Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schwarzenberg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Talstrasse 24, 79286 Glottertal, Germany

#2 of 11 hotels in Glottertal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 725 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is close to the road so can be a lot of noise through the night.

    Facilities were fantastic. Particularly the pool and restaurant for both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the swimming pool gave no opportunity for non-swimmers or beginners. The breakfast sometimes had a waiting time for refills such as bread, rolls, orange juice and milk.

    The swimming pool was an attraction for confident swimmers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and relaxation area was fab, rooms are big and beautifuly designed. Breakfast is great, big selection. Staff very helpfull and friendly. Strongly recommend👍

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The choice of food at the restaurant is rather limited and it offers mostly potatoes and not many vegetables options.

    Great spacious family room, great pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad Wi-Fi connection, no possible to have a Skype call

    Amazing hotel, everything perfect, nice, cozy, great view, spacious clean room and bed, nice breakfast, nice people, definitely coming back

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative thing was that our eyes were disturbed by the strong light bulbs in the dining room. Otherwise we found it super!

    The staff is very friendly and creates a homely atmosphere. The kitchen is great and the breakfast buffet satisfies "young and old". Nothing is far away and this helps also to get this family feeling!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were with the two of us but there was only one chair in the room. The sunbed on the balcony I would not use anymore. The price is high for a 3 start hotel. It would have been nice to have had fried eggs and bacon for breakfast.

    Friendly personnel and efficient. Clean room. Good bed. Bathroom ok. Wifi ok. Parking place on the opposite site of the street of the hotel. Enough room also for big cars. Our room was at the back facing the mountains with a nice balcony. In the summer would that would be nice, although right downstairs is the public terrace, might be noisy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Nice hotel in the Black Forest, close to Frieburg. Very good breakfast. Room was large with very comfortable bed. Room had a large deck over looking a creek. Nice bar to get a beer be fore dinner. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff.The room was excellent as was the food. This was a stopover on a motorbike trip from Greece to London. The Hotel exceeded my expectations. I would recommend it to anyone going to the region.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea / coffee facilities not supplied in room.

    The hotel was in a lovely setting. Very nice to sit outside and have a drink. The room was large, modern and very clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our night at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-days offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The food,dining along the river, the beautiful garden and terrace, the typical, extretemely accurate style of the l, the peacefullness of the surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was hot with only one portable air conditioner that had to be emptied regularly throughout the night.

    Traveling with 5 people and required two rooms. One room was on the 3nd floor and lovely with a balcony facing the river. The other room was on the 3rd floor in the attic space and has lovely views as well but was very hot and humid with only one air conditioning unit which did not sufficiently cool the room. The restaurant was excellent and the facilities were very good -- pool and spa very nice. The hotel is located a short walk from town and lots to see. I would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huge room, modern to a high spec. Nice spa and pool and brilliant outside eating area. I had to double check the room rate I was paying as it was great value for money. The town of Glotteral is really nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not covered adequately and there were small flies everywhere. No fans or air conditioner in rooms.

    Rooms were very large, the beds were very comfortable and the shower was good. Plenty of safe off street parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    they need to have to go cup for coffee

    the stuff were so nice. They speak good english. They are so organize . very nice people. We arrived late at night and i emailed her before, she was so nice, and left me my key outside. Very pleasant experience .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that would of made our stay better, would be if it had snowed. But even the hotel couldn't make that happen.

    The hotel was excellent, looked modern but cosy. Pool was great. Breakfast was a good selection, couldn't fault it. The room was perfect for 3 people, my daughter had her own tv, and we had adjustable beds. Very cool

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pool: a little bit cold and not very large not accessible by wheelchair

    room: spacious and clean breakfast: excellent, with local product restaurant: fine, with local product

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect

    Perfect room with balcony and magnificent views. Modern but mountain style decor. Everything you could wish for on the room and terrific food. Breakfast only 4.5 euros best ever. Altogether brilliant. Even helped you with luggage to room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. I loved the place.

    What a lovely place to relax. Small spa and pool but all very clean, quiet and relaxing. The food in the restaurant was superb. Eating next to the river is lovely. The breakfast is excellent and massive. The room was quiet, extremely clean and again, very relaxing. It was lovely to unwind sat out on the balcony after doing business in Freiburg. A lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On main road leads to traffic noise at peak times. Back of hotel Terrace area could do with a clean after the winter and recent rain.

    Friendly staff, good food with plenty choice. Excellent area, easy commute around the beautiful Schartzwald region. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bad wifi connection

    Wellness and swiming pool (y)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little noise from road with open windows

    Breakfast, staff, swimming pool, free parking, clean large room, nice location for black forest tours

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3-days offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meals in the restaurant were exceptional

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3-days offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely facilities and location brilliant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-days offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the half board. Great food! Also, lovely balcony looking out over some fields and Black Forest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-days offer - Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Weak wifi in the room!

    Super Breakfast, great location, a place to relax and enjoy nature! Highly recommended for families!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside dining area along the creek. Great staff. Nice lounge and pool area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. I'm sure I will book this hotel next time, too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is so beautifull and very comfortable to travel around. The hotel itself is great. Very warm and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    The room was nice and comfortable. The hotel staff were exceptional!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at this Hotel with wife and 2 kids (13+9), in a very nice family room. Everything is very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Excellent hotel with welcoming hosts.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If visiting Glottertal or area, this hotel is a great place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal in the evening wasn't that nice. Not a lot of possibilities.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had to renew the wifi passwords during our stay, which was a small nuisance. There was no safe or mini bar in the room.

    The staff was very friendly and accomodating, the restaurant was excellent and overall the hotel offers a relaxed, modern atmosphere, with an updated take on the German Gasthof. a very positive experience!

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superb Hotel, very clean, excellent food, fantastic breakfast, beautiful village on the edge the amazing Black Forest region. Great place to stay and explore the region. Highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All good

    Friendly staff, great food. Beautiful festive decorations. Nice spacious room with generous balcony. Spa facilities were great. Breakfast was lovely and the lady that served it was jolly and friendly. .All in all a very restful and enjoyable experience.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very polite and helpful staff; the room is clean, spacious and very nice; we enjoyed the heated swimming pool and sauna; view from the hotel is fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    kind staff, beautiful room, lovely atmosphere and interior, nice swimming and sauna. A lovely breakfast and a very good kitchen preparing lovely dinner, beautiful area and close to Freiburg.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The kids bagged the double bed before me so I slept on the sofa bed. It was a little hard for my back.

    Always friendly and helpful service...wonderful food....stylish decor, a charming hotel. This is my third year and around my fifth time and I am always impressed with their high standards..i.e. ..this October they remembered my son's birthday from the year before and so the breakfast table was accordingly decorated. So thoughtful....for me it's such gestures that contribute in making this hotel so awesome. It is always my favorite place to stay when we have Europa Park plans with the kids or simply to go wandering in the surrounding Black Forest. The beautiful vineyards and walking tracks close by compliment the hotels' location. I will be back! Thankyou again for a great time

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Can you please get English breakfast tea for us English. Very small request. The earl grey is ok though.

    Everything. Superb hotel and very pleasant staff. Great breakfast and thank you for having gluten free bread freshly baked.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No english speaking TV channels... The room was not fully cleaned every day No electric kettle to have coffe or tea in the room

    Glottertal is a beatifull village, the view from the hotel is superb The room was big and comfortable The breakfast and dinner were very good Very close to Freiburg

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to dislike

    Lovely warm greeting on arrival, hotel spotless and terrace area beautiful, the staff were all very friendly and helpful (even let us keep out black forest ham in their fridge), and breakfast and dinner were outstanding. Will definitely be back.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely hotel, great location and breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Only small complaint is that there was no aircon so our attic room was stifling hot during the day. Probably not an issue if not in the attic level and of course not in winter. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The free wifi doesn't work in the room, only in the common areas of the hotel.

    Our big family room was in a new part of the hotel and had a very appealing smell of new wood, even the sinks were made of wood! The pool/lounge area is very nice and kept tidy.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have been nice with air condition with outdoor (and indoor) temperatures above 30C.

    Very friendly staff Outdoor restaurant is romantically located close to the creek. Good breakfast Free parking

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was not to impressed with the food from the restaurant ..except the breakfast.

    The hotel is clean. Very friendly and helpfully staff. The breakfast is very good. Nice outdoor setting, next to a little stream and opposite a tree covered hill. Swimming pool and sauna area very nice and well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing to note!

    The location was great, the staff were great, the room was outstanding and so was the food......one of the better places we've ever stayed at

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to report

    Great for kids and located not far from Europa Park, if you plan to go there. Hotel located in a small village with easy access to auto route.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dinner at the hotel's restaurant was awful, really wish we'd eaten elsewhere. No slippers provided with bath robes to go down to the pool. Room lacked drinking water and a fridge.

    Loved the room and swimming pool. Breakfast was great too.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My Room had a balcony overlooking a stream, which is exactly what I have at home in Snowdonia, Wales. The staff of the Hotel and people of Glotteral were very helpful and friendly and their English was very good, which was a great help. I will be staying there again.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    EVERYTHING

    NOTHINHG

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Children slept in a 'sofabed'

    Excellent location Super friendly Very charming Excellent sauna and pool Real vacation feel

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Place and the staff is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The swimming pool and the sauna were great. Super friendly staff. Very good food.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bad quality of internet access. Bad staff service.

    Good kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff. The pool is a bit small but good for smaller children. Good sized rooms with modern bathrooms.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely helpful and cheerful hostess. Hotel in excellent location outside of Frieburg to explore the Black Forest.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly helpful staff, lovely dinner and excellent choice for breakfast. Had a refreshing swim in the pool after our long journey.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor WIFI, Cleanliness of bathroom

    Friendly staff, Boutique feel to hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning in rooms

    Friendliness, food and balcony restaurant area

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Individual property. Bright, modern, comfortable decor & furnishings. Excellent hosts. Lovely infinity pool & Sauna Good dining

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice location in Black Forest region!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no easy connection to WLAN

    terrace for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful hotel with friendly staff. Facilities excellent. Food delicious! It's a very easy trip by free public transport into Freiburg.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice view near the river

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not good for families with young children. Be aware that walls are very thin and there might be very rude other customers around you.

    Beatiful nature.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything OK

    As said, good +

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personal care, clean comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The soup was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Part of the staff - felt some preference for local guests, indoor pool not warm enough, WiFi signal

    Food was great, breakfasts and dinners, sauna,

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were wonderfully welcoming and accommodating. The pool and dry sauna were both divine! What a wonderful experience!

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Family with young children

    nice staff, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving

    Food - Dinner superb Breakfast excellent Cleanliness Location Quality

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: