Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Savoy Berlin This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Fasanenstr. 9-10, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 10623 Berlin, Germany

#139 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1247 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Great option for a 60 EUR per night single room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The furniture is old. You can see a grey line of dust all along the walls, where the hoover didn't reach to properly clean and you can hear the street noise cause the window frames are old.

    Great location! Lots of nice coffee-shops and shopping boutiques in less than 600 m. Staff is very professional. Overall style is great, if only the furniture wasn't slit...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    No issues recommending this hotel considering what you get for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looking very tired, in need of an upgrade

    Great location, very close to Zoologischer Garten station. The staff are very helpful and the hotel is very clean. A great choice for this price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Fancy!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathtub, room was next to a noisy corridor where doors were always slammed. Not much of a gym.

    Great location, friendly desk staff, great selection of tea at breakfast, good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    I was disappointed that they’re wasn’t air conditioning in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that they’re wasn’t air conditioning in the room. One room was comfortable as it did not get the sunshine but one was very hot. I had a fan but that was not sufficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Recommend this hotel for convenience to trains, busses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel did not have a good bar. Restaurant was expensive.

    Hotel in excellent location near to Train Station, Berlin Zoo and plenty of Restaurants & Bars nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Location is good, there's a metro station and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is quite old style and frankly needs a good dose of modernisation. The moquette / carpet in the rooms as well as doors and curtains have seen better days. Maybe they have airco and I didn't look for it, but it was really quite warm. If you don't want to spend much and don't mind the old fashioned look of it, it's a good deal.

    Location is good, there's a metro station and Ku'damm only a few minutes' walk away (shops, restaurants, bars all very close). The hotel has a good restaurant with a back garden- but it is closed on Sundays night (when I was there...pity) I had lunch there on Monday instead. I didn't pay much and i only stayed there for one short night so it was good value for money. For smokers: i think they have a sigar bar. I dont smoke so I didn't go in there, but if you're into that, it may be interesting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi did not work in our room in the 4 days we stayed at the hotel. Not a big problem for us, as we have access to data-roaming in Germany covered through our phone package, but would be a problem if this was not the case.

    Beautiful old world hotel in the center of Berlin. Staff were very firendly and helpful, also when we needed a number and adress of a doctor. Breakfast very nice and varied. Room comfortable, and nice view of quiet back yard and chestnut tree. Window in the bathroom and mini-fridge in the room a big plus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely great
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff, great atmosphere. Big rooms, slightly vintage and a bit worn. Just great. Been staying at this hotel over the last 20 years, always a great experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    1. You failed to pass on our request for quiet rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. You failed to pass on our request for quiet rooms. They did not get that information. They have plenty of quiet rooms but were fully booked. 2 Rooms rather 'tired' and a few items didn't work. 3. No air conditioning. 4. Didn't want to pay a basic 21 euros for bfst so we ate full bfst locally at less than half the price. 5. Overall, disappointing for a four-star hotel. Won;t use it again and probably won;t us you again, either !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Location, cleanliness, quietness, German quality
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit old building, thus the style, and was rather overpriced due to holidays. However, I would come again, we liked it.

    Really comfortable hotel at a heart of Berlin. Lots of good cafes and bars nearby. Easy access to shopping :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Wow of the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building inside, requires renovation!!!!

    If hotel was renovated it would have been amazing luxurious experience, there is just a hint sue to old hotel however you can imagine it was too of luxury 50 years ago or so.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Would stay elsewhere if returning to Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice of in room dining was not to my liking and very limited choices. The bed was too firm without pillow top and so didn't sleep very well. The fitness room was well below standard.

    Location was good for what I needed. The suite was a good size and it was quiet. The staff were helpful and could speak English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Cozy "old school" hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel bar is unfortunately a "smokers lounge", so not very attractive to anyone who does not share such habit. Even more a pity, as its cocktails seemed well prepared. The single room is really "single", as it come with a small bed. This is quite unusual for most hotels, but I guess it helps to drop the prices.

    Fancy-looking hotel, without being kitsch. Excellent position, very close to the main shopping area, but also located in the pretty and quiet Charlottenburg neighbourhood, 20 min away from Tegel Airport. Very clean rooms, excellent shower, free drinking water bottles.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    The location, the climate of the hotel as from the 70s, a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel blocks a definitely higher amount of money in your account than it appears from the booking.com offer. They explain it by the fact that it is just in case someone would run away. Unfortunately, after the settlement of the last day's stay, they do not return the surplus blocked on the account. It was only after my warning that the Hotel stated that it had not really unlocked the inflated value. At the moment I do not know if I will recover the money for which I have to wait a few days. Personally, he thinks that such action is too unlawful.

    The location, the climate of the hotel as from the 70s, a nice and obliging service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    room of good size .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lighting in room was poor . Room was very hot but no controls meant I had to open the window and it was minus temps outside.I did report it but there was no change .

    room of good size .great breakfast room/restaurant and good ,varied breakfast. Staff very helpful and polite. perfect location-5 minutes from Zoo station for trains and buses.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Cool as the bull dog picture in the lobby!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not enough power outlets for telephones and laptops..... I had one problem... I charged my phone on the bed side by using the power outlet of the the lamp. But these outlets are switched off together with the bedding lights. Therefore charging failed and I nearly missed my wake up call and started the day with zero battery life. It‘s a minor detail but something to watch

    The hotel is cool! I stayed there many times already, the breakfast is nice and served in the relaxed restaurant and the Havanna lounge bar is great at all times.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    Specious rooms but old style, very good staff , excellent location, would stay again in this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture and fabrics colors are very old style , not feeling relaxed in the room some how

    Great location and staff, very clean , good amenities, nice breakfast and good choices , specious rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.8
    Only if you like tobacco smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to their cigar bar, the entire hotel smells of cold tobacco. Before check out time, the room mate knocked and called a minimum of 3 times at my door

    I like the location of the hotel. It’s very central and there are nice bars/ Cafés around

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    Had a lovely time near some good restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed no tea or coffee making facilities and the heating/aircon didn't have controls in the room & we found the room too warm.

    Beds comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.4
    Staff were the best part of our stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mentioned above. The smell of smoke on the 4th floor was probably the worst bit and the rocking single beds when we asked for a double being a couple. Oh! And the pillows were long and very uncomfortable. If you want a cheap getaway and don’t plan on staying in too much then stay here.

    The staff were VERY friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Great location, wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing I can think of, is that a bigger fridge in the room would be nice. But almost every hotel I ever stayed at has had a very small fridge, so all in all nothing to complain of. Everything was great, we will be back!

    beautiful hotel. Centrally located off BarnHoff Zoo. Right in the center of Berlin Charlottenburg. Very friendly and accomodating staff! The room (superior) was lovely, big, and the beds comfortable. The Bathroom was huge - with at window! So nice! Loved that there was a mini-fridge in the room. Room and hotel very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.8
    The staff were excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a nasty smell coming form the kitchen that was extremely strong in lobby but was also noticeable in the rooms. Guess the vent system was not working properly.

    The staff were excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Looking forward to a future visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A king or queen bed will be a great improvement instead of two twin beds put together.

    The staff are outstanding. Breakfast is excellent. The atmosphere of the hotel is very nice. The sunrise from the front window is beautiful. Easy access to everywhere with an effective close public transportation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms definitely need renovation. Everything was still in fair condition, but really ancient.

    Breakfast is awesome! Variety of food stayed the same for all time, but there was plenty of choices.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Very kind staff, comfortable room and very good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only small disadvantage may be if you are in the first or second floor, precisely on the smoking área, because in the halls you can smell the smoke a lot.

    Very kind staff, comfortable room and very good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    4.6
    Great location, shabby hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuffy dated rooms. The room was so hot I asked for a new one. “We’re fully booked “ said the staff. After telling them I’d have to move out a room “suddenly” became available. Sort out your staff and update your hotel!

    Location was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Another excellent stay with superb customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    This is the second time this year that my husband and I have stayed and once again the customer service is excellent and the location is brilliant very close to the market and various other facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Return stay at this hotel. Find it very pleasant. Very cozy bar, excellent breakfast near to the very efficient public transport. Nice restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    We had a very enjoyable time in Berlin and would definitely recommend the Savoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were no in room tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfast was expensive (£21 euros pp).

    Great central location. Close to train station so easy to reach from airport and lots of places to eat nearby. Very comfortable beds and a spacious bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    Not worth, useless wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to change twice the room: I had just a single bed although I booked a double bed + Awful trace in the toilet (!) + USELESS WIFI, although I specified by booking I need a good wifi to work. The price for the breakfast.

    The 2nd night was ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    A historic hotel that offers a truly memorable stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some people report that the hotel is a bit tired and that is certainly true.

    But unlike other places that really are just tired, refurbished last in the 90s, this hotel really exudes the charm of another era. Of a real grand hotel. With original rooms and attentive staff, with period windows and necessary amenities. Not to mention the culinary and olfactory pleasures on offer in house. This place is and always will be a "Geheimtipp" among those with taste and style.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    I would recommend this hotel to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Bed was not of a good standard, the mattress would need to be replaced. For me this one small change would have made it one of the best hotels I have stayed at, but as it stands right up there with the best. Excellent location for site seeing and close to excellent restaurants and bars. Short walk from transport hub to make it easy to see Berlin if you are on short stay.

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    I have stayed in this hotel many times in the last 20 years.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed in this hotel many times in the last 20 years. I love its elegance, its style, the art hanging on the wall, the size of the rooms. It represents "the good old times

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    City hotel: Going back in time. Room with carpet and furniture from the 70`s/ 80`s.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Gym facilities outdated, old and not worth to call it a Gym. Matrasses too soft hence not comfortable Close to Bahnhof Zoo which is an area to avoid.

    Good location, close walk to Kudamm, subway and Tiergarten. Big bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    A very relaxed and quiet place to stay which helped a lot in making for a memorable first visit to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good all round. Excellent breakfast well presented. Cigar bar too overwhelming and a nicer more relaxing bar would have been better perhaps. Suite was large enough but a little dated albeit spotless and well serviced. We also used and enjoyed the sauna/spa which was very clean and quiet and excellent after a long days walking. Staff very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    A good place to stay whilst visiting Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Price of breakfast so we skipped it!

    Although not a modern property it is a great place to stay, very comfortable (we had a huge suite) with everything you need and a very comfortable bed. Good public transport within a short walking distance. Secure garage for our car close by and reasonably priced, as was the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No possibility to make tea in the room, only coffee. Disappointed about that.

    Room was very comfortable and spacious. I would prefer a separate toilet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Location, drinks and smoking lounge next to reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount of money they take from your bank account and hold while they check for extra costs! Works out more then the price of the rooms! Factor this in when booking this hotel!

    Location, drinks and smoking lounge next to reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    The best service and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The best service and breakfast. The service from staff is very professional and friendly. The place was so great, it made my daughter was sad to leave. And she told me that we should go back to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    I was slightly disappointed. I was expecting more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-fi was basically not available in our room, also using the sauna outside of regular hours is not possible (even though they 'advertise' it), the furniture is way to worn off for a 4* hotel - but then again, might be only the room we were staying at.

    Very impressive entrance area, easy accessibility with public transportation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good value stay in a prime Berlin location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all, really. They should be careful not to let it get shabby.

    Very comfortable rooms. Very obliging staff, who happily agreed to hold our luggage well past checkout whole we explored the locality and met friends for lunch. Good location. And a cigar bar for cigar lovers! (I am an ex-smoker but still approve.)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were very helpful. My wife, who happens to be pregnant, received everything her heart desired for a comfortable night's sleep. However, even though we didn't really need it, there is no AC in the room.s

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Well worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had two separate mattress and duvets, for a couples bed this is not good.

    The four poster bed in the room and the helpfulness of the staff. The smoking lounge with humidor was very nice also.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Great little Grand Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This is a small "Grand Hotel" in the sense that they preserved old time charm - which could be described as "dated". Make no mistake: if you value an environment like the Savoy's, you'll be happy you picked this hotel. We will be back, for sure. Thank you, Savoy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    An age of elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite warm with no air conditioning, but it was very hot in Berlin at the time.

    We liked the elegance of its design. Easy flowing staircase, and urbane air of a long city tradition. Not a smoker but I liked seeing the cigar area and the breakfast choice was fantastic with attentive staff. Loved the view from our room especially the Beckhof sail. Well laid out room design minimising noise external to the room. Lovely shower room and toilet facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be little noisy from the street on the evening but not more than in other city center hotels. No AC in the room, but insulation is good, but I don't know how it is with very high temperatures.

    Clean, location, staff, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.7
    Avoid during summer months (no air con for most rooms)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is dated and despite being rated 4 stars does not have air conditioning for the majority of the rooms. We were lucky that they were able to move us to a quieter room after the first night, away from the train station and cooler (sun not shining on the windows and windows can be kept open without train noise) on the courtyard side of the hotel. I would not use this hotel again during the summer months.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.3
    80's time warp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired and worn furniture in room and reception area, quite literally threadbare in places. Chipped, aged paintwork. No air conditioning and terrible secondary glazed windows. Poor quality complimentary toiletries. Adjacent 'cigar bar' allowed smell through reception into hotel. Excessive bar prices, €8.50 for a 1litre bottle of water is ridiculous.

    Fabulous staff, from reception to cleaners.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location - about 20 min from Tegal airport (18 euros)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like there to be 2 pillows in the room and 2 BIG towels (there's 1 large and 1 hand towel) they say 'just call 'housekeeping' but when you arrive at midnight you just want to shower and go to sleep, not wait, and not have a bathrobe to answer the door in either, because housekeeping has that too!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.0
    The location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smokers lounge. We were not able to use this at all. Smell permeated the hotel. Non smoking room. It has odor in hallways

    The location and staff. Simple breakfast available Ala carte. Good coffee. Sweet garden

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location, fantastic cigar list!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some elements in the room looked old & dated

    The room was very comfortable but a strange shape with the wardrobe unit forming a pillar in the middle. It was strange going into a bar that allowed smoking but with a cigar menu longer than most wine lists it was worth visiting!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    It was surprisingly quiet at night given the central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room could have done with some better/brighter lighting - it was a bit too dark to read in the 'living' part of the room.

    It was surprisingly quiet at night given the central location of the hotel. Close to some major shopping districts and public transportation hub, very good breakfast buffet, clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    A fantastic time in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was slightly chilly during the day but warm enough in the evening. The room did not have a double bed which was disappointing it was 2 twin beds together, but the maid came and put a sheet around both of them which was great as it prevented them for splitting in the middle.

    My husband and I have just returned from Savoy Berlin. This hotel is brilliant, the staff are exceptionally pleasant, helpful and they have great customer service. Our room was clean and big although could do with an upgrade on the decor. The staff at this hotel can not do enough for you. I would recommend this hotel and my husband and I are already looking to go back again. The hotel was very central for us and very easy to get around, the local buses are great for travelling and not expensive. The sauna is brilliant and if you want to use it earlier you only have to inform the reception desk 30mins before hand. We had a great stay at the Savoy and would most definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Very nice for a week-end in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room temperature was too high the first day, and window open the other days with less than 10° outside

    Staff very friendly Good buffet breakfast Good location close to Kurfürstendamm and public transport with quick access to Tegel airport and Potsdam Calm room (4th floor, backyard side) Bonus : welcoming easter sweets (check in date was easter day)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly,, professional and helpful staff, surprisingly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly,, professional and helpful staff, surprisingly comfy and well-apointed single room (one of the few genuine singles still around) with garden view - throughly enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    A mixed bag .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the terrible smell of cigars/cigarettes which ran through the down stairs of the hotel from the bar . Very poor wi-fi in the room and if you went to public areas after 10 minutes you stunk of cigarettes. The rooms were clean but very tired , certainly not 4 star.

    staff excellent, breakfasts great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    A classic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and corridor interior really need an update now. Bathrooms have been renovated in most rooms, but nothing has been done to the dated interior. Fabric on the chairs in our room was breaking on the sides. Of course a hotel like Savoy with its history needs to preserve a historical style, but this can be done also after renovation. The current update must have been during the 90s, time to take this beautiful hotel back to its former glory!

    Savoy is a reliable and classical hotel option in Berlin, the staff is very professional and friendly. Location is as good as it gets.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful location and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is so incredibly charming! Especially a must for anyone who like historical hotels with that nice little touch! And the staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    Very good hotel in city center
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No English speaking channels on TV

    Location 10 minutes walk from Zoologischer Garten train station and bus stop directly from Tegel airport. Excellent staff at front desk and reservations (thank you Tina!). Our room on the 5th floor was spacious, clean and quiet, even though it faces the street (double windows). Comfortable beds and a very good breakfast with a variety of fresh fruit. A bottle of water in the room is a nice welcome gesture.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    Location in old Berlin,quiet street, excellent breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was worth the reasonable price.

    Location in old Berlin,quiet street, excellent breakfast buffet, good restaurants nearby, staff exceptional. Interesting history. Suite was roomy. Suspect some rooms small by US standards.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    The Hotel was just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel was just perfect the room was bit hot but everything else was amazing. the Employees were amazing and super helpful i really recommend this hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    5.8
    Too much noise from outside.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise from outside. Train, people talking. The clerks were not careful with the noise. They were always beating the doors in the morning

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.5
    Was a welcoming hotel and people were very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough pillows and those suplied were not comfortable. Also no tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    Was a welcoming hotel and people were very nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel, Great Location, Great Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were quite warm but simply kept a window open at night.

    Service and room was fantastic. Warm greeting at reception and throughout our stay. House keeping went the extra mile and folded clothes and even dropped us up water after a heavy night out! Great location beside the zoo U train station meant the hotel was always easy to find. Would highly recommend and would definitely return!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with patina!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows was a bit too small and the floor carpets should be changed into something in a solid colour - just red?! A bigger tv screen and sofas without frills, but in old style?

    I loved the faded glamour of this hotel. Please don't ruin the patina of this place with som minimalistic upgrade... It's a true gem. We'll be back! Even loved the quite intense smell of cigar in the hallway at night;)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel I would recomnend and stay there whenever will be going to Berlin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room need some renovation I was in room 114

    very friendly reception staff wonderful and helpful and location of hotel is quite good and breakfast was very good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    +++ unlimited free access to the Internet +++ 8 minutes from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are a smoker you will enjoy their special smoking and bar lounge. if you are a 100 % non smoker and very sensible for the smoke of cigars you might have slight problems in the reception desk area. In the rooms you smell nothing. For me ok even if I am a non smoker

    +++ unlimited free access to the Internet +++ 8 minutes from Bahnhof Zoo +++ 5 minutes to Kurfürstendamm +++ quiet as one way street +++ very friendly hotel staff +++ each day 1 bottle of Fachinger water for free +++ I would recommend to my best friends +++

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.2
    A true gem in the heart of Berlin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely ancient hotel in the very heart of Berlin - forget about Mitte, Prenzlauer Berg and other "trendy" areas of East Berlin - if you want to experience the city properly you have to stay in Charlottenburg. I love the old features, doors, lightswitches, I hope that the hotel will stay exactly like this for a very long time.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    8.8
    Overall a good experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not so big and comfortable. The duvet was small, the heat system was manual and the windows are very old.

    Breakfast was wonderful, with very very fresh and tasty fruit. There were also, slamon, beef, and so on. The hotel is very near to the center of Charlottenburg .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.9
    A great place to stay when visiting Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The double bed is really 2 singles pushed together and pillows were quite hollow. No tea/coffee making facilities

    Location was great, close to all transport links with a range of shops, bars and restaurants nearby. Staff were helpful and friendly. Super deluxe bedroom was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    6.7
    The staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is very overpriced for the standard of accommodation. The restaurant and bar looked very nice but again very expensive. The rooms were in need of refurbishment. I was looking forward to staying at the Savoy but once there very disappointed. Kettle in the room but no tea or coffee making facilities.

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.5
    Excellent value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows way too soft but got a second one when I asked for one. Non smoking rooms are located above the cigar bar and so they stink of smoke! Where's the logic!

    Location excellent. Great to have a fridge to put drinks into. Excellent shower.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel in a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    Everything about the Savoy Hotel was excellent. The room was well appointed particularly spacious compared to many more expensive hotels. We had a properly seperate toilet, meaning no silly little glass partitions. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful even when this idiot lost his room key! The buffet breakfast choice was varied and of superb quality and good value by Berlin standards. The atmospheric bar is a little gem and the lobby is a great seating area for a group get-together. Close by are any number of first rate restaurants with a varying price range. The Kaiser Wilhelm church is literally just round the corner and Ka De We is a 10 minute stroll. The underground is handily located and tour buses abound. For us the piece de resistance was the champagne reception on the hotel roof on New Year's Eve which turned Berlin's splendid fire works display into a magical experience. We will come again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.5
    A little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very overpriced for the standard of room and available facilities. The rooms looked very dated and badly in need of refurbishment

    The Staff were more than helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Great for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge/lobby area smells quite strongly of cigars. Because there is a door that goes through to a lounge where you can buy and smoke cigars, as a non smoker this wasn't particularly nice.

    Very polite staff - very helpful. We are English speakers and their English was very good. T

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Savoy Berlin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: