Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schlosshotel Hugenpoet This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

August-Thyssen-Strasse 51, Kettwig, 45219 Essen, Germany

#3 of 74 hotels in Essen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 251 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    I have always wanted to stay at Schloss Hugenpoet, because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have always wanted to stay at Schloss Hugenpoet, because the idea of a Schloss in the middle of the Ruhrgebiet seemed intriguing. And the building is really impressive, although not exactly beautiful in the sense of Bavarian our Southern German castles. But it is has a moat and is situated in lovely grounds. We had a very nice room with a large and well-equipped bathroom and a big bath tub. Since the Restaurant Hugenpoettchen serves food all day, we could have a snack, even though we arrived after the usual lunchtime. It has a terrace overlooking the grounds and the tennis court. We also had dinner there, which was good but not great. Breakfast was excellent, except for a somewhat limited selection of cold cuts. We very much enjoyed our stay and are planning to stay there again some day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.0
    Super romatic and scenic place to stay for a weekend or a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Gentleman leading the restaurant staff on the terrace for breakfast should not be in customer service - not very friendly and he scared all his other team members by his behaviour and attitude towards customers - we waited over 25 minutes for a cappucino because he advised the staff to clean other tables first before serving us…. - And watch-out a lot of mosquitos in the area !

    Perfect Garden - super scenic - great to relax for a few days !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff, facilities, and food at Hugenpoet were...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff, facilities, and food at Hugenpoet were outstanding! Many thanks for making my stay so enjoyable! I’ll will definitely book a return stay soon... 🙂

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    It was a very restful and enjoyable stay with first class service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred not to be seated next to people who smoke in the dining areas.

    The staff were very helpful, the whole experience of our stay was very enjoyable and peaceful after a busy time travelling. The restaurants are first class and we enjoyed the tranquility of the gardens and exploring the surrounding area on bikes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    The location is absolutely beautiful, staff very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to take a walk after dinner, as there's nothing else to do at the property. I would have appreciated a light source of some kind around the hotel, it was pitch black. It wasn't much of a walk.

    The location is absolutely beautiful, staff very helpful and friendly, our room was very pretty, breakfast was awesome. All in all, a great experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    Magic spot with great food - but do they really care?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We forgot a watch in the room. After recognizing it at home on return we checked with the hotel but the hotel was very repellent in checking. We asked if we might come back and check the room ourselves (it was a black watch and most of the furniture is dark so we wanted to search ourselfs the places we would expect the watch most) - which was agreed upon. But on our arrival two hours later - we were not allowed to enter the room and do the search. Reception was really un-sympatic on that point. It was not even offered that we can do so being accompanied by someone from service. This happened after we traveled back for an hour. Our call next day was answered with same disagreement again. This is very disgusting as we are talking about a very wealthily watch, so our disappointment is huge towards the handling of that issue by the reception. Never any manager of the hotel addressed us of gave us the feeling that they care. Do they care? Unfortunately we had -12 C degrees outside that winter night and the heating did not work in our room. We addressed that at arrival with receptionist who tried to fix and than forgot abut us. Service/ reception did not ask again and so not fixing. No price reduction offered or any compensation (a drink?) else after mentioned on check out. So we spend a very cold night in an almost empty hotel (just 5 rooms were booked that night). Bath room room 28: bath tube with shower, no separate shower.

    Marvelous spot full of miracle. In the hart of the busy Ruhrgebiet but surrounded by woods and water. Very nice spot. Very nice cast. one of the most beautiful in the region. Great cooking and meal experience - good service, fair prices for that quality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    Atmospheric castle with large comfy rooms and good in house brasserie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is pricey without option for Continental

    Big room, comfy bed, elegance of lobby and staircase, free cakes on arrival, nice grounds, very good in house restaurant even if you don't go for the more expensive Michelin dining room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    fine castle with good facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only real negative if it is an issue to some travellers, is the castle is on the direct flight path to Dusseldorf airport, so there are planes overhead every few minutes, but inside the castle you do not notice at all

    The hotel location & ambiance is excellent. We like to stay in Castle hotels & this fitted the bill for an overnight stay. The restaurant was good & the accommodation spacious & well equipped, the only way the stay could have been improved was if our room was in the main part of the castle, rather than one of the buildings in the main courtyard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Absolutely not happy with the stuff, it spoiled my stay completely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would give a low rating to the reception stuff. The hotel was OK (used to visit fancier places occasionally; they do try to pose as a posh location), though I very much didn't appreciate sort of assessing look of the reception stuff (we were coming there just after our hiking holidays, straight from the airport, so more sporty than elegant look). Still, I am not going to dress up in a suit to check in to a hotel room :D Overall - not going to use that hotel ever again.

    it was very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.3
    Not worth the money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told on the booking.com site that the standard double room had a bath but it only had a shower and the room was tiny which is disappointing given the extremely expensive room rate. Also was a surprise to us that having a dog would coat an extra 30 eur a night. The service was bad in the restaurant, very young dozy staff which weren't very busy who would not pay attention to customers who were trying to catch their eyes to order.

    The bar was really atmospheric and the rooms were clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.0
    Poor overall due to receptionist attitude, they smile but I don't think they really care!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I asked for an English style breakfast the waiter basically almost laughed! And they are charging around £25 for the privallege! Poor!!!

    Stayed before and use to get bar snacks, small point but not this time which tells me they are cutting back on the wrong things! Attention to detail and consistency is important but lacking here!! Short staffed and lack the personal hospitality angle!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    I look forward to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somebody may be disturbed by the planes going to land in the near airport. I wasn't

    Excellent service. Impressive building in a beautiful park. Very good dinner on the terrace facing the park. Highly professional staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Schlosshotel Hugenpoet is a beautiful castle hotel, in a beautiful region in Germany!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    My wife and I liked everything about Schlosshotel Hugenpoet. The buildings and the grounds are beautiful, and are meticulously maintained. The staff are warm, welcoming, attentive, efficient and knowledgeable about the property and the region. Although, of course, there are some very good restaurants in Dusseldorf, Essen, and the surrounding area,m the restaurants at Schloss Hugenpoet are excellent and inviting - and we enjoyed the many times during our stay. There are many, many options available to guests. We personally visited the local villages and countryside, as well as day trips into the Northern and Western Germany and also the Netherlands and Belgium. But every day it was a pleasure to return to Schlosshotel Hugenpoet, where we received supurb treatment from the staff and where we delighted in our large, comfortable rooms and luxurious beds. This property felt like home, and we were loathe to leave. Hopefully we'll have many opportunities to return to Schlosshotel Hugenpoet in the future.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    a Delightful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we were not advised that hotel guests must book a place at the restaurant for dinner - This is not usual in our experience and resulted in having to wait for a table. - the Staff however during this inconvenience were most hospitable and did all they could to make the wait pleasant.

    an entirely lovely experience - the staff were without exception, professional and really went the extra mile for us. We will recommend this venue without reservation and intend also writing them up on TripAdvisor. thank you for your efficiency too Bookings.com

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous property and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gorgeous property and room. Soft drinks inclusive of the room price was a lovely bonus! We ate dinner in the restaurant which was good and the cocktails in the bar were delicious. Staff were polite, helpful and had an excellent level of English. All in all I can highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice ambiance, excellent staff, but interior is not a top 5 star experience for the money spend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    But once you start scratching beneath it's nice surface, the interiors are not as well designed and maintained as I would expect from a 5 star hotel priced at close to E 400 for one room for one night. For instance, carpet in main hall was stained, bathroom with a lot of cheap tiling. It left me with a feeling that the place doesn't make enough money to really play in the top 5 star league. Although surroundings are nice, we couldn't help notice in the morning that we were in the flight path of planes. The sound could be annoying if you choose to start listening to it. We choose not to.

    The ambiance is very nice, staff is excellent. Nice gardens and surroundings, and when by car, still close enough to Dusseldorf. Breakfast had a great choice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    The room was big and cozy, and the bed was very comfortable...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was big and cozy, and the bed was very comfortable (very good, comfortable pillows!). It is always very relaxing to stay here in atmosphere of old castle with modern comfort and perfect services.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Best gourmet dinner...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The castle were impressive. Laurushaus restaurant (chef Erika Bergheim) were brilliant with superb menue and wine list (we had a bottle of Rioja vine from 1970!). Breakfast was good(organic food from local growers), with nice personal service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.8
    Impressive castle and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, it is noisy because of the planes taking off the close airport.

    Impressive castle. Very confortable room. Very kind staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    What a pleasure after a long drive. Place to recommend.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Comfort and quietness of the rooms. The restaurant. The small attentions for our dogs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    excellent dinner , absolutly fantastic
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent dinner , absolutly fantastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant castle with moate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded to a superior room to find it only had a rather small and short double bed (probably 150x180).It was dissapointing.

    Setting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    The air condition did not work at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air condition did not work at all......

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Bathrooms can be cleaner.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms can be cleaner....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    不错
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    maybe cause the building too old. our room the Window have some problem.

    the stuff very kind and location very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel with large rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water only luke warm in shower and blocked shower drain so standing in your own dirty water!

    Beautiful room, large bath and very big towels!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful setting and surroundings, tasteful and modern room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful setting and surroundings, tasteful and modern room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Good experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambiance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    Great location, poor inattentive service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was very poor

    The location and setting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    outstanding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very classy hotel. Amazing service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Thiis was our third (!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thiis was our third (!) stay in this hotel, it's perfect in every way

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Romantic castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice restaurant; castle with a garden;

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    great location and service - the on site restaurant is also...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi in the room could have been a bit better

    great location and service - the on site restaurant is also very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful setting
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms will need to be re-decorated at some point.

    Beautiful and traditional Manor House

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Like a princess
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have loved to stay longer!

    We loved everything about our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Great castle, good breakfast, nice garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi not working whole weekend, and no 4G or 3G alternative available.

    Great castle, good breakfast, nice garden.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    6.7
    Beautiful building and grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dinner was not up to the expected standard... Asparagus extremely over salted. Fish dish nothing special. The Riesling wine was served in Bordeaux red glasses... When questioned the waitress said they had many conference guests and ran out of the correct glasses.

    Beautiful building and grounds

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    10
    Great service!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Little far outside of Dusseldorf.

    Great service! Staff gave me an amazing upgrade to accommodate my early arrival. I could not be more impressed with this hotel. Good restaurant - very fresh Cod for dinner!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    10
    Loved the room, cleanliness & location within the castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Maybe a more varied menu? My daughter is vegetarian but there was only one dish she could have - even though she loved it. But this is not a complaint, just a suggestion..

    Loved the room, cleanliness & location within the castle

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    7.0
    Wonderful old castle, lovely grounds, porter, lots of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Worn out bed!! Hardly slept.

    Wonderful old castle, lovely grounds, porter, lots of atmosphere, pleasant bar, fireplace in lobby that you can sit in front of and enjoy some tea or whatever, spacious bathroom

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff at the hotel and restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff at the hotel and restaurant. All details are well thought of, I really felt very welcome. Good restaurant for dinner and nice breakfast. Impressive historical environment, highly recommendable!

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    5.4
    The Hotel and service was an amazing experience.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    WIFI was very bad and all the guests were complaining the same and also struggling to do their work.

    The Hotel and service was an amazing experience. Breakfast was good. Service and support was great and friendly by the staff. it was a great stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    10
    Me and my wife actually loved this place, if you search for...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I suggest to add more choices to breakfast

    Me and my wife actually loved this place, if you search for comfort and you have a car this is really your place, the taxi to Dusseldorf will cost you around 50€, so if you rent car will be perfect, the breakfast is not so much but perfect choices, the staff is just wonderful, they even didn't ask us for a credit card quarantee as all other hotels do, I've paid everything on end of my stay, so I highly appreciate this trust, when I come again to Essen or Dusseldorf without any doubt I'll back to this hotel!!

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    9.2
    Very wonderful place, I've stayed for one week and was...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very wonderful place, I've stayed for one week and was very satisfied , you need to have car because the location is not in the centre of Essen nor Dusseldorf

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    2.5
    Well maintained and beautiful Schloss set inside a moat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some road noise but not noticeable inside the rooms.

    Well maintained and beautiful Schloss set inside a moat within a small private park. The room was equipped to a high standard and very quiet and comfortable. We had a delightful drink in the bar followed by a good meal in the restaurant. We will be coming back !

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    10
    It was the best hotel experience ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was the best hotel experience ever. Everything was right, the rooms,food, staff. We rented bikes at the castle and biked to Essen around a beautiful lake. Dusseldorf was near by so the trip to tge Sunday fish market was a musy. Will come back!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    Big room with very large bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a superior room to get a garden view as we were staying 2 nights (over for a friends' party) and expected to spend some time in the room. We arrived later than planned the first evening and were shown to a lovely large room in the "out buildings". In the morning we found this not only had no garden view, but had trees to within a few feet of the windows and little natural light. The hotel apologised and explained they had "upgraded" our booking to a junior suite (without asking us if we wanted this). Irritatingly, they could not give us a room we had booked for the second night - but they did give us a free breakfast. We would have preferred a view and a less modern room. Choice of a German cheeseboard at dinner would have been more interesting than being offered standard British/French cheeses, tho' it was a good Stilton ....

    Big room with very large bathroom. Friendly service. Good evening meal in restaurant. Good recommendation for a good German wine to go with meal.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel with excellent staff who did everything to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful hotel with excellent staff who did everything to make us feel welcome. Wonderful welcome for our dog as well including treats left in the bedroom. Very comfortable room and a very good meal with excellent service at the restaurant. I travel a lot and would have no hesitation in recommending it very strongly. We shall be back.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    10
    Nice and peaceful/restful, lovely grounds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice and peaceful/restful, lovely grounds

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    A very pleasant stay, wonderful charm and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good nothing!

    A very pleasant stay, wonderful charm and atmosphere. Food and hospitality very good , really very good! An interesting find!

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    Very good service, personel, restaurant was top.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good service, personel, restaurant was top.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    10
    The beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of tea or coffee making facilities in our bedroom

    The beds!

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    Wonderful food (Dinner) and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful food (Dinner) and atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.6
    very friendly staff and very professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    very friendly staff and very professional

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    9.6
    loacation & restaurat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not really bad, however the rooms are not the same quality as the rest

    loacation & restaurat

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    10
    A really remarkable place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None what soever!

    A really remarkable place. The restaurant is a charm in every respect.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: