Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novum Hotel Savoy Hamburg Mitte This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Steindamm 54, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#248 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 716 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Early check in is not possible and not responsive to the requests in advance or at all. No olives in the breakfast!

    Beds are comfortable, cannot say for pillows. The location is central but be aware of the neighborhood!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very unfriendly recepcionist, bordering on the rude. Depressing decoration and small stuffy breakfast room. Near to the hotel you have prostitutes and peep shows, not a family area.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was located nearby the train station. Not the most popular area as there were lots of arabs/turks just hanging around and drinking. The room was fairly clean and it smelled weird mostly smoke. The front desk personnel was by far the worst of this experience. Depending on who was at the reception that day (guys only) we were greeted with 2 kinds of behaviors : 1. Lazy secretary behavior- they simply didn’t care,didn’t wanted to help or bother at all. They were probably expecting tips. Anyways if you don’t like your job just quit. It’s the worst in the hotel industry to have such a behavior towards your customers. As an example we asked them one night if they have a bottle opener and the answer was a straight no even though they have a bar/alcohol machine at the reception. 2. Rude and aggressive behavior - on top of being rude they were also aggressive in their tone. At the check out we were questioned about whether we drank the 4€ bottle of water in the room. It’s their job to ask but the tone they used was simply unacceptable. All in all our experience at the hotel was unpleasant. Highly unprofessional non german personnel at the reception desk. Don’t recommend.

    The breakfast was good and the lady responsible for it was very nice :) Good job!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guy at the reception desk wasn't friendly, pillows are too far from good, there was a cigarette smell in the room, probably because somebody was smoking in the next room

    Great location and good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strange staff who will ask you what you want here because I am a black man, maybe the hotel is not international but purely white conservative and i never set my foot into the restaurant because the staff especially the night shift were so unfriendly

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner woke us up 5am when they taking their linens and placing all of them on the hallway blocking the hallway. Very disorganised and inconsiderate to hotel guess. Very disappointing. Avoid level 2.

    Front desk staff was so helpful. Very good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely small elevator that did not go all the way to the parking garage and we were put in the attic and the elevator did not go up there either. So it was quite a job getting the luggage up and down. There was carpet on all floors and our floor squeaked a lot, we felt sorry for the guests below us.

    Nice view and the bed was OK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inflexible, not at all customer-oriented staff that refused to remove the tourist city tax from the bill although this was a business trip, blaming booking.com for including it in the rate Full payment (not reservation on the credit card!) for the entire stay upon check-in Ridiculously short beds, better suited for kids than for adults Only a tiny sink in the bathroom without shelf for toiletries (although there would be plenty of room for a decent-sized sink) Shower with just a curtain, not a solid stall Slow free WiFi with VPN services blocked, forcing me to use my cellphone data plan instead No A/C and opening the window for fresh air not really possible because of the noisy street (would be a bigger issue in the summertime though) Seedy neighborhood

    Cleanliness of the room New fixtures in the bathroom Breakfast buffet was billed at EUR 5, which is very reasonable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. It would be cramped for two but three was a squash.

    Close to the main station, central location. There is a park nearby with a nice play park and cafe, which was great for us. Also the buffet breakfast was very generous and was a hit with me and my kids!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of airconditioning. Some of the staff's grasp on german and/or english wasn't as it should be.

    Staff in the Breakfast room were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though location is good, can be a little unsafe at night. I didn't feel particularly comfortable on the street at night. The room isnt value for money at all & it is definitely isn't for family. Rooms are super small and cramped. The entrance is very small and hence in spite of being on main street, you tend to miss it.

    Decent breakfast. Excellent location (bus stop and U-bahn are hardly meters away. Full of restaurants in the vicinity).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel is close to the train station, it is not easy to find by map or asking around. One must pass a few 'sex lounges,' for lack of a better term, in order to reach the hotel. I was 15 minutes early for check in, but was still kicked to the curb with all my luggage. The reception staff were neither friendly nor helpful, especially the male, whose attitude can only be described as arrogant and rude. The women at the reception seemed to speak the minimum to guests as they could. The breakfast room staff was unfriendly as well.

    The best part of my stay was the very friendly and helpful chamber maid, who helped me into my spotless room and told me where to find the breakfast room. The room is small, but has all one needs and bathroom is well outfitted. Great shower. The location is close to train station and supermarket. The neighborhood is fine, not unsafe at all, especially for an urban location. It is what white people would call ethnic, as it is clearly a Middle Eastern presence, but I found this not at all problematic. Then elevator is helpful also. Great breakfast. Overall a pleasant stay and great value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a warm night, room was stuffy, no air conditioner, but the street was too noisy to open the window.

    Excellent sound proofing, everything worked well, very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist wasn't able to tell how to get to the airport via public transport. I expect from a receptionist to know such things....

    The breakfast buffet was really big and the room all clean and larger than we've expected! The stuff was friendly and the location close to the central station really comfortable for whatever you want to do in Hamburg. We enjoyed our stay a lot :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    add air conditioner because windows can't be open because very noisy aut said!

    Hi internet where working properly and the view of windows not nice !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good position, on a walking distance from train station and metro station. Breakfast with a lot o choice and good quality food. The Girl from Peru (I am sorry I don't remember the name) at the reception was very nice and gave us a lot of info.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's located very close to the train station. Busy area although we manage to get parking in front of the hotel. Staff ok. It's a hotel for one night at a very competitive price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing place! We liked everything, from the lively neighborhood (which was on a 5 min walking distance from the Central Station) to the cosy room and awesome breakfast. The room itself was clean and had everything we needed. For sure I will book again when I visit Hamburg.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small and narrow lift, the rooms the same. Only one chair. And when sitting on this at the desk, you can not pass to the other side of the room. A little bit more space or more intelligent use of the space would have been appreciated.

    Breakfast as you can expect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facilities in room would have been good especially as there were no plain tea bags at breakfast just mint and fruit etc ones

    Spotlessly clean, nice modern decor, good shower with plenty of hot water. Very convenient for railway station. Would definitely stay again and recommend

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man at reception was unfriendly and arrogant. But maybe he was not in mode. Whatever but he was not nice to us.

    Room was Nice and Clean. And breakfast and service was really good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    although located close to the central railway station, the facility of the hotel is just so so and the staff there are always bearing nasty expressions showing unfriendly attitude to the customers. I will not book this hotel any longer!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff at reception -asked extra blanket for child and they did not want to bring it. Deposit for security box was one day 59€ but next morning 15€. View to very noisy street.

    Breakfast. Very near to main train station. Kind staff at 5.th floor (breakfast). Bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff rude, unhelpful and unfriendly. Location terrible in red light district.only positive was the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location very close to Hauptbahnhof,good breakfast and big rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have problem with pillow.

    I liked Breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly Staff, good breakfast, reception works 24/7, good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, room in great shape and very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor breakfast

    Close to reailway station, shops, good wi-fi, nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very quiet warm room/generous breakfast times

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast

    Everything was Ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Muslim neighbourhood. Mosque. Non-German atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner,small lift

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neighbourhood more than TERRIBLE!!! I was afraid to walk around the hotel in the streets!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean, small rooms and was not worth forvmoney

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff and the fact they don't tell you that drinking the water they leave in your room costs..

    Breakfast and breakfast staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at the reception was very helpful; the man was not. He seemed to hate his job and did the bare minimum

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, the neighborhood doesn't look nice and safe, parking is a big issue

    Breakfast, nice room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very unhelpful. Very poor overall.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not the best area of the city, but it is completely safe!

    Very good position and perfect combination value /money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location to explore Hamburg, staff really helpful and really good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Receptionists seemed a bit bored and didn't speak much english.

    Hotel was very clean overall, room was neat.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mouse in the breakfast, so no more coments

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 mins from Hamburg Hauptbahnhof, great when travelling with you children

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not at all good for families with children.

    Clean and nice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Thw room was small, street is full of foregin residences

    The room was clean, and staff were helping, Location is very close to central station, 10 min walking

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I asked for bathroom scale, but obviously, the reception guy didn't really understand what i wanted.

    Nothing in particular, people were very kind to me and i really appreciate that

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel itself was perfect for our needs. Only downside was I felt a little uncomfortable walking at night with my six yr old back to the hotel.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was spotlessly clean and was great value for money. Only a five minute walk from the station

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Area, little bit dodgy.

    Cleanest was good, location is very central, close to central station and shopping area. Fabulous Breakfast! Just one hot dish, omelette but so so tasty, all others stuff is cold dishes, ham, cheese, even brie! Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a renovation nearby, so pretty noisy in the mornings. Information about the deposit box was controversial: on the safe itself it stood that you have to pay, on the door it was said it's free of charge.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well... the price. But it is Hamburg and in the city. So you have to live with the price ;-)

    Breakfast is ok, Internet access is easy one click and you can surf.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very small room, no ventilation or conditioner so we had to open the window which was opened directly to the very loud street. The hotel location is very close to the main train station but this leads to all corresponding negative staff - load and dirty.

    Breakfast was ok, room was clean enough.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not on a good street Very small hotel which is functional, so long as you do not want to leave your room, and enjoy the facilities and ambience of the hotel - there is not any!

    Handy for station Clean Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -Service.The receptionist did not welcome me,I had to ask him about breakfast,he gave me fill a form with my details even though they had all my details and they should have done that and when I ask him about the daily tickets for the metro he had no idea and he seemed also disturbed from my questions! -Room.The room was uncomfortably warm and with the window open there was so much noise.

    Location,the hotel is 10 minutes on foot away from Hamburg Hbf.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    private parking was too expensive for what the conditions they offered staff at the arrival not really friendly (the staff of the day after was better)

    fair breakfast (only bacon was missing) good wifi

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -internet was not really working good -staff at the main door went to have his breakfast and left 5-10 minutes- We were locked downstairs and could not go out. -lots of creepy places close by -we asked for a good local restaurant and we were advised to go and eat a Kebab next door

    -close to train stations -breakfast was nice and complete

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lounge bar

    Good breakfast cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee machines

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The district around seems to be a bit dangerous

    Close to the railway station, subway

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Group

    Very near to central train station.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a nice area outside (at least for me). Everywhere sexshops, prostitutes and things like that.

    Breakfast is not bad, the room is clean and warm.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our first room really smelt of damp, we then asked to change and the second room was better. the hotel is very old and dated

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee / tea at the room.

    Private garage for a fee.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Small Rooms

    Location

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receptionists were not very helpful

    Clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even the locals do not travel through this neighborhood during night.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    فقط جايش إز لحاظ بازار ودسترسي خوب است

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Neighborhood

    Close to city center Nice clean small hotel

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room and very bad breakfast

    Its location is good as the central station is just 5 mins by walking

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All was in small the Room the elevator was adisaster!!! It was too small.

    The Breakfast the Location

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My bed was terrible soft, but for one night it was a decent hotel.

    Multi cultural location. Walking to city center is about 20min walk.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    5 minutes walk to railway station

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novum Hotel Savoy Hamburg Mitte traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: