Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schmelmer Hof Hotel & Resort This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schwimmbadstrasse 15, 83043 Bad Aibling, Germany

#4 of 5 hotels in Bad Aibling

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1237 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a stank outside of our room that was not so pleasant. The bathroom could also smell line this at times. The room was pretty old (but very clean). The receptionist that checked us in was not that nice. When we wanted to check out we asked to check out 1 h later due to the fact that our car had broken down and we had a 1 hear old baby with us. But the receptionist refused to let us even when we said thar we could pay extra. This is bad for a 4 star hotel.

    The best part with this hotel was the food. We had half pension. The 4 course dinners were something else. The best food I have ever tasted. The breakfast was also very very good. The spa and the pool were also very nice. There was also an outsidearea with sunbeds. The staff att the restaurant were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room felt dated and bathroom in need of updating.

    Staff friendly and helpful, spa facilities and food very good. Wifi robust and fast. Good price for the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything!

    Breakfast is very poor, the rooms are very old and the lighting is not pleasant at all. The staff was very unkind. The hotel is far from Munich for at least an hour. They were disappointed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel selection was based on good reviews in the internet, and if the hotel didn't have some serious technical problems, it would have been a pleasant place to stay. While the hotel, sauna, and restaurant were nice, the hotel room was "less nice". First, there was no hot water in not only our room, but all the rooms in the same block and in the sauna. Since there was no hot water, the radiators also appeared not to work. With night-time temperatures below zero in November, this made for a rather chilled room. Second, there was a high pitched sound that caused a serious migraine headache in the corridor that could be heard in the room, starting at 7pm. I would post a video of the sound if I could--it was recorded and played back to the hotel staff. The hotel staff then confirmed that there was a loud high-pitched sound, but stated that since they could not figure out the source, that they were consequently not responsible. In the end, we had to leave at 9:30pm since sleep was impossible and the sound was causing inner-ear pain. When we left, the hotel receptionist did not apologize, did not switch rooms, and demanded full payment, in addition to a lecture for bringing the problem to their attention. On a positive note, Bad Aibling is a wonderful place with one of the best Therme's in Bavaria with excellent prices (22 euros for full day) compared to Therme's in other more touristy places. Highly recommend a day visit to the Bad Aibling Therme. Will not stay at this hotel again and recommend others with sensitive hearing to consider alternative venues.

    The Sauna was good, even though there was no hot water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay with nice wellness facilities. Our kids loved the indoor play center located next door. And we enjoyed the food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Local staff is not well prepared for services. They prepared a baby cot for my 5 years old kid, however, baby cot is only usable up to age 1-1.5 years. There was no tea option in our room. The local staff solved it somehow, but they are not well prepared for these kind of requests.

    Breakfast was just OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's typically a shortage of tables at breakfast. Takes some time to talk to the centre of Bad Aibling or Therme Bad Aibling (~30 minutes).

    Plenty of free parking; nice saunas + pool; the free wifi is fast enough to stream tv/movies; nice restaurant+bar area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could have been warmer. It was chilly. Wish we had a water kettle in room.

    Away from the big city but close enough to go. Breakfast was good. Bed was one of the most comfortable ones i slept in , while traveling in Europe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a pity that the bar was closed on Saturday evening. After a long day of travel we wanted some drinks and the restaurants was fully booked until 8 pm.

    Good location, 10 minutes from the highway. Good restaurant and comfortable rooms. There are many rooms, but there were clear signs. Also you could find some interesting curiosa in the hallways. We didn't use the wellness area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor room. When I suggested it was the worst room in the hotel they told me there was one room worse! Very hot, no air conditioning, had to request a fan which didn't help much. Top floor, not served with lift and no help with baggage. Started clearing room at 9.00am whilst we were having breakfast and before we checked out.

    Good location near autobahn.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lady at the reception desk Very Rude from the beging for no reason...When asked for additional bed for the kid she acted even more rude. For sure that was not her best day.. No AC in our room, in the summer that's very bad. You can open the window but then you have room full of smoke from the people sitting and smoking on the balcony beside :/

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast was very stressed and overwhelmed with the people. It took very long to get a coffee ...

    The room was very clean and the set up very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning and it was very hot.

    Location. The room we occupied had a lovely balcony that had window boxes. A watering can was left on the balcony to enable us to water the plants. I thought that was a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is a bit small. The wifi works well, but only in the reception, in my room it didn't have signal.

    The hotel is nice, with a typical bavarian atmosphere. Good if you travel by car since there is an huge parking and it's just a few kilometers from the highway to Munich. Comfortable bed and spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO...elevators; had to carry travel baggage all the way up to the third - 3rd floor; room was under the roof, with dangerous walls coming out side wards, as well as the ceiling with potential head pumps!

    people friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far from downtown for a winter walk. The Wi Fi is limited and every time you need new password.

    Great breakfast. The spa is also very nice. Free parking. Very good place for business meeting.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, food in the restaurant for dinner was excellent. Staff incredibly friendly and helpf, especially as our German is almost nonexistent. Very beautiful area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurant a bit pricey but offset by room+breakfast rate

    Great equipment overall (bikes to rent, indoor heated pool, bar & terrace) Quiet place still within walking distance to city center bars & restaurants

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit dated. They clearly haven't been renovated in awhile but that did give it a certain char .

    The breakfast was amazing! It was very quite and relaxing here.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't investigate enough. Otherwise, I would have brought swimming ware for spa.

    Atmosphere was good. Together with staff. Although it was an single trip, I enjoyed a lot.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and facilities especially the spa, Pool and wellness centre. Very good meal and rooms are clean and modern

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean staff were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ,the staff were friendly and made you feel welcome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    you can feel r ally comfortable at this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the heating in the room was not working

    The breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, perfect room for family. Everything was as we expected. Personel very friendly and helpful. Definetly will visit again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice salad as we only wished a light evening meal. Staff very friendly in resteraunt.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, room, nice spa and sauna.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated but ok

    Pool area was good, breakfast was a good selection

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing its a very bad hotel

    The staff are extremely rude. They are strealers. We decided on a payment and then they wanted more.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great Spa and pool facility

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big swimming pool and nice sauna facilities Everything was very clean Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are basic but comfortable and clean.

    Big Wellness area and good food. Not overcrowded.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so friendly and nice. The hotel is very comfortable and clean. I was really impressed. Definitely i will come back again 👍🏽

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers are very small and not very ergonomic

    Nice entrance

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite, spacious room, I liked the dressing room and the balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best spa hotel I've visited. Hi quality SPA and swimming pool. Tastefully decorated. We had very good, relaxing time there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No place for dinner in restaurant in the evening had to head out to the village for food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was hot, no airco

    Great beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak Wi-fi, weakA/C, no reception after 23:30pm

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have much more choices and more organized.

    Amazing Pool! 5* Good place to go a relax

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Baby cots were not ready for us, room was difficult to access with babies

    Wellness, pool and saunas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    clean, nice property, as good as we thought

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Der charme der 70er....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    4 stars, but pretty close to have 5 stars. Excellent Staff and facilities. I will be back for sure.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no english directions anywhere except menu

    food

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Indeed, the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, big, clean and comfortable room. Very Good breakfast. kind and professionall personal .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    old structure with old bathrooms. Not deserved the 4 stars

    good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No thing

    Breakfast Room Staff Parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a lot of stairs it was so hard to carry the bags

    the breakfast , everything was clean "sheets and towels "

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the service at night and breakfast is sometimes slow

    the food was very good,room was comfortable and in a good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation in room was/is very poor

    Cleanliness and staff were great

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great sauna and indoor swimming pool open until late. Breakfast really good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no room service, mini bar, concierge service and 24 front disk

    I like all reception staff except the old women because she is not deal well with guests, stony and not care about hotel reputation. The restaurant staff theY are perfect and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have booked the single room option and the room, as well as the bathroom were extremelly small. But the receptionist was very kind and she changed the room immediately upon the request.

    Spa is perfect also the breakfast! Kind staff!

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just nothing,except a longer stay next time.

    Just fantastic, everything was just as I thought it would be. we werejust staying for one night,but had fantastic weather. thank you all (your team) for making us feel so welcome.!!!

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely hotel, great location . We were given a non smoking room but when we entered it the cigarette smell was overpowering. The staff were only too happy to apologise and move us. Great customer service. Food in the dining room was great.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to complaint about.

    Great service, great food, great location. Didn't have the time to check the spa but definitelly will do that next time.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got a really old fashioned, ugly room In the bathroom was no place to pack, not a single self or ledge...

    Huge TV in the room Clean and tidy Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had a really wonderful time in this hotel. All services very professional, good English. Their wellness is providing so much! Was really impressed... Would def come again!

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I regret to say this, because I really love Germany and its facilities the hotel very well organized, the staff has difficulty with the English language, the young ladies at the desk are disorganized and incompetent, uneducated ..... I hope that these few words will lead counsel ........ staff must be retrained !!!!! are not the first to write so .....

    very good breakfast and spa area ......

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Waiting time to be served an evening meal was far too long. (This is the second time this has happened.) After a long drive we just want to eat then go to bed.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent room, spotlessly clean. Very comfortable beds. Quiet location with good parking. Excellent breakfast. Dog friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bit surprised that even though we had booked double bed ...they allocated twin bed which was not convenient. Staff was not cooperative on this matter.

    Pool was good for family fun time. Breakfast was good with lot of choice. Staff there in the restaurant was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Top 5th floor (in the roof) family room was like a sauna and the elevator was not working - looked like it had been out for a while. Home-made shared WIFI almost unusable. Overrated at 4 star - more 2/3 star.

    Cute traditional design.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Many steps/levels to reach the hotel room from reception is making it bit hard with to get along with heavy luggage.

    Nice hotel and very friendly staff - really enjoyed the short stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Couple

    Room was extremely hot, no air con, it was barely possible to sleep at all. Furthermore it was not possible to open the windows because of the noise of the private party coming from downstairs. Also, the hotel parking was full.

    Breakfast was nice.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pretentious restaurant. Overdone use of antlers (coat hooks, door handles, even some chairs!).

    Would be great IF you wanted the "wellness" facilities

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff in all areas. Reception, resteraunt, wellness and cleaning staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The place including pool and wellness area is spotless.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    - Non-german speaker can be lost - there is sauna but it is hard to find, all labels / infos are only in German - Also restaurant has only German menu - Wifi tickets for foreigners hard to get - Could be warmer inside room (I enabled heating)

    - Pillow menu - Mineral water in the room

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Dining room a bit crowded. (Too many tables) Difficult to reach part of the breakfast bar as was stuck in a corner.

    Excellent food. (Evening meal especially was great) Friendly helpful staff Comfortable rooms Quiet location

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Having no wifi meant we could not look up what we planned to do. However we were compensated for this by very friendly and helpful man at reception.

    Excellent breakfast Great location Lovely pool

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The front desk staff are very rude and arrogant! They gave me very hard time because I booked using booking.com. I stayed abiut 2 months in Germany in so many different how els, this is the worst ever.

    No thing

There are also 42 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: