Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schiffer

Königsallee 28B, 37081 Göttingen, Germany

#15 of 24 hotels in Göttingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 310 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.1
    I recommend the hotel for persons who need to be near the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If someone is too sensitive to noise, sometimes the neighbors may be disturbing because the isolation between walls is not very good.

    The room was clean, big and the hotel is not far from the central station and from the city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    OK but not a first choice for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No iron or safe. Thin towels, no showercap, shower slippy. Lighting very dim Breakfast was mainly prepacked supermarket items e.g. carton of UHT milk, pots of fruit. The only cereal choice was like a muesli but full of sugar puffs and sweet stuff. Located at least 15 minutes walk from any eating places.

    Room size was good, and seemed clean. Person on reception (potentially owner?) very helpful Good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    mom and pop place fit for vacationers but not for a business traveler
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Internet did not work for me, which was quite annoying because I could not do any work that I needed to do while on a business trip.

    The place was very clean, I liked that. And, it was comfortable if one is on vacation.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Reliable point for minimalists
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is a bare minimum for a stay - really just to sleep.

    Staff - nice and helpful. Good price. All you need to spend the night and carry your business trip on.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    Definite recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed in a self contained apartment with own kitchenette. Mini bar drinks were topped up each day at only 1 euro, coke, fruit juice, beer, peanuts. Cleaned room each day and made bed, changed towels. Could not fault anything. 10 mins from station and 20-30 mins walk into City Centre. Quiet road, slept like a log in very comfy beds. The owner did speak a little English, we managed to communicate with no problems. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Close to station, friendly host
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to station, friendly host

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Basic and you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea in room only coffee and I am not a coffee drinker

    For close proximity to where i needed to be but not good for central Hamburg

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    The spacious room siz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spacious room siz

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, in walking distance to station and town,...
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent hotel, in walking distance to station and town, spacious room, comfy bed, nice breakfast and free parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    The manager was very friendly and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The manager was very friendly and warm. The hotel's location is also good, just at the end of the centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    WiFi was extremely poor or didn't work at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly.

    WiFi was extremely poor or didn't work at all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended. Great value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The woman who runs the hotel is very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Everything was superb. It is a 15 minute walk from the train station in a quiet residential area. Be prepared!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like everything.

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    Just wonderful!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have very comfortable stay in this hotel, staff was very friendly!!! Thanks!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.2
    Very pleasant family run hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly hosts (the owners), spacious comfortable rooms, quiet location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    Very good personal service in every way.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very good personal service in every way. I would absolutely bring my family!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    5.4
    The staff was very friendly on entrance.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi (Vodafone hotspot) only seems to give half an hour of service before it becomes a pay service -- bring your USB modem! It's not close to the city center, and it requires a somewhat indirect walking route. There are no bakeries or cafes immediately around it, so if you arrive late, you might want to order a pizza or something, and either you choose their 8EUR breakfast or you walk hungry to the city centre and find a bakery (I did the latter as I am only willing to spend 3-4EUR on breakfast). When I left my hotel room a little late, the cleaning lady knocked. I told her I'd only be a minute out so she could clean, and kept my promise. I came back to a room not cleaned. The next day, when I left early, they cleaned it. However, this is not very professional -- and their cleaning service is in any case too early. The single beds are extremely narrow, not very comfortable. There is no elevator, you have to haul the luggage up the narrow stairs. I would say it's not terribly great value for money, but if you're there with a car or on business, and you booked late so nothing affordable was left in the city center, it might be acceptable.

    The staff was very friendly on entrance. They don't speak English, but I speak German. the room was clean. It's 10 minutes walk from the central station, and the area is quiet. It's across from a microscope factory of some sort, which is kind of cool, I guess. The nonalcoholic drinks and snacks are only 1EUR, cheaper than usual minibar service. It's relatively easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    7.5
    A decent hotel, run by a family of ethnic German emigrants...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Internet connection is weird: one has to re-connect every 30 minutes. The owners explained that this is done on purpose, to prevent malicious downloads.

    A decent hotel, run by a family of ethnic German emigrants from the former USSR. Good for a business trip, but nothing fancy. Helpful stuff, comfortable rooms, very good breakfast. Not in the center, but not too far: about 20 minutes on foot or a few bus stops.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    The hotel is spotless, beds are comfortable, great value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is spotless, beds are comfortable, great value for money. Easy twenty minute walk to central Gottingen, also ten minutes to the train station in the same direction.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    7.5
    The hotel is familiar and is run by a very friendly woman.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's somewhat far from the city centre but Göttingen is not a big village. Furthermore there are buses with different time schedules.

    The hotel is familiar and is run by a very friendly woman. The first day I had to go to a department of the University and she explained me where it was and how to get there. Nice chance to practice my German knowledge.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    7.5
    Nice clean bathroom and good sized room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi is dreadful and so I cannot recommend this hotel to business users.

    Nice clean bathroom and good sized room.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.2
    Warm, clean, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm, clean, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.8
    Very kind owner and staff, 15-20 minutes walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very kind owner and staff, 15-20 minutes walk from the downtown, nice breakfast, pet friendly, car parking.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    10
    Very friendly, extremely helpful manager at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly, extremely helpful manager at the front desk.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.1
    It was satisfactory
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet far away

    It was satisfactory

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: