Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schloss Thurnau

Marktplatz 1, 95349 Thurnau, Germany

#1 of 1 hotels in Thurnau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 412 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Great play to stay on your way when traveling around Germany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could certainly use some interior design updating. They feel dated.

    Really fun to stay in a castle. The staff were super nice! Restaurant was quite good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Would recommend this to anyone for a visit to the area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff team. The breakfast was superior, having many options to choose! The coffee and espresso were excellent! Also ate dinner there 2 nights and had some of the best German food one could hope for... plus the outside seating in the courtyard was beautiful under the stars!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.1
    Historical location that needs some management effort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely hot. It was too small for 2 adults and 2 kids. The bathroom looked cheap - plastic. The shower couldn't be adjusted. The ceiling lamp in the room didn't work. The room was described to fit 2 kids under 7, but there was only place for a small crib for a little toddler. The castle bell rings every 15 minutes until midnight.

    The castle is amazing. The town is great for a short walk and a visit to a cafe or restaurant. Great atmosphere of an old place. My overall experience was 8/10

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    9.5
    Nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is a bit awkward, but that;s what you get for a castle. With a car it's not a big problem.

    A nice castle hotel. Staff is very helpful and rooms are spacious. The restaurant is also very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.3
    Romantic lodging in the Castle near Bayreuth
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice lodging in the medieval castle, excellent breakfast. The castle is remarkably preserved and kept. The personnel is very dreiendly. Close to Bayreuth, very calm location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.3
    Very nice location, simple but clean and nice rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On mondays the restaurant is not open and there is only a very bad pizzeria open in this small town. Would have been good to know, because then i would have eaten before go to the hotel, since the town is not really a metropol with everything close by ;-)

    Very nice location, simple but clean and nice rooms. Good breakfast with ghost included...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.5
    a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms are too modern for us, without much old castle charms. Toilet smells in our room.

    This castle-turned-to-hotel is in a nice setting, surrounded by a quite and nice village.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    4.2
    Poor facilities and service for €120 a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1.) We were placed, without prior notice, in an separate building where there was no WiFi. It was a big nuisance as we were planning some work and needed Internet connection for that. 2.) The shower, the bathroom and the bedroom where not clean. The shower-drain was blocked by hair and there were dust clouds in the corners of the bathroom and the bedroom and under the furniture. 3.) The staff was not able to solve the above problems. Despite promise we didn't have WiFi and only the shower-drain was cleaned after our complain, not the rest of the rooms. 4.) The light in the bathroom was broken so they put a free standing lamp in there with a dimmer switch laying on the ground. Not very safe next to the bathroom-sink where water can easily spill on it and probably against the electrical security regulations. 5.) To reach the hotel reception and breakfast-room we needed to walk outside around the castle. No problem by nice weather, but a nuisance when it rains. I would expect at least a notice in advance. Conclusion: All in all not a service worth €120 a night.

    The location is very charming. But the village is very small. If you want to eat well (as quality is concerned, not quantity) you need to drive at least for 15 min.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.3
    The impressive building makes this a special place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ended up paying more than expected as I had mistakenly booked for 1 person instead of 2. I booked a double room but all rooms are double and I should have specified 2 people.

    It felt very special to be staying in a 16th century castle. We were going to the opera at Bayreuth and the hotel was an excellent base.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    8.3
    Everything was very nice except the wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi network requested continuos logins with complicated passwords difficult to type (especially on a phone): it made the whole use of wifi quite annoying. I do not understand how hotel managers can spend quite a bit of money to install a good wifi network in a whole hotel and then botch such a simple software configuration (which would only require a bit of intelligence to be fixed). Very, very irritating.

    Everything was very nice except the wifi

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    good place to stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    Castle climate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays

    Castle climate

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    The restaurant was not open for business.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not open for business.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    Atmospheric, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, reconstruction on sight, loud bell of church

    Atmospheric, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast & silence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Breakfast & silence

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations. Of the tourist track.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally satisfied. No complaints.

    Restaurant was terrific. Staff were very helpful. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful romantic accommodation
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent .....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.2
    Great place, will return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant not open Mon/Tue

    Impressive building, friendly welcome.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    A good location and environment
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor heating. I do not recommend this hotel in cool monthes

    A good location and environment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    10
    Absolutely everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with wifi

    Absolutely everything! Ambiance, food, staff. Would recommend it to everyone for a lazy day in a beautiful setting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.2
    Sleep in a true, old castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room in a castle. The room I had was very nice and functional. Not great luxury but excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    10
    Some of the best food I have eaten in Germany at the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You will need to haul your luggage through the courtyard and up steps from the parking area. This did not actually bother me but might be a problem for some. When we arrived there was only one person there who was both receptionist and waitress. I don't think there was anyone who could help with luggage.

    Some of the best food I have eaten in Germany at the hotel restaurant. My husband had the Pfannderl and gave it an A+. I had spargel with the best hollandaise sauce I have ever had. The room seemed pretty new and the bathroom was very modern. Plenty of parking at the location.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    7.9
    Spacious place in a castle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was a bit hard and the pillows provided no support.There was no one at the desk when I checked in in the afternoon or in the morning when I checked out. I had to call them on the phone - others were waiting as well. The woman who came to the desk in the morning was not very customer-oriented.

    Spacious place in a castle! Clean room. Nice view of the courtyard. Wifi worked fine in the room.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    8.3
    It was a real castle - what's not to like!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant open in village and the hotel one not open on a Monday. We drove 15km each way for dinner. Church bells rang all night.

    It was a real castle - what's not to like! Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.2
    The charm of the hotel, spacious rooms, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The charm of the hotel, spacious rooms, very friendly personnel. A good base to visit Bayreuth. Not only a fine breakfast, but also a nice choice for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    Staying in a small castle by a pond with a beautiful church...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staying in a small castle by a pond with a beautiful church across the street. This entire town was a fairytale location. Absolutely beautiful. The staff was wonderful and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.3
    it was such an amazing idea to book the stay in the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was such an amazing idea to book the stay in the castle. not only is the castle beautiful and very well kept, but the surroundings are also very beautiful, there is a small lake, the village is so german-pictoresque, there are a few shops where you can buy typical ceramics and a small ceramics museum. very interesting are some architectural elements, such as a corridor-bridge connecting the castle directly to the village church. the room we got was very comfortable and had an enormous bathroom which we appreciated very much. our dog was immediately in love with the wooden floor. the breakfast was very rich and very german. parking was just outside the castle courtyard, though we could enter with the car to take the luggage into the lobby. the evening restaurant has got wonderful dishes and shows that the german cuisine is not as bad as many think.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.3
    the Castle and sourranding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Every quater there was the bell on the church tower and every hour 3 bells will 4 quater and 2 times number of the hour. It was for the whole night. It interrapted a lot the silence around.

    the Castle and sourranding

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    Matratzen sind zu weich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Matratzen sind zu weich.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    8.8
    amazing bones to create something special
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bit souless and institutional

    amazing bones to create something special

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    9.6
    saubere coole location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    saubere coole location

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    6.7
    It is a castle, which is nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff doesn't seem to care

    It is a castle, which is nice

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Loved the experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the experience!

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    10
    Near Bayreuth and road 9, beautiful castle and grounds in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Near Bayreuth and road 9, beautiful castle and grounds in romantic, small town. Great place also for drinks and food.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.2
    friendly staffs and gorgeously furnished room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly staffs and gorgeously furnished room

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: