Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schwarzes Lamm This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Detwang 21, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Review score

Based on 821 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    Good traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A traditional hotel offering good basic facilities. Good restaurant serving traditional food. Nice country location 2km from Rothenburg. Although busy the hotel gives a relief away from the tourisdts in Rothenburg.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    A great location, good food and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    All good , staff were communative, facilities were very good, room was vast, food was great. An equivalent hotel in the United Kingdom in this setting would cost at least double.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Good location for Rothenberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Good location for Rothenberg. Nice walk...although up hill.........downhill on the way back however Rothenberg is a stunning place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice room, wonderful location, great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only disappointment was that the room had no tea/coffee making facilities. After a long day driving, we were desperate for a hot drink upon arrival... and the restaurant was closed too (Monday evening).

    Acceptable room and beautiful location, both in the vicinity and in nearby Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber, which was very nearby. Breakfast and service was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    I liked the hotel location as it was quiet and away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the hotel location as it was quiet and away from the city center (note, it is a 15 minute walk up hill to Rothenburg).The accommodations were clean and traditional to the location. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. We will stay here upon a return visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We drove out of our way to this hotel because we’d stayed there a few years ago, and it was excellent. This time however, was a very disappointing experience. We had a good welcome from a male member of staff, then went to our room which was dark, dingy and stuffy. Temperatures were in the mid 30s, there was no air conditioning, no fan, and we couldn’t even leave windows open due to the number of flies and wasps finding their way in. We went down for a drink, then asked the waitress if she would kindly ring us a taxi to take us into Rothenburg. She made no comment, and the first we knew of whether or not the taxi had been arranged, was when it turned up for us. We have never liked eating outdoors, so when we went down for our evening meal, we sat in the restaurant, which was empty. She flew at us, saying that we had to sit outside, but I told her we wanted to stay inside. She looked really annoyed, and obviously told one of the waiters, who also tried to get us outside. Again I said we do not want to eat outside-because of all the flowers and other shrubs in the garden, the place was inundated with flies and wasps. The meal was really good, I must say. But when I asked her for the bill, again she said nothing, but was using the till. I assumed she was preparing a bill for someone else. I was just about to tell her how good the food was when she slammed down a receipt on the table, I said,”is that for me?” because I couldn’t believe her behaviour, she said yes, so we paid and walked to another guesthouse to have a few drinks where we had a wonderful welcome. In the morning, the owner asked if we’d enjoyed our stay, we said no, and told him about her rudeness and behaviour to which his reply was,”it’s difficult to get waitresses “

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Highly recommended! You can feel that the family running this place has the heart for making your stay a good experience. Very nice staff. Excellent breakfast, e.g. home baked cake. Instead of staying inside Rothenburg ob der Tauber then consider choosing this place, just a short walk away from the old town in R.o.d.T. Absolute svalue for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Recommendable for visits to Rothenburg and surrounding areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator to get to 2nd floor. No fridge in room.

    Lovely, well kept hotel. Restaurant - food and service therein excellent. Great location, just a short drive to old city of Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Nice location, short drive to the Rothenburg o/d Tauber...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location, short drive to the Rothenburg o/d Tauber (we were to lazy to walk). Private parking. Comfortable and spacious room. Rich breakfast. Kind staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    It was very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a Church nearby that rang bells on the quarter hour 24 hours a day. Took a little getting used to.

    The property was located out of the city but in a lovely little village. The food was good the staff very friendly and there was free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Charming hotel close to Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress was too soft. Think was too old. Not comfortable Bus groups also patron here and were rude and pushy. Detracts from our overall stay

    Big room, close to Rothenburg

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Okay place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. Rooms are quite dated. The waiter at night was a bit rude and avoided us when we tried ordering or paying. The lady at breakfast was super friendly. Breakfast was a very nice German breakfast bar. Stay would have been better if the waiter at night wouldn't have been so rude. The dated room probably wouldn't have mattered to us then.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stay just 2 min. drive from P5 parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic stay just 2 mins drive from P5 parking, Rothenburg. Quiet. Clean. Comfortable. Sinks are outside of the bathroom. The bathroom had a shower, tub & toilet with a door. Lighting for the mirrors weren't the best but doable for a high-maintenance gal. Excellent German restaurant and nice outdoor seating. Fantastic breakfast, included with our stay. Good coffee. Friendly staff. No problem with English. Good rates for Rothenburg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful family run in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside restaurant staff were not the friendliest. We had our two dogs with us and they did not offer them water once when we ate outside. They almost seemed bothered we were there.

    The shower was amazing! After living with small European shores, having a huge walk in shower with a rain shower head was wonderful! Made the entrance a little slippery though. Front desk staff very friendly. A nice walk/hike to town (worked off what we ate). Bed was very comfortable and the room was mostly soundproof. Breakfast was basic but filling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Peace and quiet in beautiful surrounds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and facilities to the rest of the city is really good, besides the small town where the hotel is located is beatiful, that small church behind is beyond words!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Very good, clean accommodation, good selectiin at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot fault the hotel, it is a 15-20 minute walk in to Rothenburg odT uphill so would not suit people with mobility problems

    Very good, clean accommodation, good selectiin at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    It was overall a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not that great. The room was not having an electric kettle with some tea coffee arrangement. But the staff was very good and friendly. They made omelette for us on request. The vegetarians with us had a tough time. Some more cakes and grilled veggies would be great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    *****
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that my trip was so short, I was only able to stay one night. Will recommend!!

    My puppy and I slept comfortably in your cloud like bed and got to fall asleep with a lovely meal catered to my vegan diet and woke up and enjoyed a fabulous, big breakfast! You all were very accommodating for creating a vegan dish for me, thank you again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is a very cosy, comfortable and romantic place with lovely hearty German food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a wonderful stay. The room was very comfortable and big, especially the shower was awesome. The staff were very friendly and the food was heavenly. Will definitely come back here!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Overall worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows and bed.

    The staff was very friendly, and accommodating. The room was cozy the pillows where way too soft and thin but the view was absolutely amazing very short walk to the market. Overall I would recommend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Christmas Markets in Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the property. We had a great stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean, beds comfortable, breakfast was great, location was good. Loved Rothenburg and if I ever return I would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, great value, but a pest issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We saw a mousetrap in the room and, sure enough, were awakened at 2 am by the sound of something in the garbage. We watched a little mouse scrounging our garbage, and dart back and forth between the garbage and its hole in the wall. It made it very difficult to sleep after this, as we weren't sure if the mouse would choose to explore our belongings or beds. Mice may be difficult to keep out of these old buildings, but it still turned us off.

    The room was comfortable and very spacious, particularly for European standards. It fit our family of 5 quite well. Location wasn't as close to Rothenburg as I would have liked (15-20 min walk), but the cost of the room reflected this. The breakfast was fabulous and the staff was very nice. I felt this hotel was a great value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Simple and Incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of one problem I had. Staff was great about accommodating my family in every way.

    Room was good sized and very clean. The restaurant downstairs was fantastic, amazing lamb! The breakfast was included and far exceeded my expectations! This stay was exactly what a foreigner would expect a Stay in Germany would be like. I couldn’t ask for a better night stay and an amazing hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Great place for a Christmas stay and amazing price for value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place for a Christmas stay and amazing price for value! Nice rooms, great breakfast, and super-friendly staff. The hotel is walking distance to Rothernburg odt (1.2 miles - ish). We will most definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    I was very impressed on how inviting the place and the staff we're, will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was great and the bed size great but a little to firm for me.

    The location may have been a bit far from weinachtsmarkt, but the staff were very helpful and taxi inexpensive and easily accessible. So location better than expected since out of the chaos.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Great breakfast and location in historic, quaint village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite a dark room but all OK generally

    Great to have a lovely breakfast included and friendly staff on check in. Restaurant downstairs was good and convenient. Loved the history of the building and location in a beautiful little village of Detwang

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff friendly and helpful. Was difficult for me to carry my suitcase upstairs. Staff did not hesitate to offer and take suitcase upstairs for me. Very clean room. Quiet. Right next to delicious restaurant with very reasonable prices. Their breakfast buffet was excellent. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Good choice to stay away from walled city though not too far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff seemed always too busy to dedicate time for our questions, a woman was too insensible to our request for changes when paying for the staying.

    Hotel is located on a very quiet neighborhood not far from the walled city. Room was excellent, good size, wonderful view, very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    it is great & quiet place for living
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    inside room there's fly, wandering around me from time to time. feels un-comfortable. Other than this, all is perfect

    the room i stay is quite big with 2 large individual sofa, and the hall outside room is very special with local decoration, feels warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful place, attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the place.

    First of all, as you can expect of Germany, the property is very quaint and well maintained, very in line with what I expected to see in the vicinity of Rothenburg. Second, the staff was not only very attentive and polite, they also proactively tried to help me with my small child's needs. The room I stayed was a bit on the small side, especially with the baby bed, but it's probably because I deliberately chose a cheaper room, so if you are coming with children, choose a larger room. The vicinity of the hotel also looked very nice with lots of trails and woodland to visit, which I, unfortunately did not see, so I will probably be returning there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Staff was really kind and helped us a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wall of room is slightly thin.

    Staff was really kind and helped us a lot. There is a historical restaurant inside the hotel, we enjoyed a lot its atmosphere and delicious meal and beers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That time didn't allow for a longer stay

    Our room was perfect. Your hospitality was warm n personable n the breakfast was beyond superb. My husband, son and I had a wonderful stay. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our windows looked at the beautiful old church,and the bells rang every 15 minutes rather laudly. Ask for the room looking at the other side or take earplugs!!!

    Nice hotel, comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Great location for the Romantischstrassa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location for a visit to Rothenberg, just a short walk, mostly uphill. One huge benefit is that the gastehaus has ample parking to the rear, which is hard to find in the main town. Also has the option for secure parking for motorbikes in large garage Ice cold beers and soft drinks which were good value for money. Our room had a small enclosed balcony with seating, which was a great feature. Breakfast buffet good selection of hot and cold options Staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Romantic & Historic.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderfull place to stay. Just a 20 min walk from the Historic town of Rothenburg O.D.T. A Lovely old building. Very well renovaited. Good value for Money. Nice Food & good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    1 night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room / no iron available / no fan available

    Conveniently located for a walk into Rothenburg- all uphill and need a reasonable level of fitness, after sitting in the car all day it was good to stretch the legs properly. Didn't eat in the restaurant but food looked and smelt very good - really good breakfast. Staff helpful with any requests. Room a good size with a small seating area also.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    4.6
    Location is bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was totally bad. It's not in Rothenburg ob der Tauber as it seemed when I booked. So we had to take the car to drive to the city and with a 1 year old it's a real hassle. I wouldn't recommend the hotel just because of the location. The lady at the check in was not friendly, she didn't mention anything about extras- about internet or parking, which hotel actually has at the back but we parked in the street. The check out lady was much friendlier and the breakfast was good.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    Medium to low quality apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was poor. I visited the place when the external temperature was high and the room was very warm and there was no air conditioning.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As guest we would have liked to sit outside for dinner, but we weren't told that we should make reservations. But the seating inside was lovely as well!

    Such a welcoming atmosphere, beautiful building, nice little town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Good place to visit Rothenburg and also to stay for w while to take a rest.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    This is a very nice place. Good localization, even better than in town, friendly and professional staff. Our room in the attic was spacefull and comfortable with very comfortable bed. Reach breakfast and parking included in price (very rarely happens now).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Charming German hotel near walled city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk up to the castle on the walking path was significantly up hill but well worth the hike.

    Adorable and spacious room. It was a warm day but with the many windows in the room it was well ventilated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Just a skip away from downtown!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints :)

    Great location, friendly staff, great food, lovely rooms! Parking was easy, the neighborhood was quiet and beautiful. We had a wonderful time!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c so the room was very warm. Pillows were very very flat not comfy

    It was I detwang which is a quiet little area but.very close to old town of rothenburg. There were marked paths which were lit at night. Not sure if local buses take you to the town. Food great. Staff lovely. Area nice and quiet :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel with long history
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice breakfast. Also have a dinner in this hotel.It has long history about 400years ago. My room has a fancy balcony. There is a walk path to Rottenburg old city about 20mins.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    quite & clean and close to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    early check-out was at 10 am, while it should be 2 pm and allowing late check-out 3-4 pm.

    room facilities, e,g., tea pot, tissue, easy shoe ... need to be improved.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    3.3
    Not as advertised!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was not within walking distance of Rothenberg inside the walls. The bed was extremely hard. The towels threadbare, the room dingy.

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    This was our second visit to the Schwarzes Lamm - previously...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is absolutely nothing to complain about - a perfect hotel for a pleasant stay

    This was our second visit to the Schwarzes Lamm - previously (4 years ago) we gave it a rating of 10 and we see no reason to alter our earlier view. This hotel embodies the best features of an excellent provincial Bavarian hotel. We were a party of four and both our rooms had a sun-lit sitting area off the bedroom, which was a real bonus during our stay. We used the hotel restaurant on both nights of our stay and ate two excellent evening meals in comfort with good service. When visiting the area, the Schwarzes Lamm is our preferred choice of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Wonderful Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I can think of I didn't like

    We had a wonderful visit! The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and professional. Our room was accommodating and the beds were very comfortable. Our breakfast was delicious and made us feel as though we were "home." Thank you for adding a delightful experience while we traveled and visited your beautiful city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    6.7
    Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting a better breakfast after all the reviews that I read. Breakfast is not very good, has only a few choices of food and drinks. It ends very early, I got there at 09h30min in the morning and almost all the food was gone, they brought me a small plate of scrambled eggs. The room has one of the worst showers that I have ever seen (think it was broken). Far from the city, you must have a car if you stay at this place.

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.2
    Family Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing this hotel lacked was an elevator but we knew this before booking. Not a deal breaker and we will be coming back this summer.

    Friendly staff, large room was perfect for 4 kids under 8 and 2 adults, good breakfast and close to the Christmas Market.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    3.8
    Breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we checked in, the staff could not speak English,we were group of 8 persons we book 2 quad room (for 3 person in each room), 1 triple room (for 2 persons).She gave us 3 triple rooms (one double bed+single bed), we tried to explain to her, but she could not understand.We have to called booking.com office in London for help. The room that she gave was small with funny shape, there are big pillar in the room with big supporting on the ceiling,made such uncomfortable when you walk in, not only thinking about sleepping for a night, no place for luggage.Our rooms were on the 3rd floor, the stair case is very high and not suitable for elderly guest.We are over 65, can you imagine how hard would be for us.

    Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful old building with unique old furnishings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing -all good.

    Beautiful old building with unique old furnishings. Very comfortable and spacious room. Delightful!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Location and traditional design of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no refrigerator in the hotel

    Location and traditional design of hotel Location was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast buffet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Good stay for on our trip from NL to Austria
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little dark

    Easy Parking Nice environment: view to river an tracks to the very pretty town Pretty good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Location, size of room, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable. It was hard and lumpy.

    Location, size of room, nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Couple from South Africa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uphill walk to old city

    Nice place with a bit of history. Well maintained and a good place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Good food with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food with good service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Quiet, friendly, and very restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too firm.

    Rural Setting. Very quiet and peaceful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, lovely walk along the river into Rothenberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, lovely walk along the river into Rothenberg. Good breakfast. We had a fantastic meal at the resturant one evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    The acomodation is very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not possibility to latte checkout (1hr)

    The acomodation is very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Lovely and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice peaceful location. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Driving around Bavaria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant with a great breakfast (only place in 5 hotels across Germany to have sausages for breakfast)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Our stay was so much fun. We were welcomed and made to feel at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having washcloths

    Ambiance was delightful. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Cute hotel. My kids had a blast here. A short drive from the city (maybe 4 minutes?)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of space for our family of 6. It was like two rooms joined by a hallway and was plenty big!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Super friendly staff, great breakfast, the restaurant offers the dinner also-was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no fridge in the room, but its not a big deal:)

    The room was quite good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little dated

    The breakfast was included in the rate and it was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was excellent. Nice view from our room #29.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    Rooms are new and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are new and nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Old but clean rooms, fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old but clean rooms, fantastic breakfast. Nice cosy atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Heating system
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating system

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The restaurant was very delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.7
    Nice and clean apartment, hall of building had a urine smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Nice and clean apartment, hall of building had a urine smell.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Lovely place with friendly atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly helpfull staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: