Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schmerkötter This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Auf dem Aspei 70, 44801 Bochum, Germany

#4 of 39 hotels in Bochum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 236 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Despite the several spots, in the room wi-fi signal was quite low, not always allowing decent data connections.

    Cosy and spotlessly clean hotel reachable from U-Bahn station by a 5 minutes walk. Staff friendly and very cooperative, takes good care of customers needs. Good choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good, the staff is very kind and the late check-in allows you to plan your trip without any hurry to do it. Is far from the center but we'll linked with U-Bahn that is 300m from the Hotel. We'llrn here for sure

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is unfortunate that there was nowhere nearby to eat in the evening (NOTE there are places 10min easy walk away), or even get a coffee. A kettle in the room would be a vast improvement. Only significant problem was that the sink emptied very slowly unless I completely removed the mechanical plug mechanism. The room was nicely decorated but a little sparse. It was nice to have it un-cluttered, but maybe some soft wall hangings - just to take the edge off the echoes. TINY downsides: Bed was quite low for my old bones (this may matter to some people) The blind let a SMALL amount of light to leak round - this might have been a problem for a recreational break in mid-summer

    My priorities for an hotel (i) Good for sleeping (ii) nice shower. In both respects this was excellent. (i) double doors so no noise from corridor, located in a quiet area with good glazing and a blackout blind. Very comfortable firm bed (ii) Shower was just as it should be. Nice flow and good temperature range + controllability, decent robust cubicle that actually kept the water inside, good provision of places to put stuff while showering. Staff very friendly, and a bowl of free apples.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no reception - for me ok, i do not need it but maybe for some travellers it is more important

    good location for those who visit Ruhr Universities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ruhe , Reinheid

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast, friendly service, very quiet and comfortable, the bed was excellent and so was the pillow

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed. Comfort &a private

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    Great staff, delicious breakfast, and excellent location for business with RU Bochum.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was great, will stay here again.

    Went on a business trip, had to go to the Ruhr Uni Bochum. You can get there in 10-20 minutes by foot, depending where you need to go precisely (huge campus). Did not go to the city center, so I can't tell you anything about the transportation, except that in 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel there is a train station. Also, next to the station there are several supermarkets, coffee shops, bakeries, bookstores and fast food stores, so you can get some take-away food with you to the hotel (breakfast only there, as far as I know). The hotel owners were very friendly and made me feel welcome and well cared for. Nice, spacey room, great heating! Was allowed to leave the car parked on site (for free) even after checking out.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Family with older children

    Quite and nice neighborhood, close to the Ruhr Bochum University campus. Nice place to stay for a business or a tourist trip. very pleasant and kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    We were travelling with our infant daughter but the hotel could not provide a baby bed, so we had to bring our own.

    It takes 10 mins on foot to get to the University, so that's great. There are a couple of restaurants and also a nice playground for kids about 5-10 mins on foot away.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wet bath towels were left by the cleaning personal as they are, and it was really unpleasant to use them the next day. the lady at the reception was ok, though still a bit rough and sometimes unwilling to help. for the price of approximately 60 Euro pro night (single room occupancy), at a place so distant from the city center I would expect more

    the room was ok, clean, everything rather new

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel didn't have a proper iron and ironing board, but they brought it from home for me to use, so that wasn't a problem. However, I think it is important that they have a couple of those for guests to use. There was WiFi, but ti didn't work in my room, only in the hallway.

    The stuff were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for me.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice and quiet neighbourhood, close to the University. The staff seemed very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room is clean and the surrounding is quiet. Staff is friendly and the room facilities are satisfying.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The carpet was somewhat old, making the room smell a bit stuffy

    Friendly staff, decent room

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice hotel owner! When we arrived late for the festival we were going to, she brought us by car. Perfect room.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The steep stairs no lift.

    Spacious apartment

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: