Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schöngarten garni This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schöngartenstrasse 15, 88131 Lindau, Germany

#8 of 42 hotels in Lindau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 456 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and quiet place for staying 2-3 days in Lindau. Free parking. Nice small garden. Elias is nice owner. He will predict all your wishes and make everything for your feeling good. Very generous and fresh breakfast. We liked carrot bread so much and he ordered it for us fot the next day of our leaving to Meersburg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful little hotel, not to far from the island. Great staff, clean rooms and comfy beds. The front desk was able to recommend some great restaurants and things to do around town. The provided breakfast was fantastic too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really good. Spacing parking, quiet and comfortable location. Separate thanks for the lift. Clean and well furnished room. Invisible and unobtrusive staff. Fresh and varied European breakfast. Wi-Fi channel speed was enough to watch films in HD quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there were cockroaches. I have killed two.

    the hotel located in a very quiet street up on the hill. enough parking space. the owner is friendly, I booked a single room, but it was upgraded to a double room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm not convinced we were given access to the full range of breakfast as it seemed that someone had the remains of scrambled eggs on their plate but there was no indication that we could order a hot cooked breakfast. That's the worst thing I can say because overall it was a lovely place.

    Lovely spacious room with wonderful shower. It had electric shutters which we discovered too late but would have been great to keep out the light but let in the air. We enjoyed sitting out in the garden in the evening and also chilling on the tiny balcony near our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While they probably don't need it most of the summer, air conditioning would have been nice during our visit as it was HOT.

    The hotel had the feel of an up-scale B&B. The owner was friendly and helpful. (Even when my daughter blew a circuit breaker at 10 PM.) Our room was very comfortable and thoughtfully designed. There were a lot of options available in the included breakfast. The hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood about a 5-minute drive from the island of Lindau.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all standard 2-person rooms are equal. On the first day we got room in the basement floor with old design and windows facing the ground. We moved to a better modern room next day, which was more like photos on booking.com

    Nice building, good breakfast, polite and helpful staff, beautiful garden, good view on it from the breakfast hall, large windows in the breakfast hall. Free parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a great place to stay when touring the Lake Constance area! We arrived early and were welcomed and shown to our room with no waiting. The room we stayed in was spotlessly clean, and although not luxurious, it had everything we needed to be comfortable. The breakfast is amazing, and the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. We loved our stay here and will recommend it to our friends. We can't wait to go back!! The only thing that could be a negative for some is the location of the hotel. It is about a 30 minute walk to the harbor. It's an easy walk - mostly flat and with sidewalks. We really loved walking back and forth to town and were happy to be in a quieter area. There are restaurants close by and an eis cafe is just around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed as a whole.Quite a long way from the center of Lindau. Whole floor carpeting :(. The staff was quite a disappointment.Upon arrival we asked about the center .Answer:" Quite close,just walk a little."We asked about buses :"No need".Actually quite a long way to the center along a not-so-nice-a-path.A bus would have been available 200 m from the hotel and with "Kundenkarten" a free ride!.Maybe the lady at the reception was in a hurry or really did not care about our questions? So not advised upon. At breakfast the landlord did not even greet us "Guten morgen" as he was chatting with other guests. Not interested about the occasional visitors from other countries we think.Quite expensive.and the bill was somewhat confusing.Included parking which should have been free- something about the citytax- hope not somethinfg fishy. We think better cost/benefit can be obtained in many Lindau hotels. But Lindau and Bodensee are extraordinary recommended,clean,beautiful etc.

    Quite clean.Parking in front.Peaceful.Breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    A hidden gem in Lindau, wonderful personalised service in an elegant house with a pretty garden. We really felt at home!so much to do in the area too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are a bit soft, but still good.

    High quality rooms. Good parking spaces. Nice breakfast. Quiet. You can walk to the old-city in about 20-25 minutes.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First night we spent in the basement with no A/C and high heat/humidity. Second night we got transferred to upstairs room, which was better but still no A/C. Great hotel during cooler seasons, but uncomfortable when hot and humid.

    Service was very good. Building was charming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoke from the smokers on the smokers balcony just next to our room came into the room through the open window.

    Nice and clean room. Friendly and service minded staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly, Rooms spotless , Lovely touch with Easter cake for kids

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely clean rooms, romantic place with very good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stuff! Great guest house! Room was new and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good breakfast, easy parking, spacious room. The owner is very helpful to give us travelling tips across the border to Austria and CH.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location, friendliness of the staff and especially the owner's professional attention to our comfort.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was good.

    Very friendly and helpful owners and a lovely hotel and garden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gluten free dietary catered for. Clean Friendly host Nice breakfast room with good choice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is good. Enjoy the long walk to Lindau.

    Great facility, nice and clean room, rich breakfast, nice garden, and free parking!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, good location a easy 20 minute walk down to Lindau old town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from the old city. You must drive there (or walk for 15-20 minutes).

    Very nice hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great!

    Lovely location; wonderful breakfast; friendly staff; beautiful room!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Breakfast amazing. Catered for my lactose intolerance. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit too expensive but it was high season

    wonderful garden and delicious breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly people, quiet place, nice room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Very nicely appointed and well maintained property. Everything was clean, neat and in its place.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Understand not typical in this country, but windows could use screens.

    Staff very accommodating. Breakfast options and quality good. Room, shower, bed clean and comfortable. Small grocery store located approx. two blocks and one street down. Reasonably priced and good German restaurant approx. two blocks walk. Free parking. Yard/property pretty with trees, flowers, etc.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    We arrived in Lindau in late afternoon so we drove into town from the hotel, though one could walk - it would take about 25-30 minutes. It was a fiercely windy day so that colored our experience of Lindau. But it is a beautiful place, of course. Our room was totally comfortable and quiet. The owner kindly offered to give us breakfast even though we got down after its closing time, because we had not intended to eat. But we had to get going to our next stop. The front and back garden is delightful!

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    furniture of rooms somewhat business-like (in contrast to the beautiful Jugendstil building)

    new and renovated bathroom (great); rooms very clean; very comfortable beds; everything quite new; very good breakfast, free parking, speedy internet

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of anything. This is a rare find!

    The rooms are extremely spacious, clean, and well-appointed. The location is excellent, a few minutes away from the island by car, with easy and cheap parking in the main areas in town and plenty of free parking at the hotel. I also appreciated that I could go ask the innkeeper for a Hefeweizen in the evening and take it back to my room. Breakfast is very good also. I found this location to be a great value and would definitely stay here again!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - a little bit far from city center, although in walking distance (approx. 20-25 min.)

    - very good breakfast - private parking - nice staff - very comfortable and clean room - nice garden

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    May be a bit too far away from Lindau Island for some people. We drove there and parked at the train station. Wifi not always reliable.

    Lovely big room with a great sofa bed for our daughter. Mattress very comfortable. Bathroom modern with strong shower head and large shower recess. We had a second door leading out to the backyard and parking lot. Delicious breakfast in the beautiful conservatory. Every morning on the breakfast table there was an information sheet with the weather forecast, ideas for what to do/ where to eat and some jokes (some good, some bad!) and saying of the day. Lovely touch and looked forward to reading it every morning. We also had a basic but very tasty dinner there one evening. Welcoming and helpful staff. Located in a quiet street with a terrific ice cafe within walking distance. Great base for exploring Lake Constance.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. All was great

    The rooms were very large by European standards and modern. The grounds were fantastic and we enjoyed sitting outside on the swing in the evening. The breakfast was very generous and delicious

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far away from the old city

    Breakfast was the best ever in European hotels. The breakfast news sheet was a good idea. Rooms were very clean and useful. I wish the weather was better and we could took our breakfast in the lovely garden.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No airconditioning there for it was noisy at night

    Location, Breakfest was wonderful . But the best part was the staff. Was given the name of a great Restraunt.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely winter garden breakfast area which overlooks a nicely landscaped backyard. Very quiet despite a full house. A friendly, helpful and considerate staff who do all they can to satisfy their guests' needs--- including an early breakfast for an earlier departure. A brisk 20 minute walk from the island. One can rent a bike from the hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Manager/owner didn't greet on arrival and grumpy throughout the checkout. Could even smile as he took the money

    Younger member of staff on reception brilliant and helpful

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel, lovely room filled with light, restful atmosphere, great breakfast, ample parking, easy reach to places of interest. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well appointed, clean, efficient and friendly hotel. The young receptionist was especially helpful with our wi fi problems and later made us a pleasant evening snack. Well done!

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no kettle in the room for making tea or coffee. Otherwise everything else is perfect.

    The bed and pillows are the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Also only a 10 minutes walk to the beautiful island of Lindau. You can hire bicycles from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast buffet was outstanding, the room was spacious and modern, with high ceilings, and the most comfortable beds! There is a pretty garden, and it is located on a quiet street...a bit hard to find, but worth it when you did!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A wonderful boutique hotel with plenty of charm. The room is classically furnished and spacious, the bathroom modern and immaculate. The staff solicitous and helpful - a great experience.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is a little far away of the city center, but just 25 min walking.

    The room was spacious with a very confortable bed and the bathroom was nice design and very clean and new. The quality of breakfast and atmosfere was very good. Parking good and included.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I would say it is a bit expensive but overall it is fine.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Steam heat a little slow.

    Super friendly staff, cleanest place ever, great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The entire experience was great. The staff was excellent, the rooms were marvelous.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Late arrival was no problem. Breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no bad experience there

    Bautifull hotel in a beatifull town

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Within a twenty minute walk of Lindau Island where there are plenty of restaurants and a lovely town to explore. Good parking facilities.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very helpful with directions and very friendly. Our room was comfortable and very clean. Lovely grounds, and a great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel Schöngarten is a lovely hotel with helpful staff. The breakfast was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good quality accommodation

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximity to the island! Breakfast was delish! Staff was attentive! Room generous in size, shower great! Cleanliness superb! Would def return

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very hot no air condition

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The island restaurants views

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room size, breakfast, hotel garden, free covered parking for motorcycles.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some members of the staff were not English speaking.

    The staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room fantastic, breakfast super, very well maintained

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful room, light and airy.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Not friendly stuff. Firstly they gave us room in the basement.

    Clean room

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the breakfast room and the garden. Staff goes out of their way to help you.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    very friendly owners, great location and the breakfast was very nice

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: