Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santo This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Dagobertstr. 22-26, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#27 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3392 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, although could be improved with option for use of an evening restaurant.

    Location was close enough to town centre and easy to get anywhere with underground also being close by. We had an air conditioned room but had to make the choice between air conditioning and quietness of room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Variety of food was fantastic for breakfast, catered nicely to my limited dietary requirements. comfortable beds and the bathrooms are superb, your also given all amenity that you would expect, from a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was a bit of a pain! You had to connect every time you came back to hotel..it wasn't an automatic connection. No English tv channels ..listened to a music radio instead. Beds were on hard side ...not that I minded but you can request a mattress topper and pillows to suit your needs. 2 coffee pods allowed per day per room...after that you pay for any others. Large bottle of Pellegrino water in room on sale for €2.50.Buy a bottle in nearby supermarket in lower level.Hotel Mini bar was well stocked and had a mirror on the outside..great for make up in the morning. Check final bill...they had charged me for parking ! I had flown there and had no car !! Reception staff sorted that out no problem.

    Location good..not far to walk to from station.less than 10 minutes! Hotel Santo opposite Mariott Courtyard hotel. Quiet street area. Nice contemporary hotel. Great breakfast and at weekends breakfast time extends to 12noon! Apples and sparkling wine sometimes by reception. Water on counter in large jug to refill your water bottle.Plastic Water bottles have a 25cents return on them in Cologne. Window opens in room. Air con good..shower/ toilet room fine. Hotel Near to shops and restaurants..take left out of hotel entrance, cross main road and take right to old wall tower ...plenty of good restaurants there..we ate at 2 of them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough room for breakfast. One time I had to wait for 25 min to be seated for breakfast (which was included in the price)

    good location, nice rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a little problem with opening the safe when I exited, but the staff were on hand to help. The swipe card to the room did not work on arrival but the staff just jumped to it with kindness, and professionalism. The staff there were outstanding. This must be noted.

    Wonderful breakfast and wonderful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea facilities in the room, and double bed was two singles put together with separate covers. Naked women pictures on landing outside room. Adult orientated.

    Location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facility in the room, only coffee

    Good value, decent breakfast, nice location. Not far from the cathedral but out of the bustle of town. Good local places to eat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary tea or coffee in room. Coffee machine was in room, but not included in price. Lucky we took provisions. Very hard beds.

    Breakfast good variety Supplied Mattress toppers, as needed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a kettle in the room, rather than a Nespresso machine with only 2 capsules and one milk. One espresso cup and one normal size coffee cup for two people. Although they did give us a extra capsule when we asked.

    Breakfast was excellent. Location was great, very easy access by train from airport and short walk from the central station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a coffee machine in rooms, would have liked to have tea making facilities too.

    Friendly staff. Brilliant location. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was a hot and cold mix and was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not enough milk for the coffee inside the room - if you want to be picky.

    The breakfast was splendid. A great diversity of food, fresh bread and proper service. The Garage was an unusual experience to make. I can recommend it. The staff was very friendly and helped us a lot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel! Clean rooms. Full-size windows. There are slippers and the coffee machine in rooms. Breakfast tasty and varied. 10 minutes on foot from the central station and Cologne Cathedral.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were reallly small and the breakfast did noto meet my expectations. The fruits looked quite old and no real coffee was included. Not good value for money.

    Fine, if you are looking for a quiet room with no further extras.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived precise at 10 o'clock and did not get the breakfast anymore. The single room and particulary the bed was very small for € 250 a night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pictures hanged on the walls were a little too sexy for families, perhaps maybe because the hotel is near the red line (I hard it is not so red anymore), though it would be ok to anyone. I heard there are parks dangerous in the night in the neighborhood. Its underground parking, 17 euros/day, was unreservable . I arrived at around 1300 and could park, but it would have been more predictable if reservable.

    Location is great - it is close to anywhere including the cologne cathedral or the central station. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. Near 24-hour grocery shop.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed staff to walk us to car parking garage, could have been more convenient.

    Clean. Great location, walking distance to cathedral, shopping and restaurants near by. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not guaranteed, we had to ask the staff a few times whether a space was free and each time they had forgotten we had asked them an hour earlier

    The buffet breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little further from the centre than we imagined however there is still lots of bars resteraunts nearby so not a massive negative, would of been a lot better if the hotel served food through the day aswell.

    Lovely city fantastic staff at the hotel would do anything for you would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the 1st floor a little noisy from traffic in the mornings. Bed is really hard and even though they have mattress toppers it makes little difference. Pillows are also very soft. They do offer tempur pillows as well if you ask but makes the first nights sleep quite sparse unless you know to ask.

    Great breakfast selection. Well located. Friendly staff, beautifully decorated for the Christmas season.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the atmosphere, seeing as it was Christmas there was not a single decoration. All the other hotels we passed were decorated beautifully. Unfortunately it has put us off booking with your hotel in the future

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air Conditioning system only on during summer months. Radiator controlled the heating. No kettle in the room only a Nespresso coffee machine. No good if you dont like coffee!

    5-10 minute walk from main train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - arrived 2.30 AM and unfriendly man at the desk - did not inform about anything (price garage, city map, ...) - not very clean

    Good location Good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism I have is that the bath towels are too small.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room comfortable and had everything I needed, and there was a choice of pillows. The bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice of hot and cold dishes, fruit, cereal, pastries etc. The hotel is spotlessly clean, and the location very good. I will definitely stay there again if I come to Cologne.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room efficient but cramped, away from tourist areas and Christmas markets, no decaf and only 3 coffee pods for in room Nespresso.

    Close enough to train station for convenience, good breakfast, great little brauhaus close by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nearly perfect. Price is slightly on the high side if you compare with surrounding hotels, but it is value for money.

    Big and clean room, comfortable bed, friendly staffs, excellent breakfast, within walking distance to train station / Dom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are a bit hard, but other mattress options are available on request.

    Double rooms are immaculate and property is very clean. Good shower and bathroom. Staff is friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet is fabulous. Location close to the centre of town and local shopping are great bonuses. Hotel Santo is a winner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the garage only accompanied by hotel representative.

    Good breakfast. Nice room with comfortable bathroom. Clean. Convenient location, walking distance from the center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive: 17 €/day!

    The Ladys at the reception are very good help and also very nice ladys! The rooms small but good for more than one night! I liked the wall pictures ... very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An excellent stay. Breakfast was lovely and room exactly what we needed. Only a short walk to the cathedral and the river, with easy public transport links. Staff were very helpful - they are even posting us back an item that we left in the room!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free bottle of water for guests upon arrival. Bottle of water offered for 3,50€! Room facing very loud street. 5%extra Tax not mentioned during booking.

    Bread rolls were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This really is a very nice hotel with pleasant, helpful staff, immaculately clean rooms and excellent facilities. The buffet breakfast, as mentioned in many previous reviews, is superb and probably the best I've had in any hotel. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Cologne.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice and modern hotel. After being to Cologne for the 4 consecutive time for expos and staying in other rooms, I can definately say that for the same money this hotel is way beyond it's class compared to the others. The room and it's facilities were great, clean and quiet, breakfast was also superb, definately proceeding for a book next year as well. Nothing negative at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very pleased with our stay here. The hotel was very clean and tidy, with a tasteful modern decor. The location was very good, close to almost everything we wanted to see, and the nearby subway got us the rest of the way with no trouble. The staff were very friendly, and the breakfast spread was the best I have had in Germany. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was very poor. We were given one small bar of soap for everything and a small shampoo, both of which we used up the first day. Neither were replaced with the cleaning. Only one English speaking TV channel (no CNN). Noise from the construction going on. This place is just not good for English speaking tourist.

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was satisfied with everything.

    * Breakfast: Excellent! Lot of variation of hot and cold food. The mini donut was my favourite :) Everything were delicious and every each day I found something new. * Location: Very close to the centre, shops, railway station, Dom, and Rhine. * The room was modern equipped. The beds are very comfortables. Room includes nespresso coffee-maker. *Staffs: Friendly and smiling.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area around Cologne Cathedral was disappointing, and some streets near the main station are tatty. The hotel is in a decent area itself.

    The hotel is great - the staff were very helpful, walking us round to the underground garage which is only round the corner, and the breakfast was very good. Overall (including the parking charge) it was good value for money. We found a supermarket nearby where we we could source a good 'picnic' for our hotel room that evening,as we were tired from travelling and didn't fancy walking out again to find a restaurant- as we weren't impressed by Cologne itself.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far away from the Dom, about 800 hundred meters and 10 minutes walk.

    It is quite new hotel and the facilities are quite good. The staff is ready to help and professional. Breakfast is especially wonderful. There is a safe provided in the room to keep important staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is definitely cashing in on the location, especially during trade fair periods, as the prices keep rising. Unfortunately the money is not being put into renovation and the hotel is experiencing increasing wear and tear as time passes, nothing has been done since I first stayed at this hotel in 2014. The beds are quite hard and over time have become loud and squeaky, you are sure to wake up the person sleeping next to you when you switch sides :) Breakfast is adequate, but quite meh for the price. I wish they would do an overhaul soon to at least try to justify the high prices during trade fair periods!

    Superb location, only about 500m from the Hauptbahnhof. Perfect hotel for business visitors attending trade fairs at Koelnmesse, as the fair grounds are only 1 train stop away. Rewe supermarket is just across the street and plenty of quick food grab options at the Hbf that are open until late at night. Rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. It was my third visit at this hotel for an event at Koelnmesse, so I have quite a bit of experience with this hotel over the last few years.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a city hotel and was boping for a bit of a view. It just wasnt going to happen with it being in a city. It is rhe only negetive aboit the property.

    Very good and under mins from tbe cathederal, town center in the same area and the train within walking distance also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Obtaining access to the parking area was a procedure...it was a bit of a hassle, but would not deter me from staying again

    Amazing breakfast...even had champagne

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous Stay The staff were wonderful and very friendly. This is my second time staying at the Santo Hotel , and I will look forward to visiting again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single room was too small for the price. I'm pretty sure it is possible to find a larger, more comfortable room in a hotel in central Cologne for a similar price. Also, I wasn't enthusiastic about the cleaning staff walking into the room in the morning without knocking or otherwise checking whether I was still there. (No 'please don't disturb' cards provided.)

    Clean, very comfortable bed, conveniently located, very pleasant breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very hard. Doona is for a single bed. Air conditioner not near the bed - located in hall, and therefore not effective.

    Shower, nespresso, parking, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area at night was a little shady, hence the convenience of the hotel bar. The tequila sunrise was off in ratio; too much grenadine but that's nit picking.

    The hotel is located at s distance of 1 km from the train station which made for easy walking commute. The staff spoke German and English which may be good to know. The hotel room was very clean, spacious, and modern. The hotel has its own bar in the lobby and thus if you are looking to stay in at night, they are happy to make a variety of drinks for you. The lobby also has a cozy seating area to enjoy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !

    The room was renovated very nicely , breakfast was amazing, all the staff were very friendly and helpful would stay there again in a heart beat !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel of a business type, breakfast included, walkable from railway station.Not a lot of personality, single room compact, not exactly cheap but Koln expensive especially if large trade shows are on.Enjoyed my stay, but cant get enthusiastic about hotel, will choose somewhere else next time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an unannounced construction project in the hotel, constant drilling machine noise during the day. The wireless connection required input of a web form every time your device goes into standby, for a phone it was very frustrating.

    The hotel offers a Tempur pillow menu.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed s were very hard. woke up to back pain each morning. The receptionist was also bar and evening cook. There was only bought-in panninis and pizza available. Not what I would expxt from a supposedly 4*. The restaurant was open for breakfast only, all snacks had to be eaten in the room or in reception area.

    The hotel was ideal for the tourist sites. just 10 minutes walk to the cathedral, restaurants 5 minutes away

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suggest to add to TV channels, at least one, in Italian language

    Very good staff, it was a misunderstanding in order of Parking for my Van, but they found a very good solution in short time. thank you so much !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    COffeemaker instead of kettle and we dont drink coffee. You had to take pillow request to reception would have been nice to just phone up.

    Safe parking efficient check in and check out.very fast no waiti g. Excellent breakfast everything you could ask for and fresh Reverse cycle airco was very efficient and quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain.

    Stayed superior single room. Everything was satisfactory except mattress is not king size,combined two single bed. Breakfast is excellent.Easy to reach by car and parking wasn't a problem. Staff behaviour is great. Fast check in/out. Recommended location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had problem with the room heater. We wanted the room heater to be on but it wasn't working. Somebody came to check it but didn't make any repairs. We were feeling cold inside our room.

    Location of this hotel was good as we could reach most of the places we wanted to go by walking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms for single occupancy are really small (very small bed)

    The hotel is clean and correct. Well placed in a reasonable neighbourhood.; short walk from city centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were not particularly warm or helpful bar doing the bare minimum which was disappointing. Strict re: breakfast times and wifi use

    Good location and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a quiet area so you migjt have to buy some water or food at main station incase you dont want explore far at night

    Variety choice of breakfast that you will need more time to enjoy it! Very cozy n few minutes walk to main station. The hotel got whatever you need for short stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite noisy due to the business outside and aircon didn't seem to be working

    Excellent staff and great location. V near main train station which has a direct connection to airport for less than 3e single! V clean and fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some areas area little tired. I thought the floors in the bathroom and bedroom were dirty on first arriving. In fact they were clean but worn. There is a coffee machine in the room but very few coffee pods etc. We prefer to have tea and none was provided. These are small criticisms however.

    The breakfast was outstanding and the restaurant staff helpful and accommodating. There was a little delay on our last morning but we understand there was a new staff member and the waiting staff were very quick to rectify the problem. The lounge area is comfortable and the bar is open whenever you need it. Excellent wifi connection in the bedroom. Large bathroom with good towels and toiletries.Easy walking distance to the centre of Cologne. We were visiting friends and could walk easily to their home.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast buffet style with plenty of choice of good quality food. Efficient, helpful and pleasant restaurant staff. Very good reception staff. Good, secure car park. 3 minute walk to the river.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smallest room and the smallest bed I ever slept in. Strange as for **** hotel.

    The receptionists and the breakfast . WiFi perfect in the hotel room but disappear immediately after you leave.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi connection is quite bad. I had to reconnect very often.

    The room was very clean and the stuffs were very friendly and helpful They speak English very well and it is very easy to communicate with them. They are very helpful with all the questions I had.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge is concealed as a mirrored cupboard and hangs on the wall. It is not well located judging from the bump on my head.

    Spotlessly clean, comfy beds, good bathroom. Light and bright.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at Hotel Santo for the 4rd time now. Again it was a great place to stay: very friendly staff at reception, great location and a breakfast to die for. We definitely will come back here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived in Feb at 21:00 to Hotel, the room was very very cold, the windows of room was open, it was terrible. The towels was in very small size. The bathroom was to cold, Maybe they don't know in winter, The clients need to access to their warm room..

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small.

    The staff was very kind and efficient. I really enjoyed breakfast. They serve variety of cold cuts and warm grilled vagetables such as mushroom and eggplants and zucchini.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was really not comfortable as it was just two single beds pushed together. We were falling in the cracks the whole time!!

    Loved the breakfast, and location!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charged extra for cappuccino for breakfast. Did not know that this would be charged and when I told the receptionist at checkout she was not very nice. Parking was difficult.

    Location was good for the price Hotel was modern

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly and comfortable hotel in a convenient location a few minutes walk away from the cathedral and town. Underground parking, some authentic bars and restaurants close by and a great breakfast make this a great choice for a trip to Cologne by car.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fact that you have to enter room no, name, etc everytime to access wifi

    An excellent hotel, clean, comfortable, central, good bkfst and nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was difficult to find. Painting the building gray did not help it since it was located on a small side street. The hotel staff were mostly females. The lady that checked us in also helped push the dolly of baggages to our room and helped unload our stuff. I'm not saying women can't do this, but she was petite and was having trouble. We had to help her more than the other way around. Perhaps a male bellboy would be more efficient for the hotel. Although the rooms were neat and clean, they were terribly small. We barely had enough room to put two baggages. The halls up to the rooms were also very narrow. If a baggage dolly was in the hall, you probably wouldn't be able to pass through. Side note, the beds were too soft and lumpy for my liking. I received an email from the hotel the night prior to my check in. The email asked for my credit card information. I was skeptical in responding to the email because it was incredibly vague, did not include my booking information, the language in the email was simple and unprofessional. The tone of the email sounded more like a scam than asking for my CC info to guarantee my rooms. I ended up not giving my information, even after I asked them for clarification, because I stood by my skepticism. When I arrived, I had no issues checking in. I would suggest the hotel management to either train their staff to write better emails or to provide a prewritten professional email for the staff to send out in case they need to ask the hotel guests for additional personal information.

    I loved the breakfast! They had sliced deli, fish, cured meats, fresh fruits, hot foods, cereals, juices, and hot beverages. Because they had such different varieties, you can satisfy almost any body. Pic attached. The rooms were clean and the bathroom had its own heater, which was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the bathroom did not drain properly, double bed a bit of a squeeze with child in the bed. There is space for a bigger double bed.

    Quiet room, clean room. Not far from the station and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The first thing I noticed in the room was the scratched linoleum floor - made the room look cheap, cold and uncomfortable - not nice at all for walking barefooted. - We were on the first floor and there was loud noise from the fan in the bathroom that was not coming from the room itself and we couldn't control. - The hair dryer was very heavy and you constantly have to press a button to work so it was difficult to use it.

    + Location is convenient - 8 minutes from the Dom and easy to get around. + We were nicely surprised by the coffee machine in the room and breakfast till 12 because it was around the holidays. + The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While it was an easy walk from the train station (8-10 minutes, exit at Breslauer Platz), if you wanted to explore the main things to see and do in Cologne, you pretty much had to walk through the train station to get between them and the hotel.

    Modern, comfortable hotel, large rooms, large breakfast buffet with lots of options (eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, hash browns, etc), hardwood floors, but very quiet, you won't hear your fellow guests clomping around. Easy walk from the Hauptbahnhof, located in a quiet residential neighborhood. Best hotel I stayed at on my trip.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit weird that we were given a room for disabled persons but we managed just fine.

    The breakfast was superb and the location was quite good (only about a 10 min walk from the Cathedral and the xmas markets). The staff were friendly and always ready to help us.Overall, for the price paid this was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The acoustics at the hotel were TERRIBLE. I was on the 2 floor and I could hear all the noise from the outside, all the talking, people walking past with suitcases, and the noise from the hallway also travelled into the room. Sleepless 2 nights. Bed was also small and against a wall basically which made it very uncomfortable.

    Breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room, which was looking out on to the road, was extremely noisy, we had to leave the window open as the room was quite hot and we didn't get much sleep due to the traffic noise

    Breakfast was great, lots of choice, both continental and cooked dishes. Lovely breads, cereals, fruit, everything you could wish for.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Santo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: