Germany! The carpets were covered with stains and dark spots, absolutely disgusting - and I mean everywhere, in the hallways AND the rooms. Further, the bed was too hard, many light switches did not work, the windows were stuck and did not open, the lighting was generally terrible, the shower/bathtub was of the poorest quality, as was all the other furniture, and there were moths and little flies everyhwere. It was the most terrible room I've experienced in a long time, I never run into cleanliness issues in German hotels at all, and I travel a lot! Also, for 150 Euros/night, this was so overpriced it's deeply disturbing. Please get the whole place refurbished, it's a disaster! PS. I would have changed hotels immediately if there had been other options those two nights and if I hadn't prepaid the entire stay.

    The guy at the reception was really kind, trying to accommodate my problem - that the rooms were incredibly dirty - by offering different room options even late at night.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Santo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: