Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schloss Westerholt This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schlossstraße 1, 45701 Herten, Germany

#2 of 4 hotels in Herten

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 427 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not notice in booking confirmation that the front desk was closed after 9 pm (i honestly don't understand why there is nobody there after 9pm). We were very lucky that the hotel manager was accidentally at the premises so he let us in when we arrived around 11pm (so thumbs up for him!).

    Nice hotel, bit outdated though (especially the bathroom!) but spacious rooms and decent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only that it was raining a lot.

    excellent location, very comfortable beds, large room/bathrooom, superb diner and lunch and very professional and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only one little thing, the bed pillows in the room we were in were lumpy (also the second ones we received after asking for replacements) and in our opinion should be renewed.

    This is a small castle build in the 17th century located next to a Golfcourse. The room was large and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and hope to be back one day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to find it. We had GPS but due to road reconstuction there weren't any sign with directions. We called the hotel to ask them for directions but we couldn't understand them. Finally, we asked a couple and they helped us.

    The breakfast was perfect. The stuff was very polite and friendly. It was quiet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the hotel for a wedding and the outside air temperature was about 30 degrees. The hotel did not have any air conditioning, there were no fans even. The heat was sweltering. There is no minibar, no safe in the room, the toiletries were very basic. I wonder how did it get its 4 stars?

    The hotel looks lovely from outside. The furniture was solid wood.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot with no means of cooling. No mosquito repellent, would have been useful with the windows open and surrounded by grass and water.

    Location, comfort, welcome

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee and tea making facilities in room. Wifi poor

    Location and area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom shower and water for the wash basin did not work properly - pity.

    The rooms were very well appointed and had lots of space - very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning, elevator

    Beautiful hotel and wedding reception

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 202 has no light switch nor electricity near the bed.

    Very nice location. Helpfull staff. Nice, comfort rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cost of room & breakfast with rather higher than the hotels in the surrounding area.

    Friendly staff, with very good memories. Have stayed before & was greeted very nicely.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at the reception gave little information. And if not there you can use the telephone. The next morning at breakfast the staff was not very friendly.

    Great room with a small kitchen. It was just what we needed that evening!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Light above sink did not work. Writing desk was a little small to work comfortable. Neither were important enough to complain about.

    Location, quiet, serving staff at bar / restaurant. The bidet was nice. Hard to say if a bathtub would have been better in the space.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very relaxed, but highly efficient place! Staff was extremely friendly. Rooms were very quiet and very clean. Breakfast was wonderful. Food in the Restaurant typically German. The 'Geschnetzelte Leber' absolutely my kind of dish. We enjoyed our stay!!!!

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - no lifts - we choose this hotel because the website said there is a playground for kids.but it is wrong, please correct the informaion

    - located in a quite area - free parking

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee makers in rooms would have been nice.... however getting a pot and cups from the restaurant was very easy. Didn't use room service -- I'm sure we could have, though.

    Spacious rooms, tall ceilings, cool staircase and halls, comfy beds, easy Wifi, responsive staff, village pubs, local churches, running path, easy access to freeways yet quiet and serene. Gondola Restaurant owners were awesome to us! Alles Dorf was a fun place, too... as was the older authentic/mom and pop pub next to it. All menus varied/interesting. Restaurant in hotel was excellent again as well. Open Sundays all afternoon.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom whilst clean is not in the same league as more modern & newer built hotels

    Room was of a good size; breakfast of high quality with lots of choice; check-in/out simple, quick & easy and ample free private parking space right outside the hotel

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No airco, No elevator. Receptionist is also waiter in the restaurant at the same time.

    Nice location and terrace.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Bed was wonderfully comfortable. Setting is beautiful. Westerholt is a lovely town with all kinds of places to walk and enjoy .

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Family with older children

    When my family stayed over the weekend the noise was quite loud until well in the early morning.

    The area was lovely. Good for walks.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unexpectedly quiet and peaceful location in a huge industrial area

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything great - alles bestens !

    Excellent service - very helpful staff. Very, very large room with high ceiling. Excellent shower.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Browse Hotel Schloss Westerholt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: