Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Seehotel Frankenhorst This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Frankenhorst 5, 19055 Schwerin, Germany

#5 of 20 hotels in Schwerin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 634 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For holiday season the area near the lake wasn't open for drinks etc. The Breakfast wasn't well staffed and it seemed we were a nuisance ? Also other residents were snobby.

    The surroundings are great. You can hire a pedlow or canoe. Nice place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little tired Sky TV didn't work and wifi was extremely poor Overpriced for the facilities provided Rooms not serviced until after 4pm each day

    Good food and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Ecuadorian waiter in restaurant spoke poor english and poor german. He did not know anything about menu. He forgot to bring wine. Etc.Etc. ....but as a person he was nice and pleasant . So It was minor thing. 2) We could hear every single small step from the room above our room. Apparently A wooden ceiling. But It was not A big problem.

    Nice view, Quiet atmosphere. Calm location. Good food. Nice balcony. Nice room. Clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Misleading info on booking: this is not a hotel but a motel. Rooms are away from the main building which is not a nice walk after dinner on rainy cold winter evenings. Don't know where the castle picture was taken. I did not see it on the property. Only small lake view from the breakfast room.

    Friendly reception. Nice room, good size. Breakfast buffet. Free parking and wifi. Room was warm on arrival.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If anything then just the weak mobile and wifi reception in some Buildings, though free wifi in Restaurant and spa!

    We felt very welcome through the whole stay. Being Close to Schwerin but a bit landside at a romantic lake, we enjoyed calm and comfort - great Wellness facilities and rooms / Bungalows. A true 4* Resort!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative.

    It was a very nice stop during our trip. The hotel is very good, we have enjoyed a fantastic breakfast. I wish I could stay more there, to see the lake and the surrounding.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location by the lake was restful and all facilities are of a high standard the staff were very helpful and spoke good English thanks to all at seehotel frankenhorst

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff were a bit indifferent to clients setisfctation. Wifi didn't work well and well they changed the settings one day to require a password, it didn't accrued to them to inform about it

    Incredibly pretty place. A true piece of heaven. Hot stone massage was amazing and the rooms very specious

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The units with the parking lot outside the door were too much like a U.S. motel. Not a good location for my 4 rooms. The rate should have included a breakfast, Euro-style.

    The grounds are beautiful. The restaurant was very nice and comfortable overlooking the grounds and lake in the distance. A classy property. The town of Schwerin is close and very pretty, but strangely empty and quiet. The lakes and canals make it very pleasant setting. And the Baltic Sea is just an hour away. The pool and spa is clean and attractive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I felt the hotel prices were slightly expensive for what was on offer - the room prices are separate to the cost of breakfast and an evening meal and it all added up to quite a lot of money for the week. I would have thought that they could do a Bed and Breakfast standard rate and a Half Board standard rate to make in easier for clients. Our only other problem was that there was very little storage for our clothes in our studio room - no wardrobes or drawers to put things in, just a cupboard with a hanging rail and a shelf which is fine if only staying one night, but no good at all for a week.

    The studio rooms which we had were ideal in many ways, with excellent facilities for the disabled person in our group (wet room. support handles around the toilet, wide doors for wheelchair access etc and the hotel arranged the hire of a wheel chair for us) We liked the benefit of having a patio with furniture, and a small kitchen and fridge area complete with 2-ring hob. Everywhere was very clean and comfortable. The staff were amazing and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The hotel is in a lovely secluded spot, right by a lake with boating facilities, and Sat Nav knows where it is! We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the place but also the easy access by car to places of interest around the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite booking well in advance in march because of a cancer treatment of my wife we were given an overheated room in the loft without ac, without elevator ,without any proper ventilation except an inefficient baby fan and 2 windows pointing into the northern sky. The receptionist first refused to give us a better room, only after long discussions gave a room ground floor with some ventilation. As we wanted to settle there he asked us to leave again because the customers who checked in after us overheard our complaint and refused to take the loft room, they insisted on the ground floor room with view to the lake and better ventilation. Ac being absent in all rooms except suites!! So we were forced to take a very small room next to the hotel-reception which at least had some natural ventilation but gave us all the noise you get due to the breakfast -veranda and hotel- entrance next to the room. After many happy bookings with bookings.com and 30 years travelling world-wide this was a terrible experience. Booking .com should not have a hotel without ac and with such a primitive room in their list. A hotel without an honest ,caring receptionist should not be in your list.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, friendly staff, comfortable room, great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast. friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Very very nice place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast, pleasant staff, nice silant place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic staff and settings

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds bad quality ... too soft too old and not suited for my 1.92 size

    Super area ... quiet ... nice on the lake ... It has style

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drive out by taxi, as it was hard to find, but well worth it.

    The property was awesome. It was so relaxing to sit by the water and unwind.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 204 was atrocious.

    A very nice, peaceful compound.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room location was going to be in an ugly kind of complex with s view to the parking lot We ended up paying extra to be in the main lodge - not a good deal. If the weather is not good there is hardly anything to do there.

    Humm! Not too much - certainly would not recommend this place!

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a health and exercise spa with all of the facilities needed for such. If you don't plan to use these facilities, it is a bit over priced. Low on old world charm.

    Lovely dining room, good food, beautiful lake setting.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is our second time staying at this hotel. The staff has been consistently helpful and friendly and the rooms have been comfortable. This time we could swim in the beautiful pool, as well as stroll the lovely grounds and enjoy looking out at the lake from the beach chairs on the lawn. This time we had to cut our visit short but in the past enjoyed dinner in the wonderful restaurant. And the breakfasts are SUPERB.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Unfortunately we had one rather rude and unfriendly waiter in the evening who ignored us completely initially and then acted simply irritated that he had to bring us our glasses of wine. We felt as if we were inconveniencing him. Later we listened to him berating his very nice colleague who had taken over our table. Totally rude and inappropriate. Kind of ruined the mood of our evening. Really did not fit with the wonderful atmosphere of the whole place!

    Loved this hotel! Beautiful setting, comfortable, spacious rooms and lots of nice extras. The pool was clean and all the facilities seemed new and updated. One night was too short!

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not often I give a negative comment as I tend to be an easy going regular hotel visitor. This time though few pint must be pinted out as I feel badly dissapointed with my stay. Upon arrival, I was forced to wait about ten minutes by the desk as the gentelman at the reception had a long conversation on the phone. No reaction to my arrival or singnals at all. The room - no airco, the room was incredibly hot upon arrival and needed to open all windows and doors to cool it down (didn't help much). Wireless not working dispite contacting the reception ('restart modem'). The soap in the shower run out (almost empty container), the drain blocked there as well. Could not charge the beverage to my room - "cash only" I was told in the restaurant.

    Location, lake, Morning reception staff helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is a too far from town for a tourist wanting to spend the majority of his time in Schwerin. Also, the free wi-fi was VERY poor.

    This hotel had lots of different facilities from a lake side sauna to a heated pool. The rooms were quiet and very spacious. The setting is lovely.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was called "overlooking the park" but it was actually overlooking a carpark! We were very disappointed with a room to the backside of house 4. Wifi never worked in this remote place

    Nice restaurant, fine food and the room itself was nice Friendly staff and nice swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expencive breakfast. Very dark drive up to the Hotel in the night. The signs was not very easy to find, my gps was a saver. The wi-fi was very show, bad performance

    Clean and very fast check in and out procedure. The room was in a god size

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Visa cards from international banks haven't accepted. It was problem with payment.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Kids loved the farm animals and the play ground.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful surrounding, nice friendly staff and a great breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    excellent location

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location next to lake. Marina hidden location.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too hard for me but ok for my husband

    Location and cottage

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location on the lake. Excellent facilities including pool and sauna. Food very good.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    Children love the playground, great swimming poo, land all animals. We love the room, the view and the Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No public transports near by and hotel is far away from the city.

    Lake side to sit back, country side for lazy walk, and decent roams.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    Everithing: location, hotel, service, Wellness center, breakfast

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: