Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schwangauer Hof 3 stars

Füssener Strasse 113, 87645 Schwangau, Germany

#10 of 11 B&Bs and Inns in Schwangau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 514 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower doesn't have a curtain... It is the most hygienic way, but the bathroom may get wet when you shower

    The staff is the nicest I have ever met. Location is perfect, you can see the mountains and both castles from the terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, room was bright with no dark curtains, no WIFI(!!). Serious trip back to the 80s, 90s. Breakfast was fine but standard. No view, not what a hotel should be for me.

    Walking distance to the castle. Very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast starts at 07:30. I would have preferred a bit earlier. Not a lot of restaurants nearby, but if you don't want to drive, I'd recommend a 20-minute walk to Schwangau (sidewalk on the left side of the road). Nice view of the castles on the way.

    Nice staff. We got a lot of useful information.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillow were both very soft. Public transport is infrequent so probably best to stay in the hotel if you have a car. Nearest dining options are 15mins away if you’re walking.

    Staff is very nice. Room was big and clean with a very big balcony. Breakfast was simple but filling. Only 30 minutes walk from Neuschwanstein castle and in a very pretty area for cycling or walking around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 12; noise from traffic, curtains to small, smell in room, terrible mattress. No staff available between 20:00 - 07:00 hrs. ( was informed during check-in)

    Good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I missed wifi.

    The blond lady at the reception was really nice and advised us a lot about what to do in the surroundings. We enjoyed our stay for two nights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-fi, There was no ideal frequency in the toilet, normal breakfast but with diluted coffee.

    Excellent location, good staff, good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi fi at all and the front desk closes from 11:00 am to 3:00 pm

    The hotel staff are friendly and very accommodating. It is in a slightly remote area but with a lengthy walk you can reach an awesome little brewery called Schloss Brauhaus. The food was great and they have a band playing lively German music. Fun atmosphere but a reservation is recommended. If you walk to the corner you can see Nurschweinstein up on the hill it was an awesome value for what they charged. The breakfast is great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect for the castles, only 30 minutes walking. Our room was big and it was very luminous (it had windows on two sides of the room). The breakfast was very good. There is no wifi provided by this hotel, but there is one open wifi connection from the nearby hotel with very good speed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was shared between 2-4 rooms. Eggs during breakfast ran out so we didn't get any...it was first come, first serve. We went down to breakfast at 830 and they open at 730. Typical German breakfast: bread, cereal, cheese, ham, coffe/tea/orange juice, eggs. No wifi.

    Spoke little English. Upgraded to bigger room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was a perfect stay.

    We were warming welcomed by a lovely lady called Silvia. She gave us a lovely room with a view to the castle. The room was so nice and spacious. Breakfast was simple and yum. Loved this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was plain, there were boiled eggs, salami, cheese and jam.

    The room was very clean and it had breakfast included. Its close to Neuschweinstein Castle and you get a 2€ discount when you purchase the tickets for visiting the Castle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a family room. It had two bedrooms which we loved. Also the bathroom was outside of both rooms. Staff very friendly and helpful. The staff also emailed about changing my room arrangemnts since we had young children. This made the cost less than what we had originally booked. Thank you! We would stay here again. So cute and German.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic breakfast. No supermarket and only one restaurant in the neighbourhood, which is good to know on beforehand.

    Good rooms and late arrival is no problem. Helpful staff when around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think staff upgraded us to a bigger available room as we were travelling with a baby. Baby cot was all set for us even if we asked only a few days before our stay. We got a room with a view, on THE Castle (Neuschwanstein it was. Far away but still gorgeous!!) Staff was very friendly in any way.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced for what you get - just the basics. The bed was so soft and worn, both singles need replacing. There was no lounge area and the reception is closed between 11am & 3pm. The location is not good if you do not have your own transport, the breakfast is adequate only.

    The hotel looks attractive from the outside, the receptionist speaks English and is helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift going off at night. Breakfast choices quite limited.

    We had a room overlooking the castles with balcony. Excellent. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. very friendly welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main receptionist (owner) was not bery hospitable but did give information. She did not mention that restaurants close so early in Schwangau and did not recommend to reserve a place. There was no wifi and it was not explicitly mentioned at BOOKING.COM and we missed this information.

    The breakfast was OK. not exceptional. no vegetables.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very out dated and needs some attention. The breakfast was not good, the eggs were burned and cold, the coffee tasted like it was week old and there was nothing fresh or worth eating. I would not recommed staying here unless your on a very tight budget or you can find no other accommodation in the area

    The Staff was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioner / Keine klimaanlage, so you have to open the window / door when it is summer, and then mosquitos might be a trouble while you try to sleep...

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Location is the best for lakes and important castles. A lot of mountain's things to do. Fussen is very close (3-4 km) and i think this is the heart of the region.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wifi. Poor breakfast.

    Quite cheap hotel with really kind and accommodating personnel. Location is great to visit Neuschwanstein Castle. Ok hotel for staying over night.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No internet connection, no fridge, don't wait for a hot breakfast.

    Location is super, not far from castles, nice view to mountains. Comfortable rooms with big balcony and everyday cleaning.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building and surroundings! Easy parking. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not have wifi--for modern vacationer, wifi essential

    adequate beds, good breakfast, good price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was quite basic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no Internet at all in whole hotel, limit time for check in, only from 5pm to 8pm

    clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy, main street in front of the hotel

    nice surrounding

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant at the property.

    Breakfast, view, rooms, proximity to Hoheschwangau: walk able only in summers

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very freindly and helpful personnel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable. I felt the springs from the mattress.

    location was great, clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was really outdated.

    Dinner at the nearby Schlossbrauhaus Schwangau (Don't miss it!) and morning walk around the lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Internet.

    Very clean. Nice owner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say

    Location perfect for visit to castles

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no curtain in the bathroom, so a lot of water was spilled around

    Very friendly and helpful personnel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Super staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Is a beautiful little hotel in a beautiful area, very nice room and staff were incredibly helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No rooms for families. We had to stay in separated rooms.

    Excellent service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the fact that the elevator was shut down at 8:00pm.

    Breakfast was excellent. Family bedroom was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location is fair, next time i would prefer to hotel in Fussen.

    park is fine. not too much cars, big space to park.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed only for bed and breakfast - friendly staff, nice rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely views and nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor and bed spreads were a little "tired" looking but all in all good value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture/equipment

    Nice breakfast, nice view from room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi

    Good place close to the castles, clean and good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Everythings it was ok

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reasonable price and great location. Staffs there are really friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was simple, little choice. Very poor sound insulation, hard to sleep

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location,breakfast .Everything is perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet connection

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price high for the quality

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel didn't have any Internet at all. 2 sleepless nights due to a lousy pillow.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of Neuschwenstein castle. Bavarian like feeling.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WiFi. Lift did not work in the night.

    Nearby the best castles of Europe

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location. The property is very close to Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles. There are restaurants / eateries not far away.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location is very good on the main road.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spot to stay when seeing the castles, very close and relatively cheap

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi! And previous guest's panties in my room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wifi.

    Good location. Easy parking. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pretty basic but all good.

    Great location. Clean. Awesome value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady at check out was very harsh.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi on site can be inconvenient.

    Friendly and helpful and staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived for breakfast at 8:15. Eggs were cold and staff refused to make more. Mediocre.

    Nice pleasant checkin/out

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Brigit and Annie made us feel most welcome. It was as if they were inviting us into their own home. We felt very comfortable. Will definitely be back :-)

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed mattress is awful, as well as the smell outside of the hotel. My back is still hurting today (3 days later...) An experience not to repeat.

    The breakfast was ok and the staff was nice.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although breakfast was tasty and nice it was of a very limited selection. I wish there were some pastries such a nice warm croissant and some nice cakes. I am not an egg and bacon person in the morning so I would like something more continental. Some fruit would be also good to have and some yogurt. Also there was no wifi available unfortunately.

    We got there and the hotel owner was very polite and friendly and told us what to do and where to go which we appreciated a lot! The room was spacious, clean and warm with a castle view! Location was fab and close to everything!

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi. It would cost them very little, and would encourage more bookings, I'm sure. Located on main road, but no shops nearby.

    Location near Neuschwanstein was good. Room was good, with large balcony. There were a couple of restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mil

    From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. ( Hansie) gave us a tour of the property and then let us go about our own thing. We made our way to Sammy's Bar and had a great evening, with Hansie supplying snacks etc. Breakfast was great and checkout was laid back and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Couple

    Hast are not aloud to smoke on the room. Correct so far. But staff is smoking outside but under our window!!!!!!!!!!! Smoke in our room. Also very unfriendly is the in check time. There is already not much service.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ceiling was very low and we kept bumping our heads, it was an extremely hot room with no air conditioning and no fan. We had no room and the tap was glued together. All in all not very comfortable.

    location was great

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No WiFi connection, but we picked up neighbors hotel wifi and we did ok. Facilities is old, but kept nice and clean. Front desk closes during the day.

    Beautiful view of both castles and breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had asked for a ground floor room, because my husband was unable to climb stairs, but when we got there we were told the ground floor was going to be taken up by a group! The lift stopped operating each night at 9 o'clock which meant having to be back in the hotel before 9 each night. Also, we were asked to park at the back of the building because a coach was expected and they needed the parking space - resulting in a longer walk for my disabled husband.

    view from our room was lovely, mountains in the background.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel, in a location that requires a fair walk to the Castles and the town of Fussen,but very peasant.Clean, comfortable and a generous size rooms with a great bedding and bathroom facilities.Staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is a continental style and pleanty of it.Excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Poor brakefast - Too much noise from the corridor and neighbour rooms - Socialistic style inside - Not comfortable materaces - Bath too small to take a bath and no cabin to take a shower - At our night it was full of Chinese - too laud, too crowded - They don't accept non-german maestro cards

    - Very good location - Nice and proffessional receptionist - Clean

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very old structure, very poor bedrooms' furniture and facilities, limited choice for breakfast.

    great location to visit the Kings' castles and avoid queues

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: