Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Christina 3 stars

Bischofsweg 52, Zollstock, 50969 Cologne, Germany

#196 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 454 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    6.5

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very small, very expensive (maybe because of the ANUGA Foodtech Exhibition over the period of my visit).

    Good breakfast, coffee and hot drinks available in the lobby (24-hour availability)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi fi stopped the last night of my visit. Was not able to contact reception from my room for it, because the room telefone was not working.

    Very polite and understanding staff. Pleasant atmosphere and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew up front that the room had only a bed for two persons (for three persons?) IT is probably normal these days that some hotels put more persons in one room than there are beds available. I think this is strange.

    The employees are very friendly and helpfull. The old city can be reached by tram 16 in 15 minutes (7 minutes walk and 8 minutes per tram)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The team are friendly . They tried their best to make my stay as comfy as they could with the poor facilities they had around , and price wise it was no value for the money it is over priced , will never repeat it again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear the tram/trains all night, the room was very warm so needed to keep the window open too.

    Staff were friendly, good breakfast, good parking. We walked into the city which took 40 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet did not work throughout the hotel. I chose the hotel because I had some emails and business to take care of before the end of the day. The receptionist was very rude when I asked for help. Price/quality ratio poor! Much worse than a Premier Inn, which is typically cheaper.

    Fairly clean. Breakfast had a fine range of Lidl sourced options..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet had An excellent range of hot, cold choices and you could also have a freshly cooked soft boiled egg ! The staff all spoke excellent english and were very kind and professional; always there to help whenever needed and nothing was too much trouble. There was always a warm welcome on reception and they provided a map of the neighbourhood with directions to the u Bahn and 9/10 different eateries within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel also provides free coffee and biscuits in a small lounge on the ground floor. I had a single room which was very spacious and comfortable and was lucky enough to meet the owners Sabine and Erich Koch, a delightful couple who were most knowledgeable and hospitable. In short I my stay at Hotel Christina was most enjoyable and I would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy in the evening. Hotel is between a busy road junction and a busy train line. Quite a walk to restaurants etc. WiFi in the rooms is a disaster, need to sit in breakfast room or coffee room to get a decent signal

    Clean and comfy enough for 2 nights. All staff very friendly and helpful. Really good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was not very clean

    I went to the oktoberfest and it is right across the street so for me it was a great location but a bit far from city center

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi did not work in my room at all. Sygnal was too weak. The have a single wi-fi station in a hotel. I had to work from their restaurant. They give out 500Mb vouchers per device. I would run out of bandwith in a few hours. If you need more vouchers they hapily give you those. Why not increase the bandwith limit per voucher? Underground is 15 mins. away on foot from the hotel. I had to use taxi most of the time.

    Staff was very polite and friendly. Location is quite good if you use taxi service. Fairs to the center costs 11€-12€.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi is limited to 500 megs and connection is slow. You can do better guys, I am sure!

    Great personnel with very friendly approach. Great breakfast! Not far from public transport, easy to reach by car. Simple and nice rooms, very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to note down that was bad.

    Staff where very friendly and did not automatically switch to English which allowed me to use the German I an still struggling to learn.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the location.

    Simple & straightforward. All I needed as I wasn't in the hotel for much of my time in Cologne. The staff were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast too expansive for what they offer. WiFi connection was really really poor.

    Staff was friendly! Room was quite clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    cannot think of anything. It all satisfied my needs

    all of it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wi-fi very bad

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No options for dinner

    Personnel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Close to rail tracks. Too far out of city. Poor facility.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel too small for two people.

    Loved Koeln.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. No wifi connection. Did not agree to give a different room.

    The reception lady is very helpful. Ok breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little small room. Mat be we come back and ask room88.....

    breakfust in the morning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff was very friendly and attended to our special wishes ( we had a very young child with us)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Train runs until 12:30 and started again at 4:30

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i had to keep getting wifi tickets haah

    Everything like bed, breakfast and coffee!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were amazing , great value for money and good place to relax I really liked :D

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't connectable whilst I was there or once connected no internet available

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street, poor sound proof and not comfy pillows at all

    Free parking

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very good, the guy who prepared breakfast is very nice and patient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby, dated, extremely overpriced, very noisy - freight trains, festival noise, weird location.

    Very friendly staff. Good coffee.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad WiFi, very close to the noisily street. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi is very unstable and slow. Fungus in the bathroom.

    Nice personnel. Great breakfast. Water, tea and coffee availible at the lobby day and night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hôtel actually refuses to refund a reservation made with a wrong date even 30 days before the due date.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from city centre but that's our fault for not checking.

    Staff were very good, hotel was basic but value for money,

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was basic and creaked when I moved, I need to sleep with two pillows and liked the window open but outside noise stopped that.

    Good Breakfast with plenty for all tastes. The reception staff were fantastic nothing too small a problem and always smiled. Good access roads to all parts of Cologne and out of the city. I would stop again as a business Man.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is a bit out from the city centre and was around 15 euros each way by taxi The pricing was obviously higher due to ISM trade show however, this could be said for all the hotels.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and breakfast had a good choice for a normally budget hotel. The rooms although basic were very clean.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have bigger closets at home than the room I was given and for 120€ per night it was definitely not worth the visit. Internet is a hassle....needed new password tokens every 30 minutes.

    Breakfast okay

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Worst experience ever. Booked a room with 2 single beds to share with my colleague and got a double bed room and not possible to change. Staff not helpful at all, room not comfortable, over over priced, graphical situation is really bad and worst: wifi not working. So, finally, we booked 4 nights and left after 3. Never will be back there.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very close to a a major road junction and near a railway line. Window had to be kept closed to keep the noise down and the curtains failed to block the street light which was right outside.

    Clean and reasonably priced hotel with friendly staff. Room was somewhat bare and small but comfortable bed and decent shower room with plenty of hot water. Covered car park under the hotel at no extra charge was a big plus in a town where hotels either have no parking or charge a fortune. Free wi-fi should have been good but although very fast in breakfast room did not work at all in the bedroom. Likewise the free tea and coffee. It should have been a bonus but was only available in the lobby. A kettle in the room would have been more useful.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked the local transport links to be nearer. Room lighting levels could be improved

    Friendly staff nothing to much trouble, great breakfasts

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurants or pubs in the immediate vicinity. You have to walk 10 minutes to find them.

    Hotel Christina is some 5 kilometers away from Koeln Messe, which is a 15 minutes ride by car. It has an own car park. Breakfast buffet is nice.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not like the location. it is bit far to the nearest train station. And there are no bus services to this location.

    The hotel is clean and the staff are cooperative.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Substantial street noise if you leave the windows open

    Good value; The staff was great and we took advantage of the multi-purpose tickets we purchased in the information center in the city. Every day we walked 10 minutes to the rail station to go to and from the city center

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The trains could be heard behind the building, but did not keep me awake.

    The cleanliness of room, knowledgeable and helpful staff (they spoke excellent English and were patient with my horrible German). Breakfast was excellent and filling every day!

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - enough parking spaces - tasty breakfasts

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The train passes behind the hotel. It's a quite silent train though, not a major issue.

    Good breakfast, wifi works well, very clean, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor wi-fi.

    Good breakfast, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room did not have enough light, only 1 bulb halfway the bed wall to illuminate the entire bedroom. The other end was pitch black.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Outrageously priced for that kind of hotel

    Very basic, no frills

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was awful! Weird breakfast.

    The room was rather clean.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would be better if there was coffee and tea available in the room

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Location is very awkward and price is very high as it is ordinary 2 star hotel

    Nice staff on recepation very cooperative Old fashioned hotel

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very basic facilities

    Comfortable bed and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No decoration at all.

    Clean, good location, car park --> efficient.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The train noice did disturb. The Wi-Fi was really poor.

    The breakfast was unexpected good.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is above a tram station. Very noisy throughout the night. Few room facilities.

    Carpark next door and easy access to town by taxi.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No shampoo and poor razor provided, which remains some scratches on my face

    Good breakfast, clean bed, and kind service

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Limited transfer over wifi very small desk in the corner for laptop

    It was generally ok

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small room with a small bed... Not good value for money....

    Nice staff. Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would have liked a kettle in the room for a tea or coffee

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, clean

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The size of the bed.I would pay a little more for a bigger bed

    Good Value

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The bed cover was too short and the Wi-Fi didn't work properly.

    Very polite staff

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Private Parking, 24hours Reception, Good Breakfast, Quiet place in the night.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Browse Hotel Christina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: