Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schlosshotel Klaffenbach This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Wasserschlossweg 6, 09123 Chemnitz, Germany

#2 of 26 hotels in Chemnitz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 689 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.5
    It was a spontaneous booking as we needed something to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No big drawbacks! If you're only passing by Chemnitz, the added kilometres to reach the hotel could be a bit tiresome but since we were not in a hurry, it didn't matter to us. Breakfast has a good selection at first glance but the hotel could improve on the quality of provided food and coffee. Not sure how hot it gets during the summer as we arrived on a colder day - but the rooms are lacking air conditioning. I can imagine that the thick castle walls prevent them from heating up however.

    It was a spontaneous booking as we needed something to stay the night on a long journey. We booked 4 hours in advance and upon the notification that we're traveling with a toddler, a comfy baby cot was provided, as well as a baby towel and baby shampoo (!!). Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel itself is very pretty, with its rooms located in an old castle. There are photos of the renovation work that was conducted throughout the years and it was definietly worth it! Surrounding the hotel is a golf field which makes it even more fancy. The rooms are large and very well equipped, the bathrooms seem to have been renovated very recently.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Will come back if I will be nearby definitely!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay was too short :)

    Amazing castle adopted to be a hotel. Calm area, no noise. Very good wine in restaurant and extremely comfortable rooms. Cozy area around the hotel. Nothing disturbing you. Definitely I will come back to this hotel as soon as I will be close to this place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Magnificent and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is little bit dull. Beds are not that comfortable in our opinion.

    Me and my family love the hotel itself because of design. It is also surrounded with some activities and things to do especially with small children. The hotel itself is a gem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    The location,the restaurant and staff and the comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't very well signed,plus the access road was closed due to roadworks.Apart from that I would recommend it for a stay.

    The location,the restaurant and staff and the comfortable bed also the peace and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    This will now be my first choice when we next visit the area; I recommend it
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air-conditioning might be a good extra in these particularly warm conditions but I guess the majority of the time this would not be needed, and a fan was provided for us which combined with an fully opening window to peaceful countryside meant conditions were very bearable.

    Seamless experience in a beautiful building in lovely surroundings with delicious food; more than met our expectations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is located next to a golf course, and a park,...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was pretty underwhelming, and offered very limited healthy options. The staff wasn't cheerful (maybe a hard night's work before?) and I cannot really recommend this place as a good transit stop because the morning experience was pretty meh.

    The hotel is located next to a golf course, and a park, which provides for nice walking opportunities, especially if you travel with a dog or a kid. It's been rather quiet and I slept with my window open, maybe this is different for when the property has weddings/events? I can't tell. Parking is somewhat confusing but nearby, and the area is safe so you can leave your bags in the car, no problems.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Fun place with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one restaurant open and it was not child friendly, which was difficult for our family. I wish there were other food options available.

    This was a fun place to stay for a night with my children. They provided coloring books and a baby cot for my toddler and had complimentary candy for my older children. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and there was a full bathtub with complimentary bath salts. The large playground was excellent for my kids to play on after and before long drives and the parking was easy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one waitress that was fairly beastly, but she seemed to be the exception. Perhaps she was having and off day. The dinner menu items were decent but not exceptional. We ordered the cod fish with rice and broccoli,the grilled chicken with blue cheese, and the grilled marinated cheese. Of the three dishes the fish was the favorite.

    Gorgeous location. All the staff were good the, the front desk staff were especially kind and gracious. I love the furniture and spaciousness in the suite we booked. The suite easily accommodated 2 adults and 2 children. The front desk staff were accommodating and cheerful. The building and surrounding area is lovely. Next time we visit we may bring bikes to explore the local trails. The chicken salad ordered from the courtyard cafe was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allowing golfers to park cars in spots reserved for hotel guests.

    Everything else! Perfect hotel in beautiful surroundings. Comfortable room with modern bathroom. Tasty breakfast and restaurants in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel and friendly staff. I highly recommend!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We called the property to inform them that we would arrive very late (1:30am). This was no issue at all, the receptionist welcomed us very friendly when we arrived. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Our 4th stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearby road and motorway closures for roadworks. No diversion signs, Satnav confused, we should have had paper map too.

    Our 4th stay. Beautiful location. Very good food. Rooms updated since our last visit 2 years ago. We arrive after midnight due to flight times, always someone on duty and very helpful. They overlook our total lack of German!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Totaly enjoyed our short stay in Schlosshotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totaly enjoyed our short stay in Schlosshotel. Tastefully decorated, clean rooms, comfortable bedding, selection of pillows, very good breakfast and friendly, helpful staff - nothing else you can wish for. Absolutely recommend this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Elegant retreat with restful atmosphere and superior service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    We had late check in and someone was at the desk to greet us and check us in. Parking is free and is onsite. This location is in the country and they have 3 restaurants onsite. We went off season, but during peak season there is plenty of outdoor seating. We visited the silversmith artist and shop, the porcelain artist and shop, and the glass artist and shop! They also have a shop with candles and soaps and a toy store. We visited the art gallery in the restored castle onsite. We enjoyed the exhibits of the different artists. There is a lift for the floors if you cannot take the stairs. Wifi is available for free and we had full access in our room. The breakfast is fantastic with hot and cold food available including local cheeses, meats, breads and grains. The staff is friendly and helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant the night we arrived, it has a nice varied menu for reasonable prices. Plenty of places to walk and enjoy nature! Beautiful. Relaxing. Restful. Wonderful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Restful, romantic and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels were paper thin! - OK for one night but they were not up to the standard of the bathroom or room which were excellent.

    The situation was marvelous - hotel surrounded by romantic schloss with interesting upmarket small privately owned shops - e.g. silversmith (marvelous work on display), porcelain work, glassware etc. Restaurant in original cellar candlelit at night - rooms large and well appointed. Breakfast very good with lots of choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    10+++++
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is amazing, very special, very clean, very quiet, the beer is very tasty, the location is wonderfull, we’ll come back to stay here many days ...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was beautiful. My wife and I have travelled all over the world and this was one of the best values we have experienced. Everything was great.

    Absolutely everything. Starting from the greeting by the lovely lady at reception to the restaurant staff next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    The best accomodation in and around Chemnitz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best price/performance ratio around Chemnitz, super comfortable, nice and polita staff, clean, good breakfast, excellent dinner (this was not in the basic service included, however we enjoyed it with candel light, good wine and tasty food for reasonable prices)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    This hotel is excellent and a value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has so much character, especially the dining room. The guest rooms are very large and well appointed. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. We loved it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent and romantic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was bridge reconstruction so you should driving around to get hotel parking. But lady at reception gave map and explain how to do it.

    Good romantic place to stay with your family

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.7
    Inconvenient access and parking, but neat little castle next door (closed Mon).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road work blocked access, and no signs to help you. On checkin, staff gave us a map showing how to come in from the back (a very inconvenient trip through narrow roads). Once parked, you have to drag your bags over a fair amount of cobbled road to get to the entrance.

    Castle is neat to look at, but you're not staying in it. Breakfast buffet was decent, and served in a picturesque restaurant area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Definitely recommandable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really to complain.

    Beautiful breakfast hall, great variety of continental breakfast options. Ambiance in castle court and breakfast hall fabulous, rooms though, don't have similar "historical feel", but are very clean and comfortable. TV screen a bit small, WiFi free, but not always reliable. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Great place for visiting and spending a weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was great.

    The bedroom was cozy without being small, everything looked fresh and well kept. The location of the hotel itself is gorgeous, although a bit far from Chemnitz, itself is a must-see. Breakfast was good, and the restaurants nearby were also cozy and serving good food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel with elegantly appointed rooms and modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotty wi-fi, but it's not a problem, really, considering overall comfort.

    Very nice hotel with elegantly appointed rooms and modern style bathrooms. Perfectly clean. Wonderful breakfast. Nice staff. Highly recommended. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Romantic hotel between golf courses.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Problems with intertet connection.

    Romantic hotel between golf courses. Very claen. Convenient bed. Free parking. Rich and tasty breakfast. Delicious dishes in restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.3
    The stuff members were really friendly and it was a very...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the water when your showering is for my feeling not hot/ warm enough.

    The stuff members were really friendly and it was a very good service ! A quiet place also and a great location to jet close to the nature. They also welcome our dog and the breakfast was great ! I looking forward to my next stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Relax after full day of work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's my second visit there. I returned, because my previous experience was very good. This time again it was very nice. Hotel is very good located, easy access from motorway. Staff is very friendly and helpful during check-in. Room is large, good equipped, there is minibar with German beer and German wines. Wi-fi works fast. Restaurant need to be recommended. Very good dishes, staff can propose something, if you can't decide. Wine list is very interesting and contain wines from almost all the best German regions, so if you any kind of meat, you are able to match it with wine from country, you are visiting. Breakfast is also very good with large choice, including some typical German food. It is very good idea to spend evening and night in this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Super Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is Ok

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    nice place to stay more then one night
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice, quiet, clean hotel with castle design rooms and modern bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really liked the hotel facilities including the golf course. Excellent food and extra bonus the wine collection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful castle hotel good restaurant basic rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be improved (presentation of the buffet)

    The setting is fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice golfing area, castle and kids playground.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice golfing area, castle and kids playground.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Coffee machine or free water in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine or free water in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Atmosphere of dining hall.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking full due to golf event.

    Atmosphere of dining hall. Renaissance castle nearby. Kindness of staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Setting
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi no good in rooms

    Setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel with lots of character in beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the decorations, very comfortable beds, modern bathrooms, very clean and the setting is stunning. Perfect for families.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Clean, cosy, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms, no place for bags, no ventilation in the room.

    Clean, cosy, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Coffee during the buffet breakfast is served by the staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee during the buffet breakfast is served by the staff, and we ended up not getting one despite asking 3 times for it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Nice Location near by a golf course
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice Location near by a golf course

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Highly recommended .!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing ..

    Very clean room and Highly recommended. !!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Strongly recommended...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very satisfied and comfortable hotel like home... strongly recommended. !!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    FANTABBYDOZY
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to leave

    I liked it all, the food was execellent, the golf course was a lovely walk,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect! Another unexpected thing is, almost everyday you can meet with the wedding here!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.6
    Would love to come again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is awesome, it is really a special hotel. The rooms are clean and nice, the staff is very friendly and the food is great!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    6.3
    We have appreciated the restaurant with old vaults,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have chosen this hotel for two nights because of the advertised romantic atmosphere and superior rooms, not looking on the price (135 Euro/night) and despite the fact that it was 80 km from Leipzig, the city we wanted to visit. But to our big disappointment the view of our room (No. 104) included practically only roof of the adjacent wing on the left and big air conditioner of the kitchen and similar objects on the right. We have found it neither romantic nor superior.

    We have appreciated the restaurant with old vaults, atmosphere and good kitchen, and the chateau itself.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    I stayed there with my female dog as we joined the dogshow...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed there with my female dog as we joined the dogshow and we loved it there! Staff was extremely friendly, in the restaurant also. Hotel and room was beautiful and clean, we are definately coming back ;)

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    7.5
    Decent hotel, relatively close to the motorway to sounthern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was no free parking space close to the hotel, so we had to park some 500m from the hotel.

    Decent hotel, relatively close to the motorway to sounthern Germany. The staff is friendly and the rooms spacious. The breakfast buffet is good.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    We wanted to stay overnight between Dresden and Leipzig so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lighting in the bedroom was inadequate for reading.

    We wanted to stay overnight between Dresden and Leipzig so this quiet rural location was excellent. There was a choice of restaurants on the premises and the food was good. Breakfast was very good with cooked food as well as cereals and cheese/meat. We had a double comfort room which was spacious, had a sofa, comfortable beds and a big bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    4.6
    First of all the hotel was not prepared for summer heat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    First of all the hotel was not prepared for summer heat. The influence of the hotel staff over the waether is none of course but in the room there was 30 degrees during the night! No portable fans were even considered. What is the point of offering the sweets in the room as they melted? Moreover, there was bees plague. It was simply impossible to stay outside the hotel drinking or eating. Moreover, the bees were entering the room through the open windows so no comfort especially as I stayed with a baby.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.6
    Very good place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good place. Nice location among trees. Hotel is located in real Castle with all details needed. Room looks modern, but it is very comfortable. Minibar is good equipped - I recommend specially schloss herbal liquier. Very good breakfast. And good weather around.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    10
    excellent restaurant, comfortable rooms, very clean and tidy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    excellent restaurant, comfortable rooms, very clean and tidy, friendly and helpful staff, ideal for families with children thanks to playground, castle and horse riding establishment nearby, surrounded by forest and park land which is ideal for long walks

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    The strange beauty of the architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N / A

    The strange beauty of the architecture.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    7.5
    Great Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Castle on the outside only. Rooms renovated like high rise hospital. Think stainless steel and concrete not oak beams and stucco.

    Great Food

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.2
    food in restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Group

    food in restaurant

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    7.9
    Pleasant staff and easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was small and only had one tiny window so no views from room.

    Pleasant staff and easy parking. Enjoyed courtyard with views of the castle.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.3
    Comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast room under-staffed on Saturday so a long wait for hot drinks.

    Comfortable rooms. Plenty of hot water.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    10
    Nice, clean and confortable room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice, clean and confortable room; small gifts for kids; a huge bathroom with a huge bath - ideal after whole day in a car; delicious breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    6.3
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overvalued. Expected to see more castle-parts and elements in design.

    Good breakfast. Bath in the room.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Schlosshotel Klaffenbach traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: