Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schwarzes Ross

Am Dorfplatz 1, 91628 Steinsfeld, Germany

#1 of 2 hotels in Steinsfeld

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 462 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    Great memories.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave.

    WiFi I forgot to ask for the password. So that was on me. Breakfast I never ate because I was to comfortable in bed to wake up to eat.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Camera molto spaziosa, pulitissima e tranquilla.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Camera molto spaziosa, pulitissima e tranquilla. Buona e abbondante colazione servita in ambiente caratteristico. Ottima la posizione se ci si sposta con l'auto.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly guest and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room remote in the farm and access a bit difficult.

    Friendly guest and good breakfast. Huge room and bathroom exceeding expectations! Very close to Rothenburg & they gave a leaflet with information

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Very romantic place for an overnight stay near the autobahn 7
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Charming location and building, very romantic place Huge and well equipped bathroom Large and nice room Quiet location in the countryside but close to motorway 7 Free parking spaces available Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    We had an apartment for us in the nature!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an apartment for us in the nature! It felt like being home, to our grandparents’ house. Lovely owner, he made us feel really great! I would definitely go back, I would like to be there during the winter too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    We shall return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Neither of us can think of anything.

    We liked everything about the place. The breakfast was wonderful; the beds and pillows super comfy, rooms spacious. We just didn't have enough time to enjoy the balcony area due to the time we spent sightseeing in and around Rothenburg odT. Didn't mind the short drive into Rothenburg at all; the free parking at the property more than made up for it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    If you should get a chance to stay here you will be happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very charming from the moment we drove up. Warm reception. Very comfortable and clean. Great breakfast. Loved being in this home/hotel. Very close to Rothenburg, but nice to stay out of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    2 night stay was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Very friendly, limited amount of English / German spoken with smiles all round. Nice old building, a few squeaky floor boards but was expected with this old building. Breakfast was FANTASTIC for the price. It had snowed overnight but there was a cleared path from the front door to our car. Location to Rothenburg ob der Tauber 5 mins by car.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    I was pleasantly surprised that we had two bedrooms for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was pleasantly surprised that we had two bedrooms for booking a triple room and it was warm and comfortable with a giant bathroom. Breakfast was good and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Strongly recommend this lovely hotel:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect!!!

    First of all, hosts were really kind and sweet. Thanks to their hospitality, we could stay there very nicely. We thought we’re very lucky because we could spend Christmas holiday in the lovely hotel. Breakfast was good, hotel was clean and lovely(if you visit here, you’ll see why i said it’s lovely). And even though the location was quite far from the city, there was nothing to worry about. If you are using a train, the hotel manager or the host will drive you to the train station or the city. But if you drive your own car, it will be the best drive way to the city cuz the view is perfect. Last, I strongly recommend you to stay here if you would like to come to Rothenburg. You’ll never regret it;)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    An pleasant surprise, not what we expected and if we had the time we would gladly have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just simply liked it.

    It was an experience. The hotel is part of a working farm so you are surrounded by that very rural feel but it is still close to some superb dining and attractions. We had expected a room but got the equivalent of a flat which was very private and cozy, so incredibly relaxing. And an incredibly good price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely traditional hotel, delightful hosts, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little English spoken (but we are in their country, so that’s our issue to deal with, not theirs).

    A good traditional country hotel (more like a bed and breakfast), old-fashioned style, family operated, in a quiet semi-rural area. Very pleasant hosts, and all facilities were as expected and worked well. The breakfast was simple, well prepared and presented traditional fare. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We like everything this is the fourth time we have stayed at this location and will return on our next visit to Germany. Only 5 min. drive to Rothenburg making this a great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Cozy, clean, quiet and conveniently located near Rothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints

    Historic old hotel. Lots of charm.Very quiet location. 7min from Rothenburg OBT. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Bathroom was modern and very clean. European style breakfast buffet in the mornings. It is an old building so the upper floors do creek; since we were out late a few times we were very conscious of that. The decor is period and adds to a real coziness. Modern flatscreen TV in the room worked and had cable. Wifi never an issue. The Becks were very helpful and gracious. I would book there again without hesitation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    The Hotel is quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is quaint. It is within easy driving distance of Rothenburg but in a very quiet location. The owner (?) was friendly, breakfast was good. The room was clean, bathroom was small but very clean and had been renovated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    it was ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner service was cancelled and the bar was shut due to a private event. This was inconvenient in a rural setting and meant we had to drive and search for alternative restaurant and bar. We had booked this venue as those facilities were available.

    Rooms well done and Bathrooms well appointed. Traditional old German hotel with charachter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay at a property close to Rothenburg ob der Tauber
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful historical property. Our rooms were spacious, beautifully-decorated and with modern bathrooms. The full breakfast had many choices and was served in the historical ambiance of the main gasthaus. The owners were accommodating and made our stay very pleasant. It was a short 7 km to Rothenburg, so very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Traditional house very well conserved and put into value,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was nice!!

    Traditional house very well conserved and put into value, not expensive for the money paid, renovated bath, close to Rothenburg, safe parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    The food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was very good. The building felt more like a bed and breakfast, very cozy and private. The little town of Steinsfeld was a perfect distance from Rotthenburg and very charming to walk around in. The hosts were very cordial.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was not a problem for us there is no hot food available. However there is an excellent restaurant in the nearby brewery which can be reached by car in approximately 5 minutes. Of course there are many restaurants in Rothenburg which is 10 minute drive.

    We had a large bedroom with a recently renovated bathroom. The only common room which serves as both bar and restaurant is best described as "rustic in the old traditional farmhouse style" and it was interesting to meet other guests and learn some of the history of the region from the owner. Herr Beck. A variety of local wines and beers are available . A good breakfast buffet is provided.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Highly recommended location for family travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress Comfortness could be improved

    Super nice staff, Proximity to the old town (only 7 minutes drive) Play ground available for children Nice quiet roads around hotel for walking And delicious breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.5
    Cosy hotel, lovely bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very basic and didn't seem to get replenished. got the impression that when it's gone, it's gone. No tomatoes or cheese left on first morning. But not the end of the world filled up on cereal

    Cosy hotel, lovely bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Rooms were well equipped and clean and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed the evening we arrived and we had to go 6 kms to the next town for food. It was advertised as having a restaurant but bad luck for us

    Rooms were well equipped and clean and modern

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    Ideal winter,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All went well, no complaints

    The ease of life at the hotel. People were cheery and greeted one another at breakfast. The breakfast choice was very ample and fresh. The hosts were polite and went about their tasks quietly and efficiently. When I had difficulty starting my car, various people from the hotel gave me a hand.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful time in a historical building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. 5 km to Rothenburg.

    Wonderful location. Historical building. Price quality ratio great. Very nice stuff. We were too late for the check in time because of traffic but that was no problem. Just one call and everything was fine. Room fine. The bathroom is small but for a historical building ok. Next time we will stay here again. Just an advice to everyone who does not like to stay in stereotype new hotel complexes - stay HERE !!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful Inn with Friendly Hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish we could have gotten a beer or some snacks at the hotel. It was a disadvantage of not being in town.

    It was a great hotel. We were given a family suite at no extra charge. The breakfast was excellent with fresh bakery products.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    6.7
    Interesting old place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too scary. We came in the night, looked like from the horor story. We slept ower night, for this it is enough. Not for longer. Old place, even rooms renovated. So it is ok. Breakfast normal, nothing special. For me little bit soft mattress and bad pillows. Church next to the hotel! Bells in the morning.

    Interesting old place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Staff very honest and friendly, great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very honest and friendly, great breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Loved the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo, body wash. Small bath towel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Generous size room and comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical hotel of the area in quiet village.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    excellent breakfast, comfortable rooms,
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    excellent breakfast, comfortable rooms,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    The male owner was very helpful making a reservation for dinner at another hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a little tiny, and the staff seemed not welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely quiet location, very friendly staff, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely quiet location, very friendly staff, very comfortable modern bedrooms in a traditional setting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    It is the second year we stay in this hotel that we really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is the second year we stay in this hotel that we really appreciate for its charm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Renewed classic
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Breakfast Room Classic ambient, well renewed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    We had a amazing time here, the owner was amazing, even when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a amazing time here, the owner was amazing, even when the restaurant was closed he was so kind to drive and bring us pizza for all of us!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Country Style farm house delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows not good

    The property was like an old traditional German farm house delightf9

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Worth visiting
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really clean, comfortable rooms with lovely owners.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Excellent location and a really nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The owners were very helpfull and nothing was too much trouble !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room with excellent service from the owner ..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    excellent property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    big room, excellent breakfast, quiet night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Awesome
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and staff!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    A cozy and wonderful hotel for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please improve the strength of wifi

    Wonderful and cozy hotel..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful breakfast, very good and spacious room, with a firm matress on the bed, marvelous bathroom with a glass bath box.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    great trip and hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    don' know

    It was overall good to great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Very nice country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    No wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.3
    Countryside stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far from the city, need to drive. And a bit of animal farm smell and if luggage too heavy - problem to go to the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking tight

    Nice staff Great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    9.2
    Great place to stay and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very soft pillows, but from experience I am starting to believe is a German preference thing.

    Great place to stay and great value for money. The hotel is family run and have been so for 2 generations, so a lot of antique furniture around which makes for a great German experience. The rooms have been renovated and everything feels new. Hosts were very helpful and lovely. Nice and tasty breakfast all prepared by the host themselves. The hotel is just a few minutes drive from Rothenburg.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Very clean, large 2 bedroom suite, with lovely outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very clean, large 2 bedroom suite, with lovely outside sitting area. Perfect breakfast for the value; well-supplied with everthing you could expect for the reasonable price, atmosphere, generous, hardworking hosts! 7 minute drive to the medieval town of Rothenburg, a must see in Germany.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is family run and the hosts are really sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is family run and the hosts are really sweet. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night! The rooms are huge and comfortable. The hotel is 5 minutes away from Rothenburg by car. Would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    We stayed one night on our way through to Munich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was closed for dinner

    We stayed one night on our way through to Munich. Our hosts were very helpful and lovely. We stayed in a large room with a modern bathroom. We did not have dinner here but sat in the bar for some local beers. Breakfast was delicious! We felt like we had a real German experience. We would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    8.3
    We ended up in a room with a refrigerator and a separate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Initially, we were given a key for a room that was equipped for only one person. When we returned later, the host quickly put us into a room that was more like an apartment which was much better. There wasn't air conditioning which made for an uncomfortable night. It was very warm during the days of our stay, which were probably a peak for the area. I don't think many hotels in the area had air conditioning, so it was not a problem with the specific hotel.

    We ended up in a room with a refrigerator and a separate space for our teenager. The hosts were very helpful when we took the time to explain what we needed.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    Jovial innkeeper gave us info on where to park in town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel itself is old and quaint, with antiques and bric-à-brac on window ledges. However, small things such as poor pillows (worst ever) , thin well-worn bath towels, carpeting that need replacing (my guess is that if they were cleaned, they'd no longer adhere to the very creaky floors) cost this haus points.

    Jovial innkeeper gave us info on where to park in town, warned us about hitting our heads on beams that stretched across the rooms. Old world charm. An antique junky would like this place. Good price (in comparison with others in nearby Rotenburg ). Coffee pot brought to table at breakfast is a plus.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    10
    Frau Beck is a gracious hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Frau Beck is a gracious hostess. Her modern B&B is clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a real feast.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    Helmut was very hospitable and provided taxi service to and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helmut was very hospitable and provided taxi service to and from the old village, and the Mrs. provided a lovely breakfast for hotel guests.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    9.6
    Nice hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Squeaky floors

    Nice hosts.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: