Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Leonardo Boutique Hotel Munich This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Amalienstrasse 25, Maxvorstadt, 80333 Munich, Germany

#278 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1722 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in a very convenient location to reach the center on foot. Around the hotel in Rehovot there are plenty of places to enjoy coffee shops and bakeries, you can reach the main avenue in Munich and the English Garden by walking about 10 minutes, the service was very amazing and generous and helpful, the parking is a little expensive but everything The hotel strongly recommends that the hotel's service is worth all the money paid

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Rooms are somewhat small, especially the bathroom. - Breakfast is nice, but the staff started to clean up and put everything away 20 minutes before it finished...

    - Hotel is in a nice location with a very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about the property. The staff was extremely kind, helpful and fun.

    The property was clean, comfortable and walking distance to pretty much everything we wanted to see. I would highly recommend this property to all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet access worked only with our smartphones. We had to work with our Mac books but it was impossible to get wifi access. The staff was clueless, even the tech guy they phoned. And they weren’t willing to help or solve the problem. Two days also the AC didn’t work. It was hot and sticky. Furthermore the rooms are more than small, the bathroom is extremely undersized. Don’t go there. You can find way better hotels in Munich.

    The location in the Maxvorstadt neighborhood is great. Very central, lots of restaurants and bars, very walkable. But the hotel itself was a disgrace: tiny rooms and the internet was catastrophic. The staff was lazy and clueless, they didn’t show any interest in solving the problem. Not worth the money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Over-charged outrageously. Arrogant and smug and not interested to help or accommodate guests with changes in travel plans. No option to reduce booking despite advance notice. Only a very token gesture to offer a free breakfast. The room was tiny and poor quality. Highly over-priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a bit of a moisture smell in the room. The window and the carpet looked old.

    The room was small but nice. People at the reception were nice and helpful. The location of the hotel is very convenient for somebody who is in Munich for tourism.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was uncomfortable as it was two very narrow singles pushed together to you tended to fall down the ever widening gap, tiny single duvet, tiny shower difficult to get into as the doors opened onto the washbasin and toilet and the showerhead holder was broken, wash basin has nowhere to put stuff except a toothbrush, internet was slow to stop, lift took forever to arrive

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was a bit on the expensive side but I suppose for location it may have been OK

    Staff were excellent breakfast good, room and bathroom a little tired. Internet excellent. Special mention for Bahr on the front desk who very helpful and always had a smile and happy disposition when ever we came in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to be renewated.All carpets are old and dirty and aspirator was so noisy working in the WC.No bellboy and you have to carry your luggages several stairs to reach the elevator which is so difficult particularly for older people and females!!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restrictive Wi-Fi not allowing connection through VPN without paying. Dark room and walls lack good soundproofing.

    Very friendly staff, comfortable beds, convenient location for a good price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were quite thin and you could definitely hear the TV next door... but at the end of the day, it did not stop me from having a good night's sleep. / A minibar would be nice to have in the room.

    The beds were very comfy, the neighborhood was really nice and chic. The room was clean and its size was adequate for 2 persons, even if not too spacey. Generally really good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a twin room and it was small with a very tiny bathroom, however, we have seen that there were bigger ones on the same floor.

    Great location and friendly staff, clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No conditioner. Walls quite thin but not too bad. Not much negative to say at all!

    Great hotel in a nice, quiet, local neighborhood, yey very close to the town Center and the English Gardens. Quite small rooms, but they have what you need. Clean rooms and good breakfast! Offer water and small snacks in reception all day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to sign up for free WiFi

    Great location. Good basic hotel with few facilities but then you get what you pay for so priced about right compared to other hotels in the same area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Event though the hotel was quite busy we only heard someones TV once through the wall. Other reviews said that the walls are a little thin. That might be true but this was no big deal for us and we had no problems with noise! And if you were sensitive to it the hotel provides you with oropax :D

    Super friendly and helpful staff! Big thank you to the whole team who made our stay that little bit more perfect :) The room has everything (and more) you need for a few days and is located perfectly for exploring munich. There are plenty of restaurants and cute little shops nearby. The Bus (100) that drives to Munich train station stops direclty in front of the hotel. The Underground station is only a few minutes away and within two stops you are in munich centre (Marienplatz). Museums and cute cafés (even a cat café in Türkenstrasse) are only a nice walk away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleaning staff were exceptionally loud from very early in the morning. They were pushing carts in and out of the lift and causing a lot of crashing. They were also speaking very loudly to each other. I booked a double bed but received twin beds. Normally I'd just push the beds together and not thing any more of it, but the wheels on these beds were so loose that the beds began to separate in the night, creating a gap to fall through.

    Reception staff were friendly and breakfast was excellent. Location is good, many great places to eat and drink in Maxvorstadt and the city centre is only a short walk away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major. In our travels we prefer a boutique hotel that has some character and that sometimes means smaller rooms and bathrooms. The rooms are clean and efficient with everything needed. WiFi worked well, bed was comfortable, breakfast good and lobby a great little gathering place. Worst thing was that I had to work while my wife enjoyed seeing and strolling Munich! 😉

    Excellent location with many good restaurants nearby and an easy walk to MarienPlatz and the Munich Central train station. The staff was excellent. Special kudos to Marcus who made our stay exceptional. Most nights we had a drink in the lobby and Marcus kept us informed and entertained. He truly cares about his customers and does everything possible to make their experience special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not as new as it looks on pictures. But for the price it is very fine

    It is well located and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I had to leave at 4h00 in the night and there was always someone at the reception to help me with Taxi booking checkout etc. Good place for short stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The roomservice wasn't that good, we ate inside the room and the utensils were left lying on the table for the whole stay, with nobody taking them away. Same thing with glasses. And the restroom was super tiny.

    Great location, just 10 min from city center. The hotel has a nice little bar area inside, with free snacks and water.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is construction on the street so parking was tricky. They offered paid access to a lot about one block away but its very narrow and the hotel's spots are several levels down.

    We love the location of this hotel and have come back many times.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing specific. The atmosphere is a little dark and some appliances would need a refresh.

    I like that is close to the English Garden, 10m walking to the Metro Stop "Odeon Platz" and 15m walking from Marienplatz. Staff super nice and in general a very welcoming place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dark and there isn’t enough light to work or read plus the public areas are a bit gloomy and dark

    Good location, breakfast and overall value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was tiny and the bathroom even smaller, you could barely turn around. My non-smoking room smelled horrible and the beds would definitely need new matresses. On top of that there were a couple of sudden power outages.

    Great breakfast and mostly friendly staff. The extras in the bathroom were a nice surprise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The darkness in the room, and its size - especially washing room, it reminds us about washing room in the train, same size

    You can find a kettle and tee, personal care things in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter and her partner were next door. They had a problem with the toilet as it didn’t work and had to change room. Room Cleaning staff came into room too early, 7am on day 7:50 other day. Reception said my fault for not putting “Do not disturb” on the door, either way 7am during Christmas holidays was far too early.

    The staff at reception, and especially Marcus, very friendly and funny

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and the bed were too tiny, the sink was in the room and not in the bathroom, but for couple of days that is fine.

    Great breakfast with an open buffet with fresh fruits and pastry.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility is old and dirty, it looks like no one really cared to clean the rooms. We had two rooms, one for me and my husband, another one for my daughter. On the top of the faucet in the bathroom and a shower holder were visible rust and furry. The elevator was not working, we had to pull our suitcases along the stairs up to the first floor. In the morning when I was a taking shower, two people from the staff unlocked my door and walked in. It is terrible inappropriate invasion of privacy.

    Only breakfast. .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem is bad soundproofing. Not all guests are calm, so sometimes the level of noise was uncomfortable.

    Excellent breakfasts, very helpful and nice staff. Also, superb location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Super friendly staff. This hotel is in a great location that is a short walk to Marienplatz and English Garden. Also, there are lots of great bakeries, bars and restaurants in the surrounding streets. My family was very pleased with our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space for wc was not good. It’s separate and unconvinient .After cleaning services the bathroom was not clean.

    The room was good and with all the amenities. It is in perfect area for museums and restaurants and bars

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The front desk staff were fantastic, we had a triple room which was nice and big. Plenty of room for 3 adults. Clean and comfortable, housekeeping were awesome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I love it.

    I️ love this hotel. This was my second time in Munich and I️ chose the same hotel because it is wonderful. Great staff, convenient location and beautiful community. For Americans, tight accommodations, but we’re in Europe baby!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for the breakfast is heavy, given the fact, that just a few steps away there are very good bakeries which sell coffee and even American style coffee shops. The recently modernised decoration maybe is a bit "over the top". Excellent, if you like red lights...

    I arrived late and the guy at the reception was really very friendly, helpful and had some sense of humour.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Overall the hotel was excellent. Although I requested a double I got 2 singles joined together but it actually allowed my wife and I to sleep better. The beds were extremely comfortable, the curtains blocked out the street lights and it was very quiet. I was impressed with complimentary products on offer, which included a razor and shaving gel which I've never seen at this level of accommodation before. Has a lovely little bar as well for coffees and drinks, the staff were very nice and helpful. There a large array of eating options within 10 minutes walk, marienplatz is only 15 minutes walk away and you are near odeonplatz for the red bus tours and also a bus stop right outside which will take you to the train station in 7 minutes (bus 100 and 150). The only minor criticism I have is the light switch was a bit dodgy i.e. not correctly fastened to the wall and turning it on didn't always turn then lights on. I did notify the staff but it was weekend so presumably it would have been addressed the following week. All it all a top place to stay. P.s. I cannot recommend the breakfast as I did not have it but the bakery directly opposite was awesome - well worth a visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small. There's an extra 6 euro fee for fast internet, although the free option was sufficient to stream netflix.

    Location: great location in the center, a few minutes' walk from the museums; short walk or quick drive from most attractions. Lots of restaurants right along the same street. Staff: very helpful, beyond the usual expectations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy both inside hotel and in the 24/7 busy street. No ventilation in bathroom (rather a cubicle put inside the room). No privacy in bathroom (just a thin translucent sliding glass door). Dull and dark interior design with worn down surfaces. No good value for money despite location.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was ok but I would feel better if it was a bit cheaper.

    Lovely staff especially Marcus :) Good location and nicely furnished rooms. Parking is 2 min walk from the hotel (indoors parking). Good breakfast. Reception is 24H and helpful. Overall very recommended but price was a bit on the upper level. It was due to hotels overbooking all over Munich because of exhibitions taking place at the time of stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms with old carpets, with pretty strong smell of cleaning reagents and i suppose smoke. For ones with allergy could be huge problem. Have had to sleep with completely opened windows. My room was old. Quite loud — windows faced on the street.

    Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room smelt stuffy even though I kept the windows open. No BBC or CNN reception. A bit noisy -- not that the other guests were rowdy, but other people's plumbing was very audible.

    Excellent location. Helpful staff. My room looked out onto Theresienstrasse, but the double windows kept the noise out very efficiently.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit small, no good space to work with a computer, no good space to place luggage. Price/performance on the low side.

    Pleasant neighbourhood close to the museums. Modern hotel with decent rooms. Staff was friendly and forthcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    very noisy light in the bath, and walls not thick you can hear a lot from nearby room, not talks but shower and tv or load voice for sure. Conditioning does not have heating, only cooling (otherwise it will run).

    In general its fine. Not big but comfy clean rooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Not far from the center, about 20 min by foot. But it is in the heart of evening life of Munich, there are lot of restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are too small. Can't turn around in it. Felt like using a bathroom on a plane. Rooms are also too small for 2 people.

    Very friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredibly rude. They had overbooked the hotel so our friends were sent to another one over 30min away. Rather than being apologetic they spoke among themselves how to get rid of us, unaware that I speak German. The room we then finally got had hair all over the bathroom and a broken aircon. They then 'forgot' to clean our room the next day, so when we got back after a day of sightseeing we didn't have clean towels or sheets. The facilities were basic, the shower had no pressure; the beds were two single beds on wheels so you couldn't make a double bed without it moving apart; the paint was chipping across the whole hotel and the air conditioning didn't work.

    I used to live in the area, so I like the location. Cheap restaurants and some local bars

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed during Octoberfest and the price was too high.

    Room in the back was quite spacious and quiet. Not spectacular but comfortable. The location was central. Room was clean. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the staff didn't know much about how to do things or where to go, but that's not a biggie. They were mostly very friendly.

    The location of this property is excellent. Easy access to the U-Bahn and close enough to the center of town for a 30 min walk or 6 min U-Bahn ride. The Maxvorstadt area reminded me a bit of the village in Manhattan with lots of places to eat, little bars and shops. We stayed in a 3 person room and it was perfectly fine for our needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathrooms lacked any privacy. Rooms were tiny with poor lighting (red light district eat your heart out) Cost was expensive.

    Hotel location was centralised an close to transport and the city centre. Hotel staff were wonderful and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like it at all except for breakfast

    The only thing we liked is breakfast, the rest of the accommodations where level 1 star, not 4 star. You shouldn't pay more than $50 dollars a day for accommodations such as these.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little unusual, not hideous, just different. Think 80s nightclub style.

    Great hotel, great location, friendly, efficient staff, would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some intrusive noise into the room (a periodic buzzing sound that sounded like someone was asking to come in, but seemed to be coming from above, and loud gurgling/flushing sounds from above).

    Bed was great, lovely location, and all the staff were very helpful, friendly, and respectful. Tasty breakfast as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms intrusive. I guess they know this as earplugs were provided

    Location worked well for us. Beds comfortable. Good bakery opposite for cheap breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room didn't really have a proper bathroom. There was a shower and a sink in the corridor and a separate wc in the room (which is not terrible for a single traveler but couldn't imagine staying there with someone). The room looked scruffy - it wasn't very clean - you could see that especially on the walls and windows. The quality of the finishing of the room resembled more a student dorm than a 3*hotel which is a pity especially that the room was made daily. Renovating it properly (and making a decent bathroom) would definitely change guests' impression.

    The bed was very comfortable. There was working air-conditioning in the room. The breakfast was nice and fresh. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Does not feel like 4 stars.

    Location is super great. Right in the heart of Schwabing. Staff is difficult to rate. You'll meet excellent, friendly, kindly caring staff - and next shift, you feel pretty much ignored.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bathroom, I.e. 3 feet wide by 6 feet long. Air conditioning was turned off after two nights. The dark brown wall was oppressive with the room being approx. 7 feet wide except for where the bed was.

    The location is excellent being close to the museum quarter, Odeonplatz and Marienplatz.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    1. Rooms are way too small. 2. Mostly thinly partitioned, making privacy and peace of mind very difficult. 3. The housekeepers are extremely noisy when cleaning in the morning, which disturbs a lot when one is sleeping till late while on vacation. 4. No fridge in the rooms. 5. Only two channels in English, this poorly accommodates International guests.

    They provided an ironing board with an iron. Complimentary refreshments and toiletry.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    the see-through bathroom door would be uncomfortable for a lot of people sharing a room

    very friendly staff. maids did a great job. room was quiet on the 1st floor. perfect location for LMU. lots of extras in the room. staff made my husband an espresso when we left for the airport, which was very nice. air conditioning works great. very modern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not like your rate you overcharge me I feel rip off. I showed up 1 day early and reserve direct to hotel for 99 euro but for next day your reservation cost me 163 euro for same room. This is shame and I need my money back.

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could only check in at 5 pm. We stayed in room 208 which was really terrible: blood stains on the linen, water problems in the shower but the worst of all was the putrid odor in this particular room. Luckily we got another room the next night (209) which was fine.

    excellent location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our first impression was affected by the unhelpful staff person who worked the evening / night shift. She was not exactly welcoming after our long day of travels and treated us like our arrival was an inconvenience. We also found the hotel bathroom incredibly small and awkward. The interior colors in the hallways are dark and dingy and it was very noisy in our room by the stairway / elevator (not soundproof doors). They provide earplugs in the rooms - which tells you something about the noise. I loved the location and would try to find something similar next time - but I wouldn't book this hotel again.

    The location was fantastic and made it worth it for us. We could easily walk through central Munich and also through the English Gardens. The English Gardens were a highlight - walking the trails, swimming in the river, and sitting in the park. We loved the cafes and restaurants close by the hotel (the area is quite international - great Indian food restaurant nearby!!!) We enjoyed Munich very much. As well, the gentleman who worked the day shift was very friendly and helpful to us and made up for the "curt" woman who worked the evening shift.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had, #604. It is very small, which was accentuated because it has a sloped (mansard) very low roof with large beam cutting the room in half. This made it uncomfortable for moving around, and getting in and out of bed, without hitting your head. Low/unreliable water pressure for shower as well (top floor room). Air con blows directly on the bed. No fridge. They were unable to relodge us in another room (the one offered was even smaller on first floor). As a result, we will not stay there again, but will choose other hotels (ones we have tried before) in same price range.

    Beds were comfortable. Rooms are equipped with hair dryer and the usual products. We did not try breakfast so I can't comment, as we prefer the many coffee shops in the nearby streets. Lively university neighborhood and easy walking distance to museum district and tram to city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a three night stay in a top floor room. Just under the roof... mansard... so the room was not only small but also half of the space was beneath a large roof beam. For my 6' tall husband it was a hasard, and even for me (5'5) it felt claustrophobic. Small bathroom; water pressure was not great on this floor, and for two showers it was just a trickle. The location is good so we were very disappointed. Maybe other rooms are better. Dont accept room 604 unless you are really short.

    Bed was comfortable but under a steeply inclined ceiling. So bumped our heads getting out of bed!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no voice at all, as other guests explained. may be as we stayed not at weekend.

    nice design hotel, near to Odeonsplatz and Maximilian... Good location. Room comfortable, looking not outside to the street, which was good. Clean. opportunity to park in the hotel - if parkplace is free - only 5/6 parking places.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was with glass door in the bath room. Since we were with 4 year kid (girl) it was quite inconvenient.

    Extremely nice staff, very fashion interior of the hotel. The location is excellent!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Suggest the introduction of a 'green regime' for towels (so they aren't washed every single day). Phones were partly not working internally - but who needs that really - they did work with reception.

    Smart design, good value, friendly I stayed at the Leonardo Boutique Hotel during a conference at LMU. The hotel is compact and very smartly designed, the breakfast is luxurious and delicious, staff very helpful and friendly. My room was suprisingly quiet, given the central location and generously supplied with toiletries, sewing equiment, etc. The matress was excellent. Staff are very generous with samll thiings, too. They printed about 12 pages of my presentation free of charge and one night, I was even offered a free glass of wine. There are lots of restaurants in the same street, so eating out is easy, and there are an organic shop and a supermarket around the corner for most other needs one might have while travelling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very basic, and for a double room much too small. It was located (under or rather) in the attic of the house - and if I would have been 1 cm taller, I would have bumped into a kind of beam in the room's ceiling.

    The staff was excellent, extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are good and modern, but bathrooms are very tiny.

    Great location. Close to city center and Englisher Garten. Great service, smiling and going the extra mile.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unstable wi-fi connection; tiny bathroom in standard room, no minibar or fridge to store fruit or cheese or bier bottles.

    Good location - 10 min walk from English Garden and 20 min walk from Marienplatz. Great area - young people from Munich Uni, lots of cafes, bookstores, bier bars.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were only able to open one window in the room so...that is the thing I would change. Everything else was great!

    Hotel is at excellent location, one of the best in Munich and all major places can be reached in a few minutes on foot. Breakfast is wonderful and there is everything to eat, cereals, hot meals, salads,cheese, fruits, sweets... and SALMON :) Coffee is great! We had triple room which was in the other part of the hotel, but only a few steps away. It was big and had all essentials. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will stay there again for sure. Now they have air condition and we had no problems with WiFi, everything worked perfectly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door while pretty neither conceals well nor moves easily.

    This place is a gem: it's beautifully situated, elegant, and the sevice is fantastic. I felt welcomed and cared for, and I would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Perfect. 100% excellent. If the hotel had more space I would love a small gym just to do a quick 8-10km run before breakfast.I wonder would the hotel consider inserting a small gym with one or two treadmills?

    Everything.I thought it was an excellent hotel in every way.Faultless.Next time I am in Munich I will stay there again and I would very highly recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I came to visit friends in Munich so I did not spend a lot of time at the Hotel. If I have any recommendations it would only be 1. An clothes iron/board in the room would have been helpful to freshen my shirts after the long haul from San Francisco. 2. Refrigerator in the room took away from ambiance of room with its 'Red Bull' logo's and though I do support reuse/re-purpose strategies, maybe it should have been tucked away somewhere so as to not be decor focal point ???

    I booked the Junior Suite and was pleased to find a rather large room on the top floor with a Queen Bed, Couch/coffee table sitting area and a smaller bedroom area. Much bigger then I expected, the room was clean and linens/bath towels changed daily. Like most Boutique Hotels this one had a modern theme with custom lighting and decor throughout ( I love the Mid-Century Modern aesthetic they adopted!). Though an older building with the typical European sizing (small) of stairs and elevator, the property has been renovated and all elements worked, were clean and well maintained. Breakfast fruit was fresh and included a varied selection of hot and cold offerings but with all the cafe's in the area after the first morning I frequented the off-property options. So close to the Museums and other central city attractions I walked to most destinations and when I did take a Taxi the stand was just outside on the corner and very convenient. Many restaurants, cafes, and shops in area around hotel. Good value for the money and friendly, helpful staff made my short stay in Munich a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price of the hotel I expected more of a 'boutique' feel. The pictures are very flattering and are not completely accurate. The bar was very small and it is at reception with only four chairs. However I would stay here again due to convenience and the level of hospitality the staff present.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the décor was hip, it did not lend itself to utility. Very limited space for things in the bathroom, but that may just be an American speaking :).

    One night my daughter and I had drinks in the lobby and were completely entertained, as well as educated, by Marcel. He was such a pleasure to get to spend time with. If I ever get back to Munich, I will certainly stay there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff is not very nice, they're a bit odd and not as helpful as one would expect. Rooms are extremely small and lack some maintenance

    Bed is good, rooms are warm, perfectly located

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could be improved with more hanging space, and a full length mirror in a well lit part of the room. Free parking would be nice.

    I love the central location, friendly staff and proximity to bakeries and restaurants. Our room was very comfortable for sleeping our whole family.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite noisy outside during the night and in the morning. Especially during the weekend. There is a university nearby and there are people talking and laughing outside on the street.

    The location is pretty nice. About 5-8 minutes walk to the nearest metro station and 20-25 minutes to marienplatz, the center of center. The room is quite big and the staff are nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Leonardo Boutique Hotel Munich traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: