Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Seehotel Töpferhaus This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Am See, 24791 Alt Duvenstedt, Germany

#3 of 3 hotels in Alt Duvenstedt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 390 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    Hotel is Good. Price for food is too high for the quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a walking diner in the evening. Price in total with Some coffee was overrared. 50 euro per person for a simple meal is way to much No choise in pillows.

    breakfast was ok. Scenery is beautyfull.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    In process of a total refit.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of the re-fit all the public areas resembled a building site. A glass of average beer 8.5 euros No food available in the evening

    In process of a total refit. New modern clean well designed rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    Probably fine if you are fluent in German. But if not, not very good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived late. Proper reception closes at 10. I suppose €99 isn't a four star price these days. But I didn't get four star service either. The room is nice enough. Not too many leaves on the car in the morning. Night manager who welcomed me struggled to understand me. Ice cubes were found after I had said "Eiswürfel" about 6 times. Menu does not list ingredients of food. I mean ALL ingredients, not just allergens. Couldn't even have a piece of cake because I didn't know what was in them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location, beautiful building and perfect location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was bit expensive for what we got offered, would liked more veg, fruit and protein sources i.e. Poached, Scrambled egg....smoked salmon etc....than just cold meats & cheese... Bathrobes additional daily costs, should have been included in the room price to use the free spa/wellness centre

    Excellent, warm welcome, amazing accommodation and facilities. Area was spectacular

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    A place to be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom

    Marvellous first impression: Relaxing location with garden at the lake. Spacious hotel area, well maintained. WiFi functioning accross the whole site. Nice room with good bed. Excellent restaurant and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Battery-charger
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi is so-so, but enjoy the location instead of the phone..

    A fantastic hotel! Location like in a dream and it´s easy to recharge the batterys on such a location. A good advice is to book a long weekend and really cut of the mobile-phone and just relax.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Great wedding venue
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there for a wedding and it seemed that there were very many weddings catered for at this venue. The venue lacked a dedicated bar but drinks were readily available from the waiting staff.

    Staff were extremely helpful and the lakeside location provided a lovely backdrop with outside areas for sitting and eating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    The food was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was awful. I have eaten in this place many times but it seems to get worse all the time. A few years ago it was excellent, it even had one Michelin star but now they changed the concept and both the food and wines are below sta ndard.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant was a bit slow

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great for a relaxed weekend with sauna, stand up paddling, superior cooking and a lot of nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna directly at the lake. How much better can it get?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Wery nice place where we be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wery nice place where we be back soon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything ...food,wine, location!!!*****

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Staying there often and I love the peacefulness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying there often and I love the peacefulness. Lovely food in the restaurant and very friendly staff - love the sauna and the room too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    obligatory buffet dinner
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    obligatory buffet dinner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Quiet peaceful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal on outside terrace overlooking lake, superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect overnight stop in a quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions from the motorway

    Although close to the motorway it was in an amazing lakeside location in a completely tranquil setting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Excellent small holiday. Total relaxsarion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be a small fridge in Room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.5
    Fantastic hotel in the middel of the nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    7.5
    Very nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we stayed in was a pet room as we were traveling with two cats. The room was clean and tidy, but had a fairly strong dog smell.

    Very nice and helpful staff. We arrived late and the kitchen had closed, but still we were offered a nice and plentiful evening snack. Overall very pleasant stay!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.8
    The location, facilites and the restaurant are excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed there more than ten times, and yet there is never a welcome. The receptionist at most gives a loof welcome, we have never experienced a warm welcome and/or personal remark like "good to see you here again..". As an experience traveller, I am amazed at this lack of professionality relative to an important detail. The staff's behavior must however be classified as correct, not negative. The service in the restaurant har a more personal touch. The Wi-Fi is of the type where you have to reconnect continually, very annoying!

    The location, facilites and the restaurant are excellent

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    We only stayed in Seehotel Töpferhaus for one night when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We only stayed in Seehotel Töpferhaus for one night when driving from Copenhagen to Netherlands - but we will definitely come back and stay longer. Really nice hotel with competent and friendly staff. The rooms are well furnished and have all you need - and are with a balcony or terrace. Do you want to spoil yourself then choose a room with seaview - because the hotel is located just next to quite a big lake on its own big ground: And are you looking for a special spa treatment you can get it made just next to the lake in a small cabin. We will definitely do that next time! The hotel is famous for its kitchen - and you can see why. The menu changes depending on the season and most is organic and/or sustainable with focus on local produce. The dinner menu might not have been the perfect match for my taste - but you could see the quality in all of the dishes. The breakfast on the other hand: I do not think I have seen a breakfast buffet like this one before. It was not the biggest - but there were very high quality in every single offering, no short cuts at all. And still it was very affordable. Please keep up this standard! If there were one thing we could complain about it was the weather. But then again - if it had been sunshine we would not have experienced the almost magical fog in the morning

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    An absolutely beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing! That we couldn't stay longer

    An absolutely beautiful hotel. Arriving at night it looked quite magical with all the lovely candles and waking after a Fabulous meal, to the amazing gardens and view was a sheer delight.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    Location and a cosy atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The website talk about a Spa hotel which is not the case. Only a Sauna and not even possible with a swim in the great lake. No jetty only goose shit! A fence stopping all the goose would be nice!

    Location and a cosy atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    10
    We stayed for one day and we and we found the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing we didn't like.

    We stayed for one day and we and we found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, food excellent and reasonably priced. The grounds are delightful with views of the lake and surrounding forest.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    Exellent Hotel - Good rooms - Nice food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bed pillows....... You really have a bad experience with these high synthetic pillows.. Low feather pillows are preferred...

    Exellent Hotel - Good rooms - Nice food..

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast and surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast and surroundings

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.6
    Very pleasant vacation-type hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sauna is not hot enough by German standards.

    Very pleasant vacation-type hotel. Breakfast certainly worth the money. Beautiful area.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    10
    I absolutely loved this place, I hope to visit again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I absolutely loved this place, I hope to visit again . . . Did not want to leave!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    Wonderful Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful Location! Great Valle for Money!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.9
    location, views, hotel's interesting restaurant which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    midges/mosquitoes

    location, views, hotel's interesting restaurant which had some quirky combinations.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great. We were with a 6 monts old puppy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was great. I would definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast, you don't often see it like this anymore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bathroom was a bit small, certainly in comparison to the walkin closet

    Breakfast, you don't often see it like this anymore.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    The location is fantastic, just by the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is fantastic, just by the lake.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.8
    The service is great, we could have breakfast on the terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service is great, we could have breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.9
    pleasant surroundings, nice food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    acces to restaurant difficult for partially disabled person

    pleasant surroundings, nice food

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    8.3
    Excellent food and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    9.6
    Food and service in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience.

    Food and service in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    7.5
    We stayed only one night, but this hotel was very positive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed only one night, but this hotel was very positive surprise, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    9.2
    top on all ratings, loved the location and the comfort of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    top on all ratings, loved the location and the comfort of a small hotel

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast and dinner was perfect, Nice location with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast and dinner was perfect, Nice location with wonderful view over lake.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    10
    The customer service was exceptional!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The customer service was exceptional! Very welcoming, excellent staff, comfortable & super clean! We highly recommend staying here!

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Seehotel Töpferhaus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: