Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hafen Hamburg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Seewartenstr. 9, St. Pauli, 20459 Hamburg, Germany

#115 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 6496 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Expensive for what it is but superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, price of breakfast was absurd at €20 per person. There is, however, a branch of the bakery chain Dat Backhus five minutes walk away if you turn left out of the hotel. They do a decent breakfast for €5.

    Excellent location just uphill from the Landungsbrűcken with all the restaurants and bars, the Portuguese Quarter is five minutes walk away. Comfortable bed. Good and well-priced diner-type restaurant if you don't want to go out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kajüte - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    double rate saturday/sunday, breakfast not included, parking not included, small bed in double room, same rate for double/single room

    great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large double bed included in the price and actually was offered twin beds No bathrobe for a 4stars hotel is poor No air conditionning Metro quite noisy

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Commander Class - Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Its a large hotel, so it would have been great if a gym was provided in-house. Also room service wasnt an option. 1ltr bottle of drinking water in room is priced at Euro 5.

    Location of the hotel is good. Several resturants within walking distance, also hotel has a few. The bar ajecent to the lobby is nice and very convenient. Reception staff although were very busy were polite and helpful. Wifi was free and my connection was very good. (Room 204)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    good stay but expensive due to trade show
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No AC and it was hot. Expensive due to SMM trade show which is OK but 3 times the usual price is a little excessive.

    Location, room cleanliness, general atmosphere in the hotel. Have stayed here many times and will stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Location excellent for sight-seeing in HH, but very expensive breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast at € 20,00 per head is a ridiculous Price... (Family of four = € 80,00!!) Tip: short walk along the road to a backery - you can get a Bacon and egg breakfast, fresh bread coffee etc for a Family of four for less than 30 Euro...... We had booked "Lieutenant Class" Rooms. The double bed is very small and there is hradly any room in the room.... We pity those who have bad weather in HH and are confined to the room for the day.

    Central Location and the bar in the evening. Nice traditional Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location, but no A/C. Love the apple a day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived in Aug and stayed in the Tower. It was hot! The rooms have no air conditioning. We were provided fans which helped a little, but our rooms were still hot. We kept the windows opened at nights to get some cooler air in.

    The location. The hotel is close to the Hamburg Harbor, not far from restaurants and ferries. Love the apple a day

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Hotel itself is of the high standart, reccomend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The problem was with the room. I had got the room directly over rail ways, the noice was unbeareble. Trains went to the deeppest night. Such rooms should cost twice less from he normal price. The night was absolutely unbareble. Event closed window and stoppers did not help, (taking into consideration lack of conditionair). Bare it in mind when you book your room. So, it is necessary to demand detailed information about location of the room. It is unacceptable to pay the same price for the noisy room, as for the normal. I don't remember if there was an obtion to book a silance room, during the booking process. On my mind the price for the breakfast is also high.

    Hotel itself is of the high standart, reccomend it. Service is good. I forgot sun-glasses, so they promised to sent it back. Waiting for it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning which was very unfortunate due to the weather wing very warm for Hamburg. The only ventilation was from the windows which open onto a fire escape stairwell. It was unsafe to leave open over night which made it very uncomfortable to get a good nights sleep. House staff pleasant, reception and front of house staff not so much!

    Although not included we had breakfast each day within the hotel, superb buffet and service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no any air conditioner in the whole hotel, that is very uncomfortable in the heat weather of 35 degrees, that we have experienced during our stay.

    Great location! Great and very helpful staff. In my opinion, a little bit overpriced hotel, but the location is absolutely great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    A great hotel in a great location with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room would have benefited from air conditioning

    A great hotel in a great location with great views. We wished we'd had more time to explore the area and will look to return in the future. The room was very comfortable and the restaurant both for dinner and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Overall, we liked staying here and Hotel Hafen, Hamburg has a very warm and friendly atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room with the double bed beside the wall on one side. Maybe we should have stayed in the modern part of the hotel.

    Fantastic staff at the front desk who went out of their way to help! Excellent location! Fabulous restaurant overlooking the harbour!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Room was clean, check in was easy and fast, free bottle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sailor Class - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no A/C, which was pretty bad as weather was way too hot in Hamburg those days.

    Room was clean, check in was easy and fast, free bottle of water as compliment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice location if you want to overlook the harbour. Good size rooms. Inexperienced staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in staff were inexperienced. (We were in the new part of the building). No proper customer service, we arrived on a Sunday lunchtime to be told by the receptionist there was nowhere open in the hotel where we could get food or a drink. We asked if there was anywhere nearby, she handed us a map. We paid cash in advance & were given no receipt of payment. Had to go back and ask. The rooms had no air conditioning working and were extremely hot.

    I asked for a room with full length windows which was kindly granted. Large room with a small outside balcony overlooking the harbour. Nice views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we registered,we were told to register at their other facility. There is no notice on booking that there are separate registrations for different rooms. Also, the parking garage was full. Although the front desk staff was courteous enough to direct us to alternative parking,they did not offer or suggest dropping off our bags. We carried them back from the other garage as if we were Eurorail backpackers. At least we could find parking and are healthy enough to carry our own bags. One advantage of the USA's emphasis on tips is that sometimes it almost seems as if there is a contest to take care of your luggage.

    Location, location, location. Also, large bathroom/ shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    The views over the harbour from our Hotel Room where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Receptionists very pretty cold and ignorant. When we went to the desk to check out and I greeted them with a clear and friendly "Good morning" we have been literally ignored by the 2 Receptionists who stood behind the empty desk! We've also been overcharged by 100 Euro.

    The views over the harbour from our Hotel Room where fantastic! The Food in the Port Rest. was gorgeous and the waiter was very friendly. We also found the Housekeeping Team totally friendly and smiley! Tower Bar was great too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel but no sense for details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sailor Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room wasn't properly cleaned for us, second room was goo, bud had to pay extra for an upgrade. Wasn't the most costumer friendly hotel I've ever been too. The Cocktailbar in the tower was a total disappointment. Barkeeper guessed the ingredients and had to smell on his bottles to find out what's in is... Embarrassing

    Great location, generally a nice looking hotel with good and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    A great place from which to explore St. Pauli
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tried to give us a room in the new bit when we had specifically booked the old building .

    The view. The beds. Nice room. Nice present to take away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel can send invoice copy to room and slide it under the door during the night or even display a message on the TV in the room reminding guests of any important information.

    Excellent location. Front desk staff Ms Sonja Mehra did great job going beyond our expectations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Location and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although I understand that hotels want to put some protection cover on bed mattresses I absolutely hate when they are plastic instead of natural material. It's very sticky and sweaty to sleep on. I was charged for one breakfast I didn't have. Unfortunately I only noticed when I had already left the hotel otherwise I'm sure it would have been corrected.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel - but overcharging
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked this hotel for the 2nd time, now a more expensive room (EUR200/night) and asked for riverfront view. How disappointing to get a room with view to the courtyard... The same happened last time but with a cheaper room (at least overlooking the street). What does a returning guest need to do here to get a room with view, and not feel that he pays for a superior room while getting a inferior one?

    Great location of the hotel, great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    The location was great and the room was spacey.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no complementary drinks or even water cooker and instant coffee /tee in the room, which is normally expected from a 4 stars Hotel

    The location was great and the room was spacey.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    A window to a romantic era that will always look better in hindsight.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room numbering system.

    Loved the nautical theme far removed from the concrete anonymity of modern hotels. Full of character, historic artefacts within on a hill with a great view of the harbour and huge ocean going container ships. A nineteenth century feel with modern up to date standards, and a terrace that overlooks a great breakfast and the reason for Hamburg's prosperity.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    Booked a double bed, consisted of two singles jammed...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double bed, consisted of two singles jammed together with an uncomfortable gap between the mattresses. Two singles does not mean a double. Ordered room service meal, it never arrived!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    The view harbor view was marvelous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi was not working as fast and reliable as expected. Friday and Saturday was disco time in the rooftop location. Basses could be heard till 3 am. That's a no go!

    The view harbor view was marvelous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Perfect location but lots to improve
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Commander Class - Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The summer is 30 oC and the room do not have air conditioning , I was boiling in a summer pan. I had 4 days breakfast and the buffet have no change at all, The fruit bar very , very poor ... The internet access poor very poor , internet service fall and the speed was very slow. I know it was a busy weekend but manager as a guest you expect always good internet service.

    Excellent location , friendly staff specially the staff from the dinner room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.7
    All OK except the price for Saturday.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Sailor Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information about the floating prices could be better noted during reservation !

    The quality of the breakfast has been very good and always in big Quantity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    We were disappointed and would not return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was so small we could not even leave our luggage open. Bathroom was also very small. The only way to get to the street below was to walk down 50 or 60 steps. (Also the only way to return to the hotel.) We did not know this, and it was nearly impossible. The breakfast buffet was ridiculously expensive, but there was nowhere else to go.

    It was a pretty hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Moderate hotel and reception staff not very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Captain Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked Captains class, because we wanted harbour view. As we booked very early and we had to pay a lot of money we expected a harbour view, but unfortunately that wasn't possible. The beds were extremely hard, (after telling reception we got a topper for the mattress). The room was extremely warm, unfortunately no airco. No coffee and tea facilities. Staff not very helpfull and not very friendly.

    The location is perfect! Nice towerbar with nice view and nice cocktails.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sailor Class - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hamburg is a lovely city and the hotel is located perfectly next to Landungsbrucken. I had an amazing views of the river,cathedrals, philharmonie and ships from the window of 8th floor of the tower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, helpful staff 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too soft and 2 single duvets in a double bed for some reason.

    Staff went the extra mile to help out. I was running the marathon there and they put out bananas, energy tablets and a good luck card for me. The view from the window was amazing and the location as far as transports co nections and tourism was spot on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was excellent, nice staff, good location near all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (in the tower) was quite noisy - instead of counting sheep we were counting trains running in front of the hotel... :) EUR 18/day for parking is a lot.

    Breakfast was excellent, nice staff, good location near all the bars, Havencity and other points of interest. Easy to reach by car and public transport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shaky internet connection, noise from hotel craftsmen adjacent to our room at 9am, soap run out at the second day of our stay (refill only after one day and the second call to the reception), no coffee machine in the room, poor sound-insulation of our room, cleaning service entered room at 0852 am (without knocking). Commander class room was unexpectedly small, on the escape plan at the room door it showed to be of similar size than other non-Commander class rooms. "Partial harbor view" was a joke.

    Breakfast was expensive (20 Euro) but good. Location is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sailor Class - Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing I didnt like , but just to tell you that it is a busy road and tube, you can just hear it, But hey ya in a major city. The Hotel and view makes up for it.

    Weekend stay.. single room with a view over the river and the boat dock at Landesbrucke. Easy to get to as the tube is just around the corner, also baot trips and bus trips. So a great location. Best if request a river veiw as some of the rooms may not have a direct view. Good bar ,, but I did not try the resturant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel but not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was extortionate at E20 a head. No tea/coffee making in the room. Pillows were too squishy for our liking but bed was comfy enough.

    The location of the hotel is fantastic - really handy for the river and Reeperbahn areas and very near a station. Room was on the small side but had a half decent view out across the river. Public rooms were interesting and comfortable and the little bar was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sailor Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walk up to the hotel was very icy the day we arrived, difficult with suit case as it is uphill. At check in we asked to pay the bill upfront which is payable only a day before checkout which was fair enough. They asked for confirmation of card number that it was booked with and then proceeded to block the card for not only the cost of the room which was 320 but 200 euro more, (100 in case we had breakfast & 100 for security) They did not tell us that they were doing that & it was only the next day after checking my online banking account that I noticed that my card was blocked for 520 euro. It was refunded 24 hours after we left Hamburg but would have been nice to have been told beforehand. Other than that I really could not fault the hotel or service. I would stay again.

    Location was excellent, attractions and main shopping area were all within walking distance. Staff were very helpful and friendly especially bar staff who gave us tips on where to go.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    Fine hotel, with excellent receptionists, in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very small, with no where for suitcases. We were separated from the rest of our party (separate block completely)

    Location near S and U station, adjacent to pier/ boats, and modest walk to central area, or new tourist attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    We arrived early at the Hotel expecting just to leave our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived early at the Hotel expecting just to leave our bags in hold until check in time but they kindly let us check in straight away which was great. The room was clean and comfortable with a great view over the Harbour. The beds were really comfortable. We didn't eat in restaurant, breakfast was a little pricey at 20 euros each. The Tower Bar on the 11th floor served wonderful cocktails. Location of hotel was great. We used the subway most of the time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Great place to stay, great location, great staff and wonderful view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The location is great and it has wonderful view. The staffs were so nice and informative. The hotel itself looked like a museum as it has lots of paintings and art pieces. The room was clean, tidy and it seemed like it was newly refurbished! The location is great, it is near to the tram stop, harbour and of course, Fischmarkt!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.0
    Of course the location right by the famous Landungsbrücken...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though I requested a room further up, I got ground floor which I dislike a lot. I got a small (but suitable for 1 person) room in the old part, rooms were rather new though but there was a renovation going on in the building and the smell was terrible.

    Of course the location right by the famous Landungsbrücken and St. Pauli is a big plus. Public transport is a short walk away, but doable. View from the tower bar is awesome but of course comes at a price for the drinks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Great locations, lovely views from the rooms, nice staff and rooms. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Great Location, nice rooms, friendly staff. It’s very close to the train station which we used to and from the airport. Beautiful views from the room day and night. The bar is good and reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    Location, clean, characteristic, good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sailor Class - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I forgot / lost something in my room the process to get it back was really troublesome. Credit card wan’t connected to the restaurant which I needed to restore thereafter before ordering something which took a lot of time. Patking at hotel-garage is fine but when paying it turmed out the exit card could not be provided by hotel-reception. Could only be paid by cash but when I took cash from the nearby atm it charged a Euro 5,99 transaction cost. All in all not really customer friendly.

    Location, clean, characteristic, good breakfast...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sailor Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a double room and got a twin. Didn’t complain though so can’t reeally moan about it.

    Location was excellent. 5/10 minute walk from loads of nightlife and restaurants. Staff where very polite and helpful. Room was clean and very comfortable with good shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    Not worth the price. Tot avoid for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though I booked a superior room with a large double bed, I received a room with two single beds put together (unpleasant for a couple). Really arrogant and untrained personnel at the reception who refused to open the underground parking upon arrival, even though they had parking places available. Finally the bus boy was nice and opened the parking door for us, but globally this was a really unpleasant stay

    Beautiful building with a nice view over the town and the river

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    Good view of the Harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the Commander Room. It is of good size and has a sweeping view of the Harbour. The miniature museum and maritime museum are a pleasant walk away

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.3
    Fine for a short stay in Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was adequate. No tea coffee making facilities. On paying for accommodation I was initially told I must pay in my local currency GBP- charged 3% commission and poor exchange rate. Only after I complained and another member of staff got involved was I allowed to settle my bill in Euros saving over £10.

    Decent location close to St Pauli area- 30 minute walk to city centre. Direct access to airport from nearby underground station. Good wifi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic views, brilliant location, friendly staff. Recommend to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee facilities in the room would be nice, but not essential. And a more comprehensive welcome booklet in the room would enhance the stay. But we can’t fault the hotel as it is.

    As described on the website the room was small and quirky in shape, but that didn’t deter from the amazing views, fantastic location (just a few minutes from local u-bahn/s-bahn interchange) and the staff were really friendly. There were several lovely bars within the hotel complex, and many more in walking distance. Would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Hamburg.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small compared to the images I had reviewed. There was no tea/coffee facilities in the room which I actually missed more than I thought I would. Especially considering how cold it was outside; being able to make a hot drink would have been a bonus.

    The hotel is just outside the direct subway line from the main part of the city and from the airport so was very easy to get too (if we aren’t counting the 70+steps to get up to the property). The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help when needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    For Hamburg visits perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is very very good, you have to take your time. A bit pricey but a very good start into the day. Location is great, especially when you get a room with harbor view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.7
    SUPERIOR ROOM?....at 200 euros....NOT worth it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was MEANT to be SUPERIOR ....it was anything but! VERY bland room! No toiletries....other than those essential things like soap!....even that was a pain as it was one of those things stuck to the wall and difficult to use! At over 200 euros for ONE Monday night we will NOT be back!....which is a shame as we've used this hotel on other past visits to Hamburg and really enjoyed a nice room with a great view!

    GREAT breakfast choices! We enjoyed dining there in the evening too! We also used the bar area for a quick hot snack at lunchtime before we left for the airport. Nice staff! GREAT location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.3
    Good but a little bit costly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was smaller than we expected.

    Have different restaurants and bars. Looks fun to drink and chat. The lobby has nice atmosphere. The breakfast was amazing! So many different types of cheese.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    This was a special occasion visit with adult family from abroad and a great success.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV needed some adjustments which were not done The bathroom could do with a safety grab bar The food was excellent!

    The beds were very comfortable and all staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Bed was comfortable, staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast very pricey - €20 per person for continental breakfast . We booked one of the dearer rooms and it was so small bed was against wall so could only get out by climbing over partner. Web site did say some rooms had this layout but did not make it clear that applied to the rooms we had booked or the dearer rooms. Access from local underground station was difficult as lift broken and approximately 70 steps to carry luggage up. Pillows very thin but we were supplied with additional ones when we asked. No coffee / tea making facilities in room

    Bed was comfortable, staff helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Had a wonderful time at the musical Aladdin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is not too nice but I was able to find a space in the underground parking. €32 for two nights is a little steep but I guess that is Hamburg.

    The check in and help with our luggage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Liked the view of the river and the hotel's great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked the view of the river and the hotel's great location. Especially enjoyed excellent Vietnamese food at Nom, seafood at O Pescador in Portuguese quarter, German/Bavarian Oktoberfest at Hofbräu Hamburg, and breakfast at Speicherstadt Kaffeerösterei.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location for a sightseeing trip to Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The easiest way to acces the hotel if you travel by public transport is via stairs, which can be difficult if you have problems with walking. But there is also an other way to acces the hotel, for example if you travel by car

    The hotel is at the perfect location if you plan to stay in Hamburg. All the attractions are very quick acessible with public transport. An other thing we liked alot was the "Tower Bar", a very stylish bar on the 12th floor with great views over Hamburg!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    The WiFi connection is very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi connection is very bad. Slow and unstable. I couldn't even browse. Have to use my 3G/LTE data for internet during all my stay. This is the worst WiFi for over 100 hotels I've stayed over the 10 years. It is a pity.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing stay in Hamburg at a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The waiter at the bar next to reception was rude.

    Beautiful view of the harbor. Comfortable room with well stocked mini bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Great loaction in the heart of Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, however rooms seem to be soundproofed.

    Very well located, close to the reeperbahn and public transport. Regular visitor to Hamburg and would definitely revisit. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.1
    large hilltop hotel in Hamburg
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms have been facing a back road with quite some amount of traffic, opening a window is not advisable. The room was extremely smelly. After a reclamation I got another room at the same road that was also extremely strong smelling of cigarette smoke. The old part of the hotel seems to be constantly overbooked. You will end up in the modern part without a view if you book via internet. I recommend to book on the phone. Reception staff of two, rather overworked.

    The hotel is excellently located on a hill overlooking the river and the harbour. Very good connections by own taxi bay and by public transport. Hotel garage. Love the bar on the uppermost floor. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Marvellous! We'll return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit complicated to get to the hotel from Landungsbrucken S-Bahn Station. It would be good to put out some information tables. Thanks

    Restaurant Port was fantastic!!!!! The room was very clean, large, quiet. The location prima! The transport too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    As previously mentioned beautiful hotel but the photographs depicting the rooms are inaccurate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a Lieutenant Class Double Room in the main building only to find you could only access bed from one side. We declined the room and were offered another room in the new building for an additional 45 euros per night (2 nights stay) This room was a lot nicer however it was very noisy with the metro just below the window. We complained again, to which they did offer a quiet room in the original building for our final night. On check-out we agreed to pay the supplement but only for ONE night. Our other complaint was the amount charged for pre-authorisation of 416 Euros bearing in mind the room rates were from 100-130 Euros per night.

    Beautifully appointed hotel part of which was traditional whilst the adjoining building was very modern

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay. Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Kajüte - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt hungry in the night then found that there's no snack and drink machine in the hotel.

    The hotel is close to an underground station and the red-light district. Staff was willing to help. The room was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel with an excellent location, right on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was a good bit smaller than I hoped.

    Very nice hotel with an excellent location, right on the harbor and within walking distance of many attractions. Excellent breakfast (not included in our room price).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    It's worth the price. Tower Bar is a must-try place during your stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast with harbor view, kids under 14 years old is free of charge. Big room for us which with 2 kids. Perfect location, close to everywhere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all facilities open due to G20 rioting

    Great location by the river, metro and the Reeperbahn. Lovely room, big bed. Very efficient staff (even when checking in during G20 riot!) Tower Bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Wonderfull location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is expensive. Views cost extra. Receptionist was passive agressive.

    Hotel is located at a beautiful hill overlooking the fish market. Walking distance to railway station. Lots to do without having to take any transport. Underground parking (paid separately)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning was lacking as was the access to the Tower Bar and Terrace. Whilst we appreciated this was due to the G20 disturbance I believe this should have been open to residents.

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    Clean, quiet area, nautical themed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sailor Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV for English viewing very limited, bathroom door has a large gap at bottom and it is easy to open it and get your toes crushed as is the case when getting towels off the towel rack in bathroom (rack is behind the door).

    Location...5 min walk to train and bus stopes

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.8
    Careful which room you book
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room. It was very small, the double bed was in the corner against the wall. The person by the wall would have to disturb their partner to get in and out. We are over 70 years of age and cannot crawl over the bed to get in and out especially 2 or 3 times in the night. I went to the Reception to complain and asked to be moved. They said they were fully booked and couldn't move us. I then asked for a mattress on the floor, but was told they didn't have any spare mattresses, which I find hard to believe in such a large hotel. I just sat in the entrance and said I would sleep there it would be better. Eventually they managed to find a room for us to move to. Amazing how suddenly a room became vacant, but at a higher rate.

    The convenience of the Hotel to the river and Miniature World

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location......be aware of the steps and clock tower!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for extra pillows -they never arrived and whilst the duvet and pillows were 'fluffy' pillows collapsed to nothing!. The steps from the main road to the hotel are a killer and definitely not for those who are mobility impaired. We didn't have breakfast as thought at €17pp it was pricey!! Also, be aware of the bell tower clock which I think started chiming from 6am -on the hour and every half hour.... No need for an alarm clock!!!!

    Just stayed for 1 night post a cruise Location was great...right by Landungsbrucken station so close to the river and transport. Comfortable room with great river view and a good deal became available just before our travel dates so we switched to Hotel Hafen Hamburg. Staff very friendly. Also managed to check in early and leave bags so we could go explore!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel making you experience the spirit of sailors
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lieutenant Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is little old, but still in a very good shape.

    Fantastic location, very nice staff and authentic atmosphere. The harbor view was fabulous and the style of hotel make you feel like a sailor. So much better than the common 4* business hotels with no soul.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    We'd stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit weird. Dropped in an out and wasn't particularly fast. The 'fast' option wasn't always easy to log in to.

    Location is perfect. Just a short walk to the train station with connections all over Hamburg and to the airport. Right on the river, with ferries and tour boats almost literally on the doorstep. Easy walking everywhere - if you don't mind steps. Comfortable hotel, friendly staff; do ask for a room with a view. And take breakfast in the Diner .... the meal offer is comprehensive and it's less formal than the restaurant itself. Interesting history - the hotel was once a maritime academy and there are many design features and decorative artefacts that provide echoes of a nautical kind.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Overall atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kajüte - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor section closed off for breakfast, despite very nice weather. Might want to be a liitte more liberal in this regard? Cheers

    Overall atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    We had a very enjoyable stay in Hamburg. The hotel was well situated and we used the suburban
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Commander Class - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. It would be very difficult for very tall people

    Breakfast was good, we had an evening meal there that was good, the room was good, the shower not so good, it might be getter to have no shower screen at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Hafen Hamburg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: