Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of REGIOHOTEL Schanzenhaus Wernigerode 3 stars

Zwölfmorgental 30, 38855 Wernigerode, Germany

Review score

Based on 1276 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Theme room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it hard to communicate as we did not speak german and only 1 waiter spoke english also the menu was in german only

    The location was great and the buffet breakfast was excellent also the staff were very helpful and friendly and the service was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi in the room seems a bit slow, and the passwords in the manual are for the wifi in the restaurant which are way too long to remember.

    Delicate breakfast with warm services, and lots of choice for dinner. The hotel is outside of the town but has a large parking lot. In general an excellent choice for couples and families.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Theme room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for your money! The staff was very welcoming and the free use of the Wellness facilities was an extra perk! Absolutely delicious breakfast was an added bonus - fully recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No reception in evenings. Restaurant closes at 8pm but this is a frequent problem in Germany. Very poor selection of TV channels and only 3 radio stations not worth listening to. (even budget hotels can have 100s of TV and radio stations). Kettle in room but no tea, sugar or sweeteners to go with it. No coffee allowed in room which I find patronising.

    clean, comfortable hotel and well away from traffic ( at the end of the road). Excellent breakfast with a very good range to choose from including good coffee and real honeycomb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a rental car (Ford) and the GPS was always sending us into a one way road. So the hotel was a bit hard to find.

    The staff in the hotel is very friendly the breakfast was very good ( compared to the size of the hotel), you are a bit off side the city, but you will have a awesome view to the castle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's was pity the place did not accept early check-in for me as Genius-traveller.

    It's super quite place not too close to city center, but it's nice walking distance. Next to jumping ski resort. I appreciate my request about interior was respected. Breakfast and restaurant decoration for Christmas were just excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was very small & very dark - view from the window was a hillside. The room has obviously not been in use for a while, so there has been some problems with bigger insects (we got surprised by a very big spider). In a dark room like that, clear lamps & direct light are useful - was unfortunately not enough.

    breakfast: Sparkling wine for breakfast, coffee to the table, the honey room: the bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did eat in the restaurant one night and the menu was very limited. Breakfast was ok, perhaps missing a toaster and a bit more variety, but ok.

    The hotel is great, located next to a practise ski sloop which you can walk up and admire the views. Staff are great, good English and happy to help. Room was very clean and tidy, as you would expect in Germany of course.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Theme room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi limited to 15 mins although staff deny this. Only one bed made up on arrival, and then bedding did not match. No soap nor glasses at wash basin. Hotel basic for the money charged.

    Room had a walk in shower which we require

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Theme room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work. Staff was unable to fix it. Should have been an easy fix like a reset but she was nit capable of taking care of it.

    Extraordinay breakfast. Nice rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Theme room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plants and flowers on the balcony were dying, not watered properly. Plants and flowers will always make a hotel more appealing. We will not book half board next time. Salad was not very fresh. The main course , fish with spinach was not hot, luke warm. Dessert was ok.

    The breakfast choice was very good. Fresh honey being offered, great. We could see the tame healthy deers from our room. Super. Room is very clean, quiet and comfortable. The surrounding is peaceful and green. We enjoyed our stay and will reurn again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Theme room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no decent blinds on the windows in the room, what causes an early wake up because of the light. It was not necessary during our stay, but there was no airconditioning.

    Very nice hotel. Enough parking in front of the hotel. The staff was friendly, but not all of them speak English very well. We booked a standard room with a theme and it exceeded our expectations. It seemed to be recently renovated. Very beautiful, clean and spacious, for a very small price. The windows in the room can be opened. Breakfast was sufficient, the food in the restaurant was good. The hotel is situated in a beautiful, quiet environment and fairly close to the city centre. Because I became sick, we wanted to leave a day early. This was no problem, and we only had to pay for the previous night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A place to relax

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    would have liked English translated menu as our German is not so good

    food fantastic staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renting e-bikes to go to der the castel. Furthermore the kitchen made us a cheese and ham/salami plank to eat at our room on our late arrival.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows

    Good selection and quality of food at breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea in the room.

    Pleasant hotel, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room and no English tv channels

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good restaurant to have a dinner with wide choise. Excelent breakfest. Close to city center.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Couple

    Everything just perfect. Have a sauna before to go to bed. Very neat and well arranged room. Very good breakfast in a calm atmosphere of a light music and a view of Wernigerode castle. Many thanks to hotel management for good understanding and arrangement of essentials for a pleasant stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was helpful, the rental e-bikes, the castle view from our room, staying in a loft, the breakfast, dinner, cleanliness, the silence and the peace, the skiing area next to the hotel, the trail path is good for sporty people, the lemon water at the reception

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Couple

    The TV did not work correctly and even when I said that, nothing was done. We could hear the snoring of someone next door all night and found it difficult to sleep. The early morning building work was disturbing. The drilling into the wall or ceiling of the shower was a sudden shock. The car parking was not easy.

    The breakfast was good. The bed was okay.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately no shampoo is provided for guests and our soap dispenser over the handbasin did not get refilled although we mentioned this to staff. No tea/ coffee in room.

    A quiet location an easy walk to town centre. The breakfast and restaurant meal were excellent- we enjoyed the healthy options and good coffee.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wernigerode's one way system - obviously not the Hotel's fault!

    Breakfast!!! TV and Kettle in room (they had herbal teas, but we always take our own), always hot water for shower. Gummy Bears on pillows - yum! Value for money in beautiful Wernigerode and free buses paid for with tourist tax.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom had a lot of mold in and around the shower. The staff in the evening made no attempt to try and understand English once she noticed that one member of our party knew German. The advertised happy hour applied to the entire menu of cocktails: a whopping 4 or 5 longdrinks.

    breakfast buffet was really nice!!!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - the carpets were dirty - lack of friendly atmosphere - the beds not comfortable

    We had a terrific view on the castle but we had to pay extra for this room, the booked room had a "view" according to booking.com hotel-page, in reality is was a green slope of a hill at 10 m from the window!

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    On arrival we were told one room was not ready due to arrival of choir participants. On questioning we were told that all 3 rooms were not ready. It appeared that the receptionist was not fully aware of the facts. Would have preferred that our rooms were ready at 15.15hrs and the school children waited a bit. Also - Need a car to get around as hotel is away from public transport

    Facilities were good. Food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedroom carpet needed a good clean and I found the mattress strange as it wasn't sprung - that's a personal comment

    The quietness of the location and lack of light pollution

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car park slightly small and was full when we arrived, but the Receptionist allowed us to park in front of the hotel until such time as a slot became free! As we are travelling in a 43 year old open topped classic sports car, this was much appreciated!

    Location, view, friendliness of staff, food, wine, fantastic room, reasonable price, ease of booking on Internet, everything!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a little out of the town and up a steady incline, so we had to either drive into town or get a taxi.

    The room was small but we had a lovely view of the castle from the balcony. The service from staff was fantastic. My husband is disabled and the staff did everything possible to make our stay as easy as possible. The restaurant was great

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    rather difficult to find this hotel in spite using GPS aprox. 1,5 km from the town centre it was difficult to open a room's door one of the bulbs in the bathroom was went and nobody changed it during my stay

    nice view from the room (hills, a fragment of the castle) very good WiFi signal very good breakfasts (varied)

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THE RECEPTION STAFF COULD HARDLY SPEAK ANY ENGLISH, AND KNEW VERY LITTLE ABOUT THE TOWN AND AREA. THEY COULD NOT EVEN SHOW ME ON A MAP THE LOCATION OF THE HOTEL THEY WORKED IN. PATHETIC. THE VIEW FROM THE BEDROOM WAS OF A HILL 10 FOOT AWAY

    FOOD WAS OKAY

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi was very poor in our room. Location is away from the centre of town, so not walking distance to shops.

    Breakfast buffet was great. Two room family room perfect for family of five.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Bed linen was not changed for almost a week. The room had a door to the near room. The door was closed, but we still heared some sounds from neighbours and filled uncomfortable.

    Very nice view of the castle and valley. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Muzak.

    Excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location with great views of the surrounding countryside.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walk back from city center "up hill".

    Everything but walk back from city center "up hill",

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi range is limited and does not extend to farthest rooms ..

    Nice food at breakfast and in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet andcomfo

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    a little lacking in charm though

    all facilities and efficient

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking not good organizrd!

    Location and view from our balcony room

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's very nice hotel. The room was clean. Also we had a tasty breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was all good.

    Friendly staff, nice clean hotel.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse REGIOHOTEL Schanzenhaus Wernigerode traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: