Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schloss Montabaur This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schloßweg, 56410 Montabaur, Germany

#1 of 7 hotels in Montabaur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 442 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning , tough for a warm day

    Location very close to the train , bus station and city. Great facilities, very quiet place , not noise at all, excellent staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Acceptable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No enough parking places. The hotel parking was full, no reservation possible. I had to park on the street, far from the hotel. Hotel location quite far from the city. The hotel restaurant inside the location is not at the level of the location, being in fact a self service restaurant. Nothing to do with an expected traditional restaurant expected to be next to a castle.

    To be next to a real castle and the green area around the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Historic Schloss!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in House Coblenz in an executive room. The rooms vary hugely in size and facility. Ours was nice but an awkward size/shape and with little room between the foot of the bed and the wall. There were some even smaller but yet others large. Bathroom uncomfortable with glass walls/door only somewhat camouflaged so lacks privacy. Shower was nice but did not have a door/curtain so bathroom gets quite wet. For people who have trouble walking uphill this location can be an issue.

    Gorgeous place with wonderful facilities: pool, sauna, terrace with a view at the main building. Breakfast was terrific and so was the lunch buffet. We really enjoyed the terrace in the sunshine. The staff at the restaurants is super friendly! The walk into the old town is just minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    nice for walking to Montabaur centre where there was a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities are not connected; at first they gave me a room at a place about 300mts from the pool and the restaurant. You have to walk on the outside to go from a place to another. Quality of the buffet dinner was bad.

    nice for walking to Montabaur centre where there was a nice Christmas Market.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.8
    Good. But, as much as the staff were pet friendly the location was not.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expected a bit more for the dog, in as much as the pictures gave a very rural view. The dog needed to be walked a fair distance down to the town park to be able to "go".

    Buffet food was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Truly amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit of a climb every day up and to the main building from the rooms, OK for me. Need to organise the shuttle service if coming by train

    Fantastic location and incredible rooms, buildings, facilities, staff I could keep going on. Very hi tech fittings in the rooms, even the beds had massage units built in!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    The Wellness area was very private.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was located inext to the elevator. The noise from people combing in in the middle of the night plus the elevator cranking through the walls caused me to have a difficult nights sleep. I mentioned this to the staff though. Would've definitely changed my room if I was staying longer than one night.

    The Wellness area was very private. The outdoor breakfast area was very comfortable. Great during summer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    unique, comfortable and relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you go with a toddler, it will be a little difficult for climb up and down. But the experience is unique.

    The hotel located at the mountaintop with best view. Pool and Sauna is convenience. Actually the hotel is a old palace with so many buildings, restaurant and pool are in different building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    a little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception was very business like, when I asked where the pool was we were told that it was being refurbished. I was very disappointed as we had driven for eight hours and were looking forward to a swim in a cool pool. They did refund the cost of our breakfast which was good of them. The breakfast was plentiful but more like a canteen that a restaurant. All self service too even had to clear your own table.

    A lovely location we had a superior room which was lovely, shower was fabulous. The balcony was perfect to look over the city below. Very clean with everything you would need.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    No view and swimming pool under repair until the day after we left.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a business room without any view at all. We chose the hotel because of the swimming pool - it was closed for repair until the day after we left - this issue was not seen at booking time. The picture I added is not where we actually stayed.

    Very beautiful area. Nice breakfast in a very clean and spacious dining room - it is obvious it is primarily a conference center

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.5
    Great location, bit overcharged, noisy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound isolation of the room is poor. There was a event with a party, this caused many people to come back to their rooms after midnight and the door slamming and voices were as if it was next to my bed. Also the sounds of adjecent rooms was too strong. Also the bed itself made all kinds of noises when moving position.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Rooms need air circulation at a minimum
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Like a college student room. No air conditioning or fan. Room much to warm to sleep.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Terrace
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    atmosphere;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For this kind of a nice location I expect more friendly reception staff; the restaurant is really ageing;

    atmosphere; room was nice;

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    The view
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit sterile. Rooms lack warmth. At least the one we had

    The view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Iron needed in the room but staff were great in bringing one

    Fantastic place to stay on business

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Good hotel with old & modern design mixed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staff only speak little English but, not big problem.

    Wide variety of breakfast and dinner from buffet. Beautiful swiming pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    5.8
    Nice wellness, large swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be warned; this hotel is NOT suitable for a romantic getaway! It is a large and busy conference centre and breakfast was overcrowded (and very noisy) with business people. And there are not even tables for two! Much more like a work canteen than a hotel restaurant. We really did not like this aspect of our stay, it was not relaxed at all. The hotel is on a steep hill so you need to be reasonably fit to get around.

    Nice wellness, large swimming pool. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing.

    everything

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    5.4
    Basic hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A lot of walking from room to reception to canteen.

    Basic hotel

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    8.8
    very quite place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very quite place

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    5.8
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room very small, if not tiny. Noise in courtyard till midnight, could not open window

    Nice location

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    10
    Great location, view and pool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, view and pool

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: