Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schlosshotel zum Markgrafen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Wallstr. 96, 06484 Quedlinburg, Germany

#10 of 16 hotels in Quedlinburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 409 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, It was a good hotel.

    Staffs are very kind and friendly. Hotel locates just a short distance from Center of City and it is very convenient to walk around. Facility was new and well equipped.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little uncomfortable and it was weird that we had to pay cash when we got there, as the credit card machine wasn't working, that was a new one.

    Beautiful romantic castle property, nothing like it around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having spent a day in this hotel a year ago we dicided this year to modify our entire trip just to be able to spend a day in this magnificent hotel! The building is straight from a fairy tale- just beautiful (and the manager was so kind to give us a short tour through even the normally unavailable parts of the building). The staff was always happy to answer our questions and even provide us with maps of the city as well as advice and tips where to go and what to see. The other thing that draws us greatly to this hotel is one of the nices breakfasts we have ever aquainted in a hotel. It was of great taste and variety and we certainly felt relaxed and at home whilst it was served. We will be surely coming back as the hotel is also very near the city centre and may we say- Quedlinburg is a beautiful, beautiful city indeed with great charm and amazing architecture!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most rooms on the top floor, no lift. The carpet in the corridor is very old and stained. Standard in room was not quite 4 star (things missing, little details). Bar area always looked closed, the best room in the house to get a feeling of stepping back in time was locked, should be available to enjoy a drink and soak up the atmosphere. The grand entrance to the house is closed off, entrance is through small stairs which was probably the servants entrance. Booking a hotel like this is because we want to enjoy the features of the past, if not, it's not so different as lots of other hotels. Please bring the house alive.

    Nice house, decor gave us a feeling of stepping back in time, nice features. Breakfast was surprisingly good, our junior suite was very sweet, with a sitting area in the tower - to be recommended. Friendly staff. Onsite parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'cheaper' rooms are in the garret so a little dark and oppressive. I didn't find the hotel very comfortable and the rooms are a tad depressing. There was no sitting room area to relax inside the hotel and the outside area consisted of a bunch of plastic tables. There was no other option to sit in the grounds other than to lay on the grass. The bar area resembled a dungeon. It is very overpriced. I didn't see the worth in the room rate and the place lacks comfort and atmosphere. We actually dreaded going back there at the end of the day! It may suit the German traveller but if you are looking for a comfortable castle experience this isn't it. :(

    Really lovely helpful staff. Sauna room was nice. Breakfast was very good. Very, very clean. Excellent maid service. Lovely fresh linens. Eccentric owner pottering about. :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few more pillows would have been appreciated, as I enjoy reading in bed.

    The hotel is inside a beautiful lovingly restored turn-of-the-century, belle epoque style villa. The proprietor Herr Wobst lives on premise. He is delightfully engaging and made our visit very much welcomed. He gave us a tour of the house, throwing open the doors to its various superb reception halls and chambers. Guest rooms are on the second floor (by European count) around an atrium. We were greeted by a medieval armor placed in an alcove as one enters the floor. Our room had a very comfortable bed with a hand-carved Thai rosewood headboard. A small window framed by stained glass inlay looks out onto a historical watchtower that was once part of the city's defence. The bathroom is modern and stylish and has all the accoutrement one expects of a quality hotel. Breakfast is a buffet of rolls, muesli, yogurt, eggs, cheeses and patés and fruit salad. The villa hotel is surrounded by a sprawling garden with shady trees and stone paths. On the southside is a terrace overlooking the town. It's the place to enjoy a drink at sunset after a day of sightseeing. Since the hotel has only a few rooms, we were often the only people strolling in the garden, which made us feel like the lady and lord of the manor. We had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing weekend and definitely look forward to coming back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general, the decor was lovely, but there were a couple of broken things in our bathroom that could have easily been removed (hooks, etc).

    Views from the hotel are wonderful and the location is excellent. We enjoyed our room at the top of the castle a lot. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, which made us feel very welcome and relaxed. The breakfast was huge and when it was sunny we sat on the balcony. The tower next door is a must see. Perfect place to stay in this sweet and very quiet town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this place but walking up 3 flights of stairs did give us a workout.

    The breakfasts were amazing with freshly starched linens and lots of hot and cold options. The views from each of our two rooms were beautiful. The staff gave us a great historical tour of the house. In English!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a great place to stay! Yes, there are STAIRS but who cares, you get to stay in an awesome location, stairs are not going to kill you and the staff even carried our heavy luggage all the way to the top floor. We were given the history of the hotel upon arrival and even taken up top for some great photo opportunities. There is an awesome sauna and gym and even a bar to sip a drink and relax in. The room was fabulous and had a really comfortable bed. The hotel is located in the middle of town and we loved walking out and finding the pub to eat at. Breakfast was really good, lots of different things to choose from and a very attentive staff to wait on you. We have nothing bad to say about this place, it was fantastic. Thank you for such a great stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The scrambled eggs at breakfast were atrocious. Otherwise the rest of breakfast, staff and stay were good.

    Interesting atmosphere to say the least... Beautiful, grand castle home from 1800s from the outside, but inside charm has been lost. We had 2 rooms on the top floor (attic), both spacious, small single window and nice bathrooms. No elevator and many many stairs to rooms floors - if you're fit, you can handle it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - there was a floodlight aimed at our window which stayed on until 9am the next morning. The curtains were thin and white and did nothing to block the light. We called down to reception at 11pm to see if it could be turned off, and no one picked up - eventually it went to the answering machine. I don't know what you'd do if you were locked outside after 11pm if there's no one actually there to let you in... - there were NO curtains at one window. I definitely wouldn't recommend staying here in summer, the light would wake you up pretty early - when we arrived, we'd arranged to check in early, but the door was locked. So we went back to explore the town a bit, then at about 4pm came back to the hotel. We went to the entrance again, but the door was still locked. We could see a work station (with computer etc) so assumed it was the right entrance... We called and said that we were outside, and the receptionist hung up on us ("ein Moment bitte..." *hung up*). FYI: the entrance is around the left side - there was no sauna, despite being advertised (although we didn't ask, we got a tour of the rest of the hotel when we checked in so one assumes) - booking.com also states that there are complimentary toiletries - it's good that I didn't just blindly trust that and did bring shampoo etc, because other than bubble bath, there was nothing provided

    The breakfast was good. The hotel was very close to town, though until you have your room key you have to go around the whole property to get there. The whirlpool was good! (though when we put the jets on it smelled like it hadn't been used for a long time). It was very cool to stay in a castle though.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea/coffee facilities Carpet clean but marked Door very tricky to open No spare pillow in room (I like 2) No lift (although I knew this when I booked I had forgotten when we arrived at 9.30pm!)

    Staff stayed on duty until our late arrival Staff helped carry bags upstairs Very nice breakfast Good advice on where to eat when we arrived Easy access to Quedlingburg centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Well what's not to like it was more than what I was expecting, a old small castle like house we were on the top floor yes it was five flights of stairs but not a problem to us no lift maybe a problem for some but we'll worh the climb in the most beautiful large rooms we had booked two and they were fantastic clean beds all good, everthing we needed, close to the old town just a few minutes walk to lovely cafés, restaraunts beautiful buildings just loved this medieval town so pretty, well worth a look

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    60 steps up to room.

    Excellent breakfast, helpful friendly staff, historic building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very helpful. The location was ideal. Immediately adjacent to the old city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the change of season, the heating was not turned on yet so it was a bit cold.

    Nice sauna, sun bed and fitness room area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old castle with real character

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thank you - everything was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so unsuitable for people unable to climb stairs

    Good sized rooms with spa bath Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel receptionist not fluent in English

    Amazing: location, views, breakfast, parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tried to talk in English to us which was very good. Also enjoyed the tour of the castle

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi constantly dropped connection , at least in the top floor where my room was.

    The room was large and I liked it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We chose this hotel for the historic atmosphere but on the renovated floor where the rooms are there is very little 'castle feeling'. The rooms are modern with a tiny window and fake antique furniture. Good choice at breakfast, but no croissants. All in all a somewhat overpriced hotel.

    Nice location very close to city centre and free parking.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room on the 4th floor without a lift. Good for exercise, but sucked to carry bag. Squeaky old floor. Breakfast seemed a little limited, in a cold room.

    Stylish castle located on the old city wall of Quedlinburg. Excellent location. Secure parking next to the castle. Large room. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator. Best rooms incl. main entrance are with the owner (he is very nice and gave us a small tour through the building) . Our guestroom was in the attic and breakfast in the basement.

    Nice historic building and landplot, location, view, nice staff. Convenient free parking.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No elevator. A good work out if your room is on the top floor.

    Wonderful staff who were committed to good service, a beautiful house and perfect location. Breakfast was extensive and well presented and the efforts to restore the villa to its former glory have been highly successful. The views of the town are also beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I could not eat dinner at the hotel . I was guided the restaurants of other hotels. However, it was refused at that restaurant.

    The room is wide, clean . I was able to see the city of world heritage from the window .

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A lot of stairs to our room. No curtains on dormer windows which would have been aggravating in summer

    Good position in town, friendly staff. Good response to item left behind

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tired carpets and spots on carpet. Shower not perfectly clean.a touch of regal livfe

    Location, castle atmosphere and the staff. A very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My husband was disappointed by the fact that there was supposed to be a mini-bar, but there wasn't any in our room. Also no AC, so it was very hot.

    It's a castle in a fairy-tale like small town!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a word of caution: It took 5 stairs to get up to our room. No elevator. This did not bother me, however, some people might have an issue with that.

    Great bedroom with tall ceilings and stained glass windows, good sized shower and bathroom. Also everything was very clean. The owner was very helpful with taking our luggage up and giving us directions into town. The breakfast was fantastic. Great selection and service. They even lit the candles on our table when we sat down. Nice touch! the location is great as well, a stone's throw away from "downtown"

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi was down for 3 days av we were served an obvious bs story on why. Nobody spoke english, as was claimed at the website. Lawnmoving at PM 7:30 friday night with exhausts leaking into the room wasn't appreciated.

    The hotel is in an old 19th century mansion, lovely renovated and located 10 minutes walk from the city centre. Elegant rooms and adueqate breakfast. The staff always helpul and kind.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great Location, great views, extremely friendly staff. The owner had some great suggestions on eating places and was very helpful with any requests. He gave us a tour of the building quite impressive. The rooms were good with all necessary items except coffee/tea facilities but that was quickly rectified and an electric jug provided.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wi fi not working. Towels in room were worn. Scaffolding all round the building. Only accepted cash on departure due to "problem with card machine". Overall, quite 'tatty' not a four star experience.

    Very good location. Interesting architecture and history.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The badly marked bedroom carpet,the flies in the room and the two single beds pushed together.

    Our sitting room in a turret with stained glass windows. The room was warm and the bathroom quite modern and great views to all sides of beautiful Quedlinburg.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no lift.

    location. close to town centre.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staying at that hotel is the closest I will get to being royalty!! :o}

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Schlosshotel zum Markgrafen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: