Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Seegarten This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Zum Sorpedamm 21, 59846 Sundern, Germany

#5 of 16 hotels in Sundern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1405 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    On our first stay we had a great room that was very modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • L
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our second stay, we had a room like from 1975...the hotel doesn’t flow The receptionist that checked us in on 7th Aug was very patronising and not genuine.

    On our first stay we had a great room that was very modern and our style The Restaurant food is absolutely great! Very high quality and best gazpacho I’ve ever had!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    The wellness area and the modern loft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was poor and we expected airco in this modern part of the hotel. With 35 degrees outside, the room was pretty hot.

    The wellness area and the modern loft.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    An excellent stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airco... 🔥 The curtain also cannot be opened in parts or split, so an open door means a half open curtain... One can put it in a ventilation stand though which opens the top.

    We stayed in one of the lofts, with an excellent bathroom, an excellent bed and excellent breakfast included. The restaurant is very good, although prices are a bit high. Very nice swimming pool with lots of Fatboy pillows to relax on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Great boutique hotel with interesting rooms and great location for nature lovers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fabulous boutique hotel next to the Sorpesee. Certainly the best in the area, with some great motorcycle roads around the area. Good breakfast included in the rate, nice choice of hot/cold food. Medium size infinity pool on the roof and a spa (kit off). Quite amusing when your having a cold beer in the garden and the spa has a glass wall !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Lovely dam and plenty to do during the day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • S
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar area in hotel just for a drink, main restaurant food too fancy, bistro restaurant closed Mondays and Tuesdays, few places to visit/ eat in the evening. Overall disappointing for evenings but plenty to do in the day.

    Close to dam and lovely scenery. Great boat trip close by. Spa area lovely but felt unfinished. Loved the foot bath area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Way beyond my expectations - very much value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • XS
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door handle was hard to open. That was the only fault I could come up with.

    The breakfast was amazing, the location spectacular and the spa with the fourth floor infinity pool free. The hotel has a wide variety of rooms so you can get all of the benefits at a reasonable price if you choose a small room. The decor was well thought out from a traditional wing with older style fittings to a new wing with very modern styling. Externally it had excellent gardens/ponds/streams. And did I say the breakfast was amazing?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    The spa, the restaurant (dinner)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • S
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the room was a pain (up the secondary stairs after a long corridor). Bathroom very small. No fridge, no mini-bar

    The spa, the restaurant (dinner)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Perfect for quality break with amazing roof top pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • M
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That Chefs restaurant was shut. We have been last year and this was one of the main reasons we were back. Having said that their main restaurant was open and food was excellent

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hidden gem, not too far away from the business areas of the region
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great people and a superb restaurant. The staff are very flexible, and reacted to some special requests including lending a kettle to a non-guest, but colleague within a few minutes. The design is great and it's always a pleasure staying there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place for a quiet evening if you don’t mind the extra 15 minutes drive from the urban area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was superb and also impressed with the gluten free options. The rooms are amazing, although the ones on the front do benefit (additionally) from the lake view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.3
    Great spa area for free, bikes for free, wifi at good speed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • M
    • Stayed 6 nights

    First room we were provided was not according to the photos, wall paper was peeling off, holes in the bed sheets, holes in the walls, decor was old and the entire room was in desperate need of modernizing (2 Star). After our complaint we were provided with a new modern room which was in keeping with the photos, however without warning we were awoken to decorators in the hallway directly outside our room and builders on the ground floor. Staff were unapologetic and never even asked how our stay was.

    Great spa area for free, bikes for free, wifi at good speed, breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • S
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was a bit pokey but the shower was great and the bed comfortable. Could have done with more pillows.

    Very peaceful and beautiful location. Food was quite expensive but well worth it. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Too expensive for what was offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • S
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the old building above the kitchen which was a big disappointment. The smell was unbearable. The bathroom was really small and stinks. There was no ventilation system apart from windows. For the price we paid, it was definitely not value for money.

    Perfect WIFI, good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    Great new building with surprise to sleep on the old one
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • S
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hate the fact that I was thinking to be on the new building but my room was on the old one, there were also many work in progress with not clean path to achieve the room and too many stairs, and door to be opened to achieve my room at the top of the old building. Ideal was to be on the new building but unfortunately I did this experience to be on the old one even if the room was ok and clean. But if you expect something different is not good to have a surprise. Luckily I was alone and not with my family for holidays.

    The new part of the hotel it was great but unfortunately I was on the old part of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Overall a very desirable and contempory place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some of the lofts have a poor view however; the receptionist changed this for me on my second nights stay.

    A very modern and clean hotel, lots of nice touches ie ; coffee machines, nice toiletries, hifi systems.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice location and good SPA. Good for relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • M
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge and no kettle for making coffee or tea in the room. Sauna only available in the afternoon. Breakfast was okay, but could be better.

    Swimming pool and SPA. Room was big. Location was nice for relaxation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.3
    Great facility fair customer service.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfriendly and unhelpful front desk staff, although we are repeat customers. Expected more from a 4 star facility. Housekeeping was not able to remove broken glass in plain sight on floor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Cosy, modern hotel in beautiful nature setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • M
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some indoor fitness equipment would make my rating 10/10

    Spa centre, swimming pool, rich and tasty breakfast, classy and delicious restaurant, friendly service, amazing running, biking, roller-skating routes around the lake, perfect hiking paths

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    4.2
    Schreckliches Erfahrung, small room, awful bathroom, very expensive and yet bad restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • S
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was really awful. We travel a lot and stay in hotels all over the world. This place is just abominable.

    Nothing much, it's a terrible place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    3.8
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • S
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looks not alike its price....looks cheaper...

    Nothing...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay, despite the missing bar.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • M
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no Bar....

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Kamer was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sportfaciliteiten

    Kamer was perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Everything is easy THE BEST !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • XS
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is easy THE BEST !!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotell.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • M
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit to hard beds.

    Beautiful hotell. Nice pool/relax, quiet och very professional straff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Bathroom is too small.
    • Couple
    • M
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is too small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Everything, great service, great place, super location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • XS
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, great service, great place, super location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Superbgarten
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • S
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room ventilation

    Spa, breakfast, lake views are lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Nice swimming pool.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • M
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low speed WIFI.

    Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Relaxing in modern stylish mountain retrait
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • M
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The reception and staff was very polite and friendly. We could easily change our room. The restaurant offered a fine dining menu

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    the bed was very comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • M
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was very comfy!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Affordable luxury at a beautiful resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • M
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room in a beautiful surrounding. The staff were amazing. Truly special place. Already planning to go back again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Location and swimming pool are exceptional.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • XS
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and swimming pool are exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    Geld waard
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • S
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Niks

    There was a water boll for the dogs plus a little mat for them

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Great wellness hotel to relax in style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • M
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent swimming pool and 'sky spa' Very friendly staff Excellent restaurant Great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Luxury stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was not strong enough

    The facilities were very high standard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stay to explore the area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • XS
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Like a paradise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • M
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor swimming pool would be great

    Perfect view, comfortable room, great breakfast...free parking, fast wifi , perfect hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    5.8
    you get an old room in stead of a new one that is shown on the site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • S
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got an old room in the old building with a small bed. We asked foor a bigger bed and got one but still in a old room with smells from the kitchen.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Very good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • S
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast. Very good restaurant in the evening. Nice, modern rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.2
    the sauna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • S
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the sauna

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.6
    Location, food, wellness area with beautiful swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • M
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, food, wellness area with beautiful swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.5
    Hotel in construction.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • M
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel in construction. A lot of noise.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    Recommneded for business & private
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • M
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, nice restaurant. Everything very good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Relax
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • S
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice Hotel with amazing Spa and delicious restaurant. Also lot of choices for breakfast with fresh preparation cooked eggs.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Wunderfull stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • S
    • Stayed 1 night

    Special Offer and Upgrade. Nice SPA Area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    10
    Good beds, lovely breakfast, Free parking, upgrade to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After check out we would like to use the wellness and we had to pay € 20,- pp.

    Good beds, lovely breakfast, Free parking, upgrade to comfortroom, bottle of water in the room.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was not working in our room signaal to weak , then very disappointing they have I think 35 old rooms and just 17 new ones all pictures are made newest building and rooms big big difference

    Wellness locaties

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    9.6
    very nice hotel with sauna and pool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi didn't work in my room there are 2 houses (old one and new one) and the pictures are mostly from the new buiding what can be deceptive....

    very nice hotel with sauna and pool interresting restaurant very good breakfest

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    Probably the most stunning pool and spa area in whole NRW.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Probably the most stunning pool and spa area in whole NRW. Something you'd rather expect in top location, but not in slightly old fashioned Sauerland.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    We stayed at one of the appartment lofts, which was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Appartment loft with a view - we stayed at the ground floor and the view there is rather poor. Breakfast finishes rather early (10AM) Rather older visitors, there's nothing to do during the night in the neighbourhood.

    We stayed at one of the appartment lofts, which was great. Awesome sky pool and sauna, nice breakfast and beautiful and clean room.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    7.1
    NIce hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked the very last room. A standard room, since it was the last one. On the pictures the standard room looked really nice, so we booked. But our room didn't look like the pictures that we saw. Pretty much every room in the hotel had a view, except ours. It can't say it was bad, since it was very clean and had a nice bathroom, but I have to say that we were a little disappointed. So if you don't book the very last room, you should be fine :-)

    NIce hotel. The pool and sauna area are beautiful. Breakfast is really good too!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    This is an excellent ran hotel with superb facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is an excellent ran hotel with superb facilities. The Spa facilities really stood out and the staff were friendly. Excellent breakfast to start the day as well

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    Amazing hotel in a great location for leisure, walking and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our 'Loft Room' was on the ground floor, so could not see the lake or any real view, only everybody looking at us from the large car park which was in front of the room. The ground floor rooms need more screening. If you are given a ground floor 'Loft Room' see if you can change it for one floor up. WiFi poor, only allowed 1 connection per day for maximum time of 15 minutes. But these are minor points, you come for the location, walking and cycling, not to stay in!!

    Amazing hotel in a great location for leisure, walking and cycling. The new extension to the hotel with the 'Loft Rooms' is great and these rooms are well fitted out, with the swimming pool on the roof.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    8.8
    Stayed in panorama loft of new section.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Make sure you have cash on you for buying things on the Sorpesee boulevard

    Stayed in panorama loft of new section. Everything very new, clean and sharp. Room came with complimentary water and coffee cups and we could hook up our iPhones to the sound system. Solid working wifi. Spa and pool very well done. Outside there are a few small playgrounds for the kids. Great overview over the lake.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.6
    Great location, loved the wellness area and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, loved the wellness area and the breakfast was nice

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    9.2
    The Spa and in particular the pool is simply amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing.

    The Spa and in particular the pool is simply amazing.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    10
    Great stay at the Seegarten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great stay at the Seegarten. The sky spa was fabulous. Loved the view from the sauna...

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    Simply superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing!

    Simply superb. We had a loft. Great design room. Fantastic skypool and spa. Great surrounding.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    8.8
    Top Spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Top Spa. Top Infinity Pool in die Sorpe .-)

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    Large, very comfortable rooms with the lake's view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large, very comfortable rooms with the lake's view. Perfect location for relaxing weekend.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    10
    The new additions are 5 Star
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The new additions are 5 Star

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Hotel Seegarten traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: