Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schlicker This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Tal 8, Altstadt-Lehel, 80331 Munich, Germany

#50 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1501 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Queen Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that may be discomfort is a little space of the room.

    The hotel has a perfect location, just in the centre... the breakfast was very good, full of nourishing things, but the only little discomfort we had was a small room (if it were a little bigger, we'd have more space to move in). The rest was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simply the most centrally located hotel in town. Rooms are fine as is service, and the breakfast is sumptious, but the price is higher than you would expect for this level of comfort. The location compensates for it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great but you hear the bells of the clock tower ringing loudly. Didn't bothered me, but it might someone more noise sensitive.

    The breakfast has so many options- staff can make any thing else. The laundry service was excellent although a bit pricy. The staff helpful with all my troubles - train strike, weather, finding direction etc. It is my second time staying there and I enjoyed this stay even more then the last time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not always easy to control

    Everyone was friendly & exceptionally helpful The location in the centre was very good too Breakfast very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff and in particular Paul was a real gentleman and very helpful! The breakfast was very good. The place is in the middle of everything and yet it is like an oasis of old world charm and tranquility! The best of both worlds and my first choice for a return trip!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't recommend the on-street rooms if you are bothered by noise. Though I found it quite pleasant and characterful.

    Staff were incredibly helpful. A beautiful courtyard in the middle of the building. Breakfast was yummy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, wonderful staff , breakfast was good. Bars, shops, markets, restaurants are all in walking distance. Hop on hop off buses across the road. Fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small but workable and clean. Those facing the street are noisy, as the cafes below have traffic well after midnight.

    Location of the property is excellent, in the heart of the historic center and steps away from attractions. The breakfast is superb and extensive. The staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Group
    • Junior Suite - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The decor is a bit dated. It's not even traditional, it's more like the 80s or 90s. The service in the breakfast room was lackluster. To get tea or coffee was not an easy task. I would definitely recommend to bring ear plugs. This is not the hotels fault, but both the drunk people on the street, the street cleaners at 4am, and the church bells at 6, 7, 8, and 9am don't allow for a quiet night. The hotel could do a little more sound proofing.

    We had a Junior Suite, which was a larger hotel room, but not really a suite. The beds were comfortable, but everything was a bit dated. The sofa in the room look very worn out. The bathroom was large and had a bathroom and shower. It was nice that there was a lift. Breakfast buffet was well stocked, but there weren't any scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a street side room on the 2nd floor. The street gets noisy with outdoor cafes/beirgartens. Even with the windows closed, it was still noisy.

    This location is the best you’ll get in Munich! Few minute walk to the city center. The viktualienmarkt is right behind it. Everything you want is just a 5 minute walk!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Superb breakfast - great choice of food freshly prepared. central location within walking distance to most city centre attractions, and close to public transport links

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful location, near Marienplatz, Paulaner Im Tal and Scheider-Weiss im Tal bar. Next to Müncher Residenz, Dallmayr Kaffee and Viktuallienmarkt. There's a lot of other restaurants just on the same sidewalk. Excellent breakfast, and staff's cordiality made me feel good through all the 3 nights I've been there. They have bikes for guests at no extra costs, and I liked hotel's furniture and confort of the bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillow was too soft for my liking - but that's a personal preference!

    I spent a two-night stay here during Ascension and although Tal was extremely busy the hotel was a calm, quiet sanctuary. The room I had was a single and while small it was perfectly equipped and comfortable and extremely quiet. The breakfast (which was included in my rate) was great with a terrific choice of fruits, meats, cheeses and breads. And service in the restaurant and at the front desk was friendly and perfect english was spoken. The location is just off the Marianplatz and plenty of great eating and drinking options are on your doorstep. Heartily recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the street side. Very noisy until late at night. To be fair our stay coinisided with a couple of boisterous holidays. I sleep with ear plugs so it didn’t bother but my wife found it hard to sleep. Ask for a room in the second building or a non- street room.

    The layout of the hotel was lovely. The breakfasts were excellent. The staff were fabulous. The location CANNOT be beat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillow was not firm enough.

    Reception staff were extremely polite and very helpful. Facility was beautiful! Would stay again and will recommend to all my friends and colleagues travelling to Munchen!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sliding glass bathroom door let through a lot of noise.. plan accordingly

    Location, room, and breakfast were wonderful. Very accommodating if your German is pretty rough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed a little smaller than we would have liked. Pillows . Air-Con could do with getting a few degrees cooler.

    Very friendly & helpful staff.Fantastic location. Clean & tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bells on Sunday morning!!!! Not the hotel's fault!

    Wow! What a fabulous hotel! The location was almost in the Rathaus... it was so close to everything. The quaint courtyards and terraces were very inviting and I wish we had had more time to explore (and use) these. However the sun was shining and we needed to be out. The breakfast catered for everyone and was one of, if not the best, I have ever had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC in units. This wasn't a problem in April because open windows cooled it down, but there is a lot of outside noise.

    Unbeatable location, great breakfast, and excellent staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Queen Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy given the location, but we knew that going into it so were not unhappy with that experience. If you want to walk to all of the sites and be able to have a fun night at the Hofbrauhaus and only walk a couple blocks home, the noise is worth the draw back. The rooms are also tight, but they are a good value.

    Can’t beat the location—one block from the Rathaus! The staff was also very helpful and the rooms were clean. Tasty breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are old and need refurbishment. Bed is not comfortable. Hotel is very busy and do not provide late check-out.

    Location is excellent close to Marienplatz and Shopping areas. Breakfast is excellent with lot of fresh bread. Staff are cooperative and helpful especially the Front desk lady and at restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One who's sensible to noises the rooms to the front a bit noisy.

    Location, location, location. Amazing crew help with everything. Very clean, good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service and facilities in the good, old fashioned, high quality way. Room was small but nice. Breakfast was really something extra, just as the staff. Superfriendly, familiar spirit. We will absolutely come back. Value for money!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our windows faced the main street, so it was a bit noisy, but overall it didn't bother us that much.

    Very clean room full of light, crispy white sheets, hot beverage station in room, great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are smallish but perfect for our needs.

    The location is wonderful right in the centre of old Munich. The staff were very helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room key is an actual key and they charged me 60 euros when I lost it because they had to change the lock. My fault but it can happen to anyone and thats a substantial cost. Also parking is very tight but I managed to get in and out with some maneuvering

    Room was very clean and the location is pretty great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location can’t be better than this - 1/2 a minute walk to Marienplatz, The staff was great, the room was clean and the bed very comfortable, the checkout time is 12PM - leaving some time for shopping if you come for one night. The price was very reasonable and there is even parking!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound from the street in the middle of the night when the partypeople going home from club and bars.

    Location is superb. Nice hotel, Good breakfast. Overall it is a Good place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a bit far from the reception and I should carry the luggage to get the room. The room was a bit cold.

    Staffs all speak good English and Location is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As below

    It was a great place to stay to explore the Munich christmas markets. Everything was close by, including the Hofbraeuhaus... The room was good, as was everything else, including a very good Breakfast buffet full of delicious choices. The reception desk offered Christmas cookies and free newspapers, and it was a very short stroll to the Weihnachtsmarkt. ...the only hiccup we had is that we arrived late at night and the night manager did not know where the hotel rooms were located, so first he sent us to a totally different section of the hotel... 'shlepping' all our suitcases behind us... tired a we were..then back down to the lobby.. and so on.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snafu with WiFi, but was full strength after first day. Issue seemed resolved.

    Close to Marienplatz, clean, safe, some historical charm. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could imagine in summer that noise from street would be an issue but we had no proble. Only a few voices in the evening and nothing later at night. WI-FI was an issue as signal is weak but I did manage to connect for two of the four days we were there. My sister however could not connect.

    Excellent choice at breakfast, nice variety. Location of hotel could not be better, easy walking to S Bahn. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower floor has to be arranged. Water was dripping out every time we took a shower.The floor has to be deepened or else smtng was wrong with the drain

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel location was great, our room was comfortable and breakfast was good. However this hotel had no WiFi as is advertised which posed a huge problem. We had to find places Outside of the hotel that offered Wi-Fi so we could check email, contact people back home and look for things to do in the surrounding area as well as get directions and buy tickets. I had business to do one day while there and could not from the hotel. I would have chosen to stay elsewhere had I known no WiFi was Available. The staff do a really good job of covering up this fact and pretend to help you log on, which is not successful. Either change your advertising or get working WiFi! This has been a problem for a while with this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet was outstanding. High quality food including breads, pastries, cheeses, meats, fish, fruit, etc. The front desk staff went out of their way to accommodate us of their own accord. They checked in right away, many hours early, when we had planned on just storing our bags downstairs until check in later. Friendly staff, very clean accommodations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not satisfied about gf option for breakfast you confirm to have. I paid for breakfast and only received 4 gf bread slices while the stardard buffet is huge with so many choices.Other hotels that confirm gf options provide gf cakes, biscuits,crispy crackers closed in their packages to avoid cross contamination risk, and gf/lactose free yogurt😕

    The position is super

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    I came for a business and the internet was not working at all so I was not able to send any e-mails or to do anything. It was very disappointing.

    Perfect location, near Marienplatz station - S1 and S8 trains are great way to come quickly into the city center from Munich airport!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at breakfast could have been more attentive. Bathroom was quite old.

    Central location, easy to find from train station. Night staff was helpful enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car parking is tight but it works- put the Westenrieder Straße 15 address in the satnav to find the parking entrance.

    This hotel is excellent for location in the Altstadt / old part of the city / the staff and facilities. Good breakfast. Quiet, comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website of Booking.com and the hotel's information wasn't totally accurate. Booking showed options for 1-2 people and the hotel booking was for 1 person.

    Breakfast is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except the wi fi , nothing

    Everything was perfect, except for the wi-fi not working!! The staff was very helpfull and the breakfast exellent, the neighbourhood was next to the Marienplatz

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Single Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The value was amazing. The internet didn't work and the room was simple, but it was reasonably comfortable and the price given that it was Oktoberfest was amazing. It's not the Ritz but it's clean and represents and truly great value being just steps from Marienplatz in the heart of Munich.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an outside room which is over the Bars. The bars are open until 2 am so if you plan on sleeping - forget it. I am not sure if there are inside rooms, I should have known to ask.

    The rooms are nice, the hotel is lovely and centrally located, the staff are very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impressions as we went to our room was that the hotel was a little tired in some areas but our room at the back near the courtyard had been refreshed was exceptionally clean & quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to really be unhappy about

    The location is absolutely perfect for Marian Platz and other places of interest. It is in very easy walking distance from the S Bahn

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When they describe a "courtyard view", that doesn't mean you have a view of a courtyard. It means your room isn't facing the street but they are on the back side of the hotel. The rooms on the street are more likely to get more noise, as it is a very busy area. We liked our room and it was pretty quiet. The church bells ring often and are very close by!

    The hotel was in a good location and the breakfast was very good with a variety of good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stale smell in hallways and room. Bad internet connection.

    Good shower in the bathroom. Delicious breakfast served by helpful and kind staff in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's so close to Marienplatz that balls can wake you up early in the morning

    Very nice hotel in the center of Munich;it's next to one of the main metro stations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisie,noisie noisie. Did not hardly sleep a wink. The drunkin singing on the front street and yelling and vehicle noise all night. Could not block out the noise to enjoy our stay. After flying all night on a plane where i got no sleep this should have been easy breezy sleep through anything..but sadly the room was poorly equipped to block out the goings on of the street below.

    Clean, great location, breakfast was to die for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I prefer stronger coffee. Too many gnats on the breakfast food. Guests should be prepared for the 6 am church bells that are very close to the hotel.

    The breakfast spread was fabulous! Many hand assembled finger foods that tasted great. Room size for 100 euros was VERY small along with bathroom. Had bikes for their guests to use.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit small, but I didn't rent the room in order to have a master suite.

    The proximity to downtown was perfect and the breakfast was incredible! So much to choose from and all fresh!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows are horrible!

    Great location for sightseeing, convenient parking behind the hotel, very comfortable bed and good sized room, good breakfast. Also a nice quiet little courtyard at the back of the hotel that makes you forget you are in the city!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was really looking forward to eggs other than soft boiled for breakfast! Very minor issue though!

    Having based our selection process for our travels on location, Hotel Schlicker did not disappoint. Very central to city life, restaurants, cafes and specialty shops. The staff were very informative with our questions for making bookings and translating german websites to english for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing i would change if I were the owner, would be to take off carpets from the rooms and put wood. it would be at that point a 10 score hotel.

    We loved location which is just perfect breakfast was amazing and very rich they also have bikes available and this is also a super bonus and we will return for sure! Wonderful hotel in a wonderful location easy to reach by public transportation and by car -parking available.Bikes available. Next to Virktualienmarkt ! i will go again soon! loved it!!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    We liked everything of this hotel. Centrally located, the staff, the breakfast. Everybody was so helpfull and friendly. Breakfast was deliscious. We could walk everywhere. If I have the opportunity to go to Munich again, I choose this hotel again. The aircon was not that good, but it was o,kay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Just ask for the rooms in the back building if you are sensitive to street noise. Front rooms over look the main street are a bit noisy but great for people watching.

    Breakfast alone is good enough to stay. At the center of the city, right behind the Rathaus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you need internet / wifi, don't stay here. The wifi is practically non-existent and even moving throughout the hotel with ones cel phone you keep losing the signal and constantly have to log on over and over, re-inputting a long password. Our booking confirmed we would have a room with a view over the quiet courtyard. We had a view of a dirty roof only out our window. There is no air conditioner. In summer, this is an absolute requirement. The hotel in general is old fashioned and looks tired. It could do with some remodeling.

    The hotel is perfectly situated within a 1 minute walk from Marienplatz. An excellent breakfast is on offer and was included in the room rate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that was negative at all was there was no air conditioning in the room and the temperatures were in the 90's when we were there so it was not comfortable for sleeping. We were gone during the daytime anyway and the hotel had a fan already in the room and the windows do open. So, it was ok but that was the only thing negative to our stay.

    I was traveling with my elderly Mom so ease to get around with littlest walking was important. There is much to love about this hotel. The location is 2 minutes walk from the Marienplatz train station. Incredible restaurants surround you and the Hop On-Hop Off bus stops right outside the front door. The amazing outdoor "Viktualienmarkt" market and beer garden is out the back door. It was a delight to see dozens of oversized picnic tables, covered with beautiful shade trees and friendly faces all sitting around drinking from the biggest glass mugs of beer I have ever seen. People were so friendly. A nice way to immerse in the culture (even if you don't drink) but want to have some bratwurst & potato salad. The well-known large market is canopy covered stalls of beautiful local produce, sausages, antipasto, dried fruits, flowers and novelty gifts and tastes from the area. All of the staff at the hotel was so pleasant and eager to answer questions about the history of the hotel and the area. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. (And check-out was at 12:00 noon which was nice too.) The breakfast was phenomenal with a large variety of fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, sweet breads, jams and they also had scrambled eggs, bratwurst sausages and cereals, juices, coffee & tea. Our rooms were clean and the rooms had a coffee/tea set in the room as well as a mini fridge. Wi-Fi service was fast. The cable TV had about 4 English speaking channels (all news channels). They also have an elevator which was important for us too. It is a historical building (so not modern chic). It has that one-of-a kind appeal and special stories about its history. **Travel Note - Take the S-Bahn 8 or S-Bahn 1 lines to travel between the airport and Marienplatz. (I believe Zone 4 is the train ticket you select to purchase.) You have to have Euros or a Credit Card with a Pin Code.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Location is the best. Loved the breakfast. The room is a good size and very quiet. The staff is very helpful. Will definitely stay here again if I am in Munich again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because the hotel overlooks a busy square it's noisy at night so a room overlooking the garden is best. We got the last room which was at the front but we used earplugs and still got a good night's sleep

    The breakfasts were excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is wonderful! They are very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect neat Marienplatz, the Haufbrauhaus and the Hop On Hop Off Bus stop.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast has a variety of fruits. There is free bicycle with basket. Hotel is 1 minute walking to Marienplatz which is city center. Hotel is really clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no downside to the hotel.

    Great location for visiting the sites in Munich. The off-street parking was a benefit and the breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay was too short!

    The hotel is modern but still has a charming, historic feel. It's close to stores and restaurants and the famous marketplace, cathedrals, and town halls--also U-bahn and taxi stations. We were spoiled! Our room was small but had huge windows that overlooked the main street full of cafes and pedestrians. I sat for hours enjoying the view. Breakfast was perfect. And the staff were very friendly and professional and full of advice about the wonderful Munchen.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic selection of fresh food for breakfast, very comfy bed, powerful shower, very friendly and helpful staff. Good food recommendations and free bicycle hire. Location could not have been better.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Group
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI system is not secure and very difficult to connect to because it requires going thru their web site and the steps are not well identified . Much easier at other hotels.

    Staff competence, command of English, and their patience Breakfast room was delightfully spacious and pleasant, unlike most hotels which have cramped and inconvenient facilities. Spacious room with dated , but comfortable and sufficient furniture

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some construction going on in the main square but that happens everywhere.

    The staff was very helpful. They helped us with the wifi connection. The breakfast room was very nice. I like hot chocolate in the morning and they made it for me each day. The location was right in the heart of the action. Several good restaurants just a few doors away. Also a short walk to the famous beer hall. And a medium walk to pick up the bus tours to the castles and Rothenburg. We really enjoyed Munich.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Single Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely well located. Wonderful breakfast with plenty of choices for those who want traditional German breakfast and for those who don't. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean. Rooms were clean and reasonably quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no doorman to help with the bags, let alone open the door to get the bags in. There was no a/c, so the room was very hot. Opening the window helped very little and the noise from outside was loud. Our room was supposed to be overlooking a courtyard; instead it was a parking lot. No wash cloth. We travelled all over Croatia and Slovenia with most hotels providing wash cloths. In fact, only a few hotels haven't provided wash cloths in several years of overseas travel. The only toiletries were bath soap, not as advertised. Shower caps and emery boards aren't toiletries. The wallpaper was dirty and peeling. The entire hotel needs a coat of paint. Because the hotel was next to a beer hall, the front sidewalk was always littered with cigarettes. I rate this hotel a two star, not four as your website did. During this last trip I stayed in 3-5 star hotels and this one wasn't even close. How your rating system makes this a 4.6 rating is beyond me, thus making your rating system worthless.

    Not a thing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old and used. No air condition! Just ventilator. Awful wifi. Lots of steps and doors to get to the room. Receptionist Paul is the worst - I have never heard so many "no's" in my entire life: can you do something to fix wi-fi, can I have late check-out, is it possible to change the room other from the first floor not to hear smell and sounds - NO.

    Breakfast is perfect: fresh juice, eggs of your chose, hams and cheeses, fruits. Ideal location to get involved into a new city - the very center and all transport at your availability.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Very kind and attentive staff. The central location to shops, historic locations, and restaurants really added to our enjoyment. They provide a wonderfully Buffett style breakfast in a beautiful morning room. There are stairs (so, keep ahold of the little ones) as well as a small elevator.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only soap was through liquid dispensers. Bring your own if you are fussy.

    Fabulous breakfast buffet with outstanding service. Staff throughout hotel was exceptional! Neighborhood was outstanding. Right next door to Viktualmarkt, excellent pizza two doors down, directly across the street from Weissbrau Haus, 15 minute walk to Hauptbahnhof.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    The subway system was under repairs so it was a bit of a walk to and from the main train station.

    This hotel was in the center of the historic district. It was surrounded by beautiful buildings, restaurants, bars, and beer gardens. The room and bathroom was huge (by European standards)and comfortable. Our room faced the courtyard and it wasn't too loud in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great for us, however the rooms at the front of the building are exposed to the street activity, although we did not find the noise disturbing.

    The staff at the Hotel Schlicker were attentive, friendly and very accommodating. The breakfast had a wide variety of fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, breads, cereals. The hotel is very close to the S Bahn rail network making it easy to get around Munich and to outlying areas such as the airport or Dachau.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Single Room - No Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Messenger and WhatsApp are not working on hotel W-Lan :(

    The breakfast was really good :) Competent and helpful staff Great location Don't forget to make a reservation for car parking

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Schlicker traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: