Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schwanen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Forststraße 6, 72250 Freudenstadt, Germany

#20 of 32 hotels in Freudenstadt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 141 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    A very comfortable stay in The Schwanen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Occasionally the chairs and tables outside where chained together through the day so we were unable to sit out and have a drink. I cannot understand why as the surrounding area is beautiful and all other restaurants and bars did not do this.

    Lovely family run hotel in centre of Freudenstadt. We enjoyed the traditional food in the Restaurant and the breakfasts were very good indeed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our bike was parked in a safe place behind the hotel. Lots to do in the area. If we had stayed longer we would have taken advantage of a travel card provided by the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Great Staff, great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little bit to soft for me.

    Breakfast is great. But, the most important is the staff, which was more than friendly and helpful, really, they are great! They received us late night, with hot meal (out of kitchens open time), and with huge smile! Very good location, hope to be back some day! THANKS for Schwanen Hotel staff!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Right on the edge of of the market square in town centre but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the edge of of the market square in town centre but away from most traffic noise. Good spacious comfortable room. Friendly helpful staff/owners. Clean. Good food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Good for Marktplatz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunate incident where a member of staff entered my room whilst I was inside. Apologetic and accept that this was just an accident but a bit disconcerting all the same...

    Location - very close to the lovely, vast Marktplatz square. Lots of shops/ restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location for expeditions into the Woods and cities and castle . City nice and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar facilities or cosy terrace. Shame but expected no elevator

    Location. Middle of town and Schwarzwald. Everything under one roof like restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in an excellent position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent hotel near railway station and town centre. Food excellent. Staff great. What more can be said. Ideal for touring the Black forest by foot, car or train. The 'Konus' card is great giving free, yes free travel on buses and trains.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.2
    It was a clean comfortable place to stay during my walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a clean comfortable place to stay during my walking holiday in the Black Forest. The staf were invariably friendly and helpful and I'd be quite happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    A very warm welcome from the owner.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very warm welcome from the owner. A really good restaurant in the hotel. Very clean,comfortable and quiet room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    In the middle of Black forest near good motorbiking roads.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work at room 19 (II floor and corner). Must go to the public area to work with it.

    Quiet room, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.1
    quite ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not sure if there is a night-club near by but it got very loud around 2am on Sunday morning :-(

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    7.9
    Around 5 minutes walk from train station, and just one...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have to lift my heavy luggage to the room at up stair.

    Around 5 minutes walk from train station, and just one minute to shopping area. Food at the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    4.6
    the location very close to the city center and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    my husband have payed for 30 qm room very design(like the photo on your web site and the leeflet in the hotel) and at the arrival it was a little room (12 qm), with an old decoration and a little bathroom (2qm) in brown plastic like an hotel formule one !!

    the location very close to the city center and facilities

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    Nice hotel, very helpful staff and nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of revellers outside in the early hours which kept us awake, but then again the hotel is right in the centre. Wifi poor. Nightmare to find without satnav and parking limited.

    Nice hotel, very helpful staff and nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    10
    Excellent food, close to station-200yds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent food, close to station-200yds. Nice hotel & staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast was exceptionally good in nice dining room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception area needs a smarter look

    Breakfast was exceptionally good in nice dining room. Wifi was good, staff helpful, well organised

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Breakfast, easy car parking, access to black forest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of noise coming from the kitchen downstairs

    Breakfast, easy car parking, access to black forest attractions

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    Clean, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean, spacious room. Great restaurant with wide variety of dishes available. Close to square but away from major highways running through town.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    Professionaly run with friendly approach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had to leave

    Professionaly run with friendly approach. Great hosts

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: