Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Schwarzwald Residenz This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bürgermeister-De-Pellegrini-Strasse 20, 78098 Triberg, Germany

#1 of 6 hotels in Triberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could really use bigger curtains to block out the street lights at night. Curtains only go about half way across. For those of us very sensitive to light its difficult to get to sleep.

    Our room was a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was cold, eggs for breakfast were brown from being over cooked, there was 2 spots where wires were out and only covered by a plastic cover, which my one year old kept getting off. The bed was too hard and pillows too flat.

    The sauna and room service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room as a bit cold as they turned the heat off before arrival and the heater couldn't really keep up. The living area in the family room could use a rug to warm it up a bit.

    The hotel was convenient and clean. It had a pool for the kids. The family room had great space. The free breakfast was nice. Our large SUV had not problems parking in their garage.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - Advance Purchase
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant in the hotel is quite expensive compared to other places in town.

    Great location with lovely views from the balcony. Very quiet at night time as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, we enjoyed our stay and absolutely LOVED our room. Bigger than we expected and the layout was just lovely! We had a balcony and the view was perfect. We also had our dog with us. The restaurant was delightful and food was delicious. The streets were narrow and parking quickly filled up, but you can just park alongside the road. It was about a 4-5 min drive down to the city center and they offer you a free ticket to check out the waterfall. There’s a bus, too, that you can take.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave

    This is an excellent hotel, cleanliness, food, position of the hotel helped make our stay here really enjoyable. The only thing that made the stay even better were the staff, they were without exception professional, polite and very helpful. (Also, bilingual)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. A little walk from the center of the city, but an easy walk down the hill to some great restaurants and sights. The parking garage was great for our motorcycles and the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only two complaints are that the bed was hard as a rock and the pillows were so flat they were basically non-existent.

    My family and I stayed here for 2 nights with two adults and two children. The room was clean and spacious. The pool was a great bonus for our kids. The breakfast was fantastic and the hotel is less than a 10-minute walk to downtown and the waterfall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The secure parking garage spaces are EXTREMELY tight. So tight that I elected to park on the street instead as I was worried the car next to me would rub up against my car on the way out. There was plenty of street parking though!

    The staff is excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be ready with a stiff walk as the hotel is on the top of a hill compared to the city

    Good wifi, free car park, big room and bathroom, nice view, 10 min by foot from city center, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having a fridge in the room would have been useful, we experienced a lot of noise from children running around in the corridor and landing area where there was toys to play with, also furniture being moved around in the room above made a lot of noise in our room which made sleeping difficult sometimes. The main menu was good but the choice was limited, breakfast was between 7am and 10am but we found if you was later than 8:30/9am the breakfast was cold and there was very little left to choose from. We left a day early due to the weather was turning bad and having a long journey home to the UK but still had to pay extra to leave early which was disappointing.

    We chose Triburg for our honeymoon as we liked the idea of exploring the area and it's sights. Our room was lovely and big enough and clean, the balcony had a lovely view, the bed was very comfy, it was good to have a safe and the use of ironing facilities, the scenery was very nice, good wine, maid service was excellent and the staff were friendly. The swimming pool was very good, clean and warm. The garage for parking was very secure and well looked after. The hotel in general was very well presented. We had free passes to the waterfall which was in beautiful scenery and forestry.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a double room with balcony. The view from the balcony was excellent. The evening meal and breakfast were very good. Professional and friendly staff throughout the hotel. A most enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a bit too far from the rest of town to walk but this was only because it was raining. In good weather it is an easy stroll to most restaurants.

    Nice breakfast and also dinner at the restaurant was excellent. Not too expensive. Very quiet location just 500m out of town. Rooms very comfy. Lift from basement parking to the room made it easy for our luggage.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit hard and the two bedroom was more a one bedroom with small sofas for beds in another room. Probably good for a family with children, but not for friends looking for separate bedrooms with comparable beds

    Unexpected surprise of a heated pool, good breakfast, and good parking facility

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Booking.com hotel photos showing the green open meadows are projecting quite misconception and they have little to do with exact hotel location itself even though it might be partially correct in that the hotel is in Black Forest. As seen from the main photo of the hotel, the hotel is located at a higher location from the Triberg town in a valley. The pool was not that attractive with strong chemical smell. Short stay is definitely ok but it might not suitable for several day-stay because children's playing area and garden has very limited space.

    The room was very spacious and attractive. It even had a children's sleeping quater with 2 single beds. The bed was firm and excellent. The breakfast is fair in variety and quality. The coffee was surprisingly good. The staff and their service was prompt and very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was raining and trying to get all of our gear inside was a pain with the limited parking.

    The staff went above and beyond to make sure we were in a room appropriate for our group. We received free coupons to some of the local sights. And the indoor pool and kid area was a hit with our kids.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only small issue we had was that there was not enough hot food or fruit juice at breakfast to cater for all the guests, and also not enough plates, glasses and cutlery. If breakfast is offered until 10am, then there should be enough food for guests who come down for breakfast after 9am.

    The size of the two-bedroom apartment was excellent for our family - everything was so clean and we had everything we needed in the room, including tea/coffee-making facilities, hairdryer, water, two TVs, etc. The view from the balcony was wonderful. The beds were very comfortable, and room service was very quick, even when we ordered at a busy time. The shower was powerful, with plenty of hot water. Room cleaning was also excellent - we thought it was lovely that the person who cleaned our room arranged our son's teddy bears on the bed every morning - such a nice touch :-) Overall, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool and games room were very good. The Gaestekarte that we received on arrival was a wonderful bonus, and we used it to visit the famous waterfall, and take a short, but stunning, trip on the Schwarzwaldbahn. Overall, it was absolutely superb value for money - a really authentic experience in a great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hike up to the hotel would be a little steep but since we planned to drive to other nearby places that wasn't a problem for us.

    Great location! The room was spacious and well decorated. Breakfast choices were plentiful and we enjoyed the meal we had at the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony - Advance Purchase
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool at Best Western Plus Schwarzwald Residenz was cold. Not something you could sit and relax in. The sauna is only open from 3:00 to 10:00 pm. - definitely not suited to individuals needs. 눇I originally booked the Best Western Plus Schwarzwald Residenz for one night but due to the attractions of the area, we booked a second. Arrival by train takes either a taxi ride or a bus ride into Triberg central. A taxi will bring you directly to the hotel, dropping you at the hotel's front door, while a bus will have six stops from the station and will make its final stop at the base of the hill to the Best Western Plus Schwarzwald Residenz. The uphill climb to the Best Western Plus Schwarzwald Residenz is not an easy one with any amount of luggage - so please be aware of this. Also, if you arrive at night, the directions to the hotel could lead you astray if you are not careful. The hotel is at the top of the hill in Triberg and is directly across from the oldest Church in Triberg. You will be awoken at 7:30 a.m. with a medley of bells throughout the city to start the day and again at 6:30 pm to end the day. These medley of bells last for five minutes and are BEAUTIFUL. The hotel itself is run by what I would guess is a family. There was limited staff on hand - for the restaurant there was one gentleman, the front desk was run by one individual and breakfast was run by one individual. I imagine when the season picks up that could change. Shopping is limited out of season as most stores are shut down, however; you will find plenty of options to choose from. Food is plenty - wild boar, duck, schnitzel. Oh, so much good food. Recommended shopping - Oli's Schnitzstube Studio of Art. Wonderful wood Carvings! Wonderful People! Recommended viewing - Triberg Waterfalls. MUST SEE. Take a walk and enjoy the day at the falls.

    Waking up to the bells of the city telling you that it was time to start the day. The bells rang for five minutes - all melding together in harmony. Beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I use Booking.com to book the hotel, in the booking.com site, the default is 2 people in one room. When I got there, they said I booked only for 1 people on the room, so I need to pay $40 for the second person to be in the room. There is almost no room for car to park. The room is big but completely no view.

    The room is clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in could have been a LOT more friendly , I was practically accused of trying to "sneak"my adult children in as under 12s ( while they were standing beside me and obviously NOT 12 years old )

    Loved the location with lovely mountain views

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    One pillow wasn't enough - two should be a minimum really. The meal option is not the best value and was a bit unhealthy - I wish I had ordered from the menu instead.

    Nice staff, helpful, good location, decent price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told there was a bus from the town of Triberg back up to the hotel. THERE IS NOT! We bought cuckoo clocks thinking we should get them home easily, instead we hiked carrying them. Pillows were flat.

    Great large room. We reserved a 2 twin but paid for a 3rd rollaway bed. Room was large and suitable for 3 adult guests. Hotel sits on top of the hill and offers a great view of the town, but the walk uphill is brutal when you are going to and from the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I searched for a room for two adults Booking.com offered me a room with one bed and one sofa sleeper or something equivalent for €80. I booked the room and when I got there the hotel changed me double because they said the room was meant to sleep one. I explained my situation with my search on Booking.com and it didn't phase them. I was forced to pay double or scramble to find a room for the night.

    Perfect location with amazing views.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Compare to the other fantastic aspects, maybe the attitude of waitresses in diner could be better. :P

    The welcome of our first stay was very warm. The sightseeing outside the window was breathtaking, maybe due to the fact that the hotel is on the hill which give it a overall view of Triberg. It was great to bring children here because there are many toys and facilities for children. the room itself was fabulous! Not only because it was much more bigger than the average size in Germany, but I think all of them have a balcony which give you the view! We loved it so much when we stepped into our room so we decided immediately to stay for another night. It worth it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of any negatives.

    Huge bed and lost wife during night, I'm sure she was in there somewhere. Friendly for families, plenty to keep the children occupied. Staff mostly speak English and very helpful. Restaurant is very good. Plenty of free parking on the road and secure parking that is chargeable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not possible to have diner on the terrace outside.Even not with a temperature of over 30 degrees. Also the food was of a poor taste. People at the reception desk were not very friendly.

    A very nice room with a stunning view from the balcony

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is so hard, I had to sleep on the bed for the kids- apart from my husband! This bed hurt! Too hard. I was in so much pain following the first night. I woke up frequently as I was extremely uncomfortable. This bed felt like the floor! If you have back problems like I do, don't stay here. I will not stay here again due to discomfort, unless they update the mattresses. Best Western, upgrade to softer beds! You can afford it.

    Breakfast was excellent. So was dinner menu! Staff friendly and facilities overall clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was weird. You had to shower in the bath, but it was all very small and oddly placed. The room was good, but the bathroom really rated it down for me

    Triberg is a nice city and the hotel is easy to reach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything. No complaints

    Great breakfast. Good walk to the waterfall. Nice restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard as a rock, staff was NO help in assisting with questions about local buses

    I loved the little setup for my dogs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, good location, very good diner, hiking in beautiful forest, sauna and swimming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a well - equipped room, spacious and comfortable. The view from the balcony was amazing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A refrigerator in the room would be nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was large and delicious! The view from our balcony was beautiful and our kids loved the pool!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could be softer

    Best size room and layout we've had in our travels! Good baby cots and service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - Advance Purchase
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It took a little difficulty to reach Hotel from train station by bus and walk.

    Spacious room. Fine view from a balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - Advance Purchase
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view is good if not partialy obstructed by next floor's roof.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, bath arrangment

    Large and clean room, excellent breakfast, helpfull staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were way too soft, basically sleeping on nothing

    Huge bedroom, loved the balcony. Breakfast was great as well

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    great stuff service and good cleanness. wide space.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff was not friendly and helpful

    nice pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    They upgraded to a two bedroom room for no extra....service was great....

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony - Advance Purchase
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful view. Friendly staff and a good breakfast. Second time we stay in this beautiful town and we will be back sime day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the swimmingpool

    Nice room, nice breakfast and nice position

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Large, comfortable rooms with excellent views!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good view, Big room ,Dinner at Restaurant is good .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was terrible, horrible customer service. Whoever the woman was.

    Breakfast was delicious, family room was huge!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, accommodations, and the staff were helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms will need a return soon. Getting a Little tired.

    Brilliant location, good facilities and secure motorcycle parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - Advance Purchase
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Niets

    Alles in het hotel was perfect

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - Advance Purchase
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were poor

    Halfboard Price value and location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent base for exploring the Black forest, lovely balcony overlooking the valley. Good parking outside. Short walk down into town for bars and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Shower head was broken.

    Location was very good and easy walk to the center of the village. Staff spoke English well. They have a parking garage for 2€. Breakfast was good and the hotel was very clean. Indoor pool is small but has a nice atmosphere. They also gave us free tickets to see the waterfall.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel could use a small refrigerator in the room. Ours didn't have one if any of the other rooms did.

    The view from the room was amazing and the hotel is located close enough to walk around the town without having to worry about finding a parking garage.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The shower could have drained faster...otherwise no complaints.

    We stayed in the family room. It was clean and comfortable. The pool was loved by my kids. The breakfast buffet was great. The location is perfect for exploring Triberg.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was in a convenient location to the town and provided amenities such as breakfast, sauna, balcony, etc., that were utilized for an enjoyable stay in the Black Forest.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel was significantly understaffed. At both check-in and check-out we had to wait 15 minutes and 10 minutes, respectively, for a staff member to come to the desk. Turns out that the wait staff in the restaurant (dinner at check-in and breakfast at check-out) were pulling double duty as both wait staff and front desk personnel. The wait staff at dinner looked exhausted and were constantly running from table to table. It didn't enhance a relaxing dinner in the least bit. The hotel bedding appeared new, but the overall impression was an outdated hotel that tried to update it's tired and old appearance by purchasing some new items in hopes that guests would overlook the other old and well used facets of the facility.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spectacular view of the valley from both balconies. Great sized rooms in our suite with separate lounge area. It felt like we were up in the clouds at times. Loved the 2 skylights especially having one in the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very disappointed we were not allowed to eat outside (contrary to what booking.com website says). Dining room was very hot and no windows were opened. Recorded music at dinner and breakfast was awful and spoilt the atmosphere.

    Comfortable room with large balcony (on the top floor) with a good view over the town which is 10 minutes walk away. Good sized pool.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Initially could not find the entrance, which is up by the restaurant entrance! They need to have a flag or sign pointing up to it since the parking is down on the street or in the garage, but only after check in.

    Room was very spacious and clean! Nice balcony with a view onto the town. Was pretty at night with the full moon!

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Best Western Plus was way over what we had expected. Again we stayed for evening meals & they were very good , Breakfast was a buffet & good quality.. The staff were attentive & were friendly. The indoor Swim Pool was another wow factor.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our weekend was perfect in part to our stay at the hotel. We are a family of 6 and the family room was more than enough room. Parking is located under the hotel with all the sites within walking distance. When you check in you receive a ticket to the waterfall for everyone plus discounts to other places. Breakfast was wonderful with plenty of choices for everyone. My kids enjoyed the indoor pool and the view from your room is beautiful. Everyone was helpful during our stay , I would highly recommend to everyone

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wifi did not work in the room, we ended up picking up the wifi on our cell phone then connected the blue tooth from our cell phone to our laptap. Inconvenient but we made it work.

    Family apartment was great and nice view from balcony, and the breakfast was excellent!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Make certain to reserve a parking space in the underground garage as street parking is very limited and space on the ramp in front of the hotel almost impossible to back out of.

    Staff friendly and breakfast was good. Room was adequate in size. View of town required leaning out.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice bedroom for two adults. Very spacious living room and outdoor balcony suitable for daughter and her child. Great Black Forest location. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff was not friendly, at points almost rude. The bathroom was a outdated- the bath towels seemed to be very old which grossed me out. The rooms were nothing fancy, but clean.

    They seem to cater to families with young children. There was a small playground for my kids to play at along with stuffed animals, books puzzles, etc for them to play with.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed too hard(but that is personal preference), Not enough hot water for shower or bath.

    Friendly Staff, large apartment. Water bowl and bowl with treats for our dog. Nice view. Food in restaurant and breakfast was great! Swimming pool lovely. Very nice 'do not disturb' cards, based on whether our dog was in the room or not. Not seen that anywhere in Europe before.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel was cheaper to book through site. Woulda saved us 100 usd

    Staff was very nice. The resturant was very nice. Small cozy bar. And stocked vending machine when it closes. A short walk to everything and free tickets for the activities going on around town. When I come back i will stay again. Also be sure to book a balcony view. It's worth it.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel position is a little bit far away from the city center . There was nothing in order to welcome our little dog ( as a little pillow in order to let it sleep or some cups for water). You pay 6 euro per night but you do not really understand what did you paid. Other hotels cover 10 euro but you find something inside to welcome your pet. No Italians/other countries channels on the TV .

    The rooms of the hotel are big, clean, comfortable and warm ( in wintertime). Breakfast is good and have a nice variety of food. The staff is friendly and helpful. The Quite is the best comfort that you can have in the hotel . The bed is soft, big and give you a good relax. The Television is big enough related with the room size. Balcony has a nice view.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great staff ! Comfortable bed!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    spacious Family Suite, nice pool, view; not too fancy - just right with kids

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location of this hotel is ideal approximately 7-8 minute walk to the 1000 coo coo clock store. An a few minutes away for the waterfall.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: