Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sascha's Kachelofen 3 stars

Kirchstraße 3, 87561 Oberstdorf, Germany

#10 of 20 B&Bs and Inns in Oberstdorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 613 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only fault I would say is Wifi: connection in room was very unstable that it was almost unusable. Separately, readers of this comment should note that there is no elevator access and front-desk hours are limited.

    The character and charm of the hotel. The balcony of room is relaxing. The hotel is close to everything (train and bus station, ice rink, Nebelhorn cable car, grocery store, etc.). Breakfast was very nice too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all was great nothing we didn't like at all.

    Great location, fabulous breakfast included. Good beds and big bathroom. Fabulous hosts who spoke great english. Nice town to explore and shop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet signal was poor and was running with lots of interruptions.

    Location is perfect for all the goals of the trip: close to the train station, to the centre of Oberstdorf, to the mountain cabin station, to the shops. The room we have got offered us a wonderful view of the mountains towards the East. The room was large and comfortable. The hosts were very careful and friendly. The breakfast was fresh and included a large variety of food of very good quality. We felt like being in a high class club.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being asked to pay for a parking space when Booking.com say its free? The owner did honour the arrangement but am not sure if it is now chargeable for the future.

    This was a lovely hotel in the centre of Oberstdorf. Food was excellent and the breakfast was outstanding. Bathroom was spotless. Great atmosphere in town as it was buzzing. Well worth staying.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ski/snowboard storage in separate building and without proper racks - just a bike stand. Wifi a little flakey, but fast when working. No kettle in room (I appreciate this isn't a normal thing round here, but it's something I like to have, and some other places do).

    Excellent breakfast selection at the weekend. Monday morning was more limited, not sure if this is because the hotel was quieter, but it was still very good. Excellent quality in the room for the price, good size, great shower, comfortable bed. Great location near the train and bus stations.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is a B&B with a restaurant attached. It is in serious need of modernisation. No lift. Intermittent Wifi. No guest facilities and no bar to sit at. Restaurant closes 14.00 to 17.00 hrs daily. Unfriendly hosts who are more geared up to their restaurant trade. No desire to return.

    Good location, good breakfast with hot and cold selection. Friendly and helpful breakfast lady and young receptionist.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I spent 3 nights at this hotel (23-26.12.2016). I didn't expect much, but everything was more than great: location in the center of Oberstdorf, the room was clean, big enough and somewhat nice - big bed, cute pillows, neat balcony. I can say nothing about transport/buses: we had a car. The owners/employees are positive and kind, and breakfast - best I ever had (and I travel a lot all over the world - Europe, America, Japan, Australia, Canada...). On December 24 I found a big plate with cookies and chocolate Santa Claus in my room, this was lovely:) Most of the people speak German, the lady that can mostly be found in the restaurant speaks perfect English. I recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is shocking. The pillow was hard and huge.

    The location is excellent. The beds are comfortable, the breakfast is really good and the rooms clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was easy to find 5 mins walk from the railway station. The room was clean and tidy with a good shower. The wifi was weak but worked ok in the reception area. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. I would stay here again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain. Restaurant is closed on Thursday - fair enough!

    Good location right in the heart of Oberstdorf. Very good food. Excellent breakfast buffet. Friendly service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had a room a the back of the hotel and we suffered the revellers from a very noisy restaurant opposite

    Superb breakfast, served by a very efficient and friendly lady

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 0.75 ml water bottle we were greeted with in the room had a 2.5 Euros tag label attached. If they had had a minibar in a fridge then I would have understood, but given that ... come one, is water a problem in a mountain resort like Oberstdorf? All over the place in Alps the tap water is so good, if you let it run a bit to get colder. The wifi was close to nothing. Signal was so poor. Too few users were allowed simultaneously and I got kicked out frequently. I had to stay on the staircase and wait till after midnight to have a decent connection and read my mail. How much can cost nowadays to add more routers in the building?

    Located right in the heart of the town. Their cuisine is excellent. Breakfast was varied and a true feast. Mess hall nicely decorated, breathing an authentic German atmosphere. Room was large and soundproofed very well, although it could not suppress the bell sounds from the nearby church.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Establishment closed restaurant on the Thursday evening we were there, whether this was a one off or not we don't know.

    Great location although you are in the centre of pedestrianised area, but don't let that put you off if you come in a car. You get all the right paper work once you are booked in. We never used our car until we left as we used the buses or walked.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallway was poorly lit up and reception did not always have someone

    Breakfast was amazing!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues.

    Very central location 5 minutes walk from train station. Nice and quiet too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very flaky internet connexion in my room.

    The situation in the heart of the town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Staff was brilliant! Sweet and smiling :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matrace was too soft

    Breakfast was brilliant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything was very good. Especially the staff that was very friendly. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Very near to the train station. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely location right in the centre of town. Very nice substantial breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location - right in the center of town. Excellent breakfast. Big room with cover balcony. Dinner menu was fantastic. Good parking. Great deal for a resonable price. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Within walking distance of all facilities. Top class restaurant and friendly staff. Plenty of sights within hours drive in car. The train goes to interesting places, too.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator and we had to take luggage up to the third floor.

    Great location. Walking distance from all attractions and sport venues. Cozy and quaint hotel and restaurant. Breakfast was included and had a good variety.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location was very convenient, walking distance to the station. The food was excellent and the staff was super friendly. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air con in room boiling hot!cleaner gave me portable fan which helped

    Helpfull staff good food good location

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Sascha's Kachelofen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: