Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schwarzer Bär This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Falkenstrasse 2, 30449 Hannover, Germany

Review score

Based on 615 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was to small for 3ppl with a provisional bed and the matress where not so comfortable.

    The hotel itself is nice, very good breakfast and super well located close to the station and very nice area full of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, an old apartment style housing with good breakfast. Good roadside view from the restaurant and from rooms. Good eating places close by, easily accessible by train and bus. Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, an old apartment style housing with good breakfast. Good roadside view from the restaurant and from rooms. Good eating places close by, easily accessible by train and bus. Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly dowdy feel to room and foyer. Street outside was noisy and kept me from sleeping well. Not a very pleasant district either.

    Low-cost accommodation in Hannover. Easy walk to a U-bahn stop with direct link to city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tram is 2.5m from building doesn’t stop until 2.3am then wakes you up at 5.30am as it vibrates & is so lound if I had the money I would have gone to another hotel. I had a pet that when I arrived they charged 30% extra oon my invoice for cleaning , they never cleaned my room & no new towels all week. A lot of the time there was no toilet paper. If you needed to contact the hotel they never answered after they had taken payment. I stayed in more than 30 basic hotels a year & this has been my worst experience

    It’s location, bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was supposed to check in at 2pm, and when I eventually arrived at about 4.30, tired and desperately needing a shower, the room was not ready and I was suggested to kill time hanging out in the neighborhood. The staff was nice and very busy, the problem lies with the planning, rather.

    Friendly staff, convenient room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't recommend this hôtel. The building looks old and smells bad in the corridors (dust and cigars ) even though my room was clean, but cold. Internet is advertized on booking.com but it seldom worked for me. There was no breakfast properly speaking- what you get is a 5 euro discount at the close-by bakery. Which is fine except that one morning i did not get the discount card so had to pay for myself. Another minus is the staff: i went to the reception at 10am and no one was there. In brief i shortened my stay at this hotel. Try to avoid it! It is not worth it's price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was extremely noisy from the street. Constant traffic sounds. However, the most disappointing item was the "airport shuttle" as shown in their amenities. When I asked about it, I was told to use the taxi stand down the street. That resulted in a $50 taxi fare! I would have been better off staying at an upscale hotel at the airport. I also had no way to safely leave the keys in my early departure as there was no one at the desk at 6 a.m. and no safe drop box. As an aside, the manager almost immediately remarked how he hate Obama which seemed inappropriate. Poor customer relationship.

    The room was clean and the bed comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pictures were too good compared what the reality was. Place looked like 70's and not renovated. TV didn't work well. Breakfast was on corner bakery, not at hotel. Bakery was good though. Internet connection was only 1 h at the time. Room price was not high, but I expected more cozy place.

    Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, the sound of traffic, the bass of a night club and people shooting in the street at night (3 am) could be clearly heard.

    Good breakfast, plain and decent rooms. Friendly staff. Small elevator. Public transportation, supermarket, restaurants and lunchrooms nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be prepared that bath and toilet are in corridor, so they are of common use.

    The best place if you need just to spend a night or two. Nice breakfast for 5 euros.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Terrible hotel ! You can hear your neighbours (when they go to the toilet, when they draw their curtains, when they talk...) and what happens outside. Smells like old cigarettes in the bedrooms and hallway. They increased their prices to benefit from the annual CEBIT Fair. Had no choice as everything was fully booked but it is very dishonest !! I do not recommend !! They should think of refreshing up the place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - sometimes hot water supply not stable.

    - Good breakfast variety of choice - Convenient location just 2-minutes walk to light railway station, and just 3 stations away from city center - Helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nobody on reception before check in hours so had to drag bags around for several hours before being allowed in

    Service good generally as were the rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The payment caused a lot of trouble since their system was down or something and they couldn't process he transaction and a friend of mine who luckily lives in Hannover had to go there and pay them in cash which was very inconvenient. - The water in the shower room was really cold the following day of my arrival and I couldn't take a shower.

    - The location was really superb, near the supermarkets and Tram station. - The room was cozy, clean and comfortable with a nice view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    this is not hotel . maximum this is a hostel for students. the rooms are small. my bed was for single but he must be 12-14 years old not fat .also very smeel. there are no air condition in the rooms so the man from the reception gave me small ventilator. in my room there was only two good electric outlet and two no works so i went to shop and i did buy a devid for 3 cables and ventilator. i been there 6 nights for working and after 3 nights i ask for change the sheets bed and after that they change it if this hotel want to work with booking it need to improve

    the location is great. close to the buses and train also close to the river and gardens. small restaurants are arounds also super markets. the breakfast was simple but very good

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paperthin. You hear everything what people in next room or in corridor speaks. Ubahns are noisy. Wifi didn't work very well.

    Walking distance from city centre. Ubahn-station, bakery and supermarket are very close. Clean room, where is also big closet and sink. Two bathrooms in corridor.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was extremely helpful and friendly. : )

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy part of town during the night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I find that they are no breakfast at all in 3 days because the breakfast room was closed during my stay. What's happened to breakfast facility ?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room Very dirty room and smell around. No WiFi and for breakfast was sent to nearest caffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude towards us

    The manager was very good, but other staff was rude and racist towards us. The room was ok and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location. Easy access to Train and Bus

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get there GD transportation option

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 1970/80s style

    German breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to like...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    location in center of the area, served by restaurants and supermarket by walk, taxis and Train area is quit and safe

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Centrally located. Frindly staff. Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi

    Breakfast was great! Good location and kind personal! Recommend!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    rooms are very basic

    close to all transport and city centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself looked poor and it was expensive for what they give you.

    Breakfast was good!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service

    Its location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    poor wifi, Thin walls- noise from the street, next rooms, from the corridor...

    good price during the Hannover Messe-only one reason to stay here

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Very clean and very nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my first trip to Germany.and in comparission with other hotels in other countries that i traveled,was so poor!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    They changed offer with cancelling breakfast.

    The room was clean and relax.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception closed by night and bad english speaking but the guy was nice....

    Did not sleep there... we left middle of night

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom and the fact that there is not reception.It was like home stay,

    Access to central station

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    only one person works in the hotel and he doesn't speak English good, the room was cold and the WiFi was very slow

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfest

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to complain considering the price

    Reasonable place for staying a couple of nights, not hard to find a parking spot nearby

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is just beside the main road, there is little vehicle noise but not that bad. Buffey breakfast is served, but there is not much option to choose.

    Very clean and room are big and comfortable for single person. Its really worth for the price. Would recommend for people to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is possible the worst hotel I have ever been. And since it has also been one of the most expensive (250 $ / night / person), the final conclusion is that there does not exist a quality standard low enough for Schwarzer Bär Hotel to qualify for it. It stinks, from the very first minute you put a foot on it to the moment you leave; walls are thin; public bathrooms disgusting; your private bathroom, if you can afford it, tiny as a shell & disorganized; the staff is gently enough to give you a couple of hand towels for you and your whole stay, which, with some hindsight, may indeed tell you a lot about how this hotel value cleanness and, therefore, explains well the all-encopassing odor of the building; your bed will probably be broken; and if you happen to be slightly tall you better take your mattress down to the floor and sleep on it; finally, I have seen crooks with greater empathy and client-engagement enthusiasm than the guys running the desk. Breakfast I could not have it so I decline to comment on it. Perhaps they excel on it. With my greater intellectual honesty, dear unknown reader considering lodging options in Hannover, do not go to the Schwarzer Bär Hotel.

    Conveniently located.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room 301 was smelling humidity , it was completely disgusting even i spray air freshner , it wasnt even solution for it, Room Furnitures are too old .. Shared wc and bathroom was always dirty when i was there...

    Location is good, just 3 stops from city center.. Breakfast is reasonable...

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smallest room I have perhaps ever stayed in. I booked a single room with a shared bathroom which was decribed as a "student room" when I arrived. There was a wash basin, but the room was really small.It was the last one and only booked 24 hours before so beggars can't be too choosy.

    Great location, decent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Horrible! The hotel simply cancels breakfast and sends you to a shop nearby with 5EUR voucher! Good luck in the freezing morning. Breakfast starts 30min later than planned w/o explanation or appologies. Your choice: skip breakfast or be late. WiFi not working during whole stay. Horribly noisy from inside and outside. Old furniture, broken stuff in the bathroom. No heating in the bathroom! Rubbish TV close to the pillow on the side of the bed. Thin curtains. You will be woken up by the sun. Arrogant, unprofessional staff. Refused to give me the phone number of the manager. Did not call me back.

    Close to public transport, supermarket and fast food.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Noise!!! Not all rooms may be like this, but our room (12) was just terrible... They apparently break in short time ago, and the door was only half repaired and vaguely closing... There were some some works in the streets/surroundings and they did cut some steel until later than midnight !!! The day after, the coffee at the ground floor started to play (boys band) "music" for the empty terrace (in November!) that was so loud it woke us up, around 6:45 in the morning. Don't expect to feel relaxed after a night in some rooms of this hotel. After the night, my personal rating would have been 3/10, but Booking's rating method gives 6.7... the rest wasn't that bad

    Location Good and big Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too noisy - trains and emergency vehicles passing all night, plus some neighbouring establishment started playing loud music before 8am each day. Bed wasn't very comfortable - could feel the springs.

    Breakfast was OK. Close to train stop.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shared bathroom toilets are not so nice. Connecting to the wifi is difficult. Choose a third floor room as it will be quieter. The area attracts down-and-outs and never-do-wells. Huge cinema queues.

    It is easy to get to central Hannover by tram and for two stops you pay on€1.50 single on a short journey ticket. Breakfasts are quite good. The Harp bar and the river walks are quite good.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A pleasant surprise was this small hotel: friendly service, cleanliness of the rooms, wi fi, near the center of the city all together creates an atmosphere of comfort and coziness. With all the variety of hotels at the next time i will definitely to stop here.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The curtains didn't block any light, being on first floor this means nigth round bright light from the street lanterns. There was no proper sound isolation either, trams just a few meters from the window made alot of noice.

    Location, fine bed

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect when you need a room just to spend the night (sleep) close to a station.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little bit noisy due to tram rumbling around the corner.

    Good breakfast buffet, good Wlan, tram station around the corner, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hot Water not stable supply.

    Very helpful hotel assistants / nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi doesn't always work. You should get your own.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The breakfast could have been better.

    The hotel was just what we needed for our visit to CEBIT exhibition. Great location, clean rooms and bath.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi is bad

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    personal is very helpful

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely people very kind and caring

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    During the exhibition the price was like a five star hotel. Too much for a small hotel like this.

    Clean Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel took from credit card 150 € more than it was booked. Booking transfered it back to us.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Road noise, no decaf coffee at breakfast.

    Convenient, clean, somewhere to stay one night passing through. Proprietor friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi doesn't work in my room.

    Room and toilet are clean.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    we did not get WiFi password :( , noise from nearby factory

    good price, fine location

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Rooms were simple but clean - Good breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price and availability during Exhibition time

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A quiet and cozy place in a convenient location. Extremely friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Wifi

    Everything was nice specially breakfast was good

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Browse Hotel Schwarzer Bär traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: