Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Savoy Bonn This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Berliner Freiheit 17, Bonn City Centre, 53111 Bonn, Germany

#55 of 69 hotels in Bonn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 243 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I did not like about the property was it's classification as 4 star. I got a good deal via booking.com that made my stay good value for money but I would not have booked this hotel a the standard rate.

    It is central with a stop for the local teams right in front of the door. The concierge was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was probably the best thing about the place. My room was a good size, not right.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1. Breakfast could be much better. Only very basic things were available, the same every day. OK, but for me such a breakfast was sufficient. 2. There was no fridge in my room.

    1. Location: Very close to the city center. 2. Excellent Wi-Fi. 3. Very kind and polite personnel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very cold - no radiator! No lounge. Fairly expensive all-in-all, but most places in Bonn are.

    Excellent location close to city centre, decent breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful, booked a taxi as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For some reason the cleaning staff would open the windows to the room in the middle of winter. When I would get back at night the room was freezing

    Great for the price. Located in a central spot. Fast access to lots of places to eat and transportation

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely small. There was no place in the room to place the suite case. The room was without a wardrobe, tee kettle, bin in the toilet and other such facilities that are available in same sized rooms in other hotels. Wash basin was so small that water spilled out on to the floor even while washing face and hands.

    Hotel is located close to the city center. Staff was courteous and helpful. Location of the breakfast restaurant was quite nice. Internet facility was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very very nice Hotel , managed by a family and for this reason they took care much better then any other chain worker . I will be definitely be back . One of the best bookings i have done in the past two years . Thumbs up

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that comes to mind.

    It was clean and well maintained the hotel is in a very good position for seeing the city attractions by foot the staff are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend for short breaks of up to 3 to 4 nights and the room that we had was very big bed was very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property is close to a main road and there is a lot of noise. The breakfast was poor, only the basics (bread, cheese, coffee etc). The room was very simple and there was not even a fridge and blackout curtains. I had a discount from the booking.com and I did not pay the actual price of the room, but the actual price was very expensive compared to the provided facilities.

    The location was close to the public transport and close to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There, in the room, was very warm because of the hot weather that day. also I found the bathroom a bit small, but that is just my objective feeling because I am little oversized.

    nice staff, possible to late check-in. delicious breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    some facilities missing like common area, in room coffee/tea, no parking, no bar or restaurant.

    staff very friendly and helpful, very clean and newly renovated. fresh continental breakfast, right downtown near restaurants and public transit. generally quiet at night. very strong WIFI

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms facing the main street are very noisy. I could not sleep the first night but the staff changed me to a new room without any problem.

    Very nice place in the city center. The staff is very friendly. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi was super slow. The breakfast was just ok, but functional.

    The staff was really wonderful and friendly. I was very happy with my room, which was in a nice location, very clean, and in good condition. Overall, I felt very comfortable and happy in the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kindness and competence

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, big airy room, comfortable bed and quiet at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place for visiting The city. Close to the old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite everything, someone opened the door while I was changing in the room. Das darf nicht passieren!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roasting

    Served a purpose

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the room had a fan or A/C

    The staff was the best, really kind and helpful! The staff made the trip even better!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ok.

    The zone was very accessible

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park proximity to hotel

    Functional

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much cold water pressure in my room resulted in hot showers, very weak to no wifi connection.

    Location, staff, cleanness, breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Short beds

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was slow

    Close to city

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast and the cleaning service are poor

    the location is close to the tram and the market. convenient

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staffs are very kind. Location is good. Near the Rhine River. Breakfast is good enough.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location - a bit far from the center

    staffs were friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room good size, clean & comfortable. Breakfast was good. It was usual German breakfast of bread, meat, cheese & some cereal & yoghurt. Free WiFi. Person on reception when we arrived was very nice & helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    in summer, when I came, it was very hot at night and there was no fan. It would be better if there was a fan.

    Clean, friendly staff. Central strategic location. Tram, bus, restaurants, shops are just around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really no common area. We were there with friends and a place to sit and visit would have been nice.

    Terrific location right downtown. A block from both the Rhein river and downtown area. Continental breakfast, with some eggs. I love the German rolls and cheese in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was nice to have a fridge in the room, but it was dirty inside! The water changed temperature from hot to cold and back again , but only a bit.

    The ladies working at this basic hotel were really lovely. The room, though a bit outdated,was very large with a huge balcony and a very comfortable bed. The TV was also large.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very noisy if you have a room on the side of the main street

    Location, renovated rooms, OK WiFi

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    No free parking but staff suggested a good solution.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent small city hotel, room with balcony

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Little facilities

    Perfect location

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad but tea/coffee in the room would have been appreciated.

    Very close to central Bonn and the river Rhine. Friendly and helpful staff.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: