Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schweizer Hof - Superior This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Lange Strasse 73, 76530 Baden-Baden, Germany

#28 of 51 hotels in Baden-Baden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1075 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late and the room was freezing cold. Heating must have been stopped for a week there. Nobody at the reception to help us to change for other room! We have slept like in a fridge. In the morning, the reception was not able to give us any discount! Horrible experience. At the breakfast I have asked for scrambled eggs, but the waiter just told me they do not do scrambled eggs. Really really bad experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing hot to eat for breakfast. We had very early check out, but the reception doesn’t work at night/early morning. Staff was aware in advance when are we leaving. However after landing they started calling us, saying that they didn’t charge our card. We had to confirm that with Booking.com and call them back in order to pay. International calls are not cheap, so not very clear why do we have to spend the money because they didn’t charge the card on time/a night before we left.

    Very clean, warm in winter, bedroom wasn’t small.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst there is public car parking Immediately outside the hotel., It would be nice if a prepaid parking ticket system could be available to avoid having to make sure you buy a ticket at 08:00.

    Very comfortable room. Close proximity to the town centre. Excellent location for the opera house.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of wifi connection in my room which made me going out to the reception for connection. Since I was staying one night and not for business it was not a problem, in case of a business trip it might be. However, the receptionist was very nice and friendly!

    I liked very much my warm and cosy room, wonderful location of the hotel just beside the Opera house, very nice and friendly girl at the reception, very touching and tasty Christmas biscuits and cookies on the floors and in the lobby, very tasty breakfast with nice croissants and a range of French cheese.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small and the bed was tiny and very uncomfortable.

    Friendly staff, nice location near to bus station and walking distance to restaurants. Breakfast was good and the WiFi excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi not very strong, extractor fan in the bathrooms quiet load. The cleaners forgot to lock the after they cleaned the room on the first day.

    Great location, nice spacious room, tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-Fi connection in the room was poor, but the very helpful staff provided their own Internet connection.

    Perfect location for music lovers, very close to Festspielhaus. Absolutely quiet. RIch breakfast till 10:00 am.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was tricky as we had to park in a lot around the corner and parking charges started up again at 8am meaning we had to time breakfast carefully. Hotel was a little walk from the main pedestrian zone.

    The staff were very helpful, the space was beautiful. I loved that my double room felt like having 2 separate room, one as a dining room/entry and the other for sleeping. The chandeliers made it elegant and upped the experience for sure. The bathroom was very nice and had a couple of shelves to put your stuff on. The beds were really comfortable and our two twins beds were separated so we could sleep completely separate which is what I wanted.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No/very bad wifi coverage in the room, not up to nowadays standards

    Staff very welcoming, big room, comfortable bed, nice view, good breakfast, few minutes walk from city center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was nice but not many options. The rooms look a bit worn and the parking is just on the street, so need to ensure you can go out to pay every 2 hours.

    Nice location to visit Baden Baden, nice staff at reception and breakfast area. easy to walk to town and spend the night visiting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the closing hour from the bar was a little early

    the staff was friendly, the rooms were big for a single person, they have a beautiful garden, breakfast was nice with a lot of variety

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    without air conditioning a little noisy in the morning for the main road in front of the window about 30m

    nice view from balcony 5 min walk to the city centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was on the ground floor and windows faced a wall, so it was dark and the furniture dated. No air conditioning. The single bed was a bit too small. The room where the staff prepared the breakfast was close to my room and it was really noisy in the morning.

    Good location, just across the Opera and a local supermarket. 10 minutes walk to the center. Easy access from the train station. Good breakfast which started early (6.30).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and staff were quite unhelpful- we asked for any recommendations in the town and were told "no" and then we were refused extra sheets to sleep with when we asked (as the weather was so hot) and finally given incorrect information about the best route to get to the airport which ended up costing us a lot of money.

    Location was ok. Room, bathroom and dinig area all were very clean. Breakfast buffet was pretty decent but lack of variety got a little boring by the 3/4 day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Schweizer Hof is a lovely hotel right next to the opera house in Baden-Baden. Our room was spacious, with a luxurious feel, and the breakfast was great. To top it off I forgot my Google Chromecast in the room, and the hotel sent it back to me in Sweden, free of charge! Now that's what I call service!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was a little dated, but didn't detract from our stay.

    Great breakfast, comfortable room. Parking on Sunday was free just by the hotel. Friendly staff and ideal location, walking distance (no more than 10 mins) from all major sites.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very traditional - but maybe that's what is expected by the usual clientele. Tea maker in the room, but no tea... Wifi in room is good, no wifi in the breakfast room.

    Close to Festspielhaus. Very traditional - but maybe that's what is expected by the usual Baden-Baden clientele.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it was a very warm day, it was unfortunate that the hotel is not airconditioned. Hotel is old and a bit tired.

    Location for us, passing through on our final destination, was fine. People were very kind and helpful. The hotel was easy to find.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff gave confused and inaccurate info on a number of topics (cost of baths, bus lines) and there were no room fans available for hot days.

    Beautiful building. Attractive room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely friendly but gave inaccurate information. (E.g.: "airport buses run 2x/hr", but in fact they only run hourly.)

    The staff was very accommodating--it was extremely hot and when I asked for a fan, the woman at the desk unplugged hers and gave it it me for the etirity of my stay. The breakfast was fresh and well chosen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was ok.

    This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel. It is convenient for the city centre. Room is comfortable. It was very warm when we were there (36 degrees) so the room was a bit stuffy. Bed was comfortable and the breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just the pillow

    The location of the hotel is quite good, minutes walk to the city centre and ample of parking space nearby. There are also plenty of restaurants nearby. overall a very convinient location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding was very old with major indentations in the middle. While there was a tea pot, there was no tea. The room did not have any toiletries. There was only 1 roll of mostly used toilet paper, we had to steal a roll from the maid's closet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noice from the hallway . People were talking in the middle of the night

    Good breakfast (not British though) great location, very space room, very clean, friendly service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi kept disconnecting.

    Location next to Festspielhaus. Felt recently decorated. Comfortable room (though an armchair would have made reading more pleasant); plenty of sockets.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one drawback if travelling by car is that no private parking is available, and places in this area are limited.

    If you are going to a performance at the Festspielehaus then this hotel is the perfect choice, being almost next door. If you like old style hotels with charm this is one to pick.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking place is a slight challenge. There is a paid parking between 8-1800 hrs, but maximum stay is 2 hours. After 6PM is free but finding space, you have to be lucky.

    Spacious room, good breakfast. Very close to center. Staff is very nice and helping.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is perfectly adequate but a bit basic, few room facilities eg they provided a kettle and cups but no actual tea or coffee

    Clean & friendly hotel - 10min walk into town, quite good value. Wi-fi was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi signal wasn't very reliable in my room on the first floor

    Easy access from train station, bus stops just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. Staff was nice and friendly at check in and during my stay. The room was very spacious for a single room, comfortable bed and linens. Bathroom/shower was a good size as well and very clean. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choices, yogurt, cereal, pastries, cold cuts, cheese. Only a short walk from main sights in town, fifteen minutes at most

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located a little out of town, just a 10 minute level walk from the centre of the old town, and perhaps 15 minutes from the main tourist sites in the lower half of town (eg the museums, Kurhaus, Lichtentaler Allee, Trinkhalle, Christmas market etc). Our room (room 40, ground floor) was large, luxurious, tastefully decorated, and spotless, and really made our weekend break comfortable. A bath would have been nice, but having a shower in a superbly designed and finished bathroom was totally adequate and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast plentiful and fresh, and with good variety. An excellent hotel providing great comfort at a very good price. All in all a perfect place to stay for Baden Baden.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did have to take our bags up six steps, as we were in Room 1.

    The hotel is situated not far from the bus service that takes you to the town centre. The decor is a bit outdated. Breakfast was good. Staff helpful. There are a couple of restaurants for dinner not far away, as the hotel doesn't provide dinner.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in the room could have been brighter.

    The hotel is right next door to the Festspielhaus, which was the purpose of my visit. To walk into the centre takes only 5 minutes. My room was spacious and comfortable with a good bathroom. Nice bed and pillow. Plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody at reception desk after 22:00. You have to call and in case you don't it is a little problem since the door closes and you need a code to enter and take the key

    Nice location , staff, breakfast with excellent coffee

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms didn't have air conditioning so it was a bit warm but manageable. Unfortunately we asked to check in early which wasn't that early and weren't allowed. The staff was a bit condescending to us a couple of times which was a bit jarring. Not very good wifi.

    The rooms were a great size, very big and spacious. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast provided was pretty good with cheeses, meats and eggs available. Location wise it is relatively close to the action but far enough to be quiet for sleeping

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was meagre by German standards, with a limited selection of food. Some of the dining room staff, but not all, were unfriendly and did not seem to enjoy looking after customers. We have stayed here previously and standards have slipped somewhat. General maintenance seems to have suffered.

    The front desk/reception staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good - location, breakfast, staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Although the reception closes at 10.00.

    Very comfortable and clean. Breakfast great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is far from center abt 30 minutes by car

    Staff are helpfully, hotel is modern style, and very clean, TV is smart tv

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel car park for guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI was slow

    room was pleasant, breakfast was very delicious in a very calm atmosphere staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man on the reception was extremely helpful and ensured that our time in Baden-Baden was as enjoyable as possible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bed for such a large room

    Nice area, lovely staff and very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No actual hotel parking

    Good , clean hotel great room comfy bed I would definitely stay again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillow were not comfortable. Especially pillow!

    Very good location and nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable room, lovely breakfast and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived very late but we could get our key without any problems.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean & cosy. 5 minutes walk to the town centre. Quiet place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    Very clean and excellent service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Exceptionally, outstanding hospitality, staff speak fluent English. We cannot complain about a single thing. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very very nice staff. Great Breakfast. Big and very clean room. Well located!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    central

    Good accomodation and clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled a little musty.

    Easy walk into town and parking nearby. Staff were exceptionally helpful advising where to hike and where to park.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just pay parking in area,

    Beautiful place. Everyone very nice. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi poor.

    Breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift pin code has to be entered each time. Ones it did not work :).

    Breakfast was very good, location excellent, room was large

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly and polite. The red patterned carpet in the whole property gave a royal look. Breakfast was very good, service great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about it is pleasant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was very hot in rooms when it was 36 celsius outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon it was very hot that night.

    Staff and the fact that the breakfast starts already at 6.30am. The price / value is also great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So bad

    Parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was off site quite a bit away

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack warm food

    Breakfast is poor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice hotel for the money; excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's just next to festspielhaus!!! perfect for those who are visiting for just concerts. (the town is worth visiting too)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive for night!

    Nice staff, good location!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have more variety

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi signal was weak

    Parking garage is extremely close by.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like carpets in the room.

    The staff was very friendly all the time giving all the facilitéis.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was polite and helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking, also, I arrived two hours early the lady asked us to return on chick in time.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room Good location

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: