Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schlosshotel Götzenburg 4 stars

Schloßstraße 20, 74249 Jagsthausen, Germany

#1 of 2 hotels in Jagsthausen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 133 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked room in schlosshotel oand were put to some shabby dependance, NEVER worth the price. Phantom place, no staff. Snall and not good breakfast, no eggs, no bacon, rubber bread two days old from plastic bag, waiting for coffee for 20 minutes

    The castle (but just the hustorical building)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor heating in the bathroom burns your feet and is not adjustable...

    I was here a few times and I keep coming back so it's a fine place to stay. Splendid building, nice staff, big rooms, a top restaurant with a nice variety of local and European dishes. a very complete breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -NO curtains in the room--VERRRRY bright in the morning! -breakfast was alright, but for the hotel category I exspected a larger variety of bread, fruits, cereal... -the cake in the afternoon...not great quality

    -very friendly Lady at the reception ; overall staff was nice -beautiful Setting...scenery

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not adequate if you can not climb stairs. Some rooms ground floor but staff unable to take consideration of reduced mobility. Price for castle and cottage are the same, but cottage is not a castle. Far too expensive for the offered standard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything that I didn't like.

    Staying the night in an real castle that is several hundred years old was quite an experience. While the castle is totally authentic, some of the facilities, such as the bathrooms are thoroughly modern and luxurious. I wish we could have stayed longer. The restaurant at the castle is outstanding and the food amazing. I can't say enough about the staff. They did everything in their power to make our stay special.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was uneven in the gourmet restaurant. Had one outstanding meal and one terrible. The hotel is located quite a drive on small roads with some hairpin curves, away from the motor way, but the area is very scenic, so still enjoyable. Extra caution is adviced tho.

    Fairy tale castle in scenic location. Very nice and helpful staff. Dog friendly. Spacious room in annex. Plenty of parking and good wifi.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, quiet couple get away. Great walking trails in the area and friendly town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor (old) mattress that was narrow and short, linen quality not the best

    Good-sized room, wonderful views

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Staff was great, room was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed on monday

    Breakfast offer great. Nice staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no WIFI on the Terrace

    staff was very helpful, seems that they are happy and like what they are doing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A second pillow

    Location and history

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have been nice to have had a cocktail in the bar/lounge area but it was closed for the evening. It looked like a very nice space to relax after a day of traveling.

    Very peaceful stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would have enjoyed seeing the courtyard without the seating for summer theater.

    The incredible service at this family operated castle made us feel as though we had returned home. Everything was spotless and breakfast was delicious. The lounge was so comfortable that we had a cozy light dinner here instead of the beautiful dining room. Wish we had planned to stay longer. Also a short side trip to Schontal Abbey is worth the effort.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Group

    athmosphere, very special history of the place, amazing trust of the owners letting strangers to walk around variety of amazing artefacts! AND the wi-fi was more than sufficient....

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No possibility to make coffee or thee in the room.

    The romantic ambiance of an old castle. Easy parking in front of the door. Big room with separate living room. Very good restaurant inside the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was in seperate building about 150 meters away from the castle, whcih is not great when one has to walk to breakfast through rain...

    Very nice scenary this castle! Fascinating medieval place. My Goethe Room was a nice large suite.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms may be a bit on the spartan side but were clean and tidy. That's it.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel; bar and restaurant was lovely and had a warm atmosphere. The cuisine was very nice and the breakfast buffet was high quality and offered everything and anything you might want. Fanastic!

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Marvellous atmosphere of a middle-age castle, with a nice view on the nearby pristine countryside. Pleasant dinner with good wine from the region. Very polite and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was here a few times and I like coming back, so I admit, this is a nice place to stay!.. Nice people, most of their rooms are at 4-star level, a very good restaurant and breakfast buffet, and all this in a quiet area with beautiful surroundings...

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    My family really enjoyed our stay here. The manager took the time to give us a private tour of the castle and its very interesting history. The rest of the staff was very accommodating and the breakfast was good. The rooms were large and reasonably priced. When I accidentally left my briefcase with all our families passports at the hotel, the manager arranged to overnight it to our next hotel without my even asking him - they really went out of their way to help. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed could be more comfortable. Wasn't given a room in the castle but another building beside it so a little disappointed.

    Amazing castle, friendly staff, beautiful setting, excellent restaurant. Had a great private tour of the dungeon.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the mattress on the beds are not much, but that seems common in Germany. it would be nice to have screens to pull down to protect from unwanted pests in the rooms. we got a bat in our room late at night and was difficult to scare away. theater production equipment made it hard to appreciate the remaining facility.

    i loved that it was authentic.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's nothing to fault this hotel for-- we were pleased with the spacious, peaceful and authentically decorated rooms (with modern bathroom); the friendly staff; the views from the terrace; the plentiful breakfast of good quality-- the list could go on. The hotel and bar prices were a bit more than what we typically pay, but we felt it was worth it for what we received.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are not in the castle itself, just a separate building. No A/C. Did not know about the giant theatre festival that took over the castle.

    Property was pretty. Castle looked nice.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very warm when we went, no air conditioning, wifi was weak and there were dead bugs on several window sills!

    Loved the historic antique feeling. Food was absolutely delicious!

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Castles were not built for easy access, so it takes some effort to go from one section to the next through many hallways, staircases, and doorways

    Beautiful old castle updated with most modern comforts. Still maintains old charm. Excellent restaurant. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Such an amazing and authentic castle. All the charm of 15th century with modern bathrooms. Rooms spacious and bed comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Difficult to reach by local transport, over priced.

    Staffs and service of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some rooms need to be upgraded.

    I often come here and I love the surroundings, the building, the food and the general atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We didn't stay longer.

    The general manager was an amazing host. Breakfast was great and the castle was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A unique hotel with midle age atmosphere....the staff is fantastic and the food is delicious .....I defently recommend this castle hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you want to stay in a castle - this is it! Large room with excellent modern bathroom. Great breakfast with friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To step back into history but with modern comforts was a real treat.The hotel setting in this region is magnificent.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Great restaurant

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms were quite plain, mattress of the extra bed wad very hard, wifi did'nt work in our room

    Food was good, excellent service

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful aera,very quit,just very plaisant,lived the cozy bar aera

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Schlosshotel Götzenburg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: