Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schiller 5 Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schillerstrasse 5, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Germany

#30 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 891 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Good choice and great value for money !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbourhood crowd ....still was safe ... but location was excellent just a short walk to the main central station

    Clean comfortable rooms very functional with a great complimentary In room bar and kitchenette facilities and the air conditioning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    if I’m asked to summerize the review:it will be my choice whenever I come to Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a bit small rooms, parkings available for a cost,

    Good location , best staff ever you can meet ( friendly staff ), love the atmosphere of the hotel , secure place, good breakfast, They provide a free minibar , free happy hours ( for the drinks in the loppy )

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    A terrific boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow I love this place! From the nice welcome on arrival - the lady on reception pre-empted all possible questions on sightseeing and hotel facilities before I could ask, wonderful - to the ingenious parking, a lift takes your car to their compact basement parking area, for a daily charge. They offer a daily happy hour from 5-8pm with house wine, with non alcohol beverages available on request too, a nice inviting touch. The minibar in the room contains five complimentary beverages (alcoholic and soft drinks) with refilling chargeable, again a nice gesture for the thirsty traveller. The rooms are stylish, comfortable, spotlessly clean and spacious - mine had a kitchenette with all the utensils you may require. Also loved the blue towels in the bathroom. Breakfast was vast and delicious, with the largest cappuccino I've ever had! The owner also dined with guests, circulating and chatting, with his main concern being that we were all happy at his hotel - how often does that happen? A lovely hotel, albeit on a busy street in the heart of Munich, but outside noise is minimal. Within walking distance to the main train station and around the corner from the Big Bus stop (well worth taking also). Very highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area near the main train station but it is not a problem because it is so close Marienplatz, very convenient

    Great hotel, great staff, very clean. I recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    Very very bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good clean hotel ,BUT strip club just next door, bars & night clubs surround. Lots of gangster surround. Definitely not good for family. We cancelled from 3 nights to 2 nights. Moving another hotel. Parking space are limited, also park underground wih automatic system. Not good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    It was very close to the Hauptbahnhof so easy to get to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked two rooms. One for us for 4 nights and one for friends for 1 night. The friends room was bigger and had a kitchenette and a shower cubicle instead of a shower over a bath, both of which would have been great for our longer stay. We paid the same price per night.

    It was very close to the Hauptbahnhof so easy to get to. It was also very quiet as it is tuck down the back off the street. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent and the owner was very cute how he talks to everyone at breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    The friendly woman at the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is located at the very noisy point of the city. So even though my room was facing the backyard I had to keep my windows closed in the night.

    The friendly woman at the reception. The very comfortable bed. Spacious room with the separate bathroom and the toilet. The air-conditioning was working perfectly. Very close to the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good but the street itself is a little concerning & really busy when you first arrive but you get used to it and it's fine.

    The hotel was really clean and comfortable. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Location is close to main train station and walking to main shopping area. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Great vakue and great comfort in a friendly environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    There was nothing I did not like about the hotel. It would always be my first choice in Munich.

    The owner Leo made a point of greeting all the guests at breakfast and asking if everything was o.k. His interest and desire to please filtered down to the rest of the staff. They are the most efficient, friendly and helpful staff I have found in any hotel. The beds are extremely comfortable, the air con is very efficient and the food selection at breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Staff, room, location, owner was a gentleman with his...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like neiborehode at night,sex places close by, no good for children to see.

    Staff, room, location, owner was a gentleman with his customers, very clean hotel and well organized .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice accommodation in city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adult establishments nearby

    Clean and nicely appointed rooms. Breakfast was good. The owner is a really sweet man that greets guests daily at breakfast. Very easy access to central train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    One of the best value for money locations in Munich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best value for money locations in Munich. Unfortunately the surrounding area ain’t the best following the general rule.. close to the central station ain’t the best. But once you are in the hotel the impression changes asap. The stuff is friendly even during breakfast the facility owner himself stops by each table to check on the guests. I believe he knows that the area ain’t the best and there are hotels in almost very directions you look when you are there. The room facilities are great. The comfort is good. I even got the chance to finally try out a beat door and it works fine. Saves annoying docking station and plays the music I want. Breakfast was good, I would have suggested some warm beef or chicken sausages but the remaining buffet was good if you weren’t staying so long So to keep it within limits. Good place to stay if you are familiar with neighborhoods around a central station and their possible unwanted threats especially while coming back very late. The value for the money is good. And a bonus .. what’s in the fridge as a minibar is yours and they do a refill. Barley so that anywhere in Europe Thanks and looking forward ..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, clean hotel near the station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bread at breakfast could have been more fresh and crispy.. Cheese needed urgent refill. Fried egg was cold.

    Excellent comfort. Room is sound proof and has airco.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Overrated reviews
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I decided to stay at this hotel because of the excellent reviews but these turned out to be really overrated. Schiller is just an ordinary hotel. It has simple facilities (shabby entrance, only one elevator, no pool or gym, no bar) and the room and bathroom are pretty small (but clean). The hotel is located in a side street of Bayerstrasse and only 2 minutes away from the Hauptbanhof/s-bahn. There is a disbalance in price/quality. Next time I choose Le Meridien again.

    It’s close to the central station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay, very friendly, very comfortable, very convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Neighborhood is what you would expect around the main train station but not a problem, lots of other hotels in the street so always people around and transport options are so close

    Great breakfast with good selection of eggs, cold-cuts, cereals, breads and croissants, fresh fruit, juices, etc. Staff very friendly and helpful and have good English, bed very comfortable. Very convenient transport options - trams, U-Bahn, S-Bahn and international and inter-city trains all just a few minuted walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was delicious and offered a great variety, but since it was not included in our room rate it was an additional 30 euros per day (15 per person). The convenience and quality made it worth it, but it would have been nice to have it included in the room price.

    The room was very comfy--plenty of space, and offered extra amenities like a mini fridge with free drinks. The location, being a short walk from the train station, was great. We switched from our prior reservation to this one at the last minute and were glad we did since this turned out to be one of the nicest places we have stayed on this trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    very pleasent stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As it is in the vicinity of the main train station, it is no surprise to see that also in this case, the street where the hotel is located is not the best. The area is a bit rough but in my experience it is safe. That is a bit of a shame, as the hotel offers very good value for the money in a city where hotels are rather expensive. Be aware of the fact that if you book one of the cheaper category rooms, they can be quite small and bathrooms even smaller. For me that was not a problem.

    Very friendly staff. Breakfast is wonderful with a lot of choice and very good quality items. The hotel is very conveniently located close to the main station with its transport hub and close to most sights. Noise cancellation is very good and despite the fact that it is a rather busy area of the city, a good night sleep can be had (even for very light sleepers like myself).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Very helpful and charming staff especially at breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    2 out of 3 of the staff at reception were exceptional, regrettably one let the team down(blonde girl) who needs more training in courtesy and helpfulness.

    Very helpful and charming staff especially at breakfast times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was a very pleasant surprise, just avoid rooms facing the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location but extremely unpleasant surroundings - many kebab restaurants working late and the associated crowd with it.

    Breakfast was pretty good. Friendly staff, clean.50m away from Hauptbahnhof.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Everything was great - room is spacious and very clean, bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was great - room is spacious and very clean, bed comfortable and the windows cancelled all the noise from the outside. Free minibar is very nice touch!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, staff & breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished there were more choices of tv channels in English.

    Full breakfast...fried eggs, soft boiled eggs, croissants, bacon & sausages. Waitstaff were very attentive. Owner of the hotel makes his rounds at breakfast and says hello and ensures your stay is comfortable. Very clean rooms. Modern. Free mini bar. Excellent water pressure. Cold A/C.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located is very close to a strip club, but this didnt affect our stay at all and would be comfortable to stay there again.

    Very modern, clean and the kitchenette was a handy bonus, great location for the train station and the city centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Friendly Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows have pretty good soundproofing, but noise can still be high in rooms facing the street.

    A great location, easy access to the train station and a major hub for city transit. Very nice rooms with kitchenette, that was well setup. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.0
    Not going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The street where the hotel is located. The size of the bathroom. The bed was terrible.

    The location is awful. Although it is quite near to the main train station, it is located on a very busy, noisy ans dirty street that is full of dangerous persons. The police is there searching young guys quite often. It is hell in the week end as the drunk people never stoped shouting and singing on the street. The hotel claening staff never checked the level of left soap in the bathroom. The bathroom itself is very very small and the shower cubicle is difficult to get in. The enreance to the hotel if quite strange for a 4 star hotel. The nly positive thing I found about that hotel is the breakfast which is quite good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel with a good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They were doing construction in the hotel which could be heard pretty early in the morning, and the street the hotel is on is kind of sketchy.

    The breakfast was very good and the woman serving breakfast remembered my room number. The mini bar was inclusive which was really nice. Location is very close to the train station. Bathroom was pretty spacious with a large mirror which meant I didn't have to duck to see my face in the mirror!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.1
    Friendly & helpful staff, great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood had a lot of adult clubs with overt advertising. Lot of men loitering on the street.

    Friendly & helpful staff, great room. Separate shower & toilet. Microwave, Cutlery & dishes provided

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    2.9
    Not at all like pictures or reviews suggest. Dirty, worn and not 4*!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is nothing like the pictures and is very misleading. It is in the sex district, next to brothels and a whole street strip clubs. It feels like very unsafe for women, gangs of men loitering about, following us back to the hotel and trying to talk to us. We paid over £400 for a 'suite' which smelt of smoke, it was very grotty and unclean, no bed linen just hospital grade bedding. When we asked for sheets we got told by the manager or owner very rudely that we were the first 'women' in 15 years to complain. We actually moved hotels to a new one because it was that bad.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    Overall, a nice hotel, which I may return to.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -Overall the room was way too hot, and one needed to have the room window opened for a reasonable temperature to be reached. The area around the hotel is also quite strange - or better, quite seedy. Although it is safe, it may make some people unconfortable.

    Overall, a nice hotel, which I may return to. It has a nice tasteful breakfast (even if quite traditional). The location is very convenient (5min walk from the main train station), and the service is great. Also, the fact that the minibar has a set of free usage drinks, renewed each day, is a very welcomed feature.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, clean and brilliant welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the close proximity to Hauptbahnhof and an easy walk to Marianplatz & old town, the area surrounding made me a little uncomfortable (there is a seedy strip joint & bar on the street). Having said that, We had absolutely no issues with anyone bothering us. And honestly, once you’re inside the hotel you wouldn’t know.

    Comfortable, clean and brilliant welcoming staff. Use of washing machine facilities for only a couple of euros was a welcome relief.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is good in the hotel - starting from check-in till check-out. The room is spacious, breakfasts are very good, location and parking - also. We had a surprise in the morning during breakfast - the owner of the hotel (so charming and nice man) came up to everybody to get to know if his guests were happy and satisfied. Just bring the slippers with you and you’ll be 100% happy!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Definitely recommend.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner very friendly and attentive. Delicious breakfast with plenty of options. Enjoyed a complementary wine and espresso in the lobby. Nice relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    A good place to stay in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had some problems with the soap dispenser, had to squeeze it really hard but since I stayed for only night, no big deal. My room was facing the street so it was quite noisy till around midnight.

    A good hotel close to the Train Station as well as a walking distance to the city center. Friendly helpful staff, tea kettle in the room, free bottle of water, very good breakfast - hot and cold dishes, fruit, cereal, even pancakes. Computer with printer downstairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is conveniently located just outside of exit F of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is conveniently located just outside of exit F of the Central train station, and it's about 20min walk to the city centre. The staff is extremely helpfull!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Great little hotel punching above its weight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would highly recommend guests to sign up for the breakfast! It was great value, and just as importantly, there weren't any places nearby that were any good. Great location, five minutes walk from the old city and two minutes from the railway station, where the airport bus stops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Good hotel for a short visit to Munich very well located in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good hotel for a short visit to Munich very well located in respect of the transport system with a S/Ubahn station approx 50m away. Reception and staff we very efficient,friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very polite and obliging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny bathroom. The neighborhood feels quite unsafe (near the central station), but has the advantage of easy accessibility with public transportation.

    The staff was very polite and obliging. Very good breakfast. Nice and clean room, nice view from the top floors. Free minibar (water, juice, beer).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Everything great , location , comfort , breakfast , also the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Everything great , location , comfort , breakfast , also the owner of the Hotel who is coming during the breakfast to say hi and welcome . it is the second time ( also 4 years ago we visited the hotel ) he proceeded the same saying welcome to the clients and trying to find a solution for anything they do not like during the visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel and exeperience, a must in Munich!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only con, is the street were the hotel is located at, even though it is walking distance to most points of interest, the actual street is surrounded by bars and people drinking on the street.

    The breakfast was amazing, the staff was very helpful and friendly. we would definitively stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Satisfaction with all staffs including owner of hotel, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its problem with space. In rooms and sometimes in breakfast room. Rooms are right for good 3 stars hotel .They are not in accordance of 4 stars requests. And that is no hotel matter , but it is troublesome. A quartier in which is hotel situated seems very dangerous with bands of incomers.

    Satisfaction with all staffs including owner of hotel, which discuss with guests about opinions in Hotel. Breakfast without restrictions,.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    A very reliable, modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because the shower was so big the bathrooms were a little undersized. Could have been slightly bigger. But otherwise no major complaints.

    This is a perfectly good business-oriented hotel in the heart of Munich. Bed is comfortable, breakfast is good, amenities are as described, and the shower is fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Ideal location when you arrive by plane or train and comfy bed and very clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise level late at night from outside, but to be fair, not a lot the hotels can do about that?!

    Breakfast at Schiller 5 is truly excellent and the honey combs a real treat. complimentary wine/non alcoholic drinks in the reception/breakfast room most welcome when you arrive and as a nightcap. Friendly staff and attention to detail with your breakfast is uppermost in the staffs mind. My friend and I always enjoy our, albeit brief, stay at the hotel and look forward to next year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Munich for Oktoberfest/and sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically liked everything--It was about two blocks from main train station. The one block in front of the hotel looks a bit sketchy but it is just very diverse--no issue at all.

    Staff at front desk is excellent and helpful--breakfast great--huge variety from eggs, meats, yoghurts,meats, cheese, granolas, pastries and fresh fruits. It is a privately owned smaller hotel--74 rooms so nice and low key. Three block walk to the main department store where many of the tours leave from. 20 min walk to the Mariplatz. Went to Oktoberfest--lucky as this year had the traditional tent--well worth seeing with traditional songs, food, music and not the Frat party atmosphere of the Big Beer tents

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    A short but pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second time I have stayed at this hotel and would probably stay again if back in Munich. Good location - close to the train station and a walking distance to the city center. Very good breakfast for a city hotel, a wide choice of hot and cold dishes, friendly staff. My room was very spacious and had a small kitchenette. If you are a sound sleeper - ask for rooms overlooking the inner courtyard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Efficient and friendly staff ,a modern and clean good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of the taxi from the airport

    Extremely helpful staff, who recommended at great restaurant close to the hotel,he also gave us expert information of the different shopping areas in the city We were very happily surprised when the owner of the hotel took time to ask us did we enjoy our stay and was everything to our liking. We will definitely come back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    2.9
    Awful staff and awful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an awful stay. Booked a double room. Given a twin room. Was told to check later for double room availability - when I did (different member of staff), told that I would have to pay a cleaning fee as the room had been used. Also no option to use AC if outside temp below 18oC. Well that might have been the temperature that day but previous week had been 30+ and the concrete walls etc were radiating heat. Complained to staff that room was very hot despite 3 open windows - sorry nothing we can do. So.... not the room we wanted and unfriendly staff and no AC = not a pleasant experience.

    Breakfast was a good spread. Location is convenient if you arrive from airport / need to use public transport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Splendid hotel in a questionable area
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the area around the main station is popular for tourists and some others, hanging out all night, drinking, shouting and a lot more, nothing the hotel owner could change. Maybe the City of Munich could think about a develoment and security concept?

    I very much enjoyed my stay - everything was perfect with the hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the street that the hotel was in. Completely different feel to Marienplatz and Tal. But as soon as you walked a city block, it improved.

    Everything at the hotel was outstanding. Excellent room with attention to detail and the breakfast variety was amazing. Extremely close to the train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Very Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I want to specially thank Hotel staff. Especially Mr Sebastian and Thomas st the reception. As I lost my phone in the room and after 3 weeks hotel contacted me and sent me the phone by FeDex.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice rooms, but not very safe area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were average, construction site next door is very noisy, bed clothes smelled of sweat, unsafe neighbourhood for young women

    Internet, large rooms, comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Good location, nice receptionists and employees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit vivid colors would make the hotel nicer, but altogether everything was nice:)

    The lighting at the lobby is very beautiful:) All the employees were really nice, helpful and kind at all time!!! Very good location, very close to the Hauptbahnhof. The hotel is in a small street but enormously busy. We were lucky, our room looked to the inside garden. The people on the street were not the most richest ones...they were not germans either...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Great location in a wonderful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location between the train station and the old town. Great hotel with extras like snacks and drinks in the room - plus a terrific breakfast included

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Excellent city centre location and amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people may not like the nightclubs nearby.

    Excellent city centre location and amazing staff. We checked in quite late at night but no problems at all. We were offered free minibar in room and coffee at midnight.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Modern, clean and well run hotel that is close to the main train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Neighbourhood is a bit low rent but It's close to the main train station and we had no issues.

    Excellent room with a very comfy bed and an excellent shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    An excellent hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was too firm. Hotel responded very positively with extra mattress topper which solved the problem. All staff were perfect. Some drinks, including wine, were available in a section of the breakfast room on a complimentary basis.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this wonderful, centrally located boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like, it's a great hotel.

    I loved this hotel. Wish there were more like it. Room was quiet and comfortable. The staff were courteous and helpful and the owner is charming. I have coeliac disease (allergic to gluten) and this hotel had the best breakfast options of my entire month away. Free minibar and a free "happy hour" each evening. Wifi was good. Breakfast and wifi included in the price. Plus the towels were blue, not the usual boring hotel white. Highly recommended. Will definitely stay here again if I am back in Munich.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel with amazing perks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problematic part is the neighborhood one block west of the hotel -- it's a bit seedy, being the train station area.

    Great hotel, super clean spacious rooms with lovely views and amazing huge modern bathrooms. Wonderful breakfasts, and the breakfast room offers free wine/coffee/beer after the breakfast is over.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Great Location, Very Clean, Breakfast & wifi incl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were on the small side but not a show stopper.

    The rooms were on the small side, but VERY clean and nicely decorated with modern furniture. Good wifi and location was an easy walk to Marienplatz ( < 15 min) & just far enough from the train station 3 min) that you avoid hassle of crowds & traffic if you are going anywhere. Great location! Munich was a very easy town to get around (with no German).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Brilliant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was convenient but a bit of a sleazy area but 100mtr walk (covered my daughter's eyes) and the area is fine. Would have loved a few English TV shows (other than news) and would be good if the sofa in the suite was a sofa bed.

    Great place to stay - easy walk from main train station (we took a taxi from airport as too much luggage). We had two rooms a twin room a little on the small side with luggage but the suite was massive. Kitchen was fine but would have like a few more utensils. Breakfast was included and wonderful but the hot food couldn't have been hotter. It has a washing machine and dryer in the basement (you have to pay, but reasonable) which when travelling on a long trip is great. Staff super friendly, it would be our place to stay next time we visit. Close to shops and transport. Wifi good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Very good breakfast., free minibar, wine and soft drinks available any time in the lounge. The owner came around every morning and greeted each guest and thanked them for staying at his hotel. It is located 5 min walk from the central station, and while some consider the area a bit seedy, -lots of people hanging around at night, a strip club literally next door- I didn't feel unsafe at any time and would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in the center
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The following is not 100 % dislike, but some may consider: Garage is a bit tricky - you have to use a car elevator to go down to the basement and there is very little space to maneuver. Not easy for bigger cars! The room layout is wasting plenty of space (had a superior single room with 4 separate rooms) and the room itself does not get much daylight (it hat only one small window to the courtyard in the bed room).

    Professional welcome and friendly stuff! Room was clean and bed very comfortable. Breakfast is very good, nothing was missing. Old city and train station in short walking distance (maybe 5 min).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restroom design, from elevator hallway to lobby should have direction. Many guests confused which way to lobby when got out from elevator.

    Basicaly breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Sure I will comeback
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They refuse to allow me late checkout to 1 pm unless if I pay 15€

    Very helpful staff and nice Excellent location Owner of the hotel follow up every single issue during breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Munich Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The general area around the central rail station is a bit run down, and a bit off-putting

    Smart, Clean, modern; friendly staff, an easy walk to most of the areas of interest.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    centrally located modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modern, spotlessly clean , spacious room not from the street side, so it was really very quiet. Walking distance to the railway station and city center. Kitchenette. You can prepare coffee or tea. Complimentary drinks including beer in the fridge!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Only 5 minutes walking distance from the city centre, great...
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only 5 minutes walking distance from the city centre, great breakfast with variety of choices, very helpfull and friendly staff, comfortable rooms. I loved the free mini bar in the room and free drinks in lobby bar. :) Also, I was amazed by the elderly man (owner?) that came to breakfast every morning and talked to every single guest in the restaurant, asking them how did they sleep and if everything is ok. Great job, great hotel!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    Great location. Overall a great hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-fi connection could be stronger at some locations in the hotel.

    Nice, clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. Great location right next to the central train station/metro

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    This is a fantastic place to stay in Munich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing could have been better. It is one of the best places we have ever stayed.

    Proximity to the main railway station and to local transport; the quietness and privacy of the location (even though the area is a bit seedy); the quality of the suite; the excellent breakfasts; the pleasant efficiency of all the staff; and the personal welcome from the owner.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area was a bit seedy with young men haging around, but this is not the hotels fault.

    Close to station Close to HOHO bus Friendly and helpful staff Small kitchenette, although we didn't use it Great breakfast, which was included in the price. We were also offered a breakfast to go, as we departed early on our last day. Compact but well designed bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    Very comfortable room, staff polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine, the street outside was a little seedy, but we'd use this place again.

    Very comfortable room, staff polite and helpful. Walking distance from everywhere we wanted to go.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.9
    Close to main train station with great access to the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few strip clubs very close to the hotel. But still wasn't really a problem.

    Close to main train station with great access to the city. Clean and friendly. Lovely owner would say hi to us every morning during breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast, good fresh and many choices.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street is a little less than desirable (but that is to be expected near the main train station which is often less than glamourus), however I felt safe and had no issues.

    Excellent breakfast, good fresh and many choices. Friendly staff. Will be staying again. Quiet night sleep.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is very central and is only a short walk to the train station. The area is a little seedy - but the hotel is lovely, the staff are very friendly and the rooms are spotless and very warm. Our rooms didn't face on to the main street so we had little or no noise. They have coffee and tea facilities in the main area which you can avail of at anytime and a great breakfast. There is also a small mini bar with a couple of drinks which was very convenient. All in all a very enjoyable stay here.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    Danke
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    One of the best hotelapart in center of Munich , Great location few steps to central station, 300 m from famous shopping street Karl platz. The staff was very helpfully especially Kristina on reception, Very clean and great breakfast,fast wifi Sure back to stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable room, delicious breakfast, welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Our room on the second floor was very comfortable for a 3 night stay. The breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice both hot & cold food & coffee. The staff were welcoming & helpful. At breakfast one morning the owner introduced himself & had a chat. Even though the hotel is on a busy street our room faced the side entrance so noise wasn't a problem. The hotel's location is excellent as it's close to trains, shops & walking distance to the city centre. Well managed hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    good functional hotel in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the neighbourhood wasn't the nicest, but it was the best value for a central location.

    Breakfast was good, the windows blocked out the noise quite well, there were no noisy neighbours, the receptionists were excellent and friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: