Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schloss Eberstein 4 stars

Schloss Eberstein 1, 76593 Gernsbach, Germany

#4 of 12 hotels in Gernsbach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a wonderful stay at Schloss Eberstein to celebrate a birthday. The staff were very professional and friendly, the room was great (comfortable bed and excellent shower). The robes and slippers were a great touch. The views were great and we really enjoyed wine on the terrace. Breakfast was also really good with a great variety (especially the fresh fruit). The only downside was that we only stayed one night. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not take VAT forms. Boo!

    Awesome location!! Can’t imagine a better spot in this town. The rooms have details that make your stay very comfortable. VERY pet friendly!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet: While the hotel WiFi was easy to connect and offered a good connection, the internet link was weak. TO be fair we discussed this with their staff and we understand that its an infrastructure issue over which the hotel has little control. Come on telephone company ....sort it out for our friends at the Schloss Eberstein

    Picked this hotel because of location, type of hotel (it had Schloss in its name) and the restaurant. None of these disappointed. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. From arrival where we were offered a parking spot right outside the main door as we had a fully loaded car and did not want to leave it in a corner of their (very large) car park. To the morning of our departure where we wanted to purchase their rose sparkling made from grapes in their vineyard, and because the shop was closed the receptionist sorted us with a bottle at a very reasonable price from the hotel stock. Special mention must be made of the awesome steam shower in the bathroom - pure rejuvenating luxury.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was clean and nicely decorated but it was missing that "special" touch. Esp given the price.

    The dinner was especially good at the Michelin star restaurant and we would rate it higher than the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Schloss Eberstein was such a great place to stay. It's off the beaten path, but the hotel facilities are beautiful and the surrounding area is gorgeous. We ate at the less fancy of the two restaurants - it was absolutely delicious and the service was great. The breakfast in the morning had plenty of options as well. The rooms were quiet and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff should be more informed of tourism attractions / activities options (e.g. trails, bike tours) in the area

    Very nice position to explore the area Room comfortable, very nice bathroom. All super clean. Breakfast very good and varied. Nice restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little problem with the drainage in the shower but nothing that disrupted our holiday experience.

    Wonderfull castle overlooking the hills of The Black Forest and the nearby Gernsbach city. Great room and lovely terrace where the dinner was served (unfortunately the Michelin Star restaurant was closed during our stay but the terrace restaurant was BIB Michelin worthy). Great area to hike in (we brought our dog and had wonderfull long walks in the woods). Very serviceminded staff. Great breakfast buffet. A stay that is fully recommended and worth every cent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I certainly was not impressed with the manners of the two people on the front desk when I was trying to check out. One was the Michelin star restaurant owner,(glad I did not waste my money eating there) he did not even have the manners to apologise that there was nobody available to check me out. While he stood chatting away on a mobile phone. Lady in office did not even apologise for the long delay. (Very Grumpy) As this was a special birthday celebration for my husband felt very let down. It certainly is not cheap and I expected so much more.

    The Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot in the room, the windows opened to a courtyard of the property where you could hear EVERYTHING, including the restaurant staff finishing their late shifts, as well as their conversations. Not the quiet one would expect at a remote castle hotel type. WI-FI is nonexistent. The staff does not provide any info on the hotel history, surrounding walking paths or other ways of spending your leisure time around the hotel. Our dinner reservation was forgotten, we were asked to wait for about 40 minutes. No drinks were offered while wait at that hot afternoon (and we are not talking free drinks) no sides could be chosen or replaced by in the menu. The restaurant staff did not provide ANY information about the local cuisine (this is a restaurant that happens to specialize in Badish cuisine!). No wine recommendations or info were provided when asked. One of the most disappointing Michelin star restaurants in on this side of the Alps. Hope they just had a bad day and things are on the way to improvement.

    Great view from the restaurant terrace. The food was reasonably priced. The receptionists nice and friendly. The atmosphere of the room and design are cozy. Huge TV, nice shower system, parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not believe comments that the location is 3 to 4 miles from Baden-Baden. It is actually 12km and the signpost is actually opposite the hotel. Signage within the hotel could be improved or communication as to where everthing is could be given to you on arrival.

    Hotel was really beautiful, very comfortable and relaxing. Scenery was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning didn't work in the room and the highly acclaimed restaraunt wasn't open from Monday to Wednesday so we never had an opportunity to eat there. However we did eat at the secondary restaraunt and the food was very good. I was hoping the old castle would be accesible but it is actually owned by a private person, so no one is allowed in the old building. Souvenir shop is also closed Monday to Wednesday so we were unable to purchase local wines or any other items. I would suggest they remain open in the summer months so tourists have the option to eat at the highly acclaimed restaraunt and option to buy items at the onsite shop.

    Rooms are very big especially for European standards and the bathrooms are spectacular. Best breakfast we had in Europe. Great spot on top of the hill with incredible views. Very quiet at night wonderful bed, with a 4 poster bedframe and drapes around the bed if you desire. Nice sitting area in bedroom and a huge, very modern bathroom with 2 sinks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little further from town than expected.

    Lovely building. Very nice room. Good restaurant and breakfast. Lovely welcome and checkout with gift.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The name "castle hotel" is very misleading. The hotel is a building next to a castle that is not accessible to the public. Although the facility is ok, I would not have paid the price if I knew that it was not a real castle hotel. The room is small and dark. Wifi is too slow to be usable. Don't stay here, just have a drink or meal at the dining terrace of one of the restaurants - you get the gist of the experience.

    Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main restaurant was closed but to be fair we were warned.

    The setting was stunning. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful. Great place to walk from and also tour the black forest.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying at the castle I was made to feel really special, almost like royalty.. The staff were extremely professional and friendly. The food was lovely. The bed comfortable. The castle sits on top of a hill and the surrounding view is amazing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant made an effort to provide the service by the staff but the bottom line is the food did not meet expectations.

    A very special place, the rooms are equipped with a private sauna and high-quality facilities and comfortable, has spectacular views and a romantic atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small thing to note, there was a sloping ceiling in both the bedroom and the bathroom so you just need to be aware not to bump your head! This did not take anything away from how lovely and comfortable the room was. They also could have provided better information about the Black Forrest and surrounding villages.

    Room was lovely, bathroom was huge with a great view. The restaurant was great with an amazing, authentic atmosphere and the food was really good. The restaurant has a large dining area outside as well which overlooked the huge view down a nearby valley. The breakfast was also very good. Lovely selection of fresh fruit, pastries, etc and also offered cooked breakfast to order.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning, but because of the remoteness, we were able to leave the windows open without much noise.

    The view was spectacular! Beautiful view of the valley below, it was remote and very peaceful. The breakfast and dinner were delicious, and the rooms quiet and comfortable. Beautifully decorate, wonderful bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor Internet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi connection is rarely show.

    fair enough for the price to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very clean,very pretty,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Amazing view and location. Super clean. Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Great accommodation, excellent food and a perfect location for exploring the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi signal is really bad in the room...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing restaurants and views, very nice room quality with good design. If you can make the trip to the location, it's worth it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Great breakfast. Very clean. Great dinner. Beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a gorgeous location and we loved the rooms and how quiet it was. The views are spectacular and it was cool to stay in a real castle!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - it was superb!

    The rooms were spacious, the location ideal, and the food amazing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no AC disinterested staff anti elderly attitude microwave food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was beautiful. Great service and food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was good, but took 1,5 hour to reach out table.

    Room was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great breakfast , nice room, quite facility - good restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only small drawback, no kettle in room.

    Rooms were superb, food very good, location fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we could not stay longer!

    Stunning breakfast , beautiful room and exceptional location. ! ..... A fairy tale castle!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wi-Fi was only useful in the room, not in/around the grounds or the rest of the building.

    Breakfast was amazing. The bath and shower were both fantastic. The room was lovely and well appointed.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service felt rather impersonal and the hotel and restaurant were extremely quiet when we visited, which was a bit uncomfortable.

    Lovely setting, everything very clean and efficient, two restaurants both good.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately there isn't much around the castle, could imagine that its busier on weekends. Also there was a four poster bed but two single mattresses and duvets?

    Beautiful castle and grounds.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking around the property is a little tight.

    Amazing castle location with brilliant views over the Black Forest. Room was very clean, well-furnished and incredibly comfortable. The rooms also have air con which is somewhat of a rarity in Europe. Staff were friendly and included breakfast was also excellent.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This is advertised as a "castle", but it really just feels like a nice hotel. No turrets or ramparts to explore here, and most of the decent parts of the property are closed to guests (the family that owns the place lives on the premises.

    This hotel is at the top of a high hill overlooking a Bavarian valley. It has a great view, and the beer garden is in a location to take advantage of the view. There is a Michelin 1-star restaurant at the hotel, but reserve a table at the time you book your stay or you won't get in. Don't feel bad if you "have" to eat at the beer garden...it was one of our best meals in Europe!!

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Better communication on road closures. It was difficult the day we arrived due to one road being closed and the only other road closed for a road race.

    Rooms were lovely and very quiet. Food was very good!

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I was on vacation with my 30-year old daughter. We both enjoy some night-life and some music or other entertainment. It took a long time to reach this out-of-the way place by train and there was little or nothing to do. Because we realized we did not want this experience, we skipped going to the next castle in our itinerary. Too isolated. It would be great for a romantic weekend but we were not right for this place.

    I liked the unique sense of staying in an ancient castle. The views were great and the food good. It was very clean and the WiFi worked smoothly and fast. Friendly owners and nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is my favorite & best hotel during my two weeks' trip in South Germany, a castle at the top of the small moutain. The evironment is just "Wow~~~". Everything is so amazing, especially the restaurant outdoor tables, you can sit there to look down the amazing view of the whole town and the vineyard. The room is so good, very clean and big, can also enjoy the view. Like the bed and the bathroom. This hotel in near to Baden-Baden. We should have stay here for more nights. Next time must stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately the WiFi did not work...

    Excellent location, very nice room with a good bed and amazing view. Breakfast was excellent - as was the staff. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The four poster bed, large room, and remoteness

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Food, location, personal ... everything.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast, lovely views

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel with outstanding views of the valley

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little warm in room.

    Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wifi signal was weak and the internet was a little bit slow

    The room was clean and tidy and the setting was excellent

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    one of the waiting staff seemed to be in a hurry to go home saying the kitchen closed at 21.30 when we asked for the dessert menu at 21.15.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pillows were fairly useless. Price was high for the off season.

    Hiking paths, breakfast, modern rooms.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53