Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schwarzwaldgasthof Hotel Schlossmühle This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Talstraße 22, 79286 Glottertal, Germany

#7 of 11 hotels in Glottertal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 254 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel & amazing breakfast. Very kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is wonderful (they even gave us a present when we left) and the facilities are amazing, very beautiful hotel. The best breakfast ever taken. We will come back, for sure!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Brilliant stay in the Black Forest 🌳
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wellness Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was very cramped, and in my opinion to many personal things in the breakfast room. Also I didn't care to much for the stuffed animals. On the last day breakfast was served in the main bar this was a little better.

    The location for us was great, we were also given a pass to use public transport for free, BIG bonus. Our room was lovely we had the wellness suit. The staff was very friendly and tried to help, we asked for a fan for our room because there were no air conditioning and they provided us with one. 😊 Thank goodness for google translate 😂

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    OVERALL VERY HAPPY FOR SURE VALUE FOR MONEY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO COMMENT

    WE HAD DINNER AT THIS PROPERTY SOME GUESST RECOMENTED THIS TO US FIRST OF ALL WTHE WINE RECOMENTATION WAS EXELLENT AND SO WAS THE DINNER AS WELL FIRST CLASS BREAKFAST NEXT MORNING. EVERYTHING WAS MADE PASSION AND HEART.WILL GO BACK FOR SURE.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower had a 'wetroom' arrangement.

    The view across the valley and vineyards is delightful but marred by the hotel being adjacent to a main road (nothing the hotel can do about this!)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, when we arrived at reception following our meal, we were given our keys and to our dismay found that the room had not been cleaned. This should never had have happened. I would have preferred to wait in the restaurant or in the tiny lounge area. Had it not been for this serious mistake, the hotel would have received a higher rating. The Wifi worked but was slow. The bedding was of good quality, but we found it strange to find our extra-large double bed with separate quilts and sheets. Apart from in the restaurant, we found the staff/owners on the cold side, but this is probably cultural.

    This is a charming, family-run, hotel on the quiet main street of the small town of Glottertal. At the front, it overlooks the vineyards and at the back a small river. It is very conveniently located to discover the town and the beautiful surrounding area. Our superior room was much bigger than expected, almost a suite, with a sitting area and two small terraces, one overlooking the river (but no view). The television was of good quality and could be turned to face both the bedroom or the sitting area. The bathroom (shower) was not big but clean and functional with a good selection of toiletries. We ate in the restaurant on two occasions and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The menu provides a good selection of fresh local dishes and the wine list includes those from the vineyards across the road. Menus are also available with English and French translation which helps. The waiter was very welcoming and speaks good English. The bedding was of good quality, but we found it strange to find our extra-large double bed with separate quilts and sheets. Breakfast was good, with a wide range of fresh fruits, cheeses, hams, cereals, eggs, breads, etc As mentioned this is a family-run hotel. The wife speaks good English, and if I’m not mistaken, manages both the reception and making up the rooms. The husband on the other-hand seems to be the restaurant chef, and doubles up at reception. His English is very limited, but this was not a problem since it is fun to try to understand the language and culture of the country being visited. I would return to this hotel and recommend it to others.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    Cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard

    Cosy friendly good food

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Met all expectations. Will be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner and breakfast. Excellent. Room comfortable and clean. Very good value for money. Located in beautiful country side.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice location - free public transport - nature & Kandel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location - free public transport - nature & Kandel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.1
    It was just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated rooms staff banging in cupboards out side room late at night Rude staff In restaurant where we left before eating

    Great breakfast clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    The Christmas dinner and the family music on the evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The Christmas dinner and the family music on the evening were special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Short holiday break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay in beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dancity in dining room

    Location. Coziness. Spaiciusness. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    A gem in the Black Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel in a great location, the staff were really helpful, all in all a great place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Been going there for years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything

    Been going there for years. Great place and great people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    The restaurant is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice staff, good restaurant and great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and friendly staff, super clean and comferatble room!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice place, 10 min from the center of Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive

    Nice place, 10 min from the center of Freiburg

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    The location, the breakfasts, rooms, all fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking across the street, because employees had parked in the lot

    The location, the breakfasts, rooms, all fantastic. Parking was tight, the employees should park across the street, not the guests.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.8
    The lovely Black Forest style and relaxed atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedding felt rather dated, the duvets were very thin so we felt a bit cold at night.

    The lovely Black Forest style and relaxed atmosphere. our room had a lovely large balcony looking onto the farmlands and hills beyond. The breakfast was excellent as was the dinner.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    9.2
    The staff was very kind ,the breakfast is very good ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not having a small refrigerator in the room

    The staff was very kind ,the breakfast is very good ,everything fresh and look very nice . The location is perfect to explore south west ,and mid of Schwarzwald region

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    Where do I begin?.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very popular hotel - for obvious reasons - and I would have loved to stay an entire week, but rooms were booked.

    Where do I begin?...from the moment we arrived, we were welcomed like a family member returning home - this was our first stay. Walking in we had a reserved breakfast table for 8 (without asking)...the food was unbelievable...like something out of a movie. The wonderful staff that greeted us was so very friendly and outgoing. We had arrived very late from Paris, and were afforded an exceptionally late check out in order to catch up on sleep. The rooms were very modern and spotlessly clean. Did I mention the view? Overwhelmingly beautiful in August...rolling landscape dotted with small farmhouses and rows of corn stretching up the mountain. I wanted to stay another night just to soak up more of the hotel hospitality and the beauty of Glottertal. 11 out of 10!!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    8.3
    The room was 1st class and so were the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I stepped into the shower in the evening and as soon as water hit the floor the shower turned into the most slippery surface I have ever encountered. I started to slip uncontroliby and fell and broke my middle toe of my right foot!,, When I told management they were indifferent.

    The room was 1st class and so were the facilities. No complaint.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    the beds were very comfortable, breakfast had a great range...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    non, loved everything

    the beds were very comfortable, breakfast had a great range of selections. if you are selfdriving this would be top choice.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    Very nice located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice located. Very friendly Staff. Food is excellent and the hotel is very clean and cosy.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was great, staff was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We asked for a baby crib and they didn't provide us with one.

    Breakfast was great, staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Lovely modern facility in charming old building and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely modern facility in charming old building and location. Great dinner and breakfasts here.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    9.2
    Walking,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walking,

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: